Mountain View cabin rental - Living area with huge windows opening to view.
Living area with huge windows opening to view.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mountain View Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Secluded Tropical Cabin near Volcano National Park

Come live ' Old Hawaiian Style ' in this private one bedroom Fern Grotto Cottage with its huge covered lanai. The cabin is 900 Sq Ft of living space not counting Lanai and you have it all to yourselves. It's Old Hawaii, wild and rejuvenating!

Year Round Fees:

Stays of 2-6/nts for $95/nt

Stays of 7-29/nts for $87.86/nt

30+/nts for $75/nt

Check-in: 3:00 pm Check-out: 11:00 am

No Cleaning Fees! Free covered parking & WiFi. Same price for 2-4 people. Add an additional $20/nt for dome tent which sleeps 2 people upon request and Hawaii State taxes of 13.42% onto rate.

Located in the Puna district of the Big Island of Hawaii, is centrally located between Hilo, Volcano National Park, and Pahoa (20 min each way). Justhttp://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&q=19.519211,-155.027985%20%2816-1942%20Moho%20Rd,%20P%C4%81hoa,%20HI%2096778%29. Turn into Hawaiian Acres one mile north of Kirtistown onto Kuauli Rd. We are 5 miles from Hwy 11 (Volcano Rd.) on paved 8 Rd.

You can view the tropical landscape through the large picture windows in the main living area and feel comfortably in tune with nature, as the house was built with largely recycled materials and also makes use of the native Ohia logs.

This cabin is secluded in tropical landscaping and native forest. Also hidden in the forest is a skylight opening to a vast underground network of lava tubes, so please stay within the cleared areas. Surveyed in the early 1990's, the Kazumura caves are believed to run all the way to the ocean. Google for more information.

The house has everything you need with fans in living area and bedroom, TV/ DVD player, large refrigerator, stove/oven, coffee maker in the kitchen, gas BBQ grill on the lanai, washing machine & close line under the house and little extras like cooking oil, salt/pepper, coffee sample/ creamer & sugar, glad wrap, paper towels, kleenex and complete linen set up. There are also beach chairs & towels, masks & snorkels for those beach excursions. Flash lights for lava & lava tube exploring and umbrellas to have handy anytime. We take care to make your stay special from having fresh tropical flower arrangements to candles and white Christmas lights on the lanai. We even changed the shower head in the shower to give a better spray.

The Puna district is spectacular, with ragged sea cliffs, black sand beaches, overgrown rain forests, flowing lava, and quaint little towns. Wander the Maku'u Market near the little village of Pahoa on Sundays, Hilo Market on Saturday & Wednesday take in Volcano Village and the National Park, and don't miss the great snorkeling at the Kapoho tidepools. Most things you can see by car. But if you want to do a once in a life-time adventure check out lava ocean tours. They also go to Halape Hawaii's most exclusive snorkel.

Roberts Hawaii does the big bus thing from grand circle island tour to Volcano and waterfalls tours.

Hawaii Volcanoes NP is still the states #1 attraction . Stop by the visitor center, walk the trails, trek through Thurston Lava Tube (although the ones at our cottage are nicer). A trip to the park at night is a must also as you can peer into the Halema'uma'u crater from the Jagger Museum along the Crater Rim Drive. Don't worry you get a map when entering the park. The fee is $10/vehicle and they are open 24 hours a day.

The public lava viewing area in Kalapana is at the end of Hwy 130. To get there from the cottage go to the right out of the driveway and follow the pavement down to Hwy 130.(7min.) Turn right and Pahoa is just 5 min up the road. We usually get Subway sandwiches for the trip which is only another 15min drive. The county lava viewing area is open 4-10pm daily. Listen to recorded updates as the lava is not always flowing and conditions may change daily .

We have snorkel gear at the cottage (no fins) for beach excursions. The Richardson's Beach Park in Hilo is a great beach to snorkel and scuba (our personal favorite). The tide pools at Kapoho are great too.

Don't forget to see the waterfalls. Akaka Falls State Park has a self- guided 0.4 mile loop trail that takes you past Kahuna Falls and the 442 ft Akaka Falls. The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden on Scenic Drive is a must see. Trails, waterfalls, ocean vistas are a few of the things to see. Rainbow Falls and the Boiling pots in Hilo are also on my list (no swimming as there are dangerous under currents).

Hilo also has one of my favorite parks. The Lili'uokalani Gardens on Banyan Drive with views of Hilo Bay and Coconut Island. Also worth seeing is the Pana'ewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens. It is the only tropical rainforest zoo in the United States with over 80 animals. Both these parks are free.

Click on the Calendar display to see availability.

