Mal Pais house rental - Terrace ocean view
Terrace ocean view
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mal Pais House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

El Nido de Aguila, in English aerie, is a vacation rental home in Mal Pais, Costa Rica. The name refers to the prominent location of the property on top of a hill affording panoramic views of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, with spectacular sunsets over the ocean.

There are three houses spread out on the property and share a swimming pool and large rancho pavillon. In front of the rancho is the panorama deck with lounge chairs - a true aerie, as you will see.

The rancho is the place for socializing during the day or at night, when you can grill fresh fish or meat on the wood BBQ. There is a wet bar, and a sound system to play your music.

At the side of the rancho is the swimming pool with another sun deck and lounge chairs. El Nido de Aguila is a perfect vacation spot for families with kids, couples, or groups of friends.

Located one story beyond the rancho pavillon, Casa Lola enjoys panoramic views of Mal Pais from the terrace and all rooms.

The apartment is a new, solid building fronted by a covered veranda with table and chairs, a hammock, and lounge chair. From the veranda you enter the kitchen which is fully equipped with large gas stove, fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, and all kitchen utensils.

The two air conditioned bedrooms are equipped with a king size and a queen size bed and share one bathroom with h/w shower located in the middle of the house.

We have other units available; please contact us for more information.

Keywords: Houses with shared pool and privacy

More Details
Hide Details

Close enough to a village but still far enough to have a quite and peacefull place

5 Reviews of Property 315607 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

House on the Hill Overlooking the Pacific
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
House on the Hill Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315607vbi
+506 88 93 21 84 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Walla Walla, WA, USA
5

Wonderful Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My two daughters and I stayed at Nido de Aguila over Christmas. Casa Lola, which we rented, is one of three houses on the property. All three houses have kitchens, but also share the outdoor kitchen in the Rancho, by the side of the pool. The Casa Lola apartment is on the lower level of the Rancho, is two bedrooms, kitchen and bath, and is air conditioned, though we needed the air infrequently. We had a wonderful time with the other guests staying on the property, and had a group Christmas Eve dinner, cooked by Chango, a local cook we hired.

The views are spectacular. Truly, the photos do not lie. Sunsets over the Pacific are some of the most amazing I've seen anywhere. There are three hammocks on the Rancho level, and there was also a hammock on our private patio below. We heard howler monkeys in the morning and had white face monkeys climbing about the cocoanut trees right off the patio. The property is well-kept and clean, with the on-site manager, Jörg, doing a wonderful job and making us feel welcome. Jörg was very responsive to our questions in advance of our visit, although sometimes it would take a couple days to receive an e-mail response. There are several grocery stores in Santa Teresa as well as an excellent organic vegetable and meat store. We stopped in Cobano on the way to Mal Pais to get groceries, but it turned out not to be necessary as everything you need is right in Santa Teresa. Also a number of good restaurants in the area, including the bakery, a sushi place and other dining options. There are a number of places to rent surf boards and the surfing was quite good. During the dry season, Montezuma is only about 15KM away, going over Star Mountain.

I would not recommend this rental for families with young children (which was not our case in any event). There are steep drop offs and the railings on the Rancho are not designed with small children in mind. One final point - take Jörg seriously when he says 4WD is recommended to get up to the property. The drive is narrow and steep and would be difficult, if not impossible, in a low 2WD car.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
House on the Hill Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315607vbi
+506 88 93 21 84 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Maryland
5

Most Breathtaking Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My family and I just spent a week at the beautiful property overlooking the ocean. It is like its own private paradise atop the hill with views more incredible than any picture can do justice. The property is gorgeous with a shared outdoor kitchen/living area fantastic for family dinners, group gatherings or enjoying a good book with a glass of wine or cup of coffee. The house is very clean and modern with every amenity you could need. Our kids just loved it - the pool, the monkeys, the wildlife and hammocks. We walked to the beach most days but I would recommend a 4WD to get up the driveway. The hosts are fantastic - very helpful and informative. The pool area is so relaxing and you just cannot get enough of the view! I would highly recommend this property to families, couples or larger groups. What a perfect rental!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House on the Hill Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315607vbi
+506 88 93 21 84 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
San Francisco, CA
5

Not your average rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
In short, this house and property are amazing and I have nothing but good things to say. It wasn't just that it met every need of ours in terms of amenities and quality, it's that the place is really something special. The outdoor combo covered patio/deck/outdoor kitchen--overlooking miles of gorgeous coastline and the occasional monkey snacking in the trees just off the yard--is the real focal point of the property and became the focal point of our vacation, too. The pool and trampoline are also in this shared area and also offer stunning views. The other great part of the vacation was the property manager, Jorg, who lives in a nearby house and was the most thoughtful, helpful, and laid-back host imaginable. We also enjoyed his very sweet dog and cat. Our apartment itself had everything promised and was simply and elegantly decorated, but the outdoor kitchen area, view, pool, and hosts were above and beyond my highest expectations. All contributed to an incredibly relaxing, fun, and memorable vacation for my boyfriend and me that we hope to repeat.

P.S. They aren't kidding about the need for a 4x4 - we survived without it but will definitely get one next time. The local roads and the driveway (you work for the views!) are all part of the fun and excitement.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House on the Hill Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315607vbi
+506 88 93 21 84 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
hudson valley, NY
5

This really is paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I came to Mal Pais with 3 good friends ready for a great vacation and we rented the 2 bedroom house with the ocean view. And what a view it is. The pictures really don't do this property justice. We had a great house, with AC in each bedroom, a wonderful bathroom, a built in wall unit/closet with plenty of drawers and space, and a big kitchen. We had a private patio with an amazing view, coconut trees, fruit trees, and tons of privacy. Upstairs there is a huge shared patio with 3 hammocks,plenty of comfy chairs, a large dinner table, a wonderful kitchen with fresh basil growing and a view that will knock your socks off. The pool was wonderful to come home to after a long day out and the perfect temperature. The caretakers couldn't have been more helpful, more accommodating, or easier to get along with. They helped us out with ATV rentals, restaurants, shopping, everything. I highly recommend this rental and can't wait to go back. I would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House on the Hill Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315607vbi
+506 88 93 21 84 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
South Carolina
5

Well worth a stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We stayed here for a month and really loved it. The photos don't due justice to the 180 degree view of the water; it has to be seen to be believed. Sunsets are spectacular. The apartment is spacious and nicely equipped with plenty of privacy if you want it. Or you can join others in the poolside veranda with its own cooking facilities. Having your apartment cleaned and beds made daily was a nice bonus. The hosts were extremely accomodating, answering questions and helping us with rides on occasion. Definitely try "The Bakery" in town for fresh bread, pastries and desserts. Yum!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3