Lenox house rental - 1886 Carriage House
1886 Carriage House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lenox House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

This unique and special home was originally the carriage house for the neighboring 1881 mansion, it has been recently totally remodeled and professionally redecorated at the highest quality levels. It is an upscale, luxurious and sharply designed home, lived in by the owners, that should not be confused with a typical 'rental' unit. You will be entering a world of class and comfort with an understated elegance and style.

The property is located on the hill top adjacent to the center of historic Lenox; it offers open, unobstructed views of the splendid Berkshire Mountains from its wide, furnished back porch. Perfect for sipping cocktails after a day of enjoying everything that the Berkshires have to offer. Adjacent to the home are two of the famed 'Berkshire Cottages' (actually exquisite mansions), miles of development restricted woods extending from the back porch and lawn – creating an oasis of green space in the centre of the town of Lenox. The historic Ventfort Hall is across the street, and shops, restaurants, galleries, coffee shops and Shakespeare and Company are all within just a 2 minute walk.

The home has 4 bedrooms, each with its own private bath. 1 king, 2 queens and 1 full bed. Three of the bedrooms have flat screen TVs with satellite and cable and high speed wireless internet throughout. A large, bright, modern fully equipped kitchen with stone countertops an island and GE Monogram stainless steel appliances. The dining area has a magnificent custom dining room table of Madagascar ebony that can extend to seat up to 12. An outdoor propane grill is included. AC and heat with 6 separate zones. Approximately 3000 sq ft. The lawn is manicured with beautiful professional landscaping and flowers.

Pets Allowed: The home has a doggie door that opens to a fenced in side yard. The owner will allow 1 or 2 well behaved and house-trained small or medium sized dogs. No puppies. No cats.

Keywords: Luxury, Berkshires, town, house, upscale, Lenox, remodeled, modern

More Details
Hide Details

This home has been a careful remodel and design project over 3 years. We created this as our personal summer family residence and seasonal vacation home. Our home contains our personally selected original artwork and creative finds, but you will not be peppered with walls of family photos. This should feel like your own elegant Lenox home during your stay, and we hope you will and enjoy and treat it with love.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

The Berkshires have so much to see and do, and Lenox is the heart, which is why so many of the 19th century industrialists built their summer 'cottages' here. With Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Co, Jacob's Pillow, museums, shops, galleries, Canyon Ranch, countryside for hiking, biking, skiing, water-sports, it's an amazing place to enjoy life. In the fall, the area comes alive with all the brilliant foliage colors, arts, crafts, and harvest festivals. Take a scenic drive in the country or hike, bike or golf. Fine dining at area establishments featuring the seasons delights.

Nearly everything is within walking distance, or a very short drive.

13 Reviews of Property 312238 in Lenox, Massachusetts

1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Princeton, NJ
5

Charming Home with Beautiful Space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This carriage house, fully remodeled, holds the charm of its 1881 character with all new beautiful bathrooms, gorgeous kitchen and decorating, as well as interesting art and artifacts thoroughout. Its location, a 5 minute walk across the street into town, makes it the ideal spot for experiencing a relaxed, slow-paced vacation. Add to this the spacious and beautifully landscaped yard and comfortable porch overlooking it, and a person really does not even have to leave the house to have a wonderful Lenox week. We were 6 adults and one child and fit the home perfectly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Boston Area
5

An incredible experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at this beautiful home for a week in August. We concur with all the wonderful things people have said in reviews before us. Rather than repeat all that has already been said, here are some things that haven't been highlighted. In addition to the beautifully-landscaped lower garden, there is a huge open lawn great for games. The bathrooms are wonderful, and the water pressure is tremendous. There is tons of storage space so it's easy to unpack and settle in. Any kitchen appliance we needed was there. The house is incredibly well and thoughtfully stocked, with extras of everything on hand. Finally (and this bears repeating), Amy was a pleasure to deal with throughout the process, extremely responsive and available to answer any question about the house or help out with advice on local activities. We're thrilled that we found this home; it's an incredible place to stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Lausanne, Switzerland
5

The Perfect Home Away from Home, Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I stayed here with my family and toddler son and loved every minute. The only regret I have is that we didn't stay longer. The house is located on a beautiful nature lot with amazing views out the back deck/wrap around porch, however it is also a simple walk to Lenox village center. The house has been beautifully restored and decorated What I love the most is that there are so many interesting and cultural books and art pieces I felt like I was in mini-museum and library. And for families that like to cook, there are all the essentials plus more and great dining space. It was truly spetacular!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Westchester, NY
5

Wonderful Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed with another family for a week at this wonderful carriage house. The open floor plan on the ground floor made it perfect for everyone to be together. The parents were able to cook and relax in the kitchen area (which is terrific for cooking with plenty of counter space) while the kids played together in the living room part of the same space. When meals were ready everyone fit around the large table in the dinning area. Guests who visited us commented on what a terrific feeling the home had, and everyone loved the artwork. The kids enjoyed playing in the back yard and the walk to restaurants and shops in Lenox is only a few minutes. The driveway had plenty of parking for several cars and the location was convenient for quick trips to Great Barrington and skiing. All of the rooms are very comfortable and the master is exceptional. We were very pleased with our stay and would be excited to come back again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Boston
5

A Wonderful New Years Eve

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We escaped to the Lenox to spend a long New Years weekend. From the second we walked into this home we knew we were going to have a very special get-a-way. Set in a perfect location we could walk to the downtown area in less than 5 minutes which was wonderful as it was a snowy weekend and we didn't want to drive.

