North Captiva Island house rental - Houses faces Gulf of Mexico just 50 yards from the beach !
Houses faces Gulf of Mexico just 50 yards from the beach !
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

North Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 10, only 50 yds from beach !

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P70e3wsDmB0

Exotic furnishings from faraway places await you at this prof-decorated and landscaped luxury home located just off the beach. Pamper yourself with the finest amenities in this 4000 sq. ft. (2500 under air), 3 bdrm. dream beach house spread out over 5 levels. You can indulge yourself in countless luxury appointments such as the fine goose down comforters, plush monogrammed terrycloth bathrobes, dreamy bedroom settings, a fully-equipped gourmet kitchen by Kraft-Maid with Jenn-Air cook top and Nespresso espresso/cappuccino maker, and a deluxe hydro massage hot tub on the Master Bedroom deck.Bathed in warm natural earth tones, the recurrent theme is one of a distant island getaway, featuring an array of exotic materials such as bamboo, teak and natural fibers complemented by a selection of tasteful antiques.

House: NOTE!: All rentals are not what they seem to be! As you look over numerous property rentals, you will no doubt see many pretty pictures. But what you do not see is their condition. We give you our assurance that this is our personal “home away from home” and that we continually maintain it as if we lived there all year long. So rest assured that 'what you see is what you get'! No unpleasant surprises!

The main living area has a 15 feet high cathedral ceiling with bamboo lattice designed to simulate a tiki hut, complete with its own bar, sofas with top grain imported Italian leather, Persian rug, 19th century accent pieces and home theater/entertainment center. The latest electronic and entertainment features add to your enjoyment, including 4 TVs, a DirecTV satellite dish, a Sony home theater system, DVD/VCR players and a vast VHS video/board games library.

Due to the special upside down design of the home, the bedroom level is lower down and the living levels are higher up, thereby affording great views from the areas where you spend the most time. There are also decks on 4 levels (2 of which are screened).

The views will remain with you forever: the rooftop patio, at a height of nearly 40 ft. above ground level, offers 360 degree views of the Gulf of Mexico, Captiva Pass and the State Land Preserve.

Included in 'The Compass Rose' house rental package is unlimited free access to all of the facilities of the North Captiva Island Club AND Safety Harbor Club (we are the only home on the island whose guests can access BOTH clubs' facilities). North Captiva Island Club has 2 swimming pools (Olympic size heated and cooled + lap size heated) and a jacuzzi. The brick paved pool area is over 14,000 square feet, with over 80 chaise lounges, plus a Spa facility with steam room, sauna, air conditioned changing rooms and lockers. For the active type, North Captiva Island Club also has two lighted Har-Tru tennis courts, a fitness room, basketball court, and sand volleyball court.

You can then relax with your favorite cocktail at Hidden Cove Pool Bar, where a pool side lunch is also available. Kayaks, bicycles, paddle boats and fishing gear rentals are all available at no charge at North Captiva Island Club. Safety Harbor Club is a lot quieter and will appeal to guests just wanting to 'read and relax' by the pool. They also have 2 excellent rubberized tennis courts.

For those guests who like to explore the island, there are 20 miles of bike paths, exclusive of the State Preserve areas. There are also four restaurants on the island: The Boat House, Mango's Island Grill, Barnacle Phil's, and the Safety Harbor Pool Restaurant.

The house rental also includes all linens and towels (house + beach), beach umbrellas, consumables such as toilet paper and cleaning supplies, and clean-up after departure.

The Island:

North Captiva Island is the best-kept secret in Florida: only four miles long and half a mile wide, North Captiva is a Caribbean-like barrier island accessible only by a 20-minute boat ride. There are no cars and no paved roads (golf carts only on sand roads!)

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 311051 in North Captiva Island, Florida

Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Highly recommended !

