Chester barn rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Chester Barn Rental Photos and Description
Inspired Retreat, one bedroom, one bathroom. Perfect for 2, sleeps up to 4.

When Summer is here, there is nothing like a country retreat when the gardens and farms are in high production and nothing to be concerned about except the choice between the hammock and an Adirondack chair and just which book to read first.

Relax and restore in a peaceful barn apartment in the historic Popple Dungeon district of Chester, Vermont. Hidden within a rustic early 20th century hay and dairy barn find a comfortable retreat that features wide pine floors, 1 large private bedroom with a restful queen sized bed, french doors open onto your private deck. Additional sleeping area in the living room, perfect for a young one or even a couple of not so young ones!

The kitchen is well implemented for making simple or gourmet dinners and country breakfasts.. A claw foot tub in the bathroom, a perfect place to soak away stress. Fine 100% cotton towels and bed linens are provided.

Summer, alfresco dining on the deck. Close to Chester and Grafton, golfing, antiquing, farmer's markets open Memorial Day through Columbus Day, shopping, hiking, kayaking and much more. Easy access to I-91.

Create a new tradition ... An invigorating day in the hills of Vermont.... Local foods, crisp clean air, your own kitchen for a fabulous meal, shopping in local art galleries, antique shops and book stores, lunch in a local organic cafe, walks in the woods or cozy up to the fire on a cool night...... Inspiring scenery, an idyllic get away. Vermont is not only for skiers. It is a paradise for a romantic get-away, artists looking for the right light and enough space to capture it, family adventures, and solo restorative retreats.

NOW renting for June, July and August. Long term still available.

More Details
Hide Details

We are artists and have our studios here on the property. Our home is also on the property, so we are around to help with questions about the area and if you need us for anything. We operate a small gallery in Chester, which for us, is a great way to meet new people and share ideas and art. We have lived all over the states, in all kinds of climates and atmospheres ( social and physical) and living here is like coming home, stepping into the perfect pair of fuzzy slippers... ahhhhhh yes, this is right.

We chose this property simply because the moment we stepped out of the realtor's car, we knew, this was home. It is magical, pinch me, I can't believe I live here! Chester is a great little town, loads of character and characters! Shopping and groceries, a hub for the rest of the county and Southern Vermont. Really a great place to live and to visit.

This place has a charm that brings people back

from as near as Ascutney and as far away as Okinawa.

We have had other returning guests from New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Boston, Philadelphia, Miami, Hartford, Buffalo, Colorado Springs, and Chattanooga.

It is all about the barn! We fell in love with this property over the MANY we viewed, mainly because of the barn, it's vaulted ceiling, it's solid presence and sense of space. In summer of 2013 she received a facelift and is now as beautiful outside as she has always be inside!

Artists..... Painters, Poets, Potters, Photographers, Writers, Musicians, Composers, Sculptors, Actors and Directors... and those wanting to explore all the possibilities ... There is plenty of studio space for you. Let us know ahead of time and we can work out the details. We do it all here!

6 Reviews of Property 311269 in Chester, Vermont

Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311269
+1 8028751046
Chester Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
5

Atelier Annex

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We were lucky to spend three nights at the Atelier Annex this month and wish we could return on an annual basis! The barn apartment was perfect, and together with the surrounding forests and country roads, we decided to just explore the immediate area and not venture to other Vermont locations. Daily walks and cooking "at home" rather than going out to eat were especially pleasant after the first part of our trip, which included too much driving and changing accommodations each night. Although we had planned to go to the Vermont Country Store, we never made it there--but in retrospect our walk with our host and his dog Rothko in the nearby forest proved to be a much more meaningful experience! I'm keeping my fingers crossed that we will be visiting Vermont and Popple Dungeon Road again in the not-too-distant future. This is truly a special place.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311269
+1 8028751046
Chester Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
New York City
5

