Hilo house rental - Only you and your guest on the property.
Only you and your guest on the property.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, sleeps 6

The Falls at Reed's Island located in Hilo's upscale enclave, Reed's Island, a mile from downtown Hilo. Perched at eye level to one of Hawaii's most beautiful waterfalls, and is flanked by the Wailuku River and rain forest. The Falls at Reed's Island features private bathrooms, hot-and-cold soaking tubs and views from every window.

Selected by Frommer’s as one of the 15 top picks, on the planet - properties with a view. Homeaway's top 10 romantic properties in the world, Concierge magazine Editors Pick. The Falls at Reed's Island, was also one of four properties featured in The New York Times - 'Secluded Retreats on the Big Island' and was featured on the TV special - 'Around the World in 80 Homes' produced by the Fine Living Channel.

Historically home for the Hawaiians was not on the beach, they lived in the valleys where the weather was appealing, inspirational, serene. Legend has it that Reed’s Island, (original name “Koloiki”) was the play ground of the Alii. Imagine staying in what seems to be deep in a rain forest, but just a mile up river of Hilo Bay, where a Hawaiian King spent his time.

Guest comments from Honolulu - “Thank you, thank you, thank you! We have loved the experience of this magical place. The soothing cascades of the waterfalls, the falling rain, the calls of birds, the black rocks and so many colors of green just overload the senses and provide an unimagined tranquility. Steve told us of this paradise - but even he could not prepare us for this setting. From dawn to dark we have been captive and can only speak in low voices as if not to break the spell. Thank you for sharing this all with us. We leave with memories and feelings that will last forever. Much aloha”

Reed's Island is a Hilo neighborhood where the wealthy built their homes in a bygone era, and it still holds that reputation today. The two and a quarter acre estate is located at the very end of the island's only road, giving it the most prestigious and secluded setting on the island - “feels like being on a private island”.

The Falls at Reed's Island is about 1 mile from old historic Hilo town and Hilo Bay “The Beautiful Bayside City”. The land is more vertical than horizontal, a sliver with about 700' of frontage on the Wailuku River, the largest river in the State. It is protected by a fragment of State land on its side away from the river, and the land across the river is protected by a conservation easement. When on the property, it seems deep in the rain forest, although it is really in downtown Hilo.

Amenities: Phone, laptop computer with DSL, cable TV, DVD, VCR, CD player, hot and cold soaking tubs, full kitchen, sub zero refrigerator, ice maker, kitchen aid range, dishwasher, two sinks, cooking utensils, all linens including beach towels, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, washer and dryer, Weber Gas BBQ.

Activities: Active volcano, hiking, biking, golfing, fitness center, horseshoes, fishing, horseback riding, shopping, restaurants, cinemas, museums, sightseeing, swimming, snorkeling & diving, boating, surfing.

Area: Located 10 min from the Hilo International Airport and 30 min from Volcanoes National Park.

More Details
Hide Details

Owners are Jack and Jane Stevenson. Jack is a fourth generation Hawaii resident. His great grandparents came from Germany in 1882, straight to Kauai. Jane has lived in Hawaii 52 years. They grew up on Oahu and spent 14 years on Kauai before moving to the Big Island when they purchased the property and created “The Falls at Reed's Island”. They have fallen in love with Hilo in the last ten years. Think that Hilo feels like Honolulu did in the fifties. They love the verdant green side of the Island and all the beautiful rivers and streams. They live in an historic house just five minutes from The Falls. Jack is very active in the Rotary Club of South Hilo. Jane spends time on historic preservation. Jack is an avid scuba diver, who only recently sold his dive boat.

Jack Stevenson purchased this house in 2002

The property was a private vacation home designed and built by two Architects, from San Francisco. Upon the death of one the property was put on the market. We purchased the property because of its simplistic beauty, and by the way it has a 25' waterfall right in the yard. Jane and I converted it to a vacation rental.

60 Reviews of Property 309336 in Hilo, Hawaii

Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
average rating of 5.0 based on 60 reviews
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
Savannah GA
5

This home is truly AMAZING!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Everything was truly amazing here! The home was perfect for my husband, another couple with a toddler and me! Everything was clean and well maintained. The Big Island is amazing too. Just be sure to plan your day out as most sites are a good hour away!
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
Brownstown, MI
5

Today's Garden of Eden

Today's Garden of Eden
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
WOW! My husband and a agree, this place is spectacular. You are secluded and yet so close to Hilo. I am an "oceanfront" person, but I enjoyed this home so much, that it did not matter, at all, that we did not have any ocean views. The house itself is like the canvas to a beautiful painting. The home is so beautiful in its design simplicity. We had everything we needed and more. The views were magnificent...and to have your own waterfall, that was the best. As far as I'm concerned, there is absolutely nothing to complain about. The property was just as wonderful as the description and pictures portray. Jack was very easy to work with, and very attentive to details. I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
It is in a great location to explore this section of the Big Island. We basically covered the Hamakua Coast, down to the town of Na'alehu. Visiting the Volcanoes Park is a must. Also one of the few tours we took (this is our 4th trip to the Big Island) was the Waipio Valley Shuttle with Doug as our guide. If you're not hikers, this is a great way to see the valley; better than the donkey tour to the Valley. We have been to the islands 12 times and this is the first time I got tears of pure joy while looking out the window towards the waterfall; I thank God for finding this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

OUR MOST FAVORITE PLACE TO STAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We are from Oahu and the Waterfall House is our most favorite place to stay when visiting friends and family on the Big Island. The listing description is very accurate, however it is difficult to do justice to the entire property with photographs. The layout is amazing with the long connecting lanai running along a small ridge ending at the kitchen with a view out the kitchen window of the spectacular waterfall.The house and property are meticulously well maintained, cleaned and managed. It is hard to believe you are actually staying in a rainforest, yet you are only a few minutes from beautiful Hilo town. There are many other fantastic nearby places to visit, such as Volcano National Park. However, it is difficult to even leave the property since it is so spectacular. We have traveled all over the world and highly recommend the Waterfall House to all our friends as our most favorite place to stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

An amazing experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A wonderful and unique place to stay on your vacation. The house and the grounds are absolutely stunning! We were excited by the pictures online. But they really don’t do this place justice and that’s saying a lot! Well located to explore Volcanoes National Park, the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, and the many waterfalls and beaches along the eastern side of the Big Island.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

Our of our most memorable vacations ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The Falls at Reed's Island is one of the most beautiful places we've ever stayed.
It's difficult to believe that you are just a few minutes from downtown Hilo because once you enter the gates you are in a private oasis in what feels like the middle of the rainforest. The house itself is beautifully designed and appointed. It has a subtle Japanese aesthetic and blends unobtrusively into the surrounding landscape. Lush vegetation, soaring trees and beautifully landscaped grounds surround the house, descending down to the river below. Once you enter the house, your view is oriented along the lanai to the magnificent waterfall beyond. It is hard to capture the scale of the waterfall in photographs but it is simply majestic and we spent much of our time simply transfixed by the view. Jack and Jane are the consummate hosts and provide every comfort one could wish for. We were furnished with lovely local coffee, edibles and flower arrangements throughout the house. It was hard for us to leave at the end of two weeks and we cannot wait to return. Truly a wonderful experience!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

A wonderful home in a "Jurassic Park" setting

A wonderful home in a "Jurassic Park" setting
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We really enjoyed our vacation here with our good friends Dick and Jeri Hamel. We explored the island, helicopter tour, botanical gardens, volcanoes NP, etc. Really enjoyed lunches at the Kona Inn and the Volcano. At the end of the day, we looked forward to going back to the beautiful landscaping at the Falls at Reed's Landing, truly a fantastic place.

Ernest and Bête Burt. Zephyrhills FL
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

This place is like no other

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This fabulous place is perfect for 3 couples. Downtown Hilo is a 10 minute drive to dine at restaurants or stroll the Saturday Market for fresh foods to prepare in the unique yet well stocked kitchen. Besides the waterfall on the property, 3 others are a short drive. In planning your daily activities, make sure you allow enough time to enjoy the peaceful serenity that the property has to offer.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

Beautiful, Peaceful, Serene, Relaxing, Magical!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Each of us had one word for this place tranquil, serene, peaceful and relaxing, however there are no words for the beauty on this place! The waterfall looks like a scene from Jurassic Park - waiting for the T-Rex to come around the corner! All joking aside this place is so lovely and exceeds all our expectations and the pictures couldn’t do it justice. The sounds of night and the waterfall made for the greatest sleep ever!
Must do’s - Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour, Volcano National Park, Nut Farm and most of all sitting in front of the picture window watching the waterfall! Seaside Restaurant good place to eat, they have their own fish farm. We ate here (at the house) mostly because who really want to leave when you get here!Thanks so much to Jack & Jane for sharing this incredible home with us!
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

Amazing experience and awesome location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What an enchanting home and location! We arrived at night to the loud singing of the animals! It was beautiful, but the real treat was when we woke up in the morning and saw the views from all the windows! The waterfall was breathtaking! We appreciate the experience and we will remember it always!.

The most relaxing, beautiful experience we've ever had. Our toddler was equally enchanted and especially loved the green hill to the terrace. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and all the baby gear - crib and highchair worked great.
business
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309336
+1 8086353649
Hilo Hilo District
5

Unbelievable.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
You will have to stay here to believe what a special place this is. It's beautiful, and the care the owner puts into this property is over and beyond.