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed here for the first week of March and used it as a recovery from the awful midwest winter. Our first visit to the island and it is a great place to get away and relax. The house is very nice, very clean and well maintained. There are lots of nice touches - cable, direct tv, nespresso machine, etc. It's location is great since it is near the reserve and a very private part of the beach. The water views are outstanding from a lot of areas of the house and the screened porch is great for sitting outside in the breeze. I would recommend Compass Rose highly.
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Beautufl and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The Compass Rose is a lovely house and is accurately advertised. The house was clean, the kitchen is well equipped, and the beds are very comfortable. Even the wifi connection was good which made the five teenagers and two working dads very happy! Honestly, from the moment Sherman, the caretaker, met us at the dock to take our luggage and we hopped in the two waiting golf carts, everything went according to plan.
The only unfortunate factor was the weather which was unusually rainy and cool for this time of year. HOWEVER, the beautiful covered porch and the Monopoly game as well as the NCAA Sweet Sixteen tournament kept us busy. And, when the weather did improve, the walks on the beach were breathtaking.
One word of caution, do not underestimate how much food you will need as there truly is no full service grocery store on the island. We chose to fax our list to Publix which went very well but we almost ran our of wine! ?
We would definitely go back!
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Wonderful House, Wonderful Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My wife and I truely enjoyed our week at the compass rose. The house is beautiful, and island is amazing (and not at all what one might expect in Florida). The Nature preserve is particularly unique as is the absence of cars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Best vacation we ever had!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We just returned from a week at the compass rose and couldn't be happier. The house was beautiful ( nicer that the pictures show believe it or not) and the island was just about perfect. We used pine island taxi and Jim was beyond first rate. We also used island girl to get to the island and they were fantastic as well. They even went out of their way to get a dolphin to play on the way out. Communication with Dan (owner) was seamless and Sherman (our island contact) couldn't have been nicer. Even Suzi at the club bar made us feel welcome the first night we were there. If it sounds like it was a perfect vacation it was, I would recommend it to anyone that wants to reconnect with family or just needs to slow the pace of life for a week. We will definitely go back!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Coral Springs, Florida
5

Compass Rose is a home away from home in a very special place.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay was amazing. The house was everything and more. Very comfortable and lots of place to go and relax. We loved the loft area and took advantage of its view and comfort. Having the beach so close was a dream come true. We could watch our kids play while we sat on the porch or observation deck. The kitchen had anything and everything you would need for home cooked meals and we took advantage of Sandie shopping for us before we arrived. She even went back out for us the 2nd day. Loved the kayaks, golf-carting around the island and checking out the wildlife. Walking along the beach and digging in the sand was a highlight for our family. We also enjoyed the NCIC where we had lunch and dinner a few days and chatted with the locals. This place is magical and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from it ALL!!!!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Memphis, Tn
5

Compass Rose-- great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent one week at the Compass Rose. The house is beautiful, and has an amazing view, close to the beach. Everything you need is available. Sherman was available, and helpful.
Highly recommend for a relaxing getaway!.. Golf carts are fun, saw big turtles, lots of dolphins, great fishing trip with boats n fun.. Eric was an awesome Captain. Loved dinner at The Boathouse.
Take advantage of Sandie's grocery shopping!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Compass Rose

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Compass Rose is truly a lovely vacation rental in a very special place! The house had everything we could have wanted -- comfortable beds, wifi, TV's, great kitchen and grill, and of course, the stunning views of the water and the beach out the front windows. You can't ask for more than that. The house was comfortable and enjoyable -- we would love to return to the Compass Rose for another vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Compass Rose

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Compass Rose is truly a lovely vacation rental in a very special place! The house had everything we could have wanted -- comfortable beds, wifi, TV's, great kitchen and grill, and of course, the stunning views of the water and the beach out the front windows. You can't ask for more than that. The house was comfortable and enjoyable -- we would love to return to the Compass Rose for another vacation.
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Respite after Disneyworld

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Beautiful house - steps from the beach - views are incredible. Beds comfortable - high end sheets and furniture. Great kitchen set up and grill. You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Compass Rose: Prof.-Decorated Luxury Beach House Just 50 Yards from the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311051
+1 514 457-7211
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Heavenly Sunsets

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The Compass Rose is amazing! If you want a tranquil vacation, this is the place. Bring clothes and food, it has everything else. The kitchen is fully stocked with gourmet spices, every utensil you could imagine, and even your own expresso machine. There are televisions in every bedroom, but who wants to watch tv?

The view is unbelievable. The breeze and sound of the surf, makes for a very pleasurable experience. There are countless trails on the wildlife preserve, or go sightseeing in the golf cart. The locals are gracious and accommodating.

If you want a true "getaway" vacation, make your reservation now. We intend to treat ourselves to "heaven" next year.