Mendocino house rental - Whale Watch at The Beach House on the Mendocino Coast
Whale Watch at The Beach House on the Mendocino Coast
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
3 bdrm home, office, 2 full baths, Pet door to Gated Deck, Easy Access, sleeps 8

Mendocino Coast Ocean front, 3 bdrm home. Pet friendly with dog door to gated deck. Perfect for romantic interludes or family retreat.. Easy access single story, on a bluff overlooking the ocean with 180 degree panoramic views of sandy beaches, tide pools and the Point Arena Lighthouse.

This coastal retreat provides excellent setting for work and play. Office features COMPLIMENTARY desk top computer. NEW High speed wireless internet access is provided for guest use.

Eight sliding glass doors with fantastic ocean views surround an open living, dining and kitchen area. This sun drenched central area is enhanced with a circular hanging fireplace, Satellite Flat Screen TV, DVD/VCR, and Electric piano. (Bring your music)

The master bedroom features skylight, private bath, Jacuzzi tub, queen bed, queen futon and an adjacent office area.

Guest area includes 2 bedrooms, with double beds, desk space, full bath and laundry.

Fully equipped kitchen, ocean views makes meal prep easy and fun.

Dining area seats 8, table linens, 4 sets of dishes and flatware provided

Attention Artists, wild life lovers, hikers, musicians!

What you will find: Mendocino Coast Beach House: The Beach House is a single story home with easy access, surrounded by decks, will comfortably sleep up to eight guests. Fully equipped for play and work features master suite, adjoining office area with desk and computer with internet access, separate guest area with 2 bedrooms and full guest bath provides lots of privacy.

Children and dog friendly, the house offers a relaxing environment, a pet station and dog door that exits to the gated deck for pet safety. FREE high speed wireless internet access. Well stocked supply of games, books, firewood, VCR/DVD player, electric piano, flat screen satellite TV and Bar B Que.

A short walk will get you to a small trout pond (catch and release only) and picnic area. Fun activities include: Deck Lounging, Beach combing, whale watching from the deck, birding, tide pooling, fishing, hiking and horse back riding. Painters and photographers

flock to this sight for inspiration.

In the Neighborhood : In Manchester, 3 miles South you will find S&B a very Large General Store and across the road the

US Post Office.

Stornetta Public Lands/Tide pools recently opened. Short drive

from the Beach House.

The town of Elk is 6 miles north, pub, restaurant, cafe, artists collective gallery, coast walking trail and post office.

Point Arena, nine miles south offers a movie house, natural food store, bakery and video shop.

The village of Mendocino is 25 miles to the north and Gualala (near Sea Ranch) is 25 miles to the south. Both of these historic towns feature fine dining, galleries and shops.

The Point Arena Light house and museum is 9 miles South and makes a great excursion during your stay. You will find the new Stornetta Public lands in this area as well as the Famous Point Arena Bakery.

Fort Bragg to the north features many shops and galleries as well as the famous Skunk Train

Mendocino Coast Beach House dates available: Do not be disappointed, full week, mid week, and week end choices NOW available for 2014

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 314012 in Mendocino, California

Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
5

The Best on the Coast!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We came from Cold Springs, Nevada, to have a week on the California coast (where we hail from). It took eight hours of driving to get there and was well worth every minute of the drive! To quote my thank you to the owners in part, "Just a brief word to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the pleasure of staying at the Beach House. It was beyond our wildest expectations, with every single detail attended to ~ nothing was missed. All was of the highest quality, unusual in a vacation home. You quite obviously treat this one like your own. We left the house only one day to go to Mendocino but only lasted a couple of hours and were happy to return to the peace and restfulness of the house. And although I am retired, I came back home tanned and rested from being out on the deck most of the time. Lots of Scrabble was played and much reading. Now we are back home and each of us into our own 'rat races', but the memory of our time at the Beach House is a treasure. We look forward to returning as soon as it becomes possible." We were looking for a good place to get some needed rest, but don't discount the many things there are to do in the area with a family. The Mendocino coast is a beautiful place and the Redwoods are a stone's throw away. There are only positive things to say about The Beach House and its location. It's one of those 'too good to be true' things that don't come along often in life. Stay here ~ you won't be sorry!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Relaxing Beach Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a thoroughly relaxing weekend at the Fries beach house. This place has just about everything anyone could want for a weekend of quiet beauty on the coast. The place was immaculate, even though dogs are allowed. The long view of surf is stunning from the house and deck which sits on a bluff above the beach. Sunsets and sparkling water - so pretty. The house gets the breeze from the ocean, but we pulled some deck chairs to the side of the house and sat in the sun reading. Almost got a tan. The house is close to the beach so our dog had a blast romping in the sand. Took a fun day trip into Gualala (only 40 so minutes sounth) and went home with a beautiful stained glass lamp from the art co-op The Dolphin. We discovered an excellent Thai restaraunt in tiny Anchor Bay. The Thai Kitchen? All in all a great weekend spot to relax and watch the waves. Even saw a whale spouting past. I also found a bakery in Gualala that makes gluten free cookies - it's to the right of the art gallery near the grocery store on the west side of the street. And yes, I'd go back to this home away from home again and I will tell my friends. Lovely place.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
Denver
5