Send an inquiry or feel free to call us to book your dates at Fern Grotto in the Tropical Forest. Check out our Panoramic Ocean View Kona Mansions condo VRBO/392825 in Kailua Kona on the west side of the Big Island! You can Book both Fern Grotto and Kona Mansions for a truly amazing vacation experience. Mahalo, Fern & Bruce

Fern & Bruce live on the east side of the Big Island in Hawaiian Acres.

Hawaii TA Tax I.D. NO. W40937572-01.

Keywords: Green house, Cottage, Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

Bruce and Fern live in Hawaiian Acres only 5 miles from Fern Grotto. We fell in love with this area because of the big 3/ac lots and cooler temperatures around high 70's - to low 80's day-time (a 7 degree difference from Hilo and warmer than Volcano). Night time Jan-March can be in the low 60's so bring some fleece PJ's for lounging. Summer is in the 70's at night.

Fern Grotto was built and landscaped keeping the 'old- style' alive. We have updated a few things for our guests. A new stove and refrigerator and more recently new hardwood flooring in the living room and tiles in the entry and kitchen. The bathroom floor has also received a new look. We try to keep the charm and character of the cottage unchanged.

Our guests have been great. It is the reason we keep doing this and hope to continue for many years.

Fern and Bruce Thompson purchased this cabin in 1992

13 Reviews of Property 314014 in Mountain View, Hawaii

PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
5

Nature Lover's Dream

Nature Lover's Dream
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great, detailed instructions so that we were able to easily find it after our late flight. Wonderful, large space to watch nature through huge picture windows. Like we found at many other Hawaiian homes, the windows are not framed in with glass and therefore it can get cold at night. It was lovely that there was a second blanket at the foot of the bed that was readily available.

Knowing that the house is run completely on solar power, I was fine without a hairdryer and microwave. The house is well furnished with everything needed for your stay, and we appreciated the Kona coffee left for us. I don't really cook on vacation but was easily able to make coffee, tea and heat up some things.

The internet was a bit slow but we understood given its remote locale. The owners brought over a dvd player and some movies, and left it on the porch one day so we could use it if we wanted so we set it up.

It was very wet when we were there so missed the opportunity to explore the lava tube.

There's a large and great farmers' mkt nearby (Makuu?) that runs on Sundays - we stopped in for some great food and finds. We were at the Hilo Farmers' Mkt the day before and thought this one was even better.

When we return to the Hilo-side of the island, we definitely would like to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
-
5

Lovely and peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We really enjoyed this simply lovely cottage. It is a beautiful and peaceful property, just what we needed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
California
5

Relaxing Rainforest Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Beautiful; clean and well-maintained. Wide variety of flora and fauna on the property. I enjoyed the sounds of the frogs and the rain and had no problem sleeping in the comfortable bed. This trip we visited Pahoa, Kalapana, Waipio Valley, Hilo town and beaches, and purchased our pendant lighting from 2400 F. The writeup and other reviews accurately reflect the property and activities, and I would recommend this charming and peaceful accommodation to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/5
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
Switzerland
4

5 nights in home of nature

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed 5 nights in this charming accommodation. Everything is available, what you need and more. Everything is comfortable and practically furnished and very clean and well maintained. However, it is not as quiet as you think. The road can be heard but it did not much traffic. The many frogs have disturb us every night. This is not our music of nature. But the bed was so comfortable that we could find sleep. Practical is the closeness to Keaau, where you can shop well, especially excellent fruit from the Farmers Market. The house is very well situated between Hilo, Puna District and Volcano NP, so you can visit everything in a few days.
There is so much to see on this side of Big Island. So be sure to stay here longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
Fredericksburg, VA
5

Amazing hostess!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed on that side of the island for 3 nights. Prior to booking, I have to say Fern was MORE than accommodating! I am currently in the process of booking another rental in Florida and there is NO comparison to how easy renting Fern's property was and how gracious she is. There, their only concern is the almighty buck. I guess my husband and I were spoiled with the aloha of Fern's place!

The house - The house is so cute. They really should post pictures of the outside of it because in my opinion, I think more people would be drawn to it - especially from the back yard. We were there in January so it did get a little chilly - bring sweaters for the night! Everything was spaced out nicely and there were even little details like tin foil, baggies, olive oil for cooking, sunscreen and beach chairs. The road down is a bit long. We had wondered if we had gotten lost. Keep going. The house is spotless as well. The foliage on the property is beautiful and vibrant. Lots of mixes of flowers.

It is a good spot if you want to visit Hawaii Volcano National Park and be close to Hilo as well. We were in the middle. On that side of the island we visited the National park (of course!), Waipio valley, Hilo, and then drove along the coast. I had the stomach flu on the first day (boooo!) and then felt a bit crummy for the next few days so that put a damper on the number of things I wanted to do. We had to cancel the lava tour :( Still had a great time.

