Islamorada house rental - Partial aerial view of The Last Resort, Islamorada, Florida Keys.
Partial aerial view of The Last Resort, Islamorada, Florida Keys.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Islamorada House Rental Photos and Description
4 bed/4 bath beachfront on over 1 acre with a private beach, heated pool & dock

* 7 Day minimum rental - Saturday to Saturday *

SORRY NO WEDDINGS OR LARGE PARTIES ALLOWED

* Please check the calendar prior to booking*

Low Season Rates Sept. 1st to Nov 30th $4800 + 12.5% tax

Visit our Main site at www.floridathelastresort.com

FOR YOUR OWN PROTECTION, NEVER RESPOND TO AN UNSOLICITED EMAIL REQUESTING A WIRE TRANSFER TO A BANK OUTSIDE THE USA

Ocean front executive retreat with overwhelming views of the Atlantic, large open verandas, 165 feet of private sandy beach, 15 x 30 seaside heated swimming pool, 37 ft. concrete protected dockage on canal adjacent to house and a gated entrance. Quiet seclusion awaits you at this unique destination.

This 4-bedroom, 4-bath home with 4,000 square feet of living area is situated on over an acre in a private, tropical setting. Located in an upscale neighborhood in famed Islamorada, this fine home offers you the ability to relax, entertain, and enjoy the many recreational activities found only in the Florida Keys!

Recognized as a preferred location by international publications for resort and swimwear photo sessions, the interior is casually furnished, tropically decorated, and provides every imaginable convenience.

Additional photos can be seen at the website below.

You'll find an abundance of great island shops, full-service marinas, and popular local restaurants nearby!

Ideal home for extended families due to majority of living space being on ground level. Also, wide covered front and back porches are ideal for outdoor entertaining/relaxing. Rear veranda overlooks breath-taking ocean views, palm trees and sand beach. Front veranda overlooks beautiful tropical landscaped yard. Our home also has a roof top deck overlooking the palm lined sand beach and brilliant shades of the tropical ocean.

Amenities: Two story home which includes front and back covered porches, 15x30 heated in-ground pool, 165 wide private sugar sand beach, and beautiful landscaping. House includes 3 phones, high speed Internet/DSL line, central air conditioning, ceiling fans in all rooms, 4 cable TV's, DVD players, stereo/CD player, office desk.

Full kitchen includes microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator with ice maker, coffee maker, toaster, cooking utensils and linens provided. Washer, dryer, Jacuzzi tub in bath, gas grill (BBQ). Floating rafts and deck chairs. Pets allowed. 37 foot concrete private dockage is available on our canal lot adjacent to the oceanfront home.

More Details
Hide Details

Greg & Michele are married with 4 children in total, 2 in College, a 4th Grader and Pre-K. We live in Cary, North Carolina which is a suburb of Raleigh. We also have 2 Newfoundlands (they look like black St Bernards). We've owned our home in Islamorada since 2000 and prior to that, owned a condo in Truman Annex in Key West, FL since 1993. I work in Finance for Lenovo (computer company, formerly IBM) and lived/worked in England from 1998-2000 and Dublin, Ireland from 2000-2004 with IBM. I enjoy spending time with my family, Travel, Islamorada, Sports, and listening to boring financial shows and the History Channel (since I'm always working). Michele is from Dublin- Ireland, is a Management Consultant and has been an avid world traveler both for work and recreation.

Greg Feeley or Michele Rosborough purchased this house in 2000

Close proximity to local shops, dining & Marinas. This is one of the largest property sites in Islamorada with a private sand beach and private canal dockage across the street. I purchased this home primarily due to the size of the oceanfront land as well as it's charm in being a ground level home with lots of windows for viewing the beautiful surroundings (homes built after 1974 in the Keys have to be elevated) One of the more important considerations was the safety for kids and that is was an authentic Keys Conch home. It was built in 1922 and has some very interesting history to it. Islamorada and the house is a great location and makes it perfect for reconnecting with friends and family away from the hustle and bustle of life.

