Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville cabin rental - Winter at the cabin
Winter at the cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Betsie River Getaway - 2 BR, 1BA, A/C Cabin in the Heart of northwest Michigan

Wake up to a breathtaking sunrise over the Betsie River. Then hit the slopes at Crystal Mountain Resort or kayak on northern Michigan’s premier wild and scenic river. This four season cabin offers the best of all worlds. You’ll love our classic up-north cabin with private frontage on the Betsie River. Located on a quiet Cul-de-sac, this immaculate home features vaulted wood ceilings, wood interior, wifi, air conditioning, and a gas fireplace. It comes fully furnished including appliances and linens. It has two bedrooms, one bath, a kitchen, and a three door drive through garage for your vehicles and snowmobiles.

Betsie River Getaway is located in the heart of Northwest Michigan and provides an environment rich in outdoor opportunities for every taste and age. Lake Michigan, Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore, Crystal Mountain Resort, and thousands of acres of state and federal recreational property are all only minutes from the door. Please click the link to our website below for additional information.

Area Natural Resources & Cabin Amenities: You'll find multiple access points to snowmobile trails, rivers and creeks, hiking trails, and beaches from our property or only a few minutes away. Golfers will find a variety of tier one courses in the area. If quiet seclusion is your idea of the ideal vacation, snuggle up in the warmth of the fireplace or watch fish migrate upstream while enjoying a campfire from the riverbank.

Amenities: Air conditioning, high speed wireless internet, washer, dryer, stove, propane furnace, gas fireplace, refrigerator, coffee maker, waffle maker, cooking utensils, tableware, silverware, microwave, toaster, satellite TV, 40' flatscreen LCD TV, Blueray player, XM satellite radio, and stereo system with MP3 connection. Both gas and charcoal grills are available. Linens and paper products are provided to start. Wood is provided for the outdoor firepit free of charge.

Area Activities and Cultural Events: Downhill Skiing, Art Park, Summer concerts at Interlochen Center for the Arts, Gwen Frostic Art Studio, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Scenic areas, Local Festivals and wineries, Beaches, Swimming, Children's water park, Water Skiing, Canoeing, Freshwater Fishing,  Great Lakes Fishing, Mountain Biking, Tennis, Boating, Hang gliding, Wind Surfing, Kayaking, Fly Fishing, Snowmobiling, Paddle Boating, Jet Skiing, Gambling, Climbing, Cross Country Skiing, Marinas, Sailing, Pier Fishing, Golfing, Hiking, Hunting, sightseeing.

The cabin is ideally located just far enough from Crystal Mountain to experience the brilliant starlit nights and quiet gurgle of the river while hidden from the all night lights, vehicle noise, and whine of snow guns at the resort.

Betsie River Getaway is also located midway between Manistee and Traverse City Michigan each approximately thirty miles away and offering easy access to all the amenities of the city.

Benzie County, Michigan is world renown for the beauty of Lake Michigan, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, it's forests and rivers, the world class fishing, and recreational diversity.

More Details
Hide Details

The owners Eric & Pat, grew up in the Detroit area and moved to northern Michigan in 1977. We've lived in the same home for over thirty five years only a half hour away from the cabin. We love the northern Michigan lifestyle and beauty and wish to share our love of the area with everyone.

Eric or Pat Lampinen purchased this cabin in 2003

Betsie River Getaway is centrally located in the Manistee, Benzie, and Lelanau county area, the most beautiful and scenic location in the state. Lake Michigan with it's magnificent vistas, massive sand dunes, and uncrowded beaches are only one of the area assets. Our inland lakes, rivers, forests, fall colors, and history, the miles of highway winding through it all, with M-22 in particular infuse the soul with peace and tranquility and must be experienced.

Betsie River Getaway rests on the bank of the picturesque Betsie River. One of only a few rivers in Michigan designated as 'Wild and Scenic'. This air conditioned cabin interior is distinct with vaulted, beamed ceilings and rough sawn wooden walls. The property is enveloped by a dense canopy of trees that provide privacy and solitude. Deer, woodpeckers, and dozens of other creatures call BRG home as well and provide hours of viewing entertainment.

77 Reviews of Property 310615 in Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville, Michigan

Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
average rating of 4.8 based on 77 reviews
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
5

We LOVE this cabin.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our sixth visit to the Betsie River Getaway. First and foremost I would thank Eric and Pat, they are wonderful hosts. They cabin is always exceptionally clean, well stocked with necessities (all the stuff you never remember to bring from home), and they keep you well informed at all times. I actually don't believe I've had the opportunity to meet them, though I feel like I know them. I also appreciate the e-mails throughout the year with additions they've made to the cabin. They are one of the primary benefits of this cabin.

The cabin itself, and the surrounding property, are exactly what you want in an 'up north' vacation. The 'parents' bedroom is roomy, comfortable and the closet and dressers help you move right in. The 'kids' room is perfect - our kids look forward to it annually and bicker over who gets the top bunk.

Large bathroom and very roomy shower (the skylight above it is a perfect touch), laundry room always comes in handy and the kitchen (complete with all the pots, pans, dishes, silverware, coffee makers, etc that you'd need) helps a lot.

The back deck, with all the rocking chairs is where I prefer to read each morning and evening. This year, my kids preferred the new hammock that was installed. Either place is an ideal spot to watch all the birds and critters - the feeders keep some very interesting looking birds nearby. I get especially excited when the humming birds hover over my head while I read on the deck.

Nice, big grill in the back for your BBQ and a fire pit, with chairs, is where the smores get made...after all these years I'm finally getting the hang of making a fire. There is a lot of land, a lot of trees, some swings overlooking the river and a dock to go down and kick around in the Betsie River. Finally, a garage to die for...I wish my bed room at home was a clean.

The location is ideal for an 'up north' vacation. Crystal Mountain resort is a mile down the street (they have lots of activities - we tend to use their pool.) Benzonia is nearby (hit Gwen Frostics), Beulah (beach and Cherry Hut), Frankfort , and all your faves...Crystal Lake, Lake Michigan, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Dune Climb, Platte River, Traverse, Suttons Bay, Manistee, and the list goes on and on. This is the perfect spot to see it all.

This cabin has become a part of our family, we look forward to going all year. If looking for stuff to do, read my wife's notes in the visitors journal they leave on the counter. Thanks!
Owner's Response: Thanks Rob. It's our privilege and pleasure to share the cabin with such wonderful people like your family. Pat and I are originally from the Detroit area but are so lucky to have had the opportunity to live many years in northern Michigan and we love being able to help others experience the natural beauty and quiet solitude we enjoy every day.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Clean, well stocked cabin.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wonderful weekend with my family! Very clean and well stocked! Very pleased, will be back! Cheers!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Back again! Winter visit

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Back again for a fantastic weekend of skiing & relaxing here - it's just as beautiful in the winter. Mesmerized by all the wildlife; turkeys, deer, and so many birds, even in winter! So lovely - thank you so much and we love Crystal Mountain. Everyone is having a blast on the mountain! Be back soon!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guestbook Entry

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful jewel in the woods with us. We had a truly memorable week! Bird watching in the morning and campfires every night gave us pleasure. We filled our days at the beautiful Frankfort beach, Empire Bluffs, the dunes, Fishtown, and a fun filled day at Crystal Mountain. You provide a lovely, thoughtfully outfitted place here! Can't wait to return!!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guestbook Entry

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Another perfect week! You work so diligently for our enjoyment! Greatly appreciated. Spent three days on the beach at Green Point Dunes. Love the drive on 602 and the hike to the beach. Miles to walk on beautiful sand. This year spent a rainy, cool, day driving to Northport. Great scenery and a fun picnic at Tandem Cyclery. Thanks again for everything!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guestbook Entry

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Visit #7 was fantastic just as we'd anticipated. The weather didn't always cooperate but we adapted. We brought our niece from Florida for a second visit & got to show her some sights we'd missed last year like Sleeping Bear Dunes (and a fantastic picnic!), and a Beach Bums baseball game complete with fireworks. We didn't see the bear but he was the topic of many conversations especially around the campfire as in, what's the plan if the bear shows up? Answers ranged from "run like heck" to "offer him a s'more". Though we didn't need it too much this year, the A/C is a nice addition. Thank you! As usual we had a fun, relaxing visit & we look forward to summer vacation 2014!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guestbook Entry

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had perfect weather. This was a great place to stay! We have been coming to this area for decades and this the best place we've found! We saw pileated woodpeckers and either downy or hairy woodpeckers (or both) very close to us - wonderful! The most exciting visitor came mid-week and knocked down the birdfeeder for a snack - a black bear! He tucked into sunflower seeds a foot from the deck! We enjoyed wine on the deck with friends and cooked outdoors. We enjoyed Crystal Mountain golf, kayaking the Platte & Betsie Rivers, breakfast at Rosie's (be sure to try it), cherry pie at the Cherry Hut, the bookstore and variety store in Frankfort, the Legacy Art Park, the Roadhouse Mexican food, scones at Crescent Bakery, BeeDazzled, the Granery for coffee beans and antiques, Kilwins, the beach at Frankfort, and walking the pier. We sat on the swing overlooking the river, soaking up the peace and tranquility and sleeping soundly on a good bed at night! You have made us feel like and belong and have given us an excellent "home base" while on vacation. Thank you for your attention to our comfort!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
4

Peaceful getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was exactly the romantic getaway weekend my boyfriend and I needed. The cabin was perfect for the two of us. The best words I can use to describe it are peaceful and tranquil. It was a nice change of pace from our busy lives and we were able to refresh and recharge. Snuggling up by fire made for a perfect nighttime ritual. On Sunday we drove into Traverse City and went to a few vineyards for wine tastings. Something I've always wanted to do :) Unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to kayak on the river but it was a perfect weekend nonetheless.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your glowing review Kayla. We're dedicated to making sure your expectations are exceeded every time you visit BRG! Thank you for choosing BRG this summer. We look forward to having you visit again very soon.
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
5

Perfect Cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
It’s the perfect cabin in the woods. We did not want to leave; we will definitely be planning another trip to the Betsie River Cabin. The cabin provided everything in the description and more. The owners were very accommodating and answered questions in a very timely manner. During our trip we rented ATVs, we kayaked the Platte River, hiked Sleeping Bear Dunes, rode the mountain bike trials at Crystal Mountain Resort and shop/ate in Traverse City. We had a wonderful time and would love to return to the Betsie River Cabin.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments Monica! It was our privilege to have you as our guests. Our goal at BRG is help our guests enjoy the best 'up north' experience they've ever had without giving up the comforts of home. The cabin provides the atmosphere and amenities while northwest Michigan provides the unparalleled beauty of Lake Michigan, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and the rivers and forests surrounding the cabin. Northern Michigan offers a myriad of activities for every taste and lifestyle from hunting to wine tasting and skiing to geo-caching. Thanks for visiting the cabin with your family Monica. We hope to see you again very soon!
business
Cozy Betsie River Cabin - 1 Mile from Crystal Mountain Resort - A/C, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310615
231 794-1118
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
5

Betsie River Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
If you are looking for a Walden-like setting with close proximity to Crystal Mountain, golf, biking, restaurants and Sleeping Bear Dunes, consider Betsie River Getaway. The two-bedroom chalet has modern amenities with a great deck that overlooks the bank of the Betsie River. There's also a large garage that enabled me to keep my car, bikes and fishing boat under cover. A mile away in Thompsonville is the Betsie River Bike Trail. My wife and I rode the 22-mile trail, stopping in Beulah for lunch, then spent the afternoon walking Main Street in Frankfort. After a perch dinner at Dingy's (highly recommended), Benzie Bus transported us and our bikes 22 miles back to our car for $6. What a deal! If you like to golf, Champion Hill was our favorite course. It is a links-style layout with views of Crystal Lake and Lake Michigan. Tell them you want to play Pinecroft, their sister property, and they will give you a discount coupon. A visit to Sleeping Bear Dunes is a must. Do the Pierce Stocking Trail and allow plenty of time for the dunes at Stop #9. I finally got the nerve to run the dune at #9, 450 feet down to Lake Michigan, then a loooong climb back up. I've been training for a 10K all summer, so I was able to do the round-trip in about 25 minutes, but it is much harder than it looks. If you are into fishing, the salmon run starts around Labor Day, but I was able to find a few early-run salmon. Below Homestead Dam off I-31 is a great stretch of river that is easily waded. Bring at least a nine weight rod, as these fish can run over 20 pounds. We did a lot in our six-day stay, yet we always enjoyed coming back to our cabin at the end of each day and enjoying a glass of wine on the deck. Will definitely do a return trip.
Owner's Response: Northwest Michigan provides a vast number of both indoor and outdoor activity options for all tastes and preferences and we enjoy the opportunity to share this beautiful area with our guests. Sometimes the best endorsments for this wonderful place come from our guests themselves! Thanks John