Mal Pais house rental - Infinity Pool Edge
Infinity Pool Edge
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mal Pais House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Paradise is yours at this breathtaking estate home overlooking the Pacific Ocean located in Mal Pais, Costa Rica.

This 4 bedroom home is a unique custom design at the end of a long gated driveway. This home lends new meaning to the phrase “attention to detail”.

The incredible coastline views and warm, tropical breezes are highlighted by the fact that this vacation villa is perfectly placed within walking distance to some of the most gorgeous beaches in Costa Rica. The front entrance double doors are made from local hardwood and open to the magnificent Great Room, perfect for entertaining many guests or just hanging out with close friends and family.

The Gourmet Kitchen with stainless steel appliances and adjacent over sized bar are perfect for entertaining, as they overlook the Great Room with a soaring beamed ceiling and practically wide open outdoor lanai. The dining table overlooks the ocean and comfortably seats 8 people. Custom furnishings in every room complement the luxurious feel, and provide a rich and “contemporary” tropical lifestyle.

Fantastic sunsets can be enjoyed while swimming in the one of a kind infinity pool. This beautiful home is perfect for families traveling together, Destination Weddings or Reunions, famous Costa Rica Surf trips or Fishing trips.

Contact us now to reserve your trip to paradise!

Keywords: Villa, Home

More Details
Hide Details

I am a surfer and love the areas many great surf breaks. I also love to fish and find the proximity to the fishing village in Mal Pais a great asset. Sailfish, tuna, Mahi Mahi, roosterfish and giant red snapper are all to be had in nearby waters.

The house provides a great deal of privacy for our guests with our mountainside position and our gated driveway.

4 Reviews of Property 311742 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

Breathtaking Views from Infinity Pool, Private & Contemporary
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Breathtaking Views from Infinity Pool, Private & Contemporary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311742vbi
(252) 207-6894 (North Carolina, USA)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
COSTA RICA
3

AMAZING VIEW, BUT THE HOUSE DOES NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS BASED ON THE PICTURES PROVIDED ON THE SITE

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
PROS:
Amazing views
Privacy, very quiet at night
Great sunsets
Close proximity to many beaches, restaurants, and Santa Teresa town.
Infinity pool
A/C in all bedrooms
Hot water
Great hosts Javier and his wife

CONS:
The house is deteriorated inside and out, needs a paint job and structure repair as well ( holes in the walls, baseboard, and ceiling), not as clean, many droppings from lizards all over, not enough towels, no beach/pool towels, no wash cloths, stained linen, no wifi, no maid service as advertised, utilities do not work properly, mattresses and couches (living room area) are beyond firm, you NEED A 4 WHEEL drive vehicle to get to house, I cannot stress this enough, the road is very rough.

All in all for us a great vacation is not only beautiful views but most importantly COMFORT and this was not the highlight of our trip. The pictures appear to have been taken when the house was new, 8 years ago. The listing photos do not accurately reflect the rental’s appearance and amenities.

We recommend the following beaches/restaurants: Playa Carmen, and Paya Suecas in Cabo Blanco. Habanero Restaurant
business
Breathtaking Views from Infinity Pool, Private & Contemporary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311742vbi
(252) 207-6894 (North Carolina, USA)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Washington, DC
4

Beautiful views and seclusion in Mal Pais

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Not our first visit to Costa Rica, but our first trip to Mal Pais/St. Teresa and we loved it. There are few places to which I would return, but this destination is on that short list. I was very surprised at how many restaurants there were in town (how much variety for such a small town) and there were so many great day trips and beautiful beaches to visit.

The house is well-located close to the intersection that divides Mal Pais/Santa Teresa and is on a steep hill overlooking the Pacific. The photos are accurate but do not do the view justice - absolutely spectacular views from any of the four bedrooms, the terrace or the living room.

The house had wifi w/ good Internet and also satellite television. The kitchen was adequate for our needs. In general, the house was as advertised. You will absolutely need a 4-wheel drive vehicle to get up the hill.

Some issues, however, that I think are fair to discuss given the pricing of this house. 1) The mattresses were very poor - I am not someone who needs a feather bed and could probably sleep on the floor, but the mattresses need to be replaced (unanimous from all members of our party); 2) as with another reviewer, we had a problem with the water heater/pressure - it did not work for several days and when repaired, did not function very well; 3) we ran out of toilet paper in one of the bathrooms and Javier (the caretaker) told us that we were only entitled to the one roll for our week's visit - this did not go over well with one of our party, who was pregnant and utilizing the tp (we do speak Spanish so this was not a translation issue); and 4) like the mattresses, I was not a fan of the living room couches; and 5) lastly I would say that the house is looking a bit tired - I realize that the equatorial sun and weather can take its toll, but I think the house could use some sprucing-up.

The bottom line, however, is that we had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the house and would likely visit again, especially if some of the above mentioned issues were addressed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. We are currently replacing the mattresses in the bedrooms. The hot water pressure has also been addressed. Also, you are right, the house takes a beating from the sun and salt but we attempt to keep on top of the maintenance. We look forward to your return to our house.
George
business
Breathtaking Views from Infinity Pool, Private & Contemporary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311742vbi
(252) 207-6894 (North Carolina, USA)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Boston
5

Gorgeous place! Amazing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I felt very peaceful right from the start! The view was astonishing! and the soothing sounds from nature: the ocean surf, the cicadas, the crickets....make you feel a special kind of calmness. The infinity pool was perfect for the warmest part of the afternoon and the sunset views were to die for! I recommend this place for anyone who wants a stylish and peaceful vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words about my House. I am glad you enjoyed the house as much as I do.
We look forward to your return to Casa Pez Volador.
Sincerely
George
business
Breathtaking Views from Infinity Pool, Private & Contemporary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311742vbi
(252) 207-6894 (North Carolina, USA)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
charlotte, nc USA
4

loved the views!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Malpais is a wonderful destination. This was our first time visiting and had no idea what to expect. The homeowner and the caretaker (Javier) supplied us with a wealth of information that made our visit extraordinary. we cannot say enough to express how highly we thought of Javier and how much we appreciated his kindness. the home itself offers breathtaking views from several rooms. the outside areas are beautifully maintained. the infinity pool is pretty fabulous, again offering an amazing view. we made great use of the kitchen and dined on the balcony, enjoying the sunsets.

I rate the house good over excellent on account of a few issues: 1) the water pressure in the shower was pretty low. when everyone needed to shower, there was the risk of running out of water, which did happen once. 2) there were not enough towels and there were no washcloths. 3) the bed mattresses were beyond firm...I actually would have to say they were uncomfortable...

that said; overall, we were thrilled with our trip and would love to return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1