The Last Resort has overwhelming views of the Atlantic, large open verandahs, 165 feet of private sandy beach and a 15 x 30 foot seaside heated swimming pool, all on over one acre of private tropical land. (MM 76.7) The property also boasts a 37 foot protected concrete dock on the canal adjacent to house with direct ocean access. Quiet seclusion awaits you at this unique destination. Located in the middle of the Florida Keys, in the upscale neighborhood of Lower Matecumbe, this four bedroom, four bath home; with 4,000 square feet of living area, offers you the ability to relax, entertain and enjoy the many recreational activities found here. It is the ideal home for extended families due to majority of living space being on the ground level. We are also a pet friendly property! The wide covered front and back porches are ideal for outdoor entertaining and relaxing. The rear verandah overlooks breath-taking ocean views, palm trees and the white sand beach, while the front verandah overlooks a beautiful tropical landscaped garden. Our vacation home also has a Roof Top Viewing Deck, again with stunning views of the palm lined sandy beach, and views of the blue & turquoise Ocean as far as the eye can see. See our Photos. Recognized as a preferred location by International Designers & Publications for fashion and swimwear photo sessions, the interior is casually furnished, tropically decorated, and provides every imaginable convenience. You'll find an abundance of great island shops, full-service marinas, and popular local restaurants nearby!

15 Reviews of Property 311833 in Islamorada, Florida

Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 15 reviews
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest note received Feb 2014

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Just wanted to say that we had a wonderful time at The Last Resort. It truly was a home away from home with all the ammenities. Loved watching the sunrise with morning coffee on the back porch. All of us would definitely like to return sometime in the future.

Colin Q & Ron T and all the Q family

Guest stayed 8th-15th Feb 2014
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest card received Feb 2014

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Dear Greg and Michele,

Thanks for a wonderful week at The Last resort. We all had a wonderful time in your beautiful home. The house was charming and we enjoyed all the different opportunities to be together, either to quietly read or engage in conversation. Thanks for your quick response re the shower door issue. We own property on the coast of Maine that we rent and we know how important having a capable property manager is.

We have told friends about the house and hopefully future rentals will result.

Thanks to you again.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Special Historic Place

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Thank you so much for allowing us all the privilege of enjoying your wonderful historic home. We loved the setting (more beach than we could find up and down the Keys), the spaciousness, the amenities and of course the cozy and inviting porch with such comfortable chairs. I hated to leave Bravery (outside cat). He was such a special added touch for me. We also noticed the name Anne Eaton on a plaque at Anne's Beach as we walked on the boardwalk and thought that it must be the same Anne Eaton that used to own your home "The Last Resort". How special it felt to b e in such a historic place.

We cooked a lot of meals in the spacious kitchen that was stocked with plenty of utensils. Thank you again for sharing your piece of paradise.
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
houston
4

july vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Several old friends and their wives got together over the week of july 4th. The house has an interesting long history in the keys since 1922 and has character. We arrived to find it clean, with plenty of towels n linens, wireless cable, great ac, our own private beach and pool. every room had its own TV. and a full washer/dryer. very nice. guests enjoyed feeding the friendly outside cat named bravery daily as well the iguana who lives in the trees above the pool. classic for the keys!

During the day, those who wanted fished, catching black tuna and mahi mahi one day on the gulf side and our limit of mango snapper the next on the edge of the everglades. recommend capt ron howell 3058961507. all met up after and relaxed by our pool grilling our catch for dinner every night.
afterwards we played dominos and poker on the beautiful kitchen table. the owners also called to check on us to ensure a pleasant stay. thanks!!
Helpful votes: 11/13
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Repeat Renter. One of our favorite places to be!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I have stayed at The Last Resort 3 years in a row and it gets better every time. We have 3 kids under the age of 7 so it's obviously important to us that any house we rent is safe and comfortable. I must say it's easily knowing that the owners have young kids themselves since it's one of the best equipped houses with regard to kiddie essentials we've ever seen.

Every other house we have rented we have to rent cribs etc. but here Michele has thought of all the bulky stuff that's a pain to travel with when you have babies & toddlers. There are 2-3 cribs, high chairs, a stroller and even baby monitors. We always have an absolutely great time here and Islamorada is one of our favorite destinations in the world as it's safe, has plenty to do for everyone, the best fresh food and plenty of family time entertainment for all ages... oh! and that ocean!