21st birthday celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What an incredible venue for our celebration ! We felt right at home in this beautiful home with a wrap around deck and incredible view of the ocean. We LOVE to cook and felt right at home in the well equipped kitchen. The fireplace warmed us as we played trivial pursuit with a multigenerational group. A good time was had by all. The beach access allowed us to walk the beach . A very special place . We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
Red Bluff
5

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I'm not sure where to start! We spent three beautiful days at the Beach House in February. The weather was gorgeous. We saw the Milky Way in the clearest skies we've seen since childhood. We so loved the sound and sight of the ocean waves breaking that we spent almost all of our time at the house, not sightseeing. We went out for lunch at Point Arena, stopped at a local grocery store for supplies and headed right back to the house, enjoying the peace and beauty of the ocean below us. By our second day there, we had made plans to return for another visit.

The house itself is very accommodating...TV, games, books, computer, phone, fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, central hanging fireplace with wood provided with thorough instructions for operating whatever you need to use. Doggie door, dog water bowl outside, dog beds and toys, children's books, games and movies. Wi-fi if your brought your own tech stuff. Owners very nice and quick to reply. A perfect getaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
Oakland, CA
5

Absolutely perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Awesome home, gorgeous location and lived up to our expectations 110 percent.
We were looking for a place close to home for a long weekend, two couples and two well trained doggies. Hubby found this listing and we booked it. I could not be happier with the choice. The home is so comfortable and cozy. it has a fireplace and heaters, games, a fully outfitted kitchen. The master bedroom is spacious. There's plenty of sleeping area for a larger party. And the deck is just amazing. It has the best view of the Pacific because it's practically on top of it.
The home was in tip-top shape when we arrived. You can tell the owners take a lot of pride in their home. It's not too "precious" and I wasn't afraid of breaking things. It fit like my favorite pair of slippers. I just walked in, sat down and let the rest of the world slip away for three days.
We went down to the beach twice (walked once, drove once) and it was gorgeous; not crowded at all. The home is close enough to go wine tasting, but really, just bring the wine with you 'cause you won't want to leave. There are also some nice restaurants nearby.
When we had to leave (sniff, sniff) all four of us agreed that this getaway was as good as it gets. We had an awesome time. Thanks Ruth and Bob!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
AZ, USA
5

I need a bigger word than W-O-W! to describe The Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We've just returned from spending the month of October 2011 at The Beach House.
W-O-W! We have been coming to Irish Beach for six years, the natural beauty was not unexpected. We knew the wide walking beach is what we crave; the tidepools always hold a secret or two and wildlife is abundant. What we didn't know was the owners' care and attention to detail at this property. Their love of their house is evident everywhere. Personal side note: my husband is a serious pianist. He planned to work on a Rachmaninoff piece during this time knowing there is a piano at The Beach House. Upon arrival, there was a problem with the piano which the owners had fixed immediately. By the next day, Sunday, we were in business. Instead of spending a month with an unhappy man, we had a glorious start to our idyll.

