Soda Springs house rental - Front View, Summer
Front View, Summer
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
Minimum Stay nights
 

Soda Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Located within the idyllic Serene Lakes community nestled around the pristine mountain lakes, Serena & Dulzura, atop Donner Summit. 3 blocks from Lake Serena on a sunny corner lot surrounded by trees, our vacation home is bright, spacious, beautifully crafted and warmly welcoming. It features cathedral ceilings, new hardwood maple flooring, a huge loft/family room, 2 decks, central heating plus wood stove in LR, fully equipped kitchen with all amenities. Beautifully decorated with artistic touches . Perfect for large or small family gatherings or group of friends to share. Comfortable and very child-friendly. A 5 minute drive to Sugar Bowl, Donner & Royal Gorge ski resorts.

Sleeps 12: Master BR has Queen bed, sitting area with TV, dressing area and adjacent to large main bathroom. Downstairs bedrooms (2): larger has double, smaller has twin trundle (sleeps 2) plus single foam futon. Loft accommodates 4-6: twin captain's bed, 2 single futons, an inflatable double aerobed and a single couch. Living Room has Queen sleeper sofa and single daybed.

Portacrib (pac-n-play)also available, as needed. Other baby/toddler items (high chair, booster seat, etc.) available on request.

Washer/dryer; spacious loft equipped with games, toys, puzzles, books, TV. (Great for kids!) WiFi, Satellite TV (3), DVD, DVR, VCR, CD, STEREO.

Gas & charcoal BBQs on decks. Kitchen has gas range/convection & standard oven, microwave, Bosch dishwasher, disposal. 1 car garage.

Summer: rafting, boating, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, kayaking, swimming, hiking, sailing, fishing, private beach with amenities. 10 minute drive to Donner Lake and park.

Winter: snowboarding, downhill/alpine skiing, cross-country skiing, snow-shoeing, sledding/tubing, snow 'play'.

All year: Enjoying nature in all forms, eating out (great restaurants in nearby Historic Truckee), shopping, gambling and nightlife (40 minute drive to Reno or the shores of Lake Tahoe). RELAXING!

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Bill & I (Shira) live and work in San Francisco. Bill is a family physician and professor at UCSF. I'm a marriage & family therapist in private practice. We have 3 grown married children and 7 young grandchildren. We delight in spending time at Serene Lakes where we enjoy kayaking, swimming, biking, rafting, hiking, painting, sculpting, playing scrabble, etc. and thoroughly relaxing in the hammock and other places within our mountain home. In winter, the area is transformed into a winter wonderland (10-12 feet of snow!) and we enjoy skiing and snowshoeing, sledding, etc.

Shira Or Bill Shore purchased this house in 2009

In 2003, one of our children decided to get married at Ice Lakes Lodge, at Serene Lakes. We fell in love with the area and fantasized about owning a place there, 'one day'. We were finally able to fulfill that dream and found the perfect home for us; a place to accommodate all 12 of us when we are lucky enough to arrange to be together. Since 'Something shared is twice enjoyed', we also enjoy sharing our home with others who appreciate and lovingly care for it, as well.

Quiet, tranquil, park-like setting. Very spacious, comfortable, solidly built. Great for entertaining. Perfect for family reunions and get-togethers.

17 Reviews of Property 314107 in Soda Springs, California

Serene Shores
average rating of 4.882353 based on 17 reviews
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
5

SO EASY AND AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was a great and easy place to be. Absolutely gorgeous in the snow.
Beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Beautiful warm, comfortable, spacious home in Soda Springs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This property was just how it was decribed, and more! It was great for an outing with two families, including my in-laws. It was pet friendly, the views, access to skiing and the lake were perfect! I would recomend this place to everybody. We are keeping ths place in mind for other trips to com
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Glen Ellen, Ca
5

Great for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lovely house, well cared for & maintained. Owners very easy to work with. We stayed in Aug 2012 for 5 days and had a blast at the house & in Serene Lakes. Lots of fun things to do locally and the neighborhood lake was so easy to access- no car needed (you can bike or walk to it). There were even Sat night movies outdoors by the lake.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
United States
4

