Playa del Carmen condo rental - El Taj Oceanfront from the Beach at Night
El Taj Oceanfront from the Beach at Night
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Playa del Carmen Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

One of two larger 1BR units at ETO, uniquely situated towards front of building on a corner location providing fantastic open views of the ocean and just steps from jacuzzi, pool, beach and excellent onsite restaurant, Indigo, with full service beach club. Being a larger 1 BR, the open floor plan and view provide a feeling of openness, light and comfort. Views of the ocean are seen from patio, kitchen and living room. The bedroom is bordered by a tranquil tropical garden and fountain protecting it from outside noise of clubs and any street noise. This provides a peaceful and relaxing stay given the unique positioning of the condo to the front and interior of ETO building. Unit 27 provides a modern and full service kitchen including full size refrigerator, and DW, as well as a Washer/Dryer, LCD TV's with DVD, iPOD docking station and modern amenities throughout as well as a nicely finished marble/glass bathroom. Everything you need to feel as though you are home, but steps from the Caribbean Sea.

Being located right on the beach gives one the chance to explore Playa's atmosphere from a long walk north or south along the beach day or night being able to access any number of streets putting you back in the heart of PDC. As well, you are just a 1-3 minute walk from the front entrance of ETO to the charm and verve of 5th Avenue and it's many shops, restaurants and clubs along the way.

Whether relaxing on the beach, enjoying the late afternoon breeze and dusk with some appetizers & drinks or heading out for the evening many options await to enhance your vacation experience.

Guests also have access to the pool and jacuzzi at the adjacent El Taj Beachside property providing a nice mix of atmosphere and change of pace as desired.

There is a single Master BR with a King bed with private connecting bathroom (connects from Living area too), that is ideal for 2 people, with an outdoor garden and zen fountain bordering the window creating a very tranquil and quiet environment for your relaxation.

Infants/toddlers, children or additional guests may be accommodated via portable cribs or bedding provided by housekeeping.

Owners can assist in reserving larger (2 & 3BR) units or additional units as well.

Keywords: Oceanfront, beachfront, fully furnished

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of four, with two young children who became attached to PDC and the Riviera Maya years ago. We enjoy traveling other parts of Mexico, Hawaii and the USA

The Owner purchased this condo in 2010

We loved the location for our young family and all the variety of vacation experiences the Riviera Maya provides

Exploring and just relaxing, every day affords a chance to do something as simple as sea-shelling with our little girl and building sand forts with our boy, to trying out a remote beach, an eco park, walking the beach in either direction, a crocodile zoo, discovering new restaurants and re-visiting favorites or just staying in as little drowsy eyes and bodies fall asleep early.

18 Reviews of Property 308751 in Playa del Carmen, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
5

Excellent property and super location on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Stayed in one bedroom unit next to pool on first floor. Unit was very modern and the staff were very helpful. You get access to "the Gym" an upscale work out facility right up the street. Playa night life out front door of hotel and beach life out the back of the hotel ...... Perfect combination !
Would stay again for sure been to Mexico 20 times and this place is excellent
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Naples, FL
5

El Taj is a great location; everything topnotch.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed in a gorgeous condo at El Taj which is ideally located on the beach. The condo was beautifully furnished and had all the appliances one needs while on vacation. We loved sitting on our private balcony with coffee and/or drinks, watching and listening to the surf. The bedroom was quiet - great for sleeping-in while on vacation. El Taj is a short walk away from Fifth Avenue with shops and excellent restaurants where you can sit at outdoor tables and be entertained by strolling mariachi bands performing in the street.

While at the El Taj, be sure to order a Mayan Margarita!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Seattle, WA
5

Paradise Found in Playa Del Carmen!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed in this beautiful condo at El Taj for over a week. I cannot recommend this condo strongly enough. It has everything you need! A full kitchen, washer/dryer, spacious living room, and gorgeous bedroom/bath. We felt that it was in the ideal location for walking around town, laying on the beach, swimming, fishing, and the going to the best restaurants. We absolutely loved it! El Taj is the best spot on the beach and this condo is perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Naples, FL
5

Great location for this condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The unit I rented is only steps from the beach and has a nice view of it from inside and from the balcony. The entire El Taj property is in an ideal location in Playa del Carmen. Quite and serene, but only a 3 minute walk to the main street, 5th avenue.

Everything about this place is first class and it location can't be beat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Walnut Creek, CA
5

Mini Mum Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
A girlfriend and I decided to get away from it all and spend a week in Mexico. We booked this unit at El Taj and had a fabulous time. The unit was immaculate, very well maintained, spacious w/a view to the ocean & beach from inside and out, located very conveniently to beach/pool/restaurant and with all the ameneties required
We didn't venture very far from the resort, apart from dinner in the evening and spent most of our time either at the pool or the beach. The staff at El Taj were amazing and took very good care of all of us. Nothing was an imposition. They helped us up and down stairs with two buggies, offered to get groceries for us and were generally very friendly and accommodating. The attendