Golden townhome rental - Bright cheery living-room with hardwood floors, TV/DVD and fireplace
Bright cheery living-room with hardwood floors, TV/DVD and fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
Minimum Stay nights
 

Golden Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-7)

Comments from our Guestbook:

'Beautiful condo!! Thrilled to stay in such an exquisite place...Fabulous time, thank you' .

'What a beautiful condo you have...we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to make it back another time'.

'We've stayed here (in this complex) before...it gets better each time. Long story short - we love it here!'.

'The Mills family from Calgary loved your condo and had a fantastic time....we will be back!'.

'Very nice condo, very cosy... the snow was perfect and new every day...good time had by all'.

'OMG! What a condo! Friends, wine, hot tubs and skiing! What else is there better in life!'.

'Colin and Kathleen love love love this place! Made wonderful BBQ dinners, relaxed in the hot tub....enjoyed the fabulous views and wonderful people!'.

'Our family stayed here for 2 nights....it's very comfortable and clean....this is a great setting, its well-stocked with all you need in the kitchen, games and movies. Thanks' The Anderson family, Hawaii July 2011

'What a beautiful place for our honeymoon! Thank you for the card and flowers, we felt so welcomed.....We'd love to come in the winter to ski/snowboard. Thank you for sharing your home!'

Kicking Horse Mountain Resort located outside Golden, B.C., is in the Canadian Rockies at the juncture of the Continent's three most majestic ranges: the Purcell and Selkirk Mountains and Rocky Mountains, and the confluence of the Kicking Horse, and Columbia Rivers.

The Resort overlooks five spectacular National Parks: Banff, Glacier, Kootenay, Yoho and Mount Revelstoke. It is a place of rare natural beauty and an unbelievable array of activities for all seasons!

This award-winning design, well-appointed and welcoming slope-side condo is beautifully furnished in hard wood and nature themes throughout the master bedroom (queen bed), second bedroom with TV, full kitchen, sit-up bar, and comfortable living room with a 32' flat screen TV and pull-out couch. To ensure the comforts of home, and a little extra pampering there is Wi-fi, internet, underground parking, heated tile floors and your own private luxurious outdoor hot tub with fabulous mountain views!

Kicking Horse Mountain Resort is known for it's Champagne powder, and has everything from steep chutes for the powder hounds, to green runs for the kids, as well as snow-tubing runs, a skating rink, and both cross-country skiing and snowshoe trails. The gourmet Eagle's Eye Restaurant at the top of the gondola (elev. 7700 ft) offers heavenly meals and views, while other great restaurants and pubs, grocery/liquor sales, equipment rental and purchase, and lessons are available at the base area.

In winter there is easy access to back-country ski touring, heli-skiing, cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog-sledding, tobogganing, ice-climbing and ice-fishing in the area.

Kicking Horse is a truly great place to visit in the summertime too - as the gondola and chair lift are open for sight-seeing, hiking or downhill mountain biking access, and the scenery is simply fantastic! For even more excitement plan a visit to see 'Boo' - the resident adult male grizzly bear who was orphaned as a cub and now lives in a 22 acre enclosure in the middle of the mountain where naturalists give talks about bears and their habitat throughout each day.

Other activities to do nearby in the summer include: whitewater rafting, hang-gliding and paragliding (for which Golden is famous), Canoe/kayaking, fly-fishing, ATV tours, Jet boat tours, horseback riding, cross-country and downhill mountain biking, Wolf Interpretative center, swimming in nearby Cedar Lake or in town at the outdoor pool.

In the town of Golden, 15 minutes drive from the Resort, the vibrant local culture is featured in the many local festivals, as well as tennis courts, skateboard park, groceries, spa services, shopping, excellent restaurants, and walking trails along the river, complete with local art.

On the way down to Golden, (only a 10 minute drive away), is the Golden Golf Course boasting an 18 hole championship course, that is consistently rated 4/5 by Golf Digest Magazine, with Hole # 11 ranked as 'the Best Par 4 in BC' by Score Golf TV and magazine, and boasting unparalleled mountain views from each hole!

And don't forget to bring your camera for possible wildlife encounters - as on a recent drive from Calgary to Kicking Horse: deer, bighorn sheep, a moose, two young grizzlies, and two black bears were all spotted in one evening!

Keywords: Kicking Horse ski resort, Condo, townhouse, powder skiing, grizzly bear tours, downhill mountain biking

More Details
Hide Details

Owner lives in Calgary and is an avid skier and hiker, loves to enjoy the area with friends and family. Kids love it here!

Shelagh Clarke purchased this townhome in 2010

Owner has skied most resorts in Western Canada, and this is by far the best place to be! This ski hill is unbelievable in terms of snow quality and amount, variety of terrain, and opportunities for resort-based powder skiing. The scenery is amazing and it is wonderful to be able to walk out your door to ski, and relax in the hot tub at the end of the day! This condo is really comfy, with a large selection of DVD's, Wi-fi, great decor, and very private hottub. There's great restaurants, pubs, and other fun things to do in the area, and summer here is great too! It's our happy-place!

