Chocolate Hole studio rental - take an oceanfront nap as the Caribbean sea gently lulls you to sleep
take an oceanfront nap as the Caribbean sea gently lulls you to sleep
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Chocolate Hole Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Welcome to our secluded oceanfront dream retreat. 'Sea Nest' is a newly furnished 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom attached studio/loft suite that can sleep 2 people and is ideal for adult couples. This property is the perfect 'location' for a private oceanfront getaway! Your retreat is located about twenty five feet from the crystal blue ocean that gently laps up to your private rock and sand beach. Interior features include a small kitchenette, ceiling fans, air conditioning, flat screen TV with cable, wireless internet, ipod docking system, private phone line, and cd/dvd player.

Exterior features include Weber gas grill, table and chairs for outside dining, your own private beachfront with chairs, kayaks, and snorkel gear to enjoy the tropical fish and coral reefs in the cool, sparkling Caribbean waters at your doorstep. The property has an abundance of beautiful tropical plants that surround you including your own 'paradise trail' to the sea. Listen to the tree frogs at night and watch the hummingbirds, bananaquits, and iguanas during the day. One of my favorite things is to lie in bed and hear the relaxing sound of the surf gently lapping the shoreline. You are a 10 minute walk to the Westin resort and a 5 minute drive to Cruz Bay. We strive to keep our property crystal clean and maintained for your safety and enjoyment.

Keywords: Loft, Studio ideal for adventurous couples!! Enjoy two FREE KAYAKS! FREE SNORKEL GEAR, BEACH CHAIRS & COOLERS!. Tropical reef with Lobster! Explore the rocks along the seashore. BBQ! Just bring your swimwear & sunscreen!! Steps to your own beach!!

More Details
Hide Details

We are life loving and love hanging out in nature on St. John.

We enjoying sailing and embracing new adventures! St. John

is in our hearts- whenever we leave she always draws us back!

Come enjoy paradise with us.

Paul & Joan purchased this studio in 2008

We chose Chocolate Hole for many reasons. We wanted to be located directly on the ocean with our boat in front of the property. This spot we found is truly amazing! Our home is twenty five feet from a reef just teaming with gorgeous tropical fish and sea turtles. The location is just minutes to groceries, shopping and incredible dining. we love it here!! We know you will too!! Whiners and complainers stay away, please.

This property is not for those that come to sit and watch videos or peck on their laptops all day. This property is for folks that want to explore the true island wildlife- not Woodys! Just kidding....

19 Reviews of Property 311026 in Chocolate Hole, Virgin Islands

Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
average rating of 4.769231 based on 19 reviews
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
st. paul mn
5

WORTH EVERY PENNY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This rental was exactly as advertised and described on line. Everythinhg was first rate, first class, and in immaculate. condition.The owners were very accomodating and helpful. This is the perfect quiet, peaceful getaway spot for a relaxing laid back stay for two.
The only caution for prospects is that water enrty at the rental requires agility that those of us over 60 may lack. The sand beach at the end of the cove is however easy, close ,and accessible.
if we ever return ( hopefully) this will be our first choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Bourne, MA USA
5

A great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Paul and Joan are excellent hosts and did a great job fixing 2 small issues that popped up around Christmas-time. The seanest is a excellent place for a couples vacation or retreat. The shoreline is a bit rocky and there are sea urchins, so be careful getting in and out of the water.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Connecticut
5

Stay here! You won't be sorry...

Stay here! You won't be sorry...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Dear Paul and Joan,
I’m writing to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at Sea Nest. We chose your property based on your description and photos. I’m not sure any of those do it justice. Your home is absolutely stunning! The gardens are gorgeous, the layout was perfect, and to be right on the water was priceless. You provided us with everything a guest could ask for and then some. We can’t imagine having a nicer stay. We would recommend your home to anyone who wants an amazing vacation experience on St John. We loved meeting our new friends upstairs too! Cheers – Rob & Nance
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Brooklyn, NY
5

More Than We Could Ask For...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This was my first vacation rental and trip to St. John. I booked a week at the Sea Nest with my girlfriend, not quite knowing what to expect.

What we arrived to was shockingly wonderful. I can honestly say the photos do not come close to capturing the beauty of the scenery and detail of the home, not to mention the care and generosity Paul and Joan have provided. Joan, who took on the interior design of the house, has managed to create a homey beach cottage atmosphere, yet modern and chic throughout. Being a complete snobby germaphobe, I was really impressed with the degree of pristine cleanliness and new condition everything was in. Paul was super nice and helpful with any questions we had and even offered us a few rides into town.

The whole time we couldn't get over how thoughtful and organized everything was. They provided all kinds of accoutrements from brand new water shoes, nice towels and soaps, to an array of kitchen utensils and cooking spices. We cooked almost all of our meals at the house, and as a pretty decent cook I can say we had all the necessary things and more to make all kinds of dishes.

