Winchester house rental - Front of house/parking/sandy play area with swings, basketball, volleyball, etc.
Front of house/parking/sandy play area with swings, basketball, volleyball, etc.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Winchester House Rental Photos and Description
Fun Private Luxury Home Available long term also!

Book Now for the last few weekends in Spring ! The Hot Tub is bubbling! Plan ahead for Fall 2014 because summer is booked solid!

A Stunning Lakefront home on crystal clear,sandy bottomed, 110 acre Forest Lake at the junction of NH,VT,& MA will be your long awaited retreat in the whispering pines, shimmering lakes, and beautiful foliage of New Hampshire. Bring the kids & dogs or just enjoy by yourselves. The Great room with 25' high natural pine cathedral ceiling, skylights, entertainment center and fireplace is comfortably, casually, and uniquely furnished. Fall Foliage time is spectacular, both around the lake and on the many scenic drives nearby.

It looks out over the pristine Forest Lake that lends itself to a memorable vacation with family and friends. A fully equipped gourmet kitchen that incorporates a Jennair oven/range/grill, refrigerator/icemaker and dishwasher with all utensils, equipment, spices, condiments, etc. will make it difficult to try the eclectic restaurants in Keene, New Hampshire or historic Brattleboro, Vermont nearby.

The Four Bedrooms are 2 Queen beds, a Double, and the 4 season sun-porch with 2 single beds & Queen hide a bed (Great kid or teen suite with their own TV and VCR) and a Queen hide-a-bed in the living room and crib allow for a peaceful nights rest after a nice bath in the Jacuzzi tub or sitting in the private outdoor Hot Tub overlooking Forest Lake!

An additional living room/ sitting area with wood stove, AC and new half bath with full size washer & dryer gives you a chance to plan your day fishing,which is superb, swimming off the 150 square foot floating dock, using our canoe,3 kayaks, 4 person paddle boat,rafts or floating lounge chairs on the lake, cross country or downhill skiing, snowmobiling on marked trails, antiquing and shopping in sales tax free NH, playing golf, hiking, biking, leaf-peeping, or attending one of the many auctions, flea markets concerts, shows or festivals in the area.

For a little exercise and a 100 mile view, climb Mt Monadnock, the most climbed Mtn in the world and only 15 miles from the house. Take the bikes down by the hobby farm with Llamas, goats, ducks, geese,lambs,horses etc. Horses and trail rides are less than a mile away and afterwards, rest those weary muscles in the new Hot Tub with the sun setting right into shimmering Forest Lake.

Winter brings cross country skiing right from the door,(10 sets of skis, 12 sizes of boots & lots of skates,snowshoes, hockey sticks and Ice fishing 'jigs' for your use!)big time downhill skiing within an hour, snowmobiling on marked trails,ice skating, sledding, ice fishing or just relaxing around the wood stove or propane fireplace.

Maybe best of all, just grab a book,snuggle in a chair by the fire,or on one of the 3 outdoor decks and just let your cares drift away as the sun slowly sets out over the lake!

We do tend to book up for the Summertime usually by months before, but also check out our new home on Rockwood Pond in Fitzwilliam, NH VRBO/181030.

Make sure to look at the unedited Guest Comments just below to see what our previous guests thoughts were!

Keywords: Lakefront,Fishing,swimming,boating,canoe,kayaks,gourmet,upscale,luxury,family,kids, pets,fun,year round,cross country skiing,skating,Snowshoeing

More Details
Hide Details

We used to run a Country Inn and Spa in Canada. While we certainly enjoy our homes when we can on the weekends, we really have fun providing an enjoyable and relaxing time for our guests, who do seem to return year after year. We'd like you to be one of them!

Paul & Anne Harris purchased this house in 2002

The town of Keene, NH, 9 miles north has a wide and constant variety of things to do, with it's 3 universities and very active merchants assoc. The main downtown, with 60 shops & restaurants, with no national chains is very unique. There are the 'Big Box' stores on the outskirts of Keene.

Forest Lake is very protected from prevailing winds, so it warms quickly in the Spring and freezes quickly in the Winter. As a mostly summer seasonal lake, from early fall to late Spring, you own the lake!

