Harbor Springs chalet rental - Carriage house exterior.
Carriage house exterior.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Harbor Springs Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Carriage house nestled in woods situated within 100 ft of Little Traverse Bay--water clearly visible, just north of Harbor Springs. This is a lovely and private dwelling tastefully and completely furnished with living rm and dining area, two lg bedrooms, lg bath, full kitchen, and loft with custom cherry ladder pegged at top for safety.

The house was designed by architect, Frederick Crosley Ball, and has a vaulted-ceiling interior with basswood paneling and cherry wood flooring throughout. Living room includes a luxurious wrap-around sectional, satellite TV, Boze sound system, and high-speed internet. Stainless steel appliances, including convection oven and washer/dryer.

Cobble/sandy shoreline for long beach walks. Lake suitable for bathing/swimming. This is the perfect place to get away from it all or work on the book project you've been meaning to finish. Expansive library. The effect is magical. No smoking or cats. Summer rate 2014: May 24-Sept 13 is $1260/wk utilities included. Sept 14-Oct 12, is $980 or $540/wkend.

Keywords: waterfront carriage house

More Details
Hide Details

Douglas and Heidi Marshall. Douglas, (Ph.D. History) was on the faculty of Univ-MI for 12 years before becoming part of the automotive industry for 16 years, primarily on the GM Corporate Strategy staff, and later as part of the International group at GM Japan and GM Europe. Here, he was formerly CEO of the Little Traverse History Museum in Petoskey. Heidi, MFA, is a professional pastel artist and instructor at North Central Michigan College in Petoskey.

Douglas purchased this chalet in 1999

Harbor Springs is on the Forbes Magazine of the 10 best places to retire. It is a New England town plunked down in the midwest. I grew up in the Great Lakes region and could not ask for a more beautiful spot, central to nature, and with magnificent summer weather and sunsets.

Advantage is living in close proximity to nature. We are surrounded by woods right on Little Traverse Bay. The Thorne Swift Nature Preserve is the adjacent property with hiking opportunities on trails and shore.

5 Reviews of Property 310134 in Harbor Springs, Michigan

Serenity...Waterfront Carriage House - Harbor Springs
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Serenity...Waterfront Carriage House - Harbor Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310134vbi
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Dallas
5

Oustanding place to stay in northern Michigan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The carriage house was beautiful and comfortable, and made a perfect base for setting out to explore the U.P., Mackinac Island, and Leland/Fishtown.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serenity...Waterfront Carriage House - Harbor Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310134vbi
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Goshen, Indiana
5

Quiet and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a wonderful experience. We arrived about 1 hour early - timing is everything! and found the owners still hard at work cleaning up. But no worries, we were welcomed and given the tour. It is a beautiful carriage house, lots of windows looking out into the wooded area. We could see the water as well. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and plenty of reading material. Close to town (where we enjoyed the Farmers Market one morning) and activities there. I would highly recommend this location especially if you want peace and quiet, beautiful sunsets, and a lovely place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serenity...Waterfront Carriage House - Harbor Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310134vbi
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Rochester, MI
5

Great time, Great timing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had an unbelievably great time staying at Douglas' Carriage House. Very clean. Very warm. Loved our stay. Of course, Professor Marshall assigned us homework - reading up on Hemingway's adventures in the area. I had no idea that Hemingway spent so much of his early life in Northern Michigan. I thought it was one of the "he slept here" things. We hit the fall colors perfectly. It was an easy ride to take the boat over to Mackinaw Island. Very easy to get to downtown Harbor Springs for dinner. And it was too easy to get to the shopping in Harbor Springs and Petoskey. Have you ever heard the sound of geese flying? It was quiet enough to hear the wind cutting through their wings when we took our dog for a walk down the gorgeous trails around the carriage house. There are nature areas near by with many trails. We are going to make our booking for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Serenity...Waterfront Carriage House - Harbor Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310134vbi
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Caledonia, Michigan, U.S.A.
5

Beautiful accomodations and setting!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just returned from 3 days and nights at the Carriage House on Lake Michigan. The pictures simply do not do justice to how beautiful this 2 bedroom, huge living room, and kitchen are. The setting is just steps from Lake Michigan sunsets and nature trail exploring. Our host, Doug, was extremely helpful when needed, but allowed us privacy the rest of the time. He is a wonderful host!! You can't go wrong for a peaceful, affordable, vacation just north of Harbor Springs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serenity...Waterfront Carriage House - Harbor Springs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310134vbi
Harbor Springs Northern Michigan
Ypsilanti, MI
5

Country Paradise on Little Traverse Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Stayed at the Carriage House June 11-12. It was a last second trip. I called Douglas, the owner, and while he explained that they normally accommodated longer stays, he would be willing to have me, my wife, my mother-in-law, and my three year old come and stay at their Carriage House for a few days.

While I get the impression that they normally use a cleaning service, because of the short notice (I called him about 6 hours before we arrived) the owner was vacuuming when we arrived. Especially for a non-professional cleaning job, it was very clean. It was actually everything the listing made it appear to be and more. A really beautiful place with spacious rooms and bathroom. We did have trouble finding a few things, but Douglas was very helpful.

A short walk down the deck steps to the private beach, which is absolutely beautiful, but not really swimmable due to being a pretty rocky area. There is a fire pit and a pretty neat log turned into seating as well as a lawn chair or two. It was actually a little too chilly to go swimming anyway for our stay, but apparently there's a nice public beach really close by. Oh, it's 3 miles from downtown Harbor Springs. Which isn't convenient if you want to hang out in town, but being in the country was breathtaking. Douglas made sure to give us a tour of the property and any instructions he thought we'd need. And he was available to answer any questions. (His wife is a brilliant artist and her art decorates the carriage house wonderfully!)

There is no air conditioning, but other than the first hour or two, we didn't need it. I'm guessing because it was closed up before we got there. There were plenty of fans and the ventilation/insulation was good. Tall ceilings, beautiful cherry wood floors. The only real drawback is that there was ZERO hot water for showering and dishes. But again, this is probably because we were the first guests of the season the pilot probably wasn't lit. And, in all fairness, we didn't mention until we left.

All in all, we would definitely stay there again. The price was fair and the setting was unbeatable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Friends, Adam and Katie - A thousand thanks for your thoughtful and thorough review. Regret Lake Michigan water temp in June requires bravery for swimming but we provide guest sandals to overcome rocky shore--35 ft out it is a pure sandy bottom. Yes, your swift arrival interrupted normal duties in place of the housekeeper. How could I forget to turn on the water heater? It only takes a second to flip the switch. Even though my Scottish ancestors advocated cold baths in the morning, I have never found them inspirational. Wish you had told me pronto. But if you return, let me offer a free night's stay for the inconvenience.

D W Marshall, Ph.D.
Helpful votes: 2/2