The views are picture perfect and once again are not captured to their full potential in the photos. Every morning we had coffee and breakfast on the beach front patio, and every night we would lay out on the lawn chairs by the water front and stare at the stars. (as a new yorker this is something you don't take for granted) It was only at certain times of the day we needed bug spray, it seems there is a brief window of 1 to 2 hours in the evening where bugs will come out.

I would definitely stay again and couldn't recommend this place enough to anyone I know looking for a peaceful waterfront paradise vacation.

Thanks Paul and Joan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Ontario, Canada
4

Sweet unit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Really beautiful setting. The entire apartment was spotless. Everything we needed was supplied to allow us to cook all our meals (hotplate, toaster, toaster oven, BBQ, full sized fridge and freezer), enjoy the beautiful surrounding beaches (towels, fantastic beach chairs, coolers, ice packs, tupperware) and have a wonderful time indoors (books, CDs, DVDs, great furnishings, ceiling fans, A/C). Joan and Paul have decorated the unit beautifully. This is a fantastic place to stay if you are able bodied. The water access is fraught with sea urchins...as are all stoney beaches in St. John. It was delightful to fall asleep listening to the ocean. This is actually a place I would rate as beyond excellent, but have chosen good instead due to the bugs. Sand fleas and mosquitos are a problem in the morning and late afternoon into night anywhere near the water and therefore we were not able to enjoy the beautiful outside of the unit as we had hoped. That is certainly not under anyone's control, but does affect your outside activity at the property. We were thrilled with the service of the management company Cimmaron. They bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed and that everything was in working order...and if it wasn't, they were there same day or next. This is a terrific base from which to start your amazing adventures on St. John.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
San Diego
5

paradise found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Sea Nest is a cozy, beautifully decorated hideaway complete with snorkel gear, kayaks, and an amazing view to wake up to each morning. The owners were extremely helpful....available and informative when we had questions and respectful of our privacy. I highly recommend this rental for anyone adventurous who also wants a bit of luxury in the accommodation. Many thanks to Paul and Joan for offering to share their piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Hi Paul and Joan,
Just wanted to send a quick note to say how much I (and my sister) really loved staying at Sea Nest. It was the perfect getaway - the accomodations were just right, we kept commenting on how nicely decorated it was with the island theme. The location was perfect, close enough to Cruz Bay to enjoy the ammenities but far enough from the hustle and bustle (if you can call it that!) to feel like we had our own private abode in the islands! If I were to give a suggestion it would be to add more towel bars or a drying rack. The snorkel gear, beach chairs and coolers provided everything we needed for beach excursions and my snorkeling in Chocolate Hole was one of the most EXCITING with the barracuda and sea turtle sightings. It was a perfect vacation, will definitely be back!
Thank again!
Judy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Wilmington, North Carolina
5

Great accommodations and close to some of the best snorkeling on the island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family stayed here for 2 weeks in June. The loft is great and the owners even more so! Both Paul and Joan are extremely gracious hosts and are knowledgeable of the island.

The property is equipped with a back-up generator for power in case of power outages. The island endured a rolling blackout for 3 days while we were there, but did not melt save generator. For those that can endure without air conditioning I would also like to point out that the loft is quite comfortable with all the sliding screen doors open.

The description of the property is accurate. The only thing I may add is if you are not able or have difficulty with stairs this rental may not be best for you. The loft is situated under the main house so you must navigate some stairs from the parking area down to the loft.

The property is both clean and well maintained. It is also sits by the shore of some of the best snorkeling on the island! There is a extensive reef cluster just in front of the property. You can enter the water by the loft, but be CAREFUL of the sea urchins as they are everywhere!
If you are afraid of the urchins, you can always take a short walk to the beach head (Paul and Joan can give you directions to the beach) and snorkel back to the reefs in front of the loft. There is an extensive sea grass bed just offshore of the beach where we saw barracuda and nurse sharks. The reefs are filled with marine life! We swam with schools of Tang, Trumpet Fish, Parrot Fish, Sea Turtles, Damsies, Chubs, and Grunts. I even found a flounder!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Easley, SC
5

Ideal get away for a couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed there for the week of the 4th. Every night brought a breathe taking sunset. Very Close to town ideal for getting there for a few drinks or dinner. This place is an ideal size for a couple. We will be booking there again in the future.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Cool Oceanfront Suite Free Kayaks & Snorkels! Tropical Reef
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311026vb
(340) 244-0166
Chocolate Hole St John
Ringgold, GA
5

Great Christmas vacation @ Sea Nest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My fiancee and I and his 2 teenagers stayed here during our Christmas vacation. It is a VERY clean, beautiful, modern place. It was nice knowing Paul & Joann were just upstairs in case we needed them. They were always so kind & helpful with any questions. We tried the kayaks out one morning which were a nice bonus. The boys also did some snorkeling in front of the house, which they said was great. The location of Sea Nest is also great. So close to everything! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay @ Sea Nest & will most def be back in the future! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1