Just beautiful! We love this house, the atmosphere there is great - we'd love to own it but not in this lifetime unfortunately. It is definitely an original and though it is historic and an older home, it always has everything we need, all the modern conveniences are there, is very well stocked and is totally charming. You can't beat the beach, the views and the pool. We can't wait to get back here again and will be arriving in a few weeks. The kids have great fun, we have great fun and so do the grandparents.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sara & Claire. It's always great having your group here... lots of babies always means lots of fun :0) Looking forward to having your group here again shortly.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Great Week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family recently spent a week at "The Last Resort" and had a great time! The house is charming and the beach access couldn't be more perfect for kids. We loved our outings on the canoe! We look forward to coming back in the near future!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Amy,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your kind comments. I'm glad everyone enjoyed their stay and we look forward to having you and your family return. Please extend our thanks to the rest of your family as well.

Thanks! Greg
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

A real life post card in a stunning paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
After an amazing stay I am absolutely compelled to write
and let others know about this gem in paradise. I wasn't
sure what to expect, knowing it was a true historic landmark,
but my family and I could not have been more thrilled.
The history associated with the house is fascinating and
my husband and I found ourselves wanting to know even
more of the background associated with this nearly 100 year old house.

As for the house itself, there are barely words to describe the genuine
charm and authenticity that comes from staying in a place with so
much life and stories of residents and visitors past. The most
wonderful part was that it was not at all like staying in a modern
condo where everything is cookie cutter and uninteresting.
With this home, you truly got the feeling that you were alone
and at peace during a time where interruption was not even a possibility.

Our kids could even pretend they were living in another time, such was
the ambiance of this treasure. All this, yet the owners have done a
marvelous job with ensuring that every modern amenity we could
possibly need was still available to us, including the pool! The views
are hardly able to be described. They repeatedly took our breath away,
and it really does feel like you just stepped into a postcard.
I also have to mention the restaurants. This location gave us dining
experiences unlike any other place we have ever been. True authentic
Keys fare - and do not miss the genuine key lime pie at .....!!
We can not wait to return someday - the place where the sand was the
softest, the view the most stunning, and the house the most charming
for an experience that will be unforgettable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Mayville, MI
1

Vacation in December

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This rental property was not at all what was expected. The house and property looks beautiful in the photos, but does not compare in person. The house was built in the 1920's and therefore has a lot of "old house" issues. The door thresholds were very poor if non existent at most doors, therefore a lot of centipedes would be on the floor each morning. We would have to sweep up about 2 dozen of these 1-2 inch long bugs every morning. The kitchen was overrun with ants. There were literally hundreds of ants every day in the kitchen. They were crawling out of the dishwasher, out from under the very poorly caulked sink, coming out of the cupboards etc. No open packages of any type of food could be left out on a countertop. The stairs leading to the second floor were very narrow and steep, I am only 5' 3" and I had to duck to not hit my head! The upstairs floor by the roof patio felt like you were going to fall thru the floor. The "party deck" could not be used, it stated for emergency exit only. The upstairs closet that is locked had a wasps nest in it, and we could not spray the wasps as the closet was locked. The house was very dirty, dust on all surfaces, our socks would turn black from walking across the floors. In our one week stay, we had to have the maintenance man, the plumber, the cleaning crew, the exterminator, and the electrician out for repairs. All of the smoke detecters went off in the house and were screaming for an hour. The only plus to this property is that it is ocean front and has a pool. The owner was very prompt about getting crews out to fix issues, but these issues should be addressed before a renter is present. The last thing you want to do on vacation is deal with repairs and the such....I could do that at home! For the amount of money paid, this should have been at least a 4 star facility instead of a 1 star. I have always had very good luck with renting via vrbo, this time I feel like I was robbed of my vacation. This house should be shut down for a month and be cleaned from head to toe (cleaned, not just surface wipe downs). The spindels on the porch railings need to be fixed, deck boards repaired, windows repaired, grout in bathrooms repaired, kitchen sink recaulked etc. This could be a wonderful old house, but it needs a ton of work.
Owner's Response: Impossible to respond with a 2500 limit allowance. CONTACT US for full response. We own the home 13 years, never had a review like this. The house books 48 wks pa, repeat renters for over 10 yrs. This level of bookings impossible for a home described in this review. Per Content Guidelines VRBO doesn’t validate guest’s content and acknowledges subjectivity. We are proactive and call guests on Sat. Check In. Not able to contact the guest for 3 days. Perplexed as to why if so many issues we weren’t contacted immediately. Some facts are omitted from this review. Cobwebs on the ceiling-not possible ceilings had just been painted days prior. Windows screwed shut-untrue it would be a fire code violation-our maintenance man came to show the guest how to open them. Wasps-Not told about this until 2 hrs post departure. Our toddler slept in the room the whole week-no wasps or nest, service providers found no evidence either. Party Deck & Floor: Not a party deck, it’s a viewing deck. State Law fire regs. It’s labeled as Fire Exit. Two decks and a pool deck for guests. No issue with the structural integrity of the floor-hurricane graded property, inspected p.a. Photos: Taken with my camera, apart from putting towels outside they’re an accurate representation. Fire Alarms: Per fire code they are hardwired. It was an unforeseen circumstance and one we apologized for. Once we were contacted they were stopped while we were on the phone. Electrician was next door and there within 1hr. Historic home as per our personal site and linked on the VRBO site. In a harsh saltwater oceanfront environment with Tropical Storms or Hurricanes there will be maintenance issues with any property. We balance those issues with preserving the original architecture of the property. We will now replace some of the original spindles. Beach side deck was freshly painted the day before occupancy. Cleaning and Ants - we left the house on the day of guest’s arrival-no evidence of ants. I physically saw the crew dusting, cleaning and wet mopping. After 3 days of use we sent our teams back. Guest was offered a walk through for any other issue, they declined. Tropical environment, no unopened food should be left out. We work closely with our guests who will attest to our professionalism and integrity. The review is overly harsh and not an accurate reflection when issues were not brought to our attention for 3 days and were rectified immediately or at the guest’s convenience.
Helpful votes: 17/25
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Exceeded all our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a great place! Our family just adored it here. We come every year to the Keys though normally we stay in hotels or a resort complex. We definitely made the right choice with this house. It's so charming and has nearly 100 years of history attached to it but has every modern convenience needed for a great family stay. It made a huge difference to us having the majority of living space on the ground floor as my daughter is unable to manage stairs. This is something you don't get in the new houses as they are all built on stilts.

There's an enormous Master on the 1st floor and also a den which is the perfect place for kids to hang out if they want to watch TV or relax away from the adults.

We had 2 babies with our group and we hardly needed to bring anything with us. There were 3 cribs, one full size/one portable and a pack n' play complete with a proper mattress & all the bedding. There were two high chairs, two baby monitors, stair gate and there was even a stroller for guest use. The owners are a pleasure to deal with and cater to families with kids like we never got in a resort.

The kids (and adults) LOVED the heated pool and private beach. There were 3 outside areas for dining, both sunny and a shaded portion. My husband is an Executive Chef and to say the kitchen is well stock with utensils and everything required for both cooking and baking is an understatement. They have thought of everything with this house, down to several coolers for fishing trips and a 2nd refrigerator. My son thought he was in heaven as just 10 seconds from the main gate is the private dock and he spent most of his days fishing out by the reef.

One of the best parts was sitting on the beach porches early morning or evening, it's just so relaxing. The grounds are gorgeous with a beautiful tropical landscape.

There are plenty of great restaurants and activities for all close by. One of our favorite restaurants was the Lorelei which is very kid friendly and has live music. Pierre's is a great restaurant also, though for an evening meal I wouldn't recommend it with kids as it's a nice adult treat.

There's plenty to do here but we enjoyed it so much we hardly left the house and cook BBQ most evenings. It's the perfect place for everyone in the whole family to enjoy not only Islamorada, but also each other.

I would definitely recommend this house and we have already booked for 2013.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Islamorada - Oceanfront Estate - Private 165ft Beach, Heated Pool & Dockage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311833
+1 919 465-7432
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Portage, Mi
5

Perfect for family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
For 17 years our family has vacationed across North and Central America at Thanksgiving. "The Last Resort" is one of the best places we have visited. The home offered a great heated pool, a sandy beach , a great porch on the water for breafast coffee, a dining room that fit all 8 of us easily for Thanksging diner, a sizable, well stocked kitchen and huge bedrooms and nice baths for all. There was something for everyone and the equipment for any activity was available. The home is located close to good resurants and local activies. We would recomend it for everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Russ and Barb,
Thanks very much for your kind words and review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Greg
Helpful votes: 6/8