Honokaa house rental - Bench Overlooking Pacific
Bench Overlooking Pacific
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Honokaa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

From the large, sweeping lanai (deck), Maui can be seen in the distance across the Pacific Ocean. The house is a lovingly renovated and updated sugar plantation house, retaining the feel of a bygone era. Superbly crafted and furnished with tropical bamboo and teak furniture, it offers an elegant and light filled space for renewal. All water running into the house is double filtered, and floors are wood and tile. Features a lovely bathroom with a soaking tub, a large kitchen with Mexican counter tops, a master bedroom with a queen bed, a small bedroom with twin beds, and a fold out queen bed in the living room.

Guests at the View House have daily use of our spa, as well. Our infrared sauna, hot tub and cold tub sit on private decks, surrounded by lime trees, moon flowers, and moringa trees. An outdoor cold shower is available for rinsing, and guests will find an additional shower room and water closet in the adjoining tiled breezeway.

Keywords: House, Vacation Rental, Private

My wife, Connie, and I are both Naturopathic Physicians and maintain a small office on the property. We see patients and tend the organic orchards and gardens. It is a blessing to live in this special place and be so closely in touch with the land. We welcome all visitors with warm aloha and invite them to partake in the healing, restorative energies that are so tangible at our retreat center.

Marcel Hernandez purchased this house in 1999

Imagine that you wake up in the morning to the songs of tropical birds. The sunrise is filtering through the palms, jacaranda and orchid trees, creating shadow patterns on the walls of your bedroom. The soft, gentle rain that fell through part of the night created a soothing cadence on the metal roof of your lovely quarters. You have slept well. Sliding open the large glass door, you step from your bedroom out onto the lanai, take a deep breath of pure ocean air, do a few stretches and gaze out over the deep blues of the Pacific Ocean. The trade winds are light. It is a sparkling clear day. Across the channel, Maui is shrouded in a slight mist. Donning a sarong, you walk down the lanai steps into the orchard to collect your fruit salad. A couple of ripe papayas, a passion fruit or two and a starfruit tumble into your harvest basket. A hand of tasty apple bananas awaits you on the kitchen counter. A huge, round butter avocado and a couple of Tahitian limes complete your breakfast. What to do after breakfast? Should you pack a picnic lunch and hike 40 minutes through the miles of preserve bordering the estate to the spectacular coastal views from the cliffs overlooking the ocean? Perhaps a beach trip to the legendary Waipio Valley, just four miles away? Or a 5-minute trip into town to browse the galleries and have a cup of tea? There are so many things to see and do on the island, like visiting the volcano, driving up to the Mauna Kea observatories, exploring the lush drive to Hilo. Maybe you'll just lie in the hammock for a while and think about it. Or lounge in the spa. After all, it is a gorgeous day, and you are here to relax and rejuvenate.

21 Reviews of Property 310730 in Honokaa, Hawaii

Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Amazing views, lovely house, perfect escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was by far our favourite place on the island. We stayed in four places over two weeks. The views were amazing. The kitchen was fully stocked. The welcome fruit basket was very aloha. The bathroom had everything we needed. The hot tub didn't have strong jets but was great for a soak in between the infrared sauna and cold shower! This space is lovely.

We loved the walk down to Waipio beach (pack a lunch and stay the day) and the town of Honoka'a. The People's Theatre and all the local stores and cafes were awesome. There is no reason to head to the other side of the island! We stayed only 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.

It only rained a bit a night and one afternoon. The rain seemed to stick to the higher elevations and not dump on us at the plantation house. I really recommend this place for everyone. Kids would love to run around in the orchard (oranges, lemons, limes, rabutans, bananas, papaya, mango and more!) and others would appreciate the peace and quiet. The road is directly outside the house and you can hear cars going to and fro outside the house probably to Waipio Valley outlook but this was faint and we really didn't care; the views were too captivating. The evenings and nights were so quiet and the night skies were stunning!! The house is on a naturopathic clinic and spa retreat but there was no one there while we stayed. Only two caretakers were there and we barely saw them. The hard wood floors were lovely. Everything was lovely and private. We hope to come back to visit again! The owner and his secretary at his naturopathic clinic in California were both delightful to deal with while booking! We recommend a stay at the plantation house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

what a beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
we had 7 wonderful days on big island - the house was very clean and well-maintained and furnished very caring - we loved the view and the rainbow in the morning - birds were singing - we had some breakfast-fruits from the garden -
we can recommend the little italian restaurant in honoka'a as well as the trip to waipi'o valley - the caretakers were of great friendliness and helpfulness
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
4

Unique, Private Get Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We started our stay on the Big Island here and it was the perfect way to "get away". Remote, great view, and close to many activities on the north end of the island. While the owners also live on the property, they were very respectful of our privacy. The sauna and whirlpool were an extra bonus (although the whirlpool jets were broken). The road noise was a little more than we expected based on the location. Overall, a great place to stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
juneau, ak
5

great rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
very private, quiet setting - the highlight of a recent 10 day trip. kids loved the fruit trees!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Bellingham Wa
5

Romantic get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was the perfect place for a quiet romantic get away. The area is so peaceful and beautiful, with just a short drive to sight seeing. See the true beauty of the Big Island with this as a tranquil home base. Very clean, safe and private. Enjoyed the non resort seen with the ability to drive to such places for the after noon when the mood struck. Was able to really unwind. When I return I hope to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Juneau, Alaska - Hirschegg, Austria
5

A great choice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just returned from two weeks at this great place on the Hamakua coast and loved every day of it. The house is very comfortable, very clean and well equipped. We enjoyed getting up in the morning and having breakfast on the deck overlooking the Pacific ocean. The garden complete with swing and bench on a very peaceful spot was teaming with flowers and fruits. We harvested a few lemons and avocados.
The night jasmin smelled wonderful and it was a pleasure to wander through the property and look at all the differen plants. Below the property were grazing cows which reminded us of our home in the Austrian alps. The sauna and hot tub were a welcome addition, we did a "wellness day" on one of the more blustery days. The care takers were nice and helpful and sent us back to the house with an armload of fresh basil, peppers and macademia nuts.
Honokaa is a laid back town and the movie theater was GREAT.
The house comes with the sounds of frogs at night, doves and other birds during the day and some of the sounds of a neighborhood.
We will definately choose to stay here again when we come back to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Beckley, Oxford, England
4

Wonderful wildness in the surroundings, combined with creature comforts

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Waking up and rolling over to an immediate view of the blue ocean off the Hamakua coast...this was a wonderful experience from that start to our last evening, out under the stars on the deck. My husband, adult daughter and I were so pleased that we'd chosen this comparatively remote area over the far busier Kona-Kailua side, and Big Island over some of the more highly developed islands. There was a wonderful wildness to our surroundings, combined with all the creature comforts you could ask for. We particularly enjoyed snorkelling in the Kapoha tidal pools off the SE Puna coast. Marcus the on-site caretaker was immensely friendly and helpful in any difficulties. The only reason I haven't given five stars in my review is a certain amount of noise from the nearby Waipio road, which could be a problem for a light sleeper in the second bedroom.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am grateful for all the wonderful, positive reviews we have received over the years. Yes, there is a road 50 feet from the house. It is a no-outlet rural road, which ends four miles away in Waipio Valley. I timed cars going by during morning and evening rush hours and averaged about one car every 30 seconds. At other times during the day it is even less busy. Just now, it has been more than five minutes without a car going by. After sunset, only local folks go by and after 9:00 PM there is almost no traffic. I recognize that some folks are more sensitive to sounds than others and appreciate that every guest we've had in the 10+ years we have been in business has had a transformative, even magical experience and loved what we offer.
May all beings be happy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Houston
4

Great little house with a breathtaking view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed here for the last leg of our tour of the Big Island and couldn't be happier. The backyard view is quite extraordinary with a view of the ocean. Virtually everything you need in a home is provided: Kitchen utensils, cookware, dishes, towels, and linens. It's close to Waipio Valley and not too far away from Hilo which was our arrival and departure point. We didn't get a chance to try out the hot tub/sauna, but it was nice to have it available. Thanks for making our first trip a memorable one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Orofino, Idaho
5

Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I found the house to be very clean and comfortable. The caretakers and owners keep the sizable grounds beautiful. Sitting on the deck looking at the ocean, trees and flowers is worth the flight over to the island. When the weather is clear, the hot tub is heavenly with the stars above. The cold water tub close by is handy for cooling off.

Honokaa is a quaint little town with a small supermarket, movie theater, a couple of restaurants and of course some tourist shops. From Honokaa it is about the same distance to Hilo or Kona, Both are a little over an hour away. Waimea is a fair size town close by with two well-stocked supermarkets and a health food store. Our favorite destination was Waipio Valley, which is only a few miles away.

The owner Marcel is very helpful and responds quickly to any inquiries. It is so peaceful there and we would recommend this house over a hotel or resort any day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Serene, Restored Plantation House with Sweeping Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310730vb
(808) 775-1505 (Hawaii, USA)
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
British Columbia, Canada
4

Great views!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Great views from this comfortable home - we even saw whales one morning. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna as well as the basketball court and the swing by the ocean. The home was very clean and comfortable and had a well stocked kitchen. Excellent location for visiting Waipio Valley!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1