Oakland apartment rental - Restful Gardens Just Outside Your Flat
Restful Gardens Just Outside Your Flat
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Oakland Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

~ Maximum occupancy = 2

~ Minimum 7-night stay

~ Ask about last minute stays with a 4-night minimum at $165/night plus cleaning fee.

Read the reviews, then book an unforgettable week in our newly-constructed custom suite in Upper Rockridge with private entrance and soothing views of the San Francisco Bay. You’ll want to sip morning coffee on your brick terrace overlooking the multi-level Italianate gardens with fountain, paths and bougainvillea-laden trellis. Ideal for 1-2 persons (no exceptions) — one bedroom with down-covered four-poster bed, walk-in closet, and granite and natural stone bath, living room with Yamaha C3 piano, full kitchen and two sets of french doors that open to the terrace, garden, and views beyond.

The Italian Garden Flat sits in the Oakland hills on a quiet residential street, a prime location for business or vacation trip to the San Francisco Bay Area. No car? It’s only a 5 minute walk to the AC transit stop w/ direct service to San Francisco or to Rockridge BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit), 10 minutes walk down the hill to a chic coffee shop and gift store, nursery, and gourmet market, or one mile further to Rockridge, the East Bay’s favorite area for trendy cafes, unique bookstores, yoga studios, chocolate shops, and international eateries for take out or sit down meals. Between the bus service and BART, public transportation will take you to all bay area locations.

Runners and walkers will love the neighborhood hills with winding streets and homes of distinct architecture. Lake Temescal with its private beach and walking trails is a few minutes down the road, a favorite walking and picnic spot for locals.

The flat is very close to Highways 24 and 13, making it a 10-minute drive to Berkeley or quick half hour or less to San Francisco. We are strategically located between Piedmont, Montclair Village, Temescal (don’t miss Sunday morning farmer’s market!) and Rockridge. Nearby universities include UC Berkeley, California College of the Arts, Mills College, Holy Names University, and many others. Maps, hiking, shopping, and other books and pamphlets are available in the flat for you to use. The Oakland hills are full of amazing hiking and biking trails maintained by our East Bay parks system, many of them no more than a 15-minute drive. Jack London Square is accessible by bus or BART and from there you might want to take the ferry across the bay to San Francisco!

There are endless choices of restaurants within a 15-minute drive, but you’ll also find the full kitchen set up with stove, oven, microwave and refrigerator. We’ve stocked some basics for you, along with coffee and tea to you started your first morning. Of course, we also provide towels, linens, WiFi, and television with satellite service.

Features:

~ San Francisco bay and garden views

~ Upgraded construction with granite, tile, and natural stone

~ Private entrance and two sets of French doors onto brick terrace

~ Full kitchen

~ On-site shared laundry

~ Easy commute to Berkeley, San Francisco, Walnut Creek and surrounding Bay Area.

Short distance to public transportation

~ There are several stairs, with railings, from street to the flat entrance

TERMS:

~ Maximum occupancy = 2

~ Minimum 7-night stay

~ Not suitable for children

~ $50 cleaning fee

~ Ask about last minute stays with a 4-night minimum at $165/night plus cleaning fee.

~ No pets and no smoking. Thank you for not asking for an exception.

Deposit of 30% of rental amount to confirm booking.

Keywords: Rockridge, Montclair, private, parking, terrace, gardens, granite, view, Oakland hills, public transportation, BART, university, cottage

More Details
Hide Details

35 Reviews of Property 315213 in Oakland, California

Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
average rating of 5.0 based on 35 reviews
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Well-appointed apartment that is just as beautiful as photos depict. My husband and I were thrilled with the accommodations, which included extras we didn't expect. The view from the terrace was amazing and the gardens exquisite. The owners were very welcoming. We had an excellent stay and highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Loved this place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Perfect!!! Beautiful location with a view of the bay. Lori and Craig were very welcoming and everything was well thought out and immaculate. Nice privacy, quiet and easy on-street parking. The bedroom and living room open up to a patio overlooking the gardens. We'll definitely be back next time we visit.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
Scottsdale, AZ
5

WONDERFUL!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I can't say enough wonderful things about Lori and Craig's lovely flat. I just returned from my second stay and for both visits I stayed for a month while in the Bay Area for work. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! The flat is beautifully furnished and the back terrace and gardens are beautiful and peaceful. Gorgeous views from the french doors, both in the living room and bedroom. The flat is very quiet and cozy and has every thing you need. Lori is such a gracious host - always has a bottle of wine and cheese plate awaiting new guests on check in and is always available while respecting your privacy at the same time.

Perfect for a solo traveler or a couple. You do have to go up and down quite a few steps to access the flat so may be difficult if mobile impaired. Parking on the street across from the house was never a problem (and you will want a car if staying here although there are some bus stops within walking distance).

Because I was there for work and staying for quite awhile, it was so important to feel like I was at home. And I have always felt that way when staying at Lori and Craig's flat (although my actual home is not as nice!!) Always sad to leave.

Thank you Lori!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Fabulous rental in Upper Rockridge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My only regret is that I have to give this rental a 5* rating because it will than become more popular and harder for us to book it again because we DEFINITELY WILL!!!! This is everything we look for in a rental - clean, uncluttered, comfortable bed, bathroom with space to put your toiletries, workable kitchen and great location with a fantastic view. Upon arrival, Lori explained everything to us and treated us to wine , cheese and crackers. If we needed anything, she said to please ask. Craig asked if we needed help carrying bags. They are both very accomadating. One night there was a storm and first thing in the morning we got an email if everything was OK and did we need anything. The yard is absolutely beautiful. It is even nicer in person than the pictures. We definitely recommend this rental. It is also very convenient to getting to College Ave and BART. The Village Market is a short drive and has everything you need. Next to the market is the Terrace Coffee Shop. Don't miss an opportunity to stay here, you won't regret it. Thank you Lori & Craig.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
Cairo, Egypt
5

A most enjoyable retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I stayed in this fabulous flat for the past five weeks. I started reading the reviews today before writing our own review and honestly I agree with all that I read and more. This has truly been a beautiful, restful, enjoyable experience. We thank the owners, Lori and Craig, for their hospitality, thoughtfulness and willingness to assist us in any way they can. We both look forward to coming back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
NJ
5

4th Stay from East Coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband & I have returned again within eight months. Lori & Craig's flat is our home away from home when we come to visit our family who live only 2 miles away. It's a wonderful feeling entering their flat once again. It's always so spotless & welcoming. The 4 poster bed with the luxury linens & comfortor is always so inviting. Lori always adds some special touches--better than a five star hotel. She is very artistic & I like to scan the walls for new artwork. The beautiful maintained gardens were in bloom. The weather was ideal to dine & relax on the patio. There is a great selection of books to read, also. We look forward to our December 2013 stay that has already been booked.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
Virginia
5

Elegance and Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The moment I stepped into the Italian Garden Flat, my heart jumped with joy, it is like coming inside a dream world: the real world is shut off, and one is embraced by peace, beauty and grace. Here you want to enjoy and appreciate art, music, nature and improve your inner self. The flat presents a fashionable yet mindful life style which makes that possible. It has such an unique atamosphere which should be agreeable to many artists, musicians, intellectuals, or people who want to get some nice and quality time for themselves. And what a great quality of the grand piano there is, I have played it every day for 4 months and enjoyed all it's colors in gentleness, briskness and grandness. The hosts Grag and Lori are friendly, generous, always ready to help and very considerable about their guest(s). I could hardly find any complaint in such a period of stay. Every thing is clean, lots of things are new, the bed is super comfy, the shower is nice and strong, and you have a total privacy inside the flat as well as in the garden. A truly ideal place for retreat, for heart and soul.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
Concord, MA
5

Wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed in this beautifully maintained apartment Nov. 7 - 14, 2012. The apartment is tastefully furnished. The kitchen is equipped with everything you may need and more. The garden is gorgeous and the view is great. The photos of the apartment and environs are true and even better in person. We hope to stay there again this year when we are visiting family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
Virginia
5

Restful Yet Stimulating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A nice retreat in art, music, landscape, history and comfort which I have found all in this graceful home!
Art---self-done stylish paintings on the wall; music---a nice grand piano singing in tones of Bach and Chopin; landscape---a romantic garden with views of hills and waters afar reminds you an 18th centry oil painting in Italy; history---books in every room telling history of different regions, particularly the local history about Oakland and Rockrige; comfort---tiled counters, artistic ceramic dishes and glasses, quality furniture, fresh and clean everywhere in this home. I am a world traveller with a class, this is as good as a five-star hotel room. I also spent vacation at two different homes in Berkeley Hills, Italian Garden Flat is far more better with a reasonable charge. The hostess is a hard-working fine artist with kindness and fairness offering the best to her guests. I will definitely come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Italian Garden Flat with Grand Piano (Sleeps 2)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p315213vbi
Oakland The Bay Area
NJ
5

3RD Stay from East Coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We returned for our 3RD stay within 1 1/2 yrs. because it feels like our home away from when we visit family in the area. Lori & Craig are warm & friendly hosts. The flat is always clean & cozy.. The views were fantastic since the weather was great. Information is available for sights & restaurants. Lori & Craig were available to answer questions. The flat was as pictured only nicer in person. We love Montclair Village & shops on Piedmont & College Aves. Looking forward to our next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway