Tahoe City cabin rental - "Carraig Nua" set back from the street. Quiet cul-de-sac. Flat lot.
"Carraig Nua" set back from the street. Quiet cul-de-sac. Flat lot.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Tahoe City Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Retreat to our charming Lake Tahoe mountain home. Come to 'Carraig Nua', on Lake Tahoe's magical north west shore for a comfortable, convenient and relaxing getaway. We've taken great care to create a beautiful space to relax and play; to escape the busy life and renew the spirit.

Located in the quiet neighborhood of Talmont [305 Rose Pine Court, Tahoe City, CA] a few feet from the Tahoe National Forest wilderness and minutes walk to the Tahoe Rim Trail. A two minute drive down the hill gets you to Sunnyside Marina and lakeside beaches. If your activity of choice is hiking, mountain biking, snow shoeing, cross country or downhill skiing, there isn't a better spot to base yourself. Also conveniently located just over two miles to the heart of Tahoe City for shopping and terrific restaurants.

The house interior is bright, spacious and well appointed throughout with custom local artist-made furniture. Features a lovely river rock fireplace in the living room and gourmet kitchen.

Winter: Cross country skiing and snowshoeing is walk-in/walk-out from the cabin with miles of gentle interconnected trails in Paige Meadows and Tahoe Rim Trail. Toboggans available for use. Indoor Christmas tree available for the holidays.

Summer: Sunny deck for summer relaxation. We have beach chairs, sun umbrellas, Gas BBQ grill, etc. available for your use.

We delight in sharing our lovely vacation home. Year-round fun and relaxation at breathtakingly beautiful Lake Tahoe. Other important highlights include:

- Excellent cell phone coverage (particularly Verizon)

- Flat Lot, wide street, cul-de-sac.

- 2 Car Garage with 10 ft ceiling accommodates your roof-rack

- More details in the info below.

Keywords: cabin, chalet, house

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I grew up in Ireland. We have 2 teenage boys. 'Carraig Nua' is home away from home...a place to take ourselves for great adventures or to relax and do absolutely nothing.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2000

We wanted to create great childhood memories for our kids, and what a great place Lake Tahoe our vacation home 'Carraig Nua' (Childhood family home name and Gaelic for 'New Rock') has been for the whole family. We love the mountains, being able take a walk in Paige Meadows and along sections of the Tahoe Rim Trail, or raft down the Truckee river on those days when we are too lazy for the big outings, and being able to hike, bike and play in some of the best western mountain terrain available.

When staying at 'Carraig Nua' we enjoy activities year round.

In the winter it's downhill skiing and walk-in/walk-out cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, sledding and more.

In summer, we walk from the front door for great walks and hikes through Paige Meadows and the Tahoe Rim Trail, mountain biking, water-skiing and doing just nothing but barbecuing and relaxing.

In the Fall, the town is sleepy and the hiking opportunities are unparalleled.

32 Reviews of Property 309344 in Tahoe City, California

Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
average rating of 5.0 based on 32 reviews
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Great location, away from crowds and noise, fun for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a terrific "ski week" vacation here in February. As other reviewers have noted, the house is between Alpine/Squaw and Homewood. We loved that the house was up the mountain a ways, away from the hustle and bustle down by the lake or in the towns. So quiet! The kids had fun playing in the snow outside and skiing on the mountains.

The house itself is bright with floor to ceiling windows on the main floor. The bedrooms are downstairs away from the noise. The kids loved playing foosball and air hockey in the "game loft". We enjoyed making dinners in the roomy kitchen.

The owner is remarkably responsive. We left a wedding ring by accident and she mailed it back!