Lovely place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed at the house in 12/11. It is a great place. The only thing I would fault it on is the crappy TV. You can pick up a nice 42" flat screen for under $500..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you liked our home despite your dissatisfaction with our three T.V.s. We agree that, although they are fuctional,they are not "state of the art"! We hope that the cable service we provide through Dish Network compensated somewhat with "on demand movies" and that you were able to enjoy other aspects of our home and the surrounding Serene Lakes and Tahoe/Donner area during your stay.
Sincerely,
Shira & Bill
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Berkeley, CA
5

Great cabin! Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!
The cabin was very cozy and clean, kitchen well equipped, kids enjoyed sleeping in the loft and playing with all the games they've found there. The owners were very attentive.
Location was great for our skiing - we're hoping to come again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you and your family enjoyed our vacation home. It's great to know that kids are enjoying the loft. We call it our "rainbow room" and created it with our grandchildren in mind.
Come back!
Warm regards,
Shira & Bill
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Elk Grove, CA
5

Splendid Christmas Weekend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
2nd Chritmas Weekend we three families spent, feel like home. Landlord has everything prepared in house, what we need to bring are cloth, food and ski equipments. I would give 10 stars if there were.
Thanks Shira & Bill.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're happy that your family enjoyed our home, once again, over Christmas weekend. Our one regret is that the snow level was so low this year but it sounds like you found fun things to do in spite of it.
Looking forward to hearing from you again.
Sincerely,
Shira & Bill
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Sacramento
5

Beautiful House with great communication with the owners.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The house is stunning and fully stocked with everything that you would need. The owners were easy to contact and gave extensive information on the house, area and services. We are planning on booking this house again for a week next Summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit again.
Warm regards,
Shira & Bill
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Pacifica, CA
5

AW + KK

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Fabulous home on one of the best lakes in the Sierras! What a beautiful place, magnificent lake and so peaceful. You couldn't ask for a better wedding weekend! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your cabin. We wanted to extend a very gracious thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you chose to stay at our home for your very special weekend. Congratulations and best wishes.
Hope you'll visit again.
Warm regards,
Shira & Bill
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Berkeley, CA
5

Serene Lake Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a great family vacation at this beautiful and spacious cabin. We stayed for 3 nights in July and had plenty to do on the lake and in the area. The cabin is cozy, very comfortable, well equipped and well maintained. Serene Lakes are absolutely beautiful and the neighborhood is very friendly. We are looking forward to coming back here in the winter.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back!
Warm regards,
Shira & Bill
business
Serene Shores
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314107vbi
(415) 752-8457 (California, USA)
Soda Springs Gold Country / High Sierra
Palo Alto, CA
4

Utterly relaxing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family spent three nights in Serene Lakes at this wonderful house....very well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, great deck, and quiet, quiet, quiet. We all had brought books to read, but if we hadn't, there was a fabulous selection to choose from as well as magazines (New Yorkers, Sunsets, etc.). It's just a couple of blocks from the lake, and the whole area is very peaceful to walk in. The owners allowed us to bring our dog, and she had a great time, too! There are beautiful hikes in the area which we enjoyed...there were still patches of snow on the ground and in the surrounding peaks in July! It would have been helpful to have a map of the Serene Lakes area as some of the streets wind around, and it can get a bit confusing (one of them came to a dead end, then picked up again across a field, eg). We had brought California Hiking with us which proved helpful in picking hikes in the area...there are several for those who are wondering. A lovely alpine lake is a short hike after a long, rough drive down Pahatsi Road...

To sum up: a lovely, restorative weekend in a lovely, well-equipped house! We hope to come back soon!
Owner's Response: We were happy to share our vacation home with you and glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback. Your suggestion to have a map of the area available is a good one and we will provide one for future guests. Please come back!
Warm regards,
Shira & Bill