Don't hesitate with this home! The value is insane. It is clean, spacious, and the proximity isn't too bad to many things. For the reviewer with the shower issue - my husband took one of the washcloths and draped it over the spout of the shower so it channeled it down onto him more. It seemed to do the trick :)

Thanks Fern for an awesome stay!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
5

Charming rain forest retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed at Fern's Grotto 3 nights. The cottage itself was charming, clean, and comfortable. It was well equipped with towels, kitchen supplies, and even a beach bag with beach towels and snorkeling gear.
While there, we visited Volcano National Park (awesome!!), and drove along the beautiful Puna coast.
At Bruce's suggestion we visited the funky little town of Pahoa. Had lunch at Kaleo's (very good!) and dinner at Luquin's Mexican Restaurant (interesting place- good food).

My only complaint about staying at Fern's was the shower. The place is solar powered, and I know that energy conservation is important. The "low flow" shower head made the water come out as more of a mist.So even though the water was plenty hot enough, I felt cold in the shower.

All in all, it was a very comfortable place, in a lovely, private setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
5

Wonderful stay at Fern's Grotto

Wonderful stay at Fern's Grotto
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our 6-night stay at Fern's Grotto was absolutely amazing! The house is located in Hawaiian Acres, a tropical forest area that seems to be not affected by tourism yet. The property is a cozy 1-bedroom home with a lot of character, and one immediately feels that it was designed with much care and love. One of the best parts is the huge picture windows from the floor to the ceiling (they almost look like glass walls) providing views of a lush tropical forest that surrounds the property. Near the house, you can even find an entrance to lava tubes which stretch for many miles. For the more contemplative folks, a huge lanai (terrace) outside is a perfect place to have breakfast, listen to birds at night, and take in the amazing Hawaiian untamed nature.
If you are looking for nature at your doorstep without sacrificing comfort this is an ideal place. The drive to the nearest town (Hilo) is about 20 min. and it is very conveniently located to volcano sights, botanical garden, new active lava sights, etc. and was a great home base from which to explore the whole island. The owner, Fern, is a great pleasure to deal with and has been very helpful. We are very grateful and wish to come back!
(One thing we wished for was the internet connection -it was not there yet at the time of our stay).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
Kirkland, wa
5

Middle of the Rain Forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We loved this rustic place, especially for the price. It took a little to get used to the roller coaster road on the way in. It was centrally located to the Kapoho Tide pools (one of our favorite places on our entire trip), Hilo, and the Volcano. We found a nice local farmers market on Sunday and bought some of the best fruit we've ever had. We spent a morning just walking around the grounds and the driveway taking pictures. You wake up to the sound of birds in the morning and go to sleep with the sound of frogs at night. It's like having your own nature CD playing. The bed was really comfortable. It was really quiet and secluded. It is a perfect spot for a couple. We'd love to come back if we don't buy our own place over there before!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
Southeastern Wisconsin
5

A Beautiful Tropical Garden Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Experiencing the tranquility of the rain forrest! Rain one minute sunshine the next! Just wonderful place to sit back and enjoy the view of the forest and beautiful flowers all around. The lovely cottage in the middle of all the green around you was a great experience. It was so very nicely decorated inside and very comfortable living.
What a nice change of pace from the busy Kona side. I would never miss the chance to stay on the Hilo side for the many places of interest starting with the Volcano National Park to the stretch of lava beaches on Kalanianaole Dr.
We experienced a rare view of a Hawiaan Monk Seal taking a nap at Richardson Ocean Beach on Kalanianaole Dr. It was very rare to see him resting and returning back into the ocean.
The Valcanoe National Park is less than 20 miles from the cottage and you could view the lava flow if you are lucky.
Places of interest we enjoyed were the Rainbow Falls Park down town Hilo, Akaka Falls on Hwy 19 N
and Hawaii Tropical Bononical Garden.
I would recommend staying at this lovely cottage over and over again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
PRIVATE COTTAGE Near VOLCANO NP in Secluded Tropical Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314014vbi
+ (808)339-4705
Mountain View Puna District
Delta, BC
5

Very nice cottage equidistant from Hilo, Volcano National Park and Kalapana Lava viewing area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The cottage was lived in for 10 years by the owners before they moved to a property a couple of miles away, so it is very nicely supplied with all the amenities needed. The location is excellent because of its central location to Hilo, Volcano National Park and the lava viewing area at Kalapana reached using the shortcut described in the literature left by the owners. Unfortunately the lava flow had stopped near Kalapana before we arrived.

Recommended web sites are:

(VRBO refused to accept a review with web sites listed. If you would like to see the current status of the Kilauea volcano, do a Google search of Kilaueastatus, and it should be the first hit. A Google search of "volcano national Park" will lead to additional useful information.)

We had a problem with the gas for the hot water heater and stove when we first arrived, but this was quickly resolved by the owners, with the help of their son-in-law, who lives at the back of the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 5/5