Little things that matter -- chilled beer mugs in the freezer upon arrival, the house was immaculate, spices were available so we did not need to bring/buy a pinch of thyme or cinnamon, there are lights by the bed for those of us who like to read, patio furniture that is quite lovely, books to read and more books, movies and games as well, dry firewood for the fireplace (also immaculate!) and owners who do not regard their tenants as possible thieves and lock away every stray kleenex or piece of soap! Need more TP? It's here (unlike a very pricey rental in Palm Springs CA where one roll per bathroom was allotted. Period. "Buy your own" we were told when we queried the agent.)

There is such a wonderful feeling in this happy house -- as well as a deck suitable for every possible weather event. Raining? Sit under the eves, windy? Move to the shielded south side of the house, too much sun? Move to the shady side, etc. Kitchenware was plentiful and, unexpected in a beach rental, the plates, glasses and flatware were not the odd assortment of rejects. The wineglasses matched as did the juice glasses, ample plates, bowls were available for table settings as well as a wide assortment of table linens. Pots, pans et al were plentiful and the knives in the knifeblock were sharp.

If a glitzy go-go-go vacation is your style, look elsewhere. This is not a glamor destination. If you seek peace, gorgeous views and tranquility in a beautiful setting, this could be the house of your dreams. The Beach House is a gem and of all the houses we have rented, this is, hands down, our favorite. So much so that we've already made our reservations for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Great Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our second visit to the Beach House. What a wonderful and comfortable place to stay. We had everything we needed for a fun, relaxing time. My husband loved the new flat screen television. The view is so beautiful it cannot be described. Loved the large deck from where we watched whales playing in the bay almost every day. It's completely enclosed so our dogs were free to roam around it too. They could go from the house out to the deck through the dog door, which they seemed to love. We saw lots of deer and rabbits around the house. While walking on the private beach (which is awesome ) a seal followed us in the surf. We had a marvelous time and will be back soon. We have stayed at many vacation homes in the Irish Beach area. This is definately our favorite. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
5

A Restful Sanctuary with Fantastic Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We can't say enough great things about our stay in this house! The wrap-around deck and 180 views are to die for. Beautiful sunsets and stars so bright and shiny that you feel like you can reach up and touch them.

The house is cozy and comfortable with all the amenities you'll ever need and the hanging fireplace is wonderful on misty evenings to keep you toasty warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows afford breathtaking views from inside, as well, and the master suite located on the other side of the house with a cozy office is terrific for people like me who have to do a little work even when on vacation.

The fenced-in deck was our Aussie's favorite place to hang out. She laid there for hours listening to the waves and watched the deer that made daily visits to the yard and bluffs below. The hawks were amazing to watch - there are tons of them. And we saw several whales spouting in the cove daily during our stay.

Make sure to check out The Bakery in Point Arenas - it's fabulous and only about 7 miles away. The store in Manchester has great meat and produce and is only about 5 miles away. Elk also has a little general store with a chef who was cooking barbecued chicken with potato salad the day we were there. They also make really good deli sandwiches. Then work it all off with a nice walk down the private beach below.

After a full exploration of the Irish Beach area - we'd never stay anywhere else. In fact we just requested reservations for next year - if that tells you anything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
Aptos CA
5

Ocean View Stay on Mendocino Coast Fabulous!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I had the privilege to stay at this property in early July of this year and just loved every minutes of it! The views are my favorite, visible whether inside or outside from all windows. The interior is sooo vacation feeling- all lighthouses and sailboats on the linens, comfy furniture to lay back and read while we hear the ocean waves below, great kitchen where we can visit and share wine while cooking!! What's not to like?? And a great restaurant not too far away when wanting some one else to cook. We had a blast, and so did our dog Blanchard, romping on the beach every morning and again later in the afternoon, watching the sky change, and perfect view of the sunset. After many stays in many places, to me, it is obvious this is "owner owned and managed" from the personal attention to every detail and that all guests are having a great experience. Going back next year for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Front Home, Winter Whales Now, Panoramic Views, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314012
Mendocino North Coast California
Santa Rosa, CA
5

An Ideal Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at The Beach House. It was our first time there and we wanted to stay forever. How can you not love the gorgeous views from the deck and living space with the soporific roar of the ocean. The house was immaculate and there were books, games and lots of information about the area. We felt the tension leave us as soon as we entered and we will be back! Oh, and our two dogs loved running on the private beach and wading in the tide pools.The outdoor hoses on the deck made it easy to clean them off after our walks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2