St. Joseph house rental - Welcome!
Welcome!
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

St. Joseph House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths--two houses between you and Lake Michigan

The Sand Rabbit Beach House is located on Lions Park Drive. Walk to Silver Beach (Parent Magazine's Top 10 Family Beach) or Lions Park Beach. Walk everywhere--beach, downtown, Krasl Art Center, restaurants, bike trail, library, parks, festivals, Curious Kids Museum, etc.

This home was rehabbed from the oak floors to the roof just a few years ago. The large house has two units available --each one features lake views from the new porches, central A/C, three bedrooms and spacious living areas with tasteful and comfortable furnishings.

There is a back porch and fenced backyard. Perfect for families with children.

Amenities:The houses offers 6 bedrooms (3 queen beds, 4 twins, 1 full bed and one sleeper sofa) and 2 1/2 completely renovated bathrooms. The house is divided into two separate units each with a kitchen (upstairs completely rehabbed all new appliances and cabinets). Each floor has a separate living and dinning room along with three separate bedrooms. Washer/dryer and separate A/C in both units. Cable TV, VCR and boom box w/CD player and extensive video library, games, toys, puzzles included.

Views of Lake Michigan from your second story balcony and a porch and nice fenced back yard.

Activities:Swimming! Sunbathing! Sunset watching. Beautiful, clean beaches, volleyball, people watching, Kayak rentals, biking, ride the trolley to quaint and charming St.

Joseph, walk to dining, shopping, library (Internet access and great kid's department), walking/running/bike trail. Summer and fall festivals including the Krasil Fine Arts Show, Chalk on the Block, Antique Fair (first Sunday of the month). Many other attractions up and down the west coast of Michigan!

Area:Under 2 hours from Chicago, less than four from Detroit, an hour from Kalamzoo, approximately 3 hours from Indianapolis.

More Details
Hide Details

The Sand Rabbit was 'butt ugly' when it was purchased nearly ten years ago. The enclosed front porch was removed and is now a lovely outdoor porch with wicker furniture. The upstairs was opened up and totally renovated including a new kitchen, bath and private new balcony. In addition to renovating distressed properties (and when I'm not taking a nap!), I'm a business owner, writer, yoga instructor, social worker and mother of two. I think I need a vacation like the rest of you!

How many six bedroom houses (divided into two completely self contained units each with their own kitchen, laundry and living area) can you get only one house to Lake Mi for $100.00 per room, per night, in the summer? The house is fully renovated and CHARMING with hand painted floors. Nothing cookie cutter here!

Location, location, location!

20 Reviews of Property 309683 in St. Joseph, Michigan

TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 20 reviews
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

The perfect solution for our wedding guests!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I rented the Sand Rabbit to accommodate wedding party members and guests as an alternative to hotel stays. From the moment I walked in to set out gifts for my guests, I felt home. The location was excellent, just a few blocks from our reception site. The house was spotless and homey. I loved the themed rooms and painted floors! All my guests gave rave reviews...I couldn't have asked for better accommodations! Jennifer was great to work with and was truly helpful regarding my requests. It was definitely a perfect way to host our guests!! Thank you, Jennifer, I would heartily recommend your property to anybody!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

We loved your home. Everything was perfect.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time. Everything was so clean and kitchen provided everything we needed. Everything was in working order, and we all felt very comfortable. Perfect location. We definitely want to come back next year. We answer yes to all the questions you have asked in the tips for reviews.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Yes, we love the location, too. We are thrilled you had a great vacation and loved the house. Please come back and visit again next summer. If you need more space we have two other rental homes only a few houses away! Thanks again. Jennifer
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
3

Close to the beach!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Very cute house. Very close to the beach and all that St. Joe has to offer. Very uncomfortable beds. Furniture does not match the pictures on line. We were expecting a leather sectional and a big screen TV. What we got was an old couch with a slip cover and a small flat screen in the downstairs unit. House was very clean but in need of maintenance. No wires for the DVD or VCR players, so on a rainy day the kids could not watch thier movies. Jennifer called on our fiirst day there to welcome us. We had a very good time here but expected a bit more for the money.
Owner's Response: HI Laura,