104 Reviews of Property 24790 in Winchester, New Hampshire

Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.9903846 based on 104 reviews
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Great property with all the amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This property is on a great location that allows for a wonderful getaway on beautiful Forest Lake. Not only is the house fully-equipped with everything one could imagine - from a media library of DVDs to a hot tub to an external BBQ with a dock - but also it includes a basement with games (ping-pong table, for example). Our host, Paul, was friendly and was prompt in communication - helping with the simplest of things, for example - how does the WiFi work? The property was clean and well-maintained - the photos online are a good representation of what you can expect. I would highly recommend this property as it is just the right size with all the amenities which allows for a luxurious vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Wonderfule home for friends to re-connect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We all had a great time meeting up with our friends at this home! Paul was fantastic in helping us with directions, he even charted out a long distance run for me as I am training for a Marathon! He went above and beyond! The home was very clean, plenty of space for our friends, easy drive from Boston for our friends. We loved snow shoeing on the lake and playing ping pong in the basement. Great place to travel with friends or family! We hope to be coming back soon! Best, Lauren & Matt
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Winter Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We visited Paul and Ann's rental house on Forest Lake, this past weekend. We had 4 adults and 3 children in our group. The house was exactly what we expected it to be and the kids loved the game room! It was clean, easily accessible and the kitchen was stocked with everything we could have needed and more! We enjoyed ice fishing, relaxing in the hot tub and took the short trip to VT for dinner. All in all it was a great time and we would like to return sometime in the Summer to swim in the lake.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
groton ct
5

Great stay in New Hampshire

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This house was perfect for our group of six couples plenty of room. It is our seventeenth year of weekend getaways and we will definitely be going back. The home owners went above and beyond to ensure our stay was every bit as perfect as promised. Everything you need can be found in this cozy, comfortable immaculate home. We were able to enjoy some cross country skiing, snow shoeing and watch the ice fishermen bring in a beautiful rainbow trout. Thanks to Paul and Anne we had an amazing weekend because they have thought of everything to make that possible. They even invited us to come up early to avoid traveling in the predicted storm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Where do you live?
5

Fun and relaxing weekend, even with teenagers!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We took our two daughters, son and four of their friends to the cabin to celebrate our youngest's 13th birthday. What a great idea! Paul was a most excellent host who communicated with us well ahead of time and then made sure all was well once we got there.

The cabin itself is definitely well stocked--with games, movies, music, and books. Add to that the game room and ice skates AND a hot tub, and even seven teenagers ages 13 to 17 never once complained of boredom. We got hit with substantial snow during our visit, but the driveway was plowed right away and thoroughly, so we were able to get out and about easily when we decided to venture into Keene.

One thing worth mentioning is that the cabin feels very private, even though neighbors are in close proximity. And despite being situated right on the lake, a trip into town is easy and relatively quick. We ate out once and went bowling...then the kids were happy to get back to the cabin.

I can't recommend enough staying at this comfortable, homey cabin. Whether your group is young, older, or mixed...one or two or ten of you, you just cannot go wrong. And Paul will make it his mission to see that you have everything you need.

Don't hesitate--rent now, before someone else beats you to it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Lake- excellent NYC Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful stay at Paul's beautiful home. Comfortable beds, well stocked kitchen, tons of great outdoor equipment for any season, hot tub (!!!),and a beautiful view of the lake! It was perfect place for a couple to getaway from the city. Cozy, yet large! Communication with Paul was excellent, from the days leading up to our stay through the day we left. He is clearly an expert host who has been doing this for many years. We would definitely love to come back again, as I can only imagine the house and surrounding area is just as beautiful in the summer as it was during our frozen winter trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
hamden
5

A Wonderful Place for a Thanksgiving Gathering!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The lake house was all and more than I expected. It is warm and cozy and yet quite roomy. My family gathered from Massachusetts and Connecticut for a week of relaxation culminating with a wonderful Thanksgiving Feast in the lovely great room overlooking the lake. We enjoyed the fireplaces, hot tub, books, and movies. The kitchen was well equipped, providing everything you need for a holiday feast. We really would love to return, maybe in the summer to enjoy the beautiful decks and waterfront. Thanks Paul and Anne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Perfect relaxing weekend!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wonderful girls weekend at the lake! Cabin had everything we could need for the perfect weekend. We got to spend time on the lake, canoeing, fishing, sunbathing, & reading! Only complaint was the weekend went by too fast to do everything. Highly, highly recommend this great New Hampshire getaway and will definitely be returning! Thank you Paul & Anne for sharing your cabin home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Sandpoint, ID, Northwest
5

Nothing left needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Amazing how ONE house and location can have EVERYTHING you would ever want.. Besides the wonderful paddle boat, kayaks and canoe, we found a waffle maker, neat board games and EVEN natural food coloring for a cake we were decorating. It was homey, fun and delightful, a perfect place for a family get together. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Jim Thorpe, PA
5

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Can not go wrong with renting this home. Everything you need with exception to bedding and towels is at your fingertips. Very charming and secluded. Doggies had a good time as well. Lots to do and see. Day trips to bordering states were very nice with lots of shopping and antiqueing.
We will be back again next year, as I think we found the perfect home to stay at when visiting up North.

Thanks again Paul and Ann
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing