Kailua Kona house rental - Amazing Ocean Views
Amazing Ocean Views
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Enjoy incredible ocean views in this beautiful vacation home just minutes away from Kona’s best beaches.

Connect with the spirit of Hawaii with captivating ocean views in a lush tropical setting. Luxurious amenities await you...a large living room and kitchen, individual bedroom with queen bed, and separate bathroom. Newly remodeled with travertine floors, granite counter tops, spacious covered tiled patio, modern furniture, spotless kitchen, four burner outdoor barbeque, free wifi, flat Screen Cable HDTV & DVD and iPod speaker dock.

Watch the sun dip down into the ocean while barbequing as you listen to your favorite music on the covered lanai. Or check email while soaking up the island sun in the private heated pool overlooking the ocean.

Enjoy paddling with the dolphins in one of Hawaii’s many beautiful bays with the free use of two kayaks and snorkel gear. Or just want to relax in the sun? Head out to the beach with free use of two boogie boards, cooler, beach chairs, beach towels and beach umbrella.

Kona Sea View is located just far enough away from the main highway so you don’t hear any traffic, while being just minutes away from Kona’s best beaches, restaurants, and farmer markets.

Kona Sea View is the first floor of a beautiful luxury home situated in one of Kona’s most prestigious neighborhoods. It is very private, as it is not connected to the top floor by stairs or a door. It even has it’s own private driveway, covered patio, and yard. It is your home away from home, with all the amenities including, washer & dryer, hair dryer, iron, full kitchen, blender, toaster, coffee maker, coffee grinder, rice cooker, beach umbrella, beach towels, beach chairs, cooler, boogie board, snorkel gear and kayaks.

Come and enjoy Kona Sea View, your affordable luxury home away from home that lets you experience Kona like a local.

Keywords: Home, Vacation Bungalow, Ohana, Affordable Luxury Rental, Ocean View, Tropical Living

More Details
Hide Details

Retired couple enjoying the Big Island.

Paul & Amy Blessington purchased this house in 2009

Finding the perfect location in Kona is not so easy. You want to have great ocean views in a quite neighborhood away from the highway, while still being minutes away from the beach, restaurants and shopping.

Less than 10 minutes away is Kahalu’u beach. Kahalu’u is widely regarded as one of the top snorkeling spots in all of Hawaii. The variety and quantity of tropical fish at Kahalu’u is fantastic. For those first getting used to snorkeling, the private pool is a safe and easy way to get used to wearing a mask and snorkel. The location is also close to many other beautiful beaches, restaurants and shops. Choose among a wide variety of ocean and outdoor activities or simply just relax on the patio enjoying an intense ocean sunset.

38 Reviews of Property 314462 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
average rating of 4.972973 based on 38 reviews
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Minnesota
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our first time staying in a vacation rental and we will never go back to a hotel. Paul and Amy were so helpful. They respected our privacy, but were there when we needed them. And the room and property was beautiful with an amazing view. It made the stay so nice, it felt like going home every night. And all of the beach things that they provided were extremely useful. Awesome beach chairs, cooler, umbrella, nice snorkel gear, body boards... it made it so easy to go and spend a day or just a few hours at any beach we choose. The landscaping is beautiful and it was in a nice and safe neighborhood away from everyone, but very close to all of the wonderful things that Kailua Kona has to offer. And a great central location for anything that you want to do on the Island.
We loved it and can't say Mahalo enough for the wonderful place to stay!! As one other reviewer said, the only bad thing about this place was having to leave!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Great property on the Big Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a great place to stay in the Kona area. Quiet, private, and very comfortable. The unit was exceptionally clean, and so much better than staying in a condo or a hotel. Pool that looks out over the ocean, nice bbq grill on the lanai, and plenty of extras like beach equipment and towels for guests to use. Thanks Amy and Paul for great hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Exceeded expectations - 5 stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
It didn't take long for us to realize why this rental is booked virtually 100% of the time. It's located in a quiet, upscale neighborhood, great view, very clean, modern and well appointed. The snorkel gear was in great condition, as were the kayaks (may be a challenge to load them on a car roof without a rack but they fit fine in the back of our Jeep Liberty - gate open, they stuck out 3-4 feet). Beach chairs were nice and comfy too.
The owners made it clear that they were there to help if we needed anything and at the same time, were mindful of our privacy.
Places worth checking out are Waimea town (farmers market was great), Pololu lookout, south point, Volcano NP (of course), Kona Joe's coffee, Coffee Shack (nice breakfast and view), Sam Choy's restaurant (looks like a lively happy hour there too-great atmosphere).
AC was not necessary in the unit as there were breezes and 3 ceiling fans. Bed was very comfortable with a memory foam topper. We liked that staples like soap, napkins, tp etc. were provided and the bag of ice in the freezer was a nice touch. Suggestions: plastic tumblers for cocktails, metal grilling utensils and a light in the bedroom closet. Complaints: none.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Comfortable, Clean, Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I just returned from our stay on the Big Island. We stayed the entire 10 days at this property. I am incredibly picky about cleanliness and this unit far surpassed every other VRBO property I've ever stayed at. In fact, it was cleaner than most high-end hotels I've stayed at! I was very impressed. I also have pretty severe allergies to scents/perfumed laundry products and thankfully the owners don't use any harsh cleaners or smelly laundry products. This is a HUGE bonus for me!

The pictures on the VRBO website definitely portray the apartment as it is - great views, conveniences, and comfort. If I have to point out anything slightly negative, the only thing I can think of is that the lack of a dishwasher is a bummer, but it was a very minor inconvenience - just something I'm not used to. The kitchen had all of the other little conveniences and it was very comfortable for me to cook in it. Overall, the unit was extremely cozy (and I don't mean small when I say cozy!).

We also found the location to be quite convenient and central. It is set on the hillside but it takes less than 10 minutes on non-busy streets to get down to Kailua-Kona. It is also extremely quiet, which translates to relaxing and no problems sleeping! :)

The owners were unobtrusive and extremely helpful. Paul helped us plan a few hikes and extremely accurate information on other activities, including tipping us off to the new "Saddle Road" that took about 30 minutes off our trek to Hilo. The use of the beach bag, extra beach towels, lunch coolers, and kayaks was also incredibly fun and helpful.

This unit was far above any other VRBO property we've ever rented and we will definitely stay here again when we return to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Seattle, Washington
5

Perfect honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The home was inviting and cozy and had everything you could possibly want for your stay on the Big Island. Daily we used the snorkel and beach gear. Most nights we cooked or grilled our dinners but it's close to many restaurants if you want to go out. The property was exactly as described. The view was extraordinary, the furniture comfortable and it's very private and very quiet. We love this place and want to come back asap.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I'm pretty sure this is where you get to stay if you've been really good in other hotels and vacation rentals.

Pros: The view is amazing. The sunsets, which you can watch from a covered patio, are unreal. The place is spotless. The bed is comfy. The sheets are clean. There's a washer and dryer. The bathroom has a closing door and is removed from the bedroom. There is a coffee maker, a french press and a grinder. There are enough tools in the kitchen that you can make a really nice dinner and watch said sunset while listening to Elvis in Hawaii from the ipod dock (Elvis not provided, just the dock). There is recycling and the trash can is really close so you don't have to march the bags down the driveway. The owners are extremely gracious and leave you totally alone. There is wi-fi, albeit slow. The gardens around the place are gorgeous and well maintained. There's a grocery store a short drive away. And, finally, there is a swimming pool, which might be the best thing ever after the evil flight from the mainland.

Cons: We had to go home.

I'm seriously picky about the places I stay, and this was one of the best.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Jose, CA
5

Excellent Location / Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Paul and Amy's rental apt. is all that a couple needs for their time in Kona. We were there a week, with a jam-packed schedule and found the location perfect for all our destinations. The view, while serene, pulls you to go play, while the rental itself is comfortable for staying in.

We unfortunately had two days down due to a sinus migraine, and the complete quiet required for my husband to recover, and the spacious kitchen table suitable for my laptop, and outside table for my books, made our unplanned stall in plans, more bearable because the place feels home-y and tucked away. And it was hard to even tell that Paul and Amy were even home, (upstairs, but separate) the entire time, until we happened to be heading out to play our second to last morning when Paul was cleaning the pool. Very nice.

Pictures were accurate as to view, and accommodations. Property very clean and well-maintained. We made use of their snorkel gear and beach chairs, which was very helpful. Loved having access to the pool. Really appreciated the wifi, the laundry, and the iPod station (load your own Hawaiian music before you arrive!)

Email communication and paypal transactions were smooth and clear. And any questions we had were answered fully. Excellent stay. We will be definitely returning, unless for some reason we were requiring more than one room.

Thank you, Paul and Amy.
See you again!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The property was in the perfect location for us. It was clean and well furnished. Paul and Amy were very responsive to all of our requests for information. We would have loved more information on what can and can not be recycled but other than that, it was perfect.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Wisconsin
5

As Advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I would give this place six stars if I could. Everything was as advertised, and it was much better equipped than one would expect. If there was anything that wasn't there, you didn't need it. Having said that, reviews are also supposed to help others make informed decisions. Here are three things to consider.

First, the location is private, quiet, gets cool breezes due to the height and features a great ocean view, but it is a few miles away from the shore, shops, restaurants etc. That's made clear in the ad, but if you want to walk to things or hear the ocean from your bedroom, this isn't the choice.

Second, the Big Island is BIG, and if you are staying in Kona you are going to have to drive to see the sights beyond Kona/Kailua. Hilo is at least two hours and Volcano National Park is two hours on a good day. On the other hand, if you stay in Hilo you are going to get wet, and Kona has more services than any location except Hilo.

Third, if lounging around the living room is important, (and why would you want to) the furniture is ok, but not the most comfortable. If you want to veg out, the Lani furniture is quite comfortable and there are two comfortable chaise lounges under an umbrella at the pool.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Affordable Luxury – Amazing Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314462vbi
+1 808-339-1536
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Hanford, California
5

Truly Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
First Class - with attention to the little details that make the stay perfect! This was a perfect vacation rental. I have stayed in many vacation rentals and this is by far the best, the cleanest, and the most comfortable. In addition, Paul and Amy provide great information on the island. Their recommendations were spot on. Even as a seasoned traveler to the BIg Island , I learned of a new beach that was perfect for swimming, snorkeling, with shade for a picnic and viewing of turtles on the sand. It was as I stated in the title truly amazing and first class. I am grateful to Paul and Amy for sharing their home. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1