Glad you liked the house and the location (two houses to the beach!). We actually updated our furniture and need to update our living room photo. We've added a new flat screen TV, a beautiful oriental rug and red chair. Sorry it wasn't to your likely, but the leather sectional was damaged and replaced. Had I known the DVD or VCR wasn't working I would of sent my handyman to fix it. The people staying before you didn't say a word about it (it may have been a simple switch on the wall that needed to be turned on). We did speak over the phone after I learned of your concerns, but it was after you left the house. Based on your concern about the mattresses we will be replacing any mattresses as necessary. Delighted you found the house super clean (I let my cleaning person know and you made her day!)... we strive to have everything in working order during the busy summer season. Glad you had a good time, but sorry you didn't think the house was a good value. At a little less than $100.00 per bedroom, per night you won't find either of the two hotels in downtown St. Joe for anywhere close to that amount.. more like double that amount and it will be even more difficult to find a six bedroom house so close to the beach. We appreciate you renting from us and hope you will give us another chance. Jennifer
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Arkansas
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is such a great location, that accomodations really don't matter that much. This is not a five star hotel, but it is nice and clean, and has everything you need for the short amount of time you will spend indoors. We will stay here again. Thanks Jen.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
5

Wedding weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The whole weekend was excellent. The house was great and met our needs perfectly. All bedrooms were occupied and our dog guest loved the backyard and the front porch. There was a charity foot race that went right in front of Sand Rabbit and we all enjoyed watching all the racers / walkers go past.
The location worked out great and our grandson couldn't believe the beach could be so close.
The our son's wedding and weather were fantastic. There was not a guest to St. Joseph that did not just love the town and atmosphere.
Thank you and we will surely keep in mind the Sand Rabbit for a possible family get away vacation.
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
United States
3

Mixed Blessing

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Great location! Nice owner! Website didn't state that wifi is available...nice addition! Great room sizes... accommodated a large group well. That's the up side...however...we were required to pay a cleaning fee (expected) but house doesn't reflect that the money from that fee is turned back into the house; not particularly clean...outside needs a lot of work. Several pieces of furniture in the house were in disrepair, some complaints were made about some of the beds....
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Eureka, IL
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This is the first time we have vacationed with our children and their spouses. We needed a place with 5 or 6 bedrooms so this house worked well. The remodeled upstairs was especially nice. It was clean and furnished with about anything you would need. We especially liked that it was close to the beach and downtown was within walking distance. We have went to St. Joseph for the last 3 years and enjoy salmon fishing and the quaint shops and restaurants.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
5

A Cozy Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
I spent a week at the Sand Rabbit with two friends for a "girl's getaway/writing retreat" and we had a great time. St. Joseph is a good place for a retreat - it's a relaxed town. The Sand Rabbit was the perfect place to stay. We were very comfortable, we enjoyed cooking in the kitchen, and lounging in the living room and watching movies. We truly felt at home. We also enjoyed the beach. It really is just one block away. The public library is lovely and four blocks away. Downtown is a pleasant 7-8 block walk. We hope to return and do it again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Riverview MI
5

Guestbook Comment

Wow! We had one of the best times of our lives here. The house was perfect and close to the beach. The kids loved it. We would definately rent from...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2005
  • Stayed: Dec 2005
Wow! We had one of the best times of our lives here. The house was perfect and close to the beach. The kids loved it. We would definately rent from Jennifer and Ken Davis again!! Thank you!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
TWO HOUSES TO SILVER BEACH! Still have Aug. 17 - 24th and June available
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309683
+1 2693691003
St. Joseph Southwest Michigan
Dewitt, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a great week at the Sand Rabbit Beach House. It has a great location to the beach and downtown -- spacious units and a great view of Lake Michi...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2005
  • Stayed: Sep 2005
We had a great week at the Sand Rabbit Beach House. It has a great location to the beach and downtown -- spacious units and a great view of Lake Michigan. We recommend it for any family and we hope to get back there again.
Helpful votes: 4/4