Kailua Kona condo rental - Direct ocean view from living room.
Direct ocean view from living room.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 10 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Kona Plaza, located right in the heart of Kailua-Kona, is a quiet and private condominium building within walking distance of everything you want to do in Kona. Just across the street, you can go to the beach, the pier, shopping, and to the best restaurants in town. This condo unit (303) is located on the third floor overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay with a direct ocean view.

The condo has one bedroom with a new King sized bed and a very comfortable queen size foldout couch in the living room (sleeps 2-4 people). Blow up mattresses are also available if the kids want to sleep on the lanai (Our boys love sleeping outdoors on the lanai). The condo has recently been partially renovated and redecorated in a tropical and comfortable island style. It includes a fully equipped kitchen as well as a washer/dryer inside the unit.

Guests of Kona Plaza unit 303 can enjoy the onsite pool, sun decks, BBQ area, and secure onsite garage parking. Nearby, you will find additional shops, art galleries, beach apparel stores, hair salons, spas, jewelry stores, and great restaurants.

This location is perfect for Ironman. You can watch the swimming portion of the competition from the lanai or one of the sundecks and the marathon (on Ali'i Dr) from the lanai as well. Spinner Dolphins jump for your entertainment almost daily! The huge sliding glass doors out to the lanai overlook Ali'i Drive and the ocean. However, when you go to sleep you don't want to hear the action on Ali'i Drive! Fortunately, the glass sliding doors are made of soundproof glass and provide a very quiet experience for everyone in the unit. Central air conditioning is provided.

Keywords: Apartment, Alii Drive condo, oceanview, condominium

More Details
Hide Details

After raising 5 children we decided it was time to enjoy some 'Island time'. The Kona Plaza unit is a dream come true.

Mary and Tracy purchased this condo in 2011

We LOVE Hawaii and especially Kona!

This unit is as close to central Kailua-Kona as you can get. Go down the stairs or use the elevator and be in the middle of everything Kona has to offer. Including one of the closest rentals to the start line of Ironman. Underground secure parking is a rare bonus in Kona. Watch marine life like Spinner Dolphins and Humpbacks, harbor boats, cruise ships, submarines and harbor activities from the living room and lanai!

19 Reviews of Property 315920 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
average rating of 4.894737 based on 19 reviews
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Best Condo in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I was so impressed with Mary and the professionalism she showed when I asked to rent her condo. We have been coming to the Big Island almost every year since we got married in 2004. We finally found a place we would like to call home to celebrate our March Wedding Anniversary. I loved how everything was labeled so I knew where to put everything back after I used it! It's a perfect location and perfect for everything we like to do. Thank you, Mary!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Chicago, IL
4

Cozy lodging & a great location

Cozy lodging & a great location
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My boyfriend & I rented this condo for five nights. We're an active couple that spends limited time at our lodging during vacations, & so this unit perfectly met our needs & actually had more furnishings then we truly needed.

PROS:
- Highly responsive & friendly owner who always got back to my inquiries in a timely manner & was even flexible about letting us check out late (there were no guests checking in right after us)
- Very comfortable king size bed
- Lots of extra pillows, sheets & blankets
- Central air conditioning to keep you cool after a day in the sun
- All of the cooking utensils you'll need (if you want to dine in)
- LARGE lanai with ample seating & a great view of the water
- Cable TV (but we never even turned it on)
- Washer/dryer which came in handy after we got stuck in a torrential downpour one day & wanted to dry our clothes
- Located within walking distance to the Ironman swim course/snorkeling & all of the restaurants you could ever want to dine at
- Private parking for the rental car
- Extra boogie boards & grass mats to take to the beach!

CONS:
- All of the neighbors are quiet, but the building itself is next door to a night club (Amethyst) & on Friday & Saturday nights we were able to hear the bass from the music. Although the music was muffled it still put a glitch in the overall serenity of the unit. I was honestly surprised that we heard anything because the condo unit is located on the opposite side of the building from the club! I am a fairly light sleeper & so this did keep me up a little bit, but it wasn't so bad that I was up all night.

I loved this unit & hope to stay here the next time I'm visiting Kona!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Manitoba Canada
5

Loved the location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The condo was perfect for our needs. Loved the location. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai watching the dolphins, swimmers, kayakers etc. Being able to walk to the shops and restaurants was what we were looking for and found it with this condo. Parking was great and it was easy to get to the highway from this location. The condo was clean and quiet. The condo was well equipped and looked exactly as described. The king size bed and sofa bed were both extremely comfortable. Would recommend this condo to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable condo in town.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Cecil Lake BC Canada
4

Excellent Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The property in steps from everything you want to do, see, buy and eat. The condo is well equipped, you don't need to bring any extras. Quiet with an amazing view, you can watch the sunset every evening.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Swim with the dolphins from right in front of the condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The dolphins visited several mornings during our visit. We drank coffee and watched from the lanai while the swimmers and paddle boarders played with the dolphins. The condo is very centrally located in the heart of all the action, just steps to many great activities and restaurants. The owners and the information provided was timely, accurate and helpful. The complex is surprisingly quiet. The unit itself is well maintained, the bed comfortable and the kitchen well supplied.
I would recommend it highly.
Thank you Mary and Tracy for the most pleasant experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Awesome view! Spinner Dolphins jumping almost daily, everything nearby.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The location was excellent. We could walk to almost anywhere in Kona Town within minutes. We really didn't need a car except for our longer dive and golf excursions.
The Keahou Shuttle will take you anywhere you need to go until late in the evening,stores, snorkeling, dining, all for $2. Great value if you don't want to rent a car.

Drinking coffee on the lanai in the morning was so serene. It seemed like the Spinner Dolphins showed up almost daily at about 9AM for our entertainment and viewing pleasure. One day they stayed for over 2 hours and were circling and jumping near the swimmers out front.

The daily cost was an incredible value. I've booked many VRBO units and this was by far the best view and value for the money! The owner interaction was excellent. Mary was totally accommodating, communicative and responsive to my requests. I plan to stay there again.

The unit was our base of operations for some great golf, snorkel and dive outings. At least three or four great restaurants were less than two minutes walking distance away. I would recommend, The Canoe Club for casual waterfront dining, The Kona Inn for finer dining and Rosa's Cantina for the "Ono" fish and chips.

This is my new "time share" for years in my mind, without all the up front costs. Why pay thousands for the right to pay over $100 per day in yearly maintenance for life when I can rent this unit for under $90 and stay or not on a yearly basis. This unit solidified why I will never buy a "time share" when VRBO has such great values. Thanks again Mary and Mahalo for the hospitality! TA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Satisfied Guest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The location was amazing! Our 5 day stay was just remarkable. We had everything we needed in this place. The bed is huge! The building was very accessible. Both the property owners were very accommodating, reliable and helpful. We were very satisfied with the property. The only thing was we would have liked a little more info on the check out procedures. The property was very clean, and treated like a home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Cumming GA
5

Can't be beat

Can't be beat
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This condo is in the best location in Kona. You can see the ships come and go. It was within walking distance of every thing. We could walk to the pier to catch the Atlantis Sub, walk to dinner, and shops. The only issue I had is picky. I don't like light when I sleep so the light outside the condo shows in the window because the blinds don't cover the window completely. We loved our stay. Don't miss the south and north ends of the island. They are wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and the feedback about the outside light shining into the bedroom. I also like to sleep in near total darkness. We added a pull down shade inside the curtain and it was very dark when we last stayed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
California
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The place is great. The AC worked great, there was snorkeling equipment, umbrella's chairs to use. The laundry was great to have in the apartment. The kitchen had all the things we could ask for. The porch was great to eat on. And...THE LOCATION! So great. We hit up lots of happy hours and enjoyed being about to walk from our apartment to restaurants and the sunset. We could not have asked for more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Direct Ocean View Right in the Heart of Kailua-Kona/ Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315920vbi
425 591-9818
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Manitoba, Canada
5

Amazing place to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The place was amazing. It was located right in the heart of Kona and everything was within walking distance. The condo itself is very well kept and has all of the amenities one needs to enjoy a nice and relaxing visit to Kona. I will be recommending this place to my friends and family who are planning on visiting the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2