We would stay again for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

A home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Conveniently located in the Tahoe City. This house is centrally located to major touristy spots and just minutes to Tahoe City downtown. The owners are very attentive to details. They leave little label maker note with instructions on how to work around the house so there is absolutely no confusion or no "figuring out". We (2 families) spent the thanksgiving there and the kitchen was fully equipped, even with roasting pan for baking our turkey! The loft is a small entertainment room filled with air hockey, foosball table and games. That's where our 4 boys (age 7, 6, 5, 4) spent most of the vacation time while in the house. We will definitely come back again soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Francisco, CA
5

Great house in a fantastic location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great house for two families with the kids sharing the bunk room. Very clean and well-maintained, nice great room and deck for eating and socializing. Perfect location for getting to the lake and Tahoe city. We have stayed twice before in the winter and it was lovely to be there in the summer this time. Really appreciated the quiet cul-de-sac that the kids were able to cycle on, as well as the immediate access to hiking trails. The kids had a blast catching frogs and snakes in the meadow!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Danville, CA
5

Fun in Tahoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home was clean and well maintained and was accurately described in the listing we viewed. It was a bit further into the mountains than I expected, thank heavens for GPS! Laura was great to work with, she has everything labeled for easy identification. There was however a lot of instructions that came with the house. I must admit that I was surprised to find that we had to make our own beds and strip them when we left, I thought that was included in the cleaning fee we paid. Overall we had a great time and spent most days at the great Commons Beach in Tahoe City and out to many local restaurants. The kitchen was well equipped when we cooked at the house. In the summer definitely take advantage of the Tahoe City Rafting trip, Jetskis and the Zip Line Fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time at Lake Tahoe and at our vacation home.

Additional context for interested renters...the cabin is 2 miles up the hill from Sunnyside and 4 miles (or less than 10 minutes) to Tahoe City. Ref to other reviews where renters also mentioned easy proximity to resorts, town and more. On the other hand the location has the benefit of a quiet flat street that backs onto the Tahoe National Forest. Best of both worlds.

Stripping beds isn't mandatory, however we suggest it as a way to avoid overages on housekeeping fees for large groups.
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Beautiful house in a fabulous area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house was really lovely. Spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The house is a couple of miles from town, but in the US you have to drive everywhere anyway. Tahoe itself is gorgeous with just perfect weather. Loved it all!
Owner's Response: Go glad you had a good time in California and at Lake Tahoe. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Richmond, VA
5

Best Winter Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful house. My wife and I and 3 children (19,22,16) thoroughly enjoyed all the winter sports available. We wish we could have stayed longer. We will certainly try to return ASAP.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Redwood City, CA
5

Loved our Spring Break stay March 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Once again our kids had a great time at Carraig Nua! The convenience of the house proximity to Homewood ski resort was a huge plus. The kids enjoyed the addition of the air hockey table and the old VCR movies. Thanks so much for sharing it with us. We will be back next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
SF Bay Area, California
5

Beautiful and clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Carraig Nua is a wonderful home- well maintained and spacious in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood. Kitchen is up to date and well stocked. Very nicely decorated. We stayed with another family (total 4 adults and 5 kids) for 4 nights and found it to be very child friendly as well with videos and games. We had easy access to Alpine meadows, granlibakken, homewood and tahoe cross country ski area. The kids enjoyed playing in the flat yard. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our cabin and the whole family had a good time.
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Singapore
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us, we enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The children enjoyed the videos, table soccer and bunk beds. We loved cooking in your kitchen. Your backyard is so quiet and serene, a lovely retreat from the busyness of our usual hectic schedule. And it snowed when we were here! So beautiful to see everything coated in white. We hope to come back again :)
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Modern, Bright, Backs to Forest, Walk to Tahoe Rim Trail, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309344vb
(650) 776-4352 (California, USA)
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Redwood City, CA
5

Our 2nd memorable visit at Carraig Nua

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Once again our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carraig Nua. The kids didn’t want to leave this great house. We were able to sled and cross country ski right here. So convenient with 5 children. Every year we say we wish we could stay longer. Thanks for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Delighted your stay was enjoyable. Look forward to having you all to Lake Tahoe again!