Oakland house rental - Chimney are river rock & clinker brick; redwood shingles unique pattern.
Chimney are river rock & clinker brick; redwood shingles unique pattern.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Oakland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Beautiful, architecturally significant Arts and Crafts house. Located in North Oakland, not far from the Berkeley border.

It was recently designated a 'Heritage Property' by the City of Oakland. It is named 'The Walter Upward House' after its first owner, who commissioned his spec house with the Strang Brother Builders. Mr. Upward's headstone may be found at the beautiful Mountain View Cemetery, 5 blocks away. (Mountain View is like a park, and it is not a surprise that it was designed by Fredrick Olmstead, the landscape architect of Central Park.)

The house, 1888 sf, on a 6029 sf lot, is two blocks off Piedmont Avenue. (The location is North Oakland, NOT Piedmont). It is on a four-block street in a wonderful neighborhood, deemed extremely desirable by local realtors, who refer to living here as 'The Piedmont Avenue Lifestyle'.

'Walter' has two full bathrooms and a half bath. The largest of the bathrooms has a center-fill, oversize, symmetrical tub, found is upscale homes and mansions of the early 20th century. It also possesses two pedestal 'lavatories' (sinks), a round-tank toilet, and a footbath. The smallest of the bedrooms has its own half bathroom and a queen sleeper sofa. The brand new, sage-colored 'American Leather' sleeper sofa in the living room, is king sized and extremely comfortable.

Two of Walter's three bedrooms are large. The third bedroom is small, but has its own private half-bath. A high end, comfortable leather king sleeper sofa is in the living room.

Piedmont Avenue has a movie theater w/ 3 screens, wonderful restaurants (the best of them recently opened by students of Alice Waters: Dopo, Adesso, Gregoire's & Cesar's), La Farine Bakery, Cafe Trieste, Peets, a Russian Deli, flower shops, beauty shops, coffee shops, gift stores and historic Piedmont Grocery with its terrific meat market. Citibank, Wells Fargo, St. Leos Catholic church are on Piedmont Avenue, and the post office is a block and a half off away.

But most importantly: FENTONS Creamery is 3 blocks away!!!!

In the other direction is a shopping center with Safeway, a CVS drug store, coffee shops, Bank of America and Chase banks are here also.

The house has a walk score of 98! It is a walkers paradise.

UC Berkeley is 2.2 miles away. School of the Arts and Kaiser Oakland are a 10-minute walk away. Trans Bay and downtown Oakland transportation is a 2 block walk.

North Oakland has plenty of parking (unlike San Francisco.) Plus at Walter Upward, you get 3 off-street parking spaces.

North Oakland has the benefit of temperate weather most all year round.

There is a filtered view of the Golden Gate bridge from the upper floor.

Keywords: Beautiful 3bd/2.5ba Arts & Crafts house in excellent neighborhood

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 311515 in Oakland, California

Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Great house with character

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Heidi has created a great vacation rental at Walter Upward - it's a house that's full of character with a unique ambiance. Our family enjoyed both the antique nature of the house interior and the quite sanctuary of the garden. Heidi provided us with a detailed guide to the house before our arrival and everything was well planned. We found ourselves spending more time on Piedmont Ave as originally expected; it's a street with many interesting shops, restaurants, and cafes. A great vacation rental!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Fantastc home with lost of amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We rent houses all over the world and so I always spend a lot of time looking for a home that will satisfy all our needs. The Walter Upward home was one of the best homes we have stayed at. We were in town for my son's wedding and needed a home that would be close to him as well as comfortable for the rest of the family. The home was spacious and comfortable and everyone in the family was very happy. The back yard was beautiful and the kitchen had so many amenities we felt like we were home.
We look forward to our next visit to California and staying at the Walter Upward home.
Thank you Heidi!!!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
El Paso
5

Walter Upward Home- an unforgettable stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family stayed at the Walter Upward home while on vacation visiting my brother who lives in Oakland. The location was perfect- close to Piedmont Street where there were so many charming shops and delicious restaurants- all within walking distance to the house. The freeways were easily accessible allowing for wonderful opportunities for sightseeing. The house was exactly as pictured, only more beautiful. The uniqueness of the house just added to the visit. It made a wonderful place to gather before an adventure or for drinks before our meal. The rooms are warm and cozy- and plenty of room to gather with a large family. The gardens are peaceful and full of many native trees, fruits and greenery. The patio was the perfect place to spend the early mornings while sipping coffee. Each bedroom was spacious with very comfortable beds. The king pullout couch was extremely comfortable- hard to believe it was a pullout! There was an abundance of bedding and towels- the availability of some toiletries was helpful as well. Heidi was extremely friendly and helpful with making the arrangements for leasing. We especially liked the written instructions for all the features in the house. One suggestion- instructions on operating the TV may be helpful for non TV techies like myself!
Overall, we had a magnificent time while visiting the Bay Area and highly recommend the Walter Upward House to any family looking for a unique, classic home to rent. I know we'll be back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
5

Lovely house, highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I booked the Walter Upward home for my family who were in town for my wedding. I was looking for a comfortable, spacious house for 6 adults were they could feel at home for a short while, and this house was ideal! The house itself is lovely, beautifully cared for, and with charming craftsman touches (the downstairs bathroom is a kind of marvel). The front porch was ideal for relaxing in the evenings and we had fun exploring the back garden and trying to identify the various fruit trees and plants.

Heidi was very communicative and professional. She answered each of my emails and questions promptly and kindly, and left detailed instructions about the house and the surrounding neighborhood (easy to park, close to everything needed) that my family found very helpful. She was also kind enough to allow us to host a dinner for other out-of-town guests and the house made for a wonderful, easy, relaxed dinner venue. I would highly recommend this rental, and Heidi herself, and would happily book the house again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
San Diego, CA
5

What a charming and enchanted house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had such an wonderful time at "Walter"; I felt at home right away. I loved the back yard with an orchard and herbs, two libraries one with world classics the other on nature. We also enjoyed walking to Piedmont street for food and treats. It truly is an enchanted house with an ambiance of peace and happiness.

We also enjoyed the foot bath, liked everything and all the convenience. The owner provided generous supplies of everything needed. The hand soap dispenser is also very cute and charming. I just can't say enough good things about it and I would love to come back again. Definitely will recommend to friends.

"Walter" is a lucky house, too. We stayed here for the 2011 MTAC convention where my 10 year old son participated piano concerto competition. 2 days after we settled happily in the house, he delivered a dazzling performance - the best he ever did - on July 2 at Oakland Marriott City Center (Convention for Music Teacher Association of California). He not only won the state title in his division, he was also awarded the sole grand prize out of all contestants of all ages in the convention playing Beethoven's piano concerto No. 1, 3rd movement. http://www.youtube.com/user/yangyangpiano

The owner makes great effort to ensure guests are happy and feel at home. I really appreciate everything she did for us.

Again, many many thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
Hawaii
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family (mom, dad, 2 adult daughters, son-in-law, a 3 year old and 10 month old) stayed here for a week. The house is spacious, with enough room for small children to move, though the lovely details include delicate objects which were moved to higher ground! The description is apt, the 2 large bedrooms are large with very comfortable king sized beds and the third is much smaller with its own half bath. The couch is the living room is exceedingly comfortable. Even the window seats in the living room were comfortable.

Heidi was very responsive regarding questions and concerns - we couldn't figure out the television/cable set up and someone came right over and fixed it. We noticed a small leak with the washing machine and Heidi herself came to attend to it. We were there for a trash day as well as street cleaning. They took care of the taking the trash to the curb and Heidi reminded me twice to make sure no cars were parked on the street cleaning side of the street. A huge bonus are the 2-3 off street parking spots that come with the house.

The back yard is filled with citrus trees, plums, and flowers, with a table to sit at and enjoy the view of the neighborhood robin gathering material for a nest. A grill and picnic table were there though we did not have time to use it. We did pick a couple of the sweetest plums we have ever tasted from one of the trees!

The location is great. The neighborhood was holding a block sale on Saturday (apparently a yearly event) and my 3 year old nephew found a Thomas the train set down the street which was then set up in the big living room! The neighborhood is nice and conveniently located to shopping and restaurants.

We went into the city several times, and depending on the time of day, traffic was a challenge, but if it wasn't during rush hour, it was easily done in less than 30 minutes via the Bay Bridge.

I would recommend the Walter Upward House to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
New York
5

Family gathering and cooking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
A few weeks ago my wife and I spent a week in the house, where we made preparations for our son's wedding. We had a great time. The house is very special, and impeccably maintained -- and lots of shoping within walking distance. The bedrooms are big, with comfortable beds. The kitchen, which was important to us as we were cooking for the wedding, was great. Very well equipped, with everything working. Our other son and some friends came to stay with us, and we all a wonderful time. Not to be missed is the garden, with lots of citrus trees and herbs. This place is great, for just relaxing and for having an informal -- and even formal -- dinner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
Chico, CA
5

Family Gathering and Comfortable Sleeping

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
40+ years ago my 2 brother, my sister, and I graduated from Oakland Technical High School. We've all since married and had kids and grandchildren. Every year our families and extended families and friends in the Bay Area get together for New Year's Eve and New Years Day. This year our oldest brother had health problems, so we couldn't use his home for the gatherings. We contacted Heidi Price, Walter Upward house's owner, to see if we could rent Walter for food preparation and our gatherings. Heidi was very helpful and accommodating, and we were able to get Walter Upward house for 3 nights, including New Year's Eve. We had a smallish group for New Year's Eve (the younger kids had their own partying to do) and first thing New Year's Day we started cooking. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook in. Many of our family still live in the Bay Area, so they also cooked at their homes. There weren't a lot of large serving platters, so we brought our own. We also brought in 4 folding chairs and one card table. On New Year Day, we had about 35 to 40 people come through Walter. The most we had at any one time was about 25 people. The front-room/dining-room accommodated most of the folks, and the large kitchen was used as over-flow. The large dining-room table handled all our food, and there were lots of chairs and other seating for the group. The weather was cold, but the backyard seemed set up to accommoate more people. There were two bath-rooms downstairs which was very convenient. We do a after-Christmas gift ex-change, and we all could squeeze into the open living-room/dining-room space. The only draw-back was finding parking for all the folks that came to our gathering. Some people had to park a block away and walk to the house. At the end of the evening, we all cleaned up. Heidi refunded over 50% of our cleaning fee because we followed the suggestions in the Rental Agreement and the Welcome letter and left Walter Upward house pretty much as we found him. We also got our full Security Deposit back. Oh yes, for those of us who slept in the beds...they were very comfortable and there were plenty of blankets to keep warm. All our family was thrilled with Walter and how it worked out for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Very Special 3BR/2.5BA Historical House in Very Desirable Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311515vbi
+510 654-8031
Oakland The Bay Area
Mexico D. F., MÉXICO
5

Couple with 2 adult daughters, a son in law and a grandchild, spent 12 days for sightseeing and rest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
The Walter Upward House has the best and most geniuine Oakland architectural flavor, both the exterior and the interior. It worked very well for my family life, with wide and comfortable spaces. The location is very nice and quiet, with good and attractive services in the vicinity. We ended up spending much more time in the near area than anticipated, since it was so nice. The house is well equiped for cooking, eating, sleeping and family gathering. The Mountain View Cemetery, within walking distance, is a wonderful space as a garden and a jogging track; with steep slopes, enormous trees and a view of the San Francisco and oakland Bay that is spectacular.
Also, dealing with the owner, Heidi Price, is a delight; she's kind and helpful.
We spent a great vacation at the Walter Upward House, feeling at home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2