Bar Harbor townhome rental - Home Away From Home
Home Away From Home
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Bar Harbor Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome duplex/2 to 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

Air Conditioned! This home is located on Ledgelawn Ave., a quiet residential street in Bar Harbor. Just one mile from Acadia National Park.

The quaint shops and restaurants that Bar Harbor is known for are within walking distance. The Shore Path, where many of the old summer cottages are located, is the perfect place to take a leisurely walk and see the beauty of these historic homes and the rocky shore that makes up Maine's gorgeous coast. The home has two bedrooms, (queen size beds) two bathrooms and a pull-out queen size sofa bed for additional sleeping. All appliances are new and the home is tastefully decorated. Relax in a fully enclosed back yard for more privacy while cooking and eating outside.

Are you a runner? My place is located a short walk to the athletic field where marathons are held in the fall.

Amenities

Cable TV, one in each bedroom and living room, DVD and VCR player with a variety of movies to enjoy, washer & dryer, microwave, and coffee maker provided in the home. No land phone available.

Activities

There is a variety of things to do in Acadia! Rock climbing, hiking, biking, swimming, canoeing, etc. to name a few. Shopping is also fun as we have a variety of shops within walking distance to where you are staying.

My place is about a 5 minute drive to The Jackson Laboratory if you need a place to stay while visiting there for some reason.

There is a tennis court within walking distance to my rental. Reserve the courts through the YMCA and enjoy your games.Enjoy !

Dining is not a problem here in this area as there are many restaurants within walking distance to the property. Bar Harbor offers free transportation to the park, etc. on the L.L.Bean Shuttle Buses that leave the Village Green daily at various time. Take your bike and get dropped off on the other side of the Island and bike home. Another suggestion is to hop on the bus and check out some of the park before you journey out on your own. These buses are free, but donations are accepted.

Keywords: townhouse

More Details
Hide Details

I take great pride in my rental and expect others to respect my property. My sons, granddaughter, niece and sometimes other family members help me keep the property in tip top shape. You will find my place clean and updated with things that will make your stay comfortable ! We want you to be happy while you are staying here.

DeeDee (owner) purchased this townhome in 2003

Leave your car in the driveway and walk to town or hike in the park.

End your day in a clean, comfortable, air conditioned and quiet rental property.

My place is also available for monthly renting or for the season. Do you need a bigger place, this may be an option. My place is air conditioned which is a big plus when the summers get unusually hot !. All things are kept up like new. Recently installed are vertical blinds that help keep out the light in the bedrooms for those that like to sleep in mornings.

Spend some quiet time in the off season in this Home Away From Home after the hustle and bustle of the summer season. The fall is a beautiful time of the year to visit the area.

53 Reviews of Property 373768 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
average rating of 4.981132 based on 53 reviews
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Valencia
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really appreciated how clean this was - it was spotless! It was just perfect for us, visiting with two young children. The owner made sure that all of our needs were being met and was always available if we needed anything. The location was excellent - close to town and easy walking distance to several restaurants (even with young children.) Highest recommendation!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. I enjoyed meeting the little ones, they are really cute. Glad they liked the toys I had there.
I know the week went way to fast but maybe another year you can come back. Next time maybe your parents can join you in the bigger apt.
Thanks again for getting in touch with me and for staying at my place.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
DeeDee Shields
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Marietta, Ohio
5

2 couples traveling together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a lovely home for our vacation needs. Easily accessible to many area attractions. All the extras in the home made our time more enjoyable. The cooler made it ideal for packing a lunch and drinks for daily outings. The washer and dryer ideal. (and the best shower heads in the shower) The house was immaculate when we arrived. The binoculars were great (I forgot to pack ours). Parking was excellent. All the extras wonderful - games, movies, menu's, and information about the area. Much more accommodating than any hotel. WONDERFUL HOME.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi to all of you!
That is a nice review, thank you! The short time here went fast but you did a lot. I was actually wondering if I was going to get to meet you because you were always gone! So much to see here in the area so I don't blame you!
I'm glad you decided of my place to stay and that you found things to your liking. I try to keep things in top shape so at the end of your day you can relax. Also, hopefully, things that people leave at home I can supply for them when they arrive to make their day trips easier.
Hope to see you back at another time.
DeeDee
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Carlisle, Ohio, USA
5

Excellent Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is the fifth year we have stayed at this super nice townhouse and we love it! The location is perfect, near everything in town. You can walk to restaurants, shops, and the waterfront. The home is on a quiet and safe street and is immaculate, both inside and out. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owner, DeeDee, is very attentive to her guests and is truly a wonderful person. She will bend over backward to have satisfied renters! You will not regret choosing this excellent vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Dave and Libby,
A big thank you for the review!! It's amazing how the years fly by. I'm always happy to see you in the fall, especially to sit and chat for awhile.
Thank you for providing the guests books when my others get filled with reviews. I appreciate it and I think the guests enjoy reading them.
One more thing----thanks for the cookies you left in the freezer ! Like I needed them! See you next year.
DeeDee
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Clifton Park, NY
5

Most Memorable Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We like to rate where we stay on a 5 star rating. The stars represent clean, comfortable, convenient, quiet and memorable. Dee Dee's accommodations definitely get a 5 star rating from us! Because of our stay in this accommodation, we developed a 6th star. This star represents above and beyond what you would expect to experience - how the place was stocked with everything you need and then some; Dee Dee's initial friendly and personal greetings to us when we arrived; and the additional information made available to us of area activities. Also, detailed information before we arrived by emails with pictures, area events and places to visit. Therefore, our final rating of this accommodation definitely gets 6 stars from us!

We had a fun-filled three days of hiking up Cadillac Mtn., biking on the carriage roads, kayaking in Bar Harbor and walking along the shore path by the harbor. We even walked out to Bar Island at low tide while enjoying the sunset. We look forward to staying here again on our next vacation because Acadia has so much to offer with breathtaking scenery! Our thanks to Dee Dee for helping us plan a wonderful and memorable vacation and providing us with a "home away from home."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Wendy and family,
There is no question that you all enjoyed your vacation. My hope is once I send out information and answer the questions that people have when they inquire about my place, is that they do have a great time while visiting the area. On top of that I sincerely hope they find my rental clean, comfortable and in a good location!
Thanks for a great review and for rating it a 6 even if 5 is the highest number.
I hope you do come back another time and get to do the things you didn't have time for. As you said, "Acadia" is a beautiful place and so much to do while here!!
Thanks again,
DeeDee
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A real gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful week! The property was even nicer than represented in the listing and truly felt like "home away from home!" We loved how it's tucked away on a quiet side street, yet is surprisingly close to everything downtown! Dee Dee was wonderful to work with! She obviously takes a lot of pride in her property! It was squeaky clean, well-maintained, and well-stocked. She even kept us updated of events and activities that we might be interested in during the time leading up to our rental! Thanks, Dee Dee, for a wonderful vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Hi Cheryl and family,
Nice meeting you. Thanks for the wonderful write up and I am happy because you all were happy with everything.
Thanks so much for remembering me with the jam from Jordan Pond House ! Yummy!
No need for you to replace the pyrex dish, but it is appreciated. I am happy to know that some people actually use the kitchen and the dishes in there instead of eating out all the time. Doing that saves you money especially if there are children. Of course it is always nice to eat out and leave the mess behind !
Hope to see you all again in the future.
Thanks again for staying at my place.
DeeDee Shields
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Tuscaloosa, AL
5

War Eagle Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
DeeDee makes this THE BEST VRBO property we have ever used! (We have used several VRBO type rentals over the years) Without a doubt it is the cleanest! Great location to Acadia & in Bar Harbor. Walking distance to groceries, restaurants & shops. We traveled with our sons 17 & 13. We were in the 'B' apartment, 2 bedrooms & one bath upstairs. Downstairs has open concept kitchen/living with large flat screen TV/DVD player, 2nd bath with washer/dryer. DeeDee has anticipated your every need. Arrive 1st before you go to grocery as she has the place so well stocked with basic needs. The unit is childproofed. DeeDee is very accessible if you need ANYTHING to make this property work for you and your family/friends. She even brought us homemade bread!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Leisa and the boys,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was my pleasure to have you spend your first time in Maine at my place. The weather wasn't that bad and you got to see and do some things before the rain. Thank you for your positive attitude. The boys were a pleasure to meet and I know just by talking to them for a short time they enjoyed the area.
Hopefully, you can sometime return to the area and spend more time.
Glad you enjoyed your trip to see friends in Canada. I am sure they enjoyed having you.
Thanks again and enjoy the rest of the summer.
Remember, "God" is awesome all the time.
DeeDee
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Christmas in Bar Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spent our Christmas holiday in this comfortable town home. It was great to have all the conveniences of home -- full, very well-equipped kitchen, laundry, two bathrooms. Our hostess was extremely welcoming and provided many helpful recommendations for dining, shopping and other activities. The home is spotlessly clean and furnished with comfortable, homey furniture; even the linens were luxurious. The location is great with easy walking access to restaurants, shops, grocery store, YMCA. In any season, you'd be very happy with a stay here.
Owner's Response: Thank-you Nancy and David for a great review! It was great having you next door over Christmas. Your little tree and the decorations added to what I had put out. I am glad you had a chance to take advantage of our YMCA. I know you was hoping for a little snow, but at least you were able to get out and explore places on the other side of the Island that you had never done.
I hope someday you will consider coming back and staying here again. I will do my best to make you as comfortable as you were this time. It was nice to meet both of you. Thanks for leaving my place in great shape.
Happy New Year to both of you !
DeeDee
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
LaPlace, LA
5

Absolutely Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This property is in a great location close to grocery, restaurants and town. The house is equipped with everything you would need plus things you would not expect it to have. It is very comfortable and immaculate. Also supplied were restaurant menus, brochures, and books on the area which was a nice touch. Dee Dee was very easy to work with and checked in on us to make sure we had everything we needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Hi Diane,
Thanks for the compliments about my property and your stay here in Acadia.
I have done more updates since you were here so maybe in the future you can return and spend your next vacation at my place. I will do my best to see that you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. (One improvement is I have had air conditioning installed for those really hot days ! Guests will have a much more comfortable nights for sleeping.)
Hope to see you back sometime.
Thanks for staying at my "Home Away From Home"
DeeDee Shields
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Our stay in Bar Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The Jilek family from Sydney, Australia spent 4 relaxing days in this charming home in Bar Harbor.
Everything was accurately described, the kitchen well-equipped, and the property clean and well-maintained.
DeeDee was the perfect hostess - just a phone call away if we needed anything.
I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who wants a home away-from home in Bar Harbor. It is in an unbeatable location -- close to shops, restaurants, the supermarket and just a stone's throw from the Park's entrance.
We loved canoeing on Long Pond, cycling the carriageway and shopping on Main Street.
Hopefully we can visit again some day!
Owner's Response: Acadia/BarHarbor offers visitors many choices while visiting the area. It is great that you shared some of the things you enjoyed doing while here. Usually a week is never enough time.
An important thing to me is that you have a comfortable place to go to at the end of your day. I'm happy you were comfortable in my place. Thanks for staying here.
Dee Dee
business
Air Conditioned/Ultimate in Comfort and Convenience--- Book Now for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p373768vb
(207) 460-9115 (Maine, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Carlisle, Ohio, USA
5

This is a great rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We have stayed at this rental for four consecutive years. We keep coming back because it is very comfortable, attractively furnished, immaculately clean, and has a wonderful location near everything in the town of Bar Harbor. The owner, DeeDee, is very helpful and also very nice. She has provided everything you could possibly need. You will love staying here!
Owner's Response: Thank you for another positive review. I look forward to you returning each year. Just the fact that you always come back tells me that you are happy with everything here and in our beautiful area ! I think we can agree that there is so much to see and do here. Even if one is not into the hiking or biking there is so much to take in with the natural beauty and the unique little towns that are close to Bar Harbor. Shopping, eating out of just for a ride you can't go wrong when you visit this area. Thanks again for returning each year.
DeeDee