Very comfortable, nicely designed and decorated unit. Great views from front and back decks. Quiet and super-relaxing in hottub at night!

10 Reviews of Property 309155 in Golden, British Columbia

Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Chilliwack, BC
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Shelagh's condo was exactly s described. It was very cozy and comfortable. It was convenient for golfing, as well as sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again. Shelagh was very efficient and helpful. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Waterloo Ontario Canada
5

Relaxing , Quite and Beautiful Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family really enjoyed this resort to kick back and relax and do local sight seeing and tours as well as a great time at Golden Golf Course...we also enjoyed the wild life around this area and good restaurants...etc..
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Calgary
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband, our 3-month old baby, and I had a great stay over a weekend. The condo was lovely, and exceeded our expectations! Shelagh was very good at answering our questions in a timely manner and providing information on the place and Golden before we arrived which made us feel welcome. The place has everything to make you feel at home, with a beautiful scenic backdrop. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Saskatoon, Sk
5

Amazing Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This propery was absolutely amazing. It was exactly what the description said! Beautiful condo, great location and very welcoming. Small perks were definately appreciated in the forms of DVD collection and board game selection! Location is excellent and Hot Tub was definately appreciated after a day of skiing! Sitting watching the snow fall in the hot tub was amazing! i would recommend this to anyone and definately wish to visit this location again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Kansas, USA
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I stayed 3 nights as part of our vacation to the Canadian Rockies. This condo was just as offered on VRBO, with all amenities to make a perfect stay. Sunrises were beautiful from the front porch with crimson sky looking across the valley to the mountain range in the east. We saw wildlife about every drive from Golden up to Kicking Horse and to the condo. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Bend, Oregon
5

Great Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Our trip included three adult males up on a ski trip to KHR. Property was clean, well appointed and cozy. Hot tub was great after skiing. Nice garage for parking. We just drove down to the lift lot to load the gondola as it was much more convenient then walking up the hill to the slope and skiing down. it was nice having a W/D in the condo to help dry out the ski clothes. We had a great time up there. The owner was excellent to deal with, very helpful, hospitable, and responsive. I believe this unit could comfortably handle up to one couple with two children. The second bedroom with the bunk bed is a bit small and I would not recommend more than one adult in there. We had a great time at KHR!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This renter was lucky enough to enjoy the biggest snowfalls of the season during their midweek stay, so I can understand if they found it more convenient to drive down to the parking lot as the deep fresh powder is deep to walk in initially, and the parking lot uncrowded during the week. My 10 year old daughter has had no difficulty with the 2 minute walk to the ski -out to the base for the last 2 years, and other renters have had no concerns with this.

As for their comment about the size of the unit and second bedroom, we have easily accomodated 6 people in the unit, so they perhaps overlooked the fold-out couch in the livingroom as a comfortable bed for two adults!


The epic powder that fell this week was unbeleivable, so these boys were very lucky indeed!
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
victoria, BC
5

Summer at Kicking Horse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family spent 4 days at this resort for a summer wedding. I was a little nervous having only booked through VRBO once. However, Shelagh was more than accomodating from the moment we contacted her. She juggled her shedule to allow us to arrive at an earlier date. She was alway available by phone for anything we needed. We were thrilled when we arrived to see a modern and extremely clean condo. From plush towels to comfortable bedding our stay could not have been better. One room accomodated my parents and the second room (with the bunk) accomodating myself, husband and child. This condo in particular is at the end of the street which makes it a bit more private. We enjoyed the picturesque mountain from the lovely hot tub/deck each evening. The condo is equipped with anything you need and kicking horse mountain has many adventures to explore. We particularly enjoyed hikes around the mountain and at the peak, as well as some golf. Lots to do both summer and winter. Certainly hope to be back. Thanks again Shelagh for a fantastic vacation for the family. I would love to answers any questions that future travellers may have and would not hesitate to recommend this superb condo (and owner!!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Peterborough, Ontario
5

Kicking Horse Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Beautiful condo!! Perfect choice for Kicking Horse. The condo was spacious, clean, hot tub was a lovely amenity. Walking distance to Kicking Horse activities! Owner of the condo was very pleasant to deal with!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Edmonton
5

Karyn, Liam and Douglas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family of three recently stayed at this unit and it was absolutely fabulous! We wished we'd booked longer, and will come back again. The mountain bike staff were great and the hill was great. The pool in Golden was fun and quite accessible with good hours for swimming. Shelaugh's condo had every amenity a family could want, and even some we were definitely not expecting. (Condiments in the fridge, sugar in the sugarbowl), We have been spoiled! I would highly recommend this lovely, comfortable unit to anyone wishing to spoil themselves. See you in the winter Shelaugh!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Slopeside Condo for Winter and Summer Fun
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309155vb
(403) 242-4898 (Alberta, Canada)
Golden British Columbia Mountains
Calgary
5

Lovely Hillside Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We stayed here for a weekend in August and had a wonderful time! The condo is in perfect condition, absoultely spotless and you can't beat the price anywhere else! We had a wonderful time touring around Kicking Horse and Golden. The Aspens is a very quaint hillside development at Kicking Horse. You can't beat the location, especially for ski season!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway