Canal District apartment rental - Living Room with a View
Living Room with a View
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Canal District Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed, 1 Bathroom, (Sleeps 2-3)

Your home away from home in the very heart of the historic city center!

The perfect romantic getaway for couples.

Ideally situated for business people.

Located on the famous Flower Market you will have the scent of flowers at hand. It is perfectly located within walking distance of all Points of Interest Amsterdam has to offer: such as the Nieuwmarkt square, Chinatown, the University of Amsterdam and Amstel river to the North; the historic 17th century canal belt and Museum Square to the South; the old Jew Quarter, Hermitage, Botanical garden to the East; and the famous Golden Bend and popular 9 streets and Jordaan area to the West.

From the living room you enjoy the view of the Singel canal and the historic monument tower The Munt. This fully furnished 1-bedroom apartment is on the 1st floor (2nd floor by US norms) of a 3-floor recently renovated canal building from 1905. It is a small apartment but very well equipped and perfectly decorated for your comfort.

The 35-square meters apartment includes:

- Spacious bedroom with double bed (140 x 190) and closet,

- Bathroom with shower,

- Fully equipped open kitchen

(stove/electric oven/refrigerator/microwave/toaster/kettle/coffeemaker and washer - no dish washer)

- Living room with a foldable table, a comfortable sofa (which can be unfolded to a double bed of 120 x 190) and a lounge bench, including a flat screen cable TV, DVD/cd player, and Wi-Fi internet connection.

I would not recommend my apartment for more than 2 adults. The convertable sofa would be convenient for a couple with children though.

Rates include: all taxes, weekly cleaning and bed-and bath-linen.

Distance to Points of Interest:

1 minute walk to the nearest supermarket, movie theatre and the main shopping area

5 minutes walk to the 9-Steets district and Dam square

10 minutes walk to the Vondelpark (the city park)

10 minutes walk to the Rembrandt house, Botanical Garden, Hermitage museum, the Nieuwmarkt square and Waterlooplein (large flea market)

15 minutes walk to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum

15 minutes walk to the Anne Frank house

15 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station

25 minutes from Schiphol airport (by taxi)

Great restaurants, cafés and clubs are just steps away!

Keywords: Heart, City, Center, 19th, Canal, Cozy, Comfortable, Wi-Fi, Internet, High Speed, Telephone, Tourist, Walking Distance, Home, Romantic, Couple, Honeymoon, Child Friendly, Shopping Area, Historic Center, Museum, FlowerMarket

More Details
Hide Details

I have lived in Amsterdam since I was born, except for 5 years when I lived in the south of Spain. I think Amsterdam has it all: culture, history, friendliness, relaxedness and creativity. Amsterdam in summer is the best place in the world.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2006

It is the most wonderful apartment in the best spot of the city. Close to everything, yet very quiet at night!

Being able to step outside and have everything within reach, going to the movies next door, enjoying the lovely flowers every time you come home. There is a very positive vibe. The canal view enlarges the living room at least three times.

41 Reviews of Property 315857 in Canal District, Netherlands

Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
average rating of 4.678571 based on 41 reviews
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This is a very nice flat in Amsterdam, and we enjoyed our stay. Sandra and Guida were very helpful to us, and met us upon our arrival. The apartment was especially nice for my elderly father, as the one flight of stairs to climb were not too bad. The sleeper sofa was a bit rough to sleep on -- but I would not hesitate to return to this nice apartment. Thanks again Sandra and Guido!
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
5

Amsterdam Idyll

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from a week in Amsterdam, staying at this cozy apartment, perfectly located for our needs (close to Central Station, to Rijksmuseum, to Plantage neighborhood, etc. This was our first VRBO rental and based on our experience here, we will definitely rent through them again. The apartment was perfect for our needs, providing us with an ideal spot to return and relax after a busy day of sight-seeing. A grocery store right near by was convenient too. The owners were very responsive to all our needs. Wonderful week! The perfect way to explore Amsterdam!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Where do you live?
5

Loving Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I loved my stay here. Sandra and Guido have made their funky, cozy flat a home way from home. The location can't be beat. Extra's like the super expresso machine and terrific music selections just add to the already fab experience. Do bring earplugs if you are there during a festive season as this is the city and some evenings people are up all night - but that's the fun part too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
4

john's review

john's review
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
the apartment was very reasonable in terms of cost and in an excellent convenient location. We walked around and enjoyed the city. Guido welcomed us and was very friendly and helpful. The apartment was warm, clean, functional and fully furnished. It was not too big, but not too small but very functional. The owner provided a higher end coffee maker that great and plenty of coffee. I would recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a good value place to stay. Thank you for the use of your apartment!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Gland, Switzerland
5

Excellent centrally located alternative to staying in a hotel in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Sandra’s apartment is a superb budget alternative to a hotel stay in Amsterdam. The apartment is fully equipped, as the owner uses it herself, and not a sterilized rental with Ikea furniture, bare cupboards, and empty shelves. (In fact, it would take a few years to work through all the books in the apartment – many in English!)

For less than half the price of a budget hotel, the apartment offers a full separate bedroom, fully equipped kitchen (with Nespresso & clothes washing machine), and a lounge-dining room with views of the flower market and typical Amsterdam canal scenery. The furniture may not be the newest but very comfortable. The two-day minimum stay makes it a great alternative to hotels even for short breaks.

The location is absolutely fantastic right on the Bloemenmarkt. Direct tramlines go to amongst others the central station, Rijksmuseum, Jewish Museum and Anne Frank House. However, all these sights are also an easy walk away and we didn’t use the tram again after the 24-hour ticket ran out.

The location is also ideal to return to in the late afternoon to give the children a break – and the very fast wifi a proper workout – before heading out to further sights in the evening.

Restaurants and shops abound in the area – Albert Hein supermarket (open 8 am to 10 pm) is a block away and Rembrandtplein a five-minute walk, yet the apartment is peacefully quiet at night, as the flower market closes early evening and no motorized traffic pass directly in front of the apartment.

We’ll probably check the availability of this apartment first before checking for cheap flights on future visits to Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
USA
5

Comfortable apartment in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The apartment was exactly as described and pictured, although the view of the canal is minimal. Sandra was very helpful and responded to questions promptly by email before we arrived. The heat, hot water, TV and WiFi worked well. Very clean. The kitchen was well furnished with a good-sized refrigerator and basic cooking supplies. The location was excellent, with convenient trams to Central Station, the museums, etc. The bedroom was nice and quiet. The sofa bed in the living room was comfortable. However, I would not recommend that a light sleeper use the sofa bed due to the very bright street lights just outside the living room windows, which shone through the curtains. Also, we were there from Friday through Monday. On Friday and Saturday night, there was noise from people walking in the street into the early morning hours, which could be heard in the living room. (There are good-quality double-glazed windows, but this was not enough to completely block the noise in that room.) Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
5

Great comfortable central location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We arrived in Amsterdam around breakfast time after a 7-hour transatlantic flying time from Toronto. Our home away from home rental was not ready until early afternoon but Sandra and Guido made excellent temporary arrangements with a very accommodating friend, the owner of Misc Hotel, located about 1km from the apartment. We arrived at the apartment at the scheduled time and were truly grateful that the apartment was on the first floor given the narrowness of Amsterdam buildings and their narrow staircases. Guido was an extremely welcoming host an explained how everything worked.

The apartment has one bedroom with an en suite bathroom located in the Flower Market, ie in central Amsterdam. The apartment was indeed "cozy" as described by Sandra at the Home Away from Home website. We felt truly at home because both Sandra and Guido and their two children still use the apartment when it isn't occupied. Their personal items are littered all over the apartment giving it that warm, charming and inviting atmosphere. The living space directly overlooks the Flower Market through two large bay windows on which you can sit all day, if you wish, drinking in the sights and the pedestrians wandering through the Flower Market pausing here and there at the various stalls.

The apartment was well equipped, well furnished and there was no need for us to call on either Sandra or Guido for assistance. We would stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam. We've already recommended it to a friend. Five stars for location, comfort, amenities, cleanliness and communication with Sandra for prior arrangements. We cannot emphasise enough the excellent location. Trams (public transit) at the corner to Centraal Station and therefore to Schiphol (international airport), : the ever popular Leidesplein district, shopping and all main tourist attractions and sights. In fact, the apartment's location is perfect for keen walkers and bikers. We walked to and from Centraal Station several times (about a 10 to 15 minute walk) and to Leidesplein to pick up our canal boat tour by night, 
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
5

Great comfortable central location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We arrived in Amsterdam around breakfast time after a 7-hour transatlantic flying time from Toronto. Our home away from home rental was not ready until early afternoon but Sandra and Guido made excellent temporary arrangements with a very accommodating friend, the owner of Misc Hotel, located about 1km from the apartment. We arrived at the apartment at the scheduled time and were truly grateful that the apartment was on the first floor given the narrowness of Amsterdam buildings and their narrow staircases. Guido was an extremely welcoming host an explained how everything worked.

The apartment has one bedroom with an en suite bathroom located in the Flower Market, ie in central Amsterdam. The apartment was indeed "cozy" as described by Sandra at the Home Away from Home website. We felt truly at home because both Sandra and Guido and their two children still use the apartment when it isn't occupied. Their personal items are littered all over the apartment giving it that warm, charming and inviting atmosphere. The living space directly overlooks the Flower Market through two large bay windows on which you can sit all day, if you wish, drinking in the sights and the pedestrians wandering through the Flower Market pausing here and there at the various stalls.

The apartment was well equipped, well furnished and there was no need for us to call on either Sandra or Guido for assistance. We would stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam. We've already recommended it to a friend. Five stars for location, comfort, amenities, cleanliness and communication with Sandra for prior arrangements. We cannot emphasise enough the excellent location. Trams (public transit) at the corner to Centraal Station and therefore to Schiphol (international airport), : the ever popular Leidesplein district, shopping and all main tourist attractions and sights. In fact, the apartment's location is perfect for keen walkers and bikers. We walked to and from Centraal Station several times (about a 10 to 15 minute walk) and to Leidesplein to pick up our canal boat tour by night, 
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
United States
5

Lovely flat in the heart of Amsterdram

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Great location in the heart of Amsterdam, overlooking the Flower Market. Exactly as advertised, the person who met us at the flat was very kind and even took time to take us for coffee and explain how to get around. WiFi was very fast, and we even got to use their Nespresso machine and they supplied the coffee. Next time we are in Amsterdam, we are definitely staying here!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Wonderful Apartment on Famous Flower Market with Canal View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315857vbi
Canal District Amsterdam
Santa Barbara, CA USA
4

fun apt.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
this apt. was great for us and was very central to everything we wanted to see in Amsterdam. We walked everywhere. It is shabby chic (used furniture) but had everything we needed -clean bathroom and shower, kitchen appliances, mw, etc. We were comfortable and enjoyed watching tourists in the flower mart below. The owner was very helpful and gave us lists of suggested restaurants (great!) and sights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing