Mendocino house rental - Karagatan (see below for virtual tour)
Karagatan (see below for virtual tour)
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
Karagatan at Irish Beach 2BR 2BA Home

Stay right up the road from a gorgeous six mile long beach! Enjoy the spectacular white water, blue water and ocean views! Located within 5 to 40 minutes of four nearby Mendocino towns, this beautiful two bedroom two bath home offers private access to the beach as well as to a private catch and release fishing pond! With cedar walls throughout and cathedral ceilings and skylights, you'll love the cozy yet spacious interior. Formal dining room, living room with fireplace, hot tub, and a two level deck with panoramic views provide comfort and beauty wherever you sit. Two queen-sized beds and two twin rollaways are adorned with luxurious bedding. Fully equipped kitchen, gas bbq, dvd, vcr, cd player, washer/dryer, movies, music and games all make you feel right at home.

Amenities: Newly refurbished beds & furniture, fireplace, DVD/VCR/Stereo, fully stocked kitchen, Microwave, Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Cooking utensils, washer and dryer, private hot tub, access card to the gated Irish Beach, a six mile long sandy private beach.

Activities: Access to Irish Beach, Whale Watching (during migration season), wildflowers, hiking, fishing, wildlife viewing, shopping, restaurants, sightseeing, swimming, and boating. Nearby fishing in a private stocked pond and commercial fishing available.

Area: Karagatan is located in the beautiful Irish Beach community of Mendocino county. Only a few hours from San Francisco, Irish Beach provides the ultimate in privacy, while the sounds of the ocean lull you to sleep at night.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 311465 in Mendocino, California

White Water Ocean View Beach Home
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Last minute traveller

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I called Kelly to book the place last minute just one day before checking in. She was super nice and provided a lot of information about the rental.

The home is clean and cozy, with great ocean views. We saw three deer running right in front of the house while we were there.

We had a great time there and I would strongly recommend this place.

Thanks
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Emeryville, CA
5

Memorial Day Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
On a last minute whim we discovered this place online and decided to take our chances on renting a place for one night. Kelley was extremely helpful and fun to talk to and before you knew it we were booked and heading up from the bay area. My mom had come to visit for the weekend and we had all decided that we needed a quick stay on the coast for some much needed R&R. Well, that is definitely what we got! It rained on our entire drive up and it was absolutely beautiful! Definitely, take the 128 route off of the 101 and drive thru the redwood forest on your way to the house (it is amazing)! Once we arrived we discovered this cute place nestled in the trees and instantly felt at home. The place is dog friendly and it was great to bring our pooch along for our overnight! It was foggy and wet and we decided to just stay in and take advantage of the house. We went to Manchester to buy groceries and enjoyed an evening of homemade soup, a roaring fire, games, and an amazing hot tub! Thanks again Kelley for being so accommodating and offering us a great little gem to lay our heads for the night!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
San Jose, Ca.
5

Perfect 40th Anniversary Trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I stayed at Karagatan 5 nights in December 2012 for our 40th wedding anniversary. It was the perfect location for us. We were looking for a peaceful and cozy place to relax and spend time together, just the two of us. The cabin is very spacious, yet cozy. We brought some good books with us and spent many hours curled up on the cozy couches in front of the fireplace reading and relaxing. The rain made it even more cozy and romantic. The view of the ocean and the forest is beautiful. The day it was foggy it looked like we were in a tree-house, with only the tree-tops in view. The house is in a neighborhood, so other houses are visible. The neighborhood is fairly easy walking and we took our dog for walks. This house is excellent for dog owners and our cocker spaniel enjoyed the trip as much as we did! The kitchen is well-equipped and we had everything we needed to cook our own delicious meals. We did not eat out at all. The S & B Market on Highway 1 in Manchester is fine if you like a "Safeway" type of grocery store. We recommend the Arena Market on Main Street in Point Arena, which has a great selection of fresh organic food and friendly staff. It is well worth the slightly longer drive. Irish Beach is beautiful, private and fun to explore. We saw only 2 other people on the beach. There is a pass card that lets you in the gate to the road down to the beach, where you can park very close. Mendocino is about 40 minutes north, but we enjoyed our time at Karagatan the most! The bedrooms are very sweet. The bedroom we stayed in has a small electric fireplace that created a nice mood and provided warmth. That bedroom also has a view of the ocean. The bedroom we did not use has a skylight, which is a nice feature and has it's own bathroom. The house would be good for 2 couples traveling together because of the two nicely sized bedrooms and two bathrooms. The dining table is very spacious for 2 couples or a family. The dining area has large windows that look out to the ocean view and two cozy chairs that are a nice place to sit in the afternoon sun. We did not use the hot tub because of the cold weather, but it is in a nice location on the deck for privacy and view. The night sky is so bright with a gazillion stars! We highly recommend Karagatan for a relaxing get-away! Kelley, the owner, was very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. Thanks Kelley for a wonderful 40th Anniversary!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Los Angeles
5

Beautiful Location, Great Host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The time we stayed at this beautiful quiet location was not enough! I wish we had stayed longer... Clean, great view, quiet, close to Irish Beach, a responsive host (Kelley) - everything you might wish for! Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Bloomington, IN
5

A week at the Mendocino coast.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We found this to be the perfect spot for a relaxing week at the coast. We loved bouncing from the hot tub, to the deck overlooking our piece of Irish Beach, to the couch for a good read by the fireplace. We spent our afternoons exploring the nearby attractions. We went wine-tasting in the Alexander Valley, canoeing on the Big River, walking among the redwoods at Hendy Woods, strolling on Irish Beach, and shopping and eating in Mendocino. We also enjoyed the nearby little towns of Elk (Queenie’s Roadhouse!) and Point Arena (Jenny’s Cup and Saucer Bakery!). We cooked dinner at home so that we could enjoy the local wines without any worry about driving. It was hard to leave on our last day but hopefully we will be back again some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Walnut Creek, CA
5

Wonderful Girls' Weekend Getaway!

Wonderful Girls' Weekend Getaway!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My friends and I had a wonderful long weekend at Karagatan! The house was homey and we were able to relax in the hot tub and in front of the fire. The pictures that are shown reflect the reality of the house so there were no surprises. The owners communicated through email and were helpful as we planned our trip. It was nice to have the space to do our own cooking and lounge around. We lucked out and had great weather for the entire weekend so we took a walk on Irish Beach and toured the lighthouse in addition to riding the Skunk Train and exploring Mendocino. I would definitely recommend spending some time with great friends and great wine in this comfortable house!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: That sounds like a great trip! We just love to hear that people had a wonderful time, and it is so fulfilling to be able to make nice folks such as yourselves as comfortable as possible. Thanks so much for your kind words, and hope to see you again soon, Kelley
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Alaska
5

A Perfect Home for an Extended Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I just spent a month at Karagatan, and it was a perfect visit. The home is inviting, clean, very comfortable, and fun. I had a fire every evening after watching gorgeous sunsets. The kitchen is well stocked and dinner on the deck can't be beat. With private access to Irish Beach, many days my dog and I were the only ones there. One day, we walked all 6 miles to the lighthouse and back (12 miles total) and saw no one! Kelley was great, friendly, and helpful. The area is incredible, wine tasting, whales, beaches, cliffs, kite flying, redwoods, and very friendly people. I especially liked the Rollerville Cafe near the Point Arena Lighthouse, and in the town of Point Arena, the wine/beer bar called "214", next door to franny's bakery, and also the Point Arena Theater. Everything from Fort Bragg to Gualala is easy to get to and the drive is great fun. Please watch for the deer, there are a lot here. I will be back here again. Thanks, Kelly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Boulder City, Nevada
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent 11 nights at Karagatan and it was, by far, the BEST VACATION EVER! Everything about the house was exactly as it was advertised and Kelley was super to work with. The house is built and situated on its property in such a way that it felt very private - like we were alone in the forrest. The house was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. The beach was fabulous, with very few to no people most days. In addition to the typical beach atmosphere, we also enjoyed making forts on the beach out of the old logs and drift wood, the tide pools, and shore fishing, as well as short trips to other attractions in the area, including Noyo Harbor, Glass Beach, Mendocino, the Red Woods, and Point Arena. We are already looking forward to renting Karagatan again next summer and would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing, private, cozy beach vacation, with or without kids and/or dogs. You can't go wrong with this one and your soul will thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
Pleasanton, CA
5

Relaxing Getaway by the Ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
just to say how much we enjoyed staying at your place in Irish Beach, the house was perfect for our needs, the view is just wonderful, I stood in the kitchen preparing meals and every time I looked up I could see the ocean, not to mention sitting in the chairs by the dining room windows reading and glancing up at the view - just wonderful! The back deck is totally enclosed so we could our little dog wander around outside, the hot tub was great, especially as the weather was quite chilly while we were there, its very private, surrounded by trees, saw lots of birds and deer in the garden too. The beach was so quiet, we were the only people there most of the time, we climbed on the driftwood and the rocks. the coastline is just spectacular, we loved the lighthouse at Point Arena and the B Bryan Preserve was a real gem, thanks for the tips. What a great relaxing break - thanks!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
White Water Ocean View Beach Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311465
+1 7072174015
Mendocino North Coast California
El Dorado Hills, CA
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
First off, I loved the hot tub. It's privately situated on the deck amongst the trees. It really felt as though I was in a treehouse.

The house was extremely tidy, and had a warm, cozy feeling, which made our stay very restful and relaxing. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, etc. and its open to the living room and dining room which is perfect for socializing while cooking. The beds were comfortable with plenty of bedding.

Access to the beach was close by and the beach itself was huge, expansive and dramatic with crashing waves and very few people. The view from the deck was nice and we enjoyed watching the different birds flitting about. The humingbirds were very entertaining. I definitely plan on staying here again.

It's a great place if you want a foray to the coast with a mountain feel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3