Charming and Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We often take extended weekend trips to get away from the busy grind of our daily lives and our weekend at the Atelier Annex was one of the most rejuvenating, well-spent weekends we have experienced in quite some time. Arriving late after a reasonably direct drive from Manhattan, we were greeted by a cozy apartment with comforting music and prepared beds. Set on a formerly prosperous dairy farm of local significance, the original barn-converted-apartment rental provided an excellent setting to enjoy some real down time. The spacious living area, highlighted by a gas-heated stove and large art studio, was a great place for simply lounging and relaxing. The large sun-lit windows allowed us to take in the views of the surrounding hillside which hosted some fantastic wild birds, including bohemian waxwings, common redpolls, blue jays, woodpeckers and various raptors and wintering sparrows.

The owner's, Katherine and Harry, made our stay very enjoyable. Both artists, their work, mostly inspired by the surrounding property, was charmingly displayed throughout the apartment. They provided us with farm fresh eggs from their own chickens and delicious maple syrup made from a local proprietor. While the apartment proved to be a great place for relaxing, it was also an excellent home-base for a exploring the beauty of Vermont's surrounding forests, towns, and ski slopes. We can't wait to return in the Summer!! -- Samantha, Jim, Kate and Chase
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311269
+1 8028751046
Chester Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Annandale, NJ
5

Excellent all round

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We are just getting ready to leave after 9 nights staying at the apartment on Popple Dungeon Road. What a great place. A previous review hit the nail on the head - cozy yet elegant. The apartment is meant for two people but we had friends come and visit and they also enjoyed two nights with us on very comfortable bedding with an extra heated bathroom in the barn which was great for them. Our bed was extremely comfortable and cosy. The gas burning storve was wonderful, and additional heaters in the bathroom and bedroom ensured the entire apartment was toasty warm throughout. The apartment is surrounded by fields and very quiet our entire stay, no road noise, no noisy neighbors, just wonderful, not to mention a few nice walks for the dogs. Our hosts couldn't do enough to please, including a beautiful Christmas tree when we arrived, and an invitation for cheese and wine on our last night. What more could you ask for. Thank you Katherine and Harry for a wonderful home away from home. We will come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311269
+1 8028751046
Chester Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Affordable, Elegant and cozy!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Our stay at The Popple Dungeon apartment was fantastic to say the least! The apartment boasts solitude and a calming atmosphere. It is also complemented with nice scenery. Everything we needed was provided and the hosts made it a top priority to make sure we were comfortable. Definitely a great deal. I highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to kick back, unwind, and immerse themselves in the mountains of Vermont.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311269
+1 8028751046
Chester Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Inspiring

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband and I were fortunate to be guests at the Atelier Annex apartment this summer. During our brief stay we thoroughly enjoyed the warm, spacious, comfortable, cozy, well-appointed space.  The gracious hospitality of our hosts and the beautiful natural surroundings re-introduced us to a part of New England we too rarely visit.  The clear night sky, the canopy of stars, the meadows, hills, woods, and the 'musical' accompaniment of various woodland and farm creatures helped slow us down, quiet our minds, and renew our spirits.  It is a truly inspiring and enspirited place!
business
Summer Get Away, Peaceful Popple Dungeon near Chester
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311269
+1 8028751046
Chester Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Home Away from Home

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
When traveling, we prefer vacation rentals to hotels for a number of reasons. We enjoy being able to shop locally and cook our own meals. We also enjoy being away from commercial areas and getting a feel for everyday life in the places we visit. The Atelier Annex on Popple Dungeon Road is a perfect spot to experience life in rural Vermont. The weathered old barn is set in the peaceful countryside. It is likefinding a pearl in an oyster, when you open the doors to the elegant apartment inside. Katherine and Harry have thought of everything to make you comfortable and at home here. There is a well equipped kitchen, complete laundry facilities, a very comfortable bed, and comfy chairs in the living area. I especially liked sitting on the private deck and taking in the lovely view. We enjoyed being able to go out site seeing during the day and returning to our home away from home for a relaxing evening  meal. We hope to return one day.