This is one of the most beautifully decorated places I have EVER visited, and we have been MANY 5 star places. It was welcoming and warm and I felt like my best friend had loaned me her home for the weekend. The owners have chose to trust renters with their family items (books, antiques, etc.).

We had planned on cooking a gourmet meal for New Years Eve and it was such a special treat to cook in this kitchen. 5-star gourmet everything!

I can not stress how wonderful this place is and I hope that we are able to come back in the future!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Groton, MA
5

Peaceful get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We spent a week at this lovely home. It is nicely appointed with a wonderful kitchen and spacious bathrooms. Has a fantastic view out the back, a gorgeous back yard and garden area and it is situated in a great location for Lenox - within an easy walk to town but yet it feels out of town and quiet when at the home. It would be perfect for a group of 6-8. Open concept first floor, large dining area. First floor master is good for those with mobility issues; however there is a step or two inside on the main floor of the house and to the outside other than via the front door. Upstairs master is superb with view, office and great bathroom! Cell service works (unlike in Stockbridge). Loved it and would happily return to this property for a quiet and peaceful week in beautiful western MA.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Lancaster, NY
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Truly beautiful home. Open floor plan downstairs makes it perfect to be with the family and still do your own thing. Cooking, reading, eating, playing a game at the table. The downstairs bedroom was wonderful for my parents who find it hard to go upstairs. Furniture was comfortable and all the windows with the gorgeous views was relaxing. You could easily walk to the shops in Lenox but felt like you were in the country. The lovely church across the street was as beautiful to look at as the backyard gardens and mountains. No matter what you want to do...relax, shop, hike... you will find it all here. Amy was always just a text away if we had any questions or concerns. Honestly a fantastic, comfortable and relaxing stay. And pet friendly too! Our little dog loved the fenced area on the side of the house. He also loved going for walks every night into town which was well lit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Susan,

Thank you so very much for the lovely review. You truly added new comments no one else did. Thanks again. If you ever would like to come back you are welcome.

All My Best, Amy Zuckerman
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Washington DC
5

Wonderful Home for Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This is a fantastic house to rent for a decadently relaxing vacation. The first-floor open floor plan makes this home particularly ideal if you're with a group or family--hanging out all together is easily accommodated. Well-appointed gourmet kitchen open to the living area makes cooking a delight. Beautiful, big windows in master bedroom and living area allow you to enjoy the gorgeous garden and grounds even when not outdoors. We were here for Hurricane Irene and genuinely enjoyed watching the rain out these beautiful windows! Fabulous amenities--delicious linens, beautiful bathtubs, cozy robes, comfortable beds, plush couch, fun books to read...

The location is perfect. Just outside of the main strip of town. Very, very walkable to all shops in Lenox, but enough out of the hustle of town to be super quiet and comfortable. We'd also recommend the hiking in Kennedy Park in Lenox. It's about a 20 minute walk to the park and then trails, trails galore. Really wonderful.

We absolutely loved our vacation here and would highly recommend it to anyone--especially families--who wanted a great home to rent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
Riverdale, NY
5

Mchele (Riverdale, NY)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This home is even more beautiful than the pictures illustrate. It is very tastefully decorated and comfortable as well. The beds were very comfortable and we really enjoyed how the master bedroom was set up. There is plenty of storage space and a comfortable office space off of the bedroom. We really enjoyed the outdoor porch and very spacious backyard, as well as the lower garden. The location can't be beat and we especially enjoyed the proximity to Lenox shopping. The owners are wonderful to deal with and we appreciated their patience in helping us answer our questions about the property. We would definately come again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
1881 Impeccably Remodeled Carriage House. Walk to Town.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312238vb
(520) 760-2884 (Arizona, USA)
Lenox Berkshires
orange county, ca
5

Loving the Berkshires & LENOX !

Loving the Berkshires & LENOX !
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I moved my family from the west coast to Lenox for an entire month and had the pleasure of staying in this wonderfully, well appointed, stylish and comfortable home. 

The location was divine! Walking distance to all the great shops and restaurants in town, along with ideal location to all the very close surroundings such as; Great Barrington, Stockbridge, Lee, Pittsfield and Becket! The Shakespeare Co. is a walk down the street, along with Canyon Ranch, Tanglewood and Kripalu !!! 

This home and it's location is magical! We were so sad to leave...and we definitely return! Great for families and friends. 

We highly recommend this listing for an exceptional home away from home experience! The owner is lovely and has impeccable taste! (the home is even more beautiful than the photos listed) All of our questions were answered and it was a pleasure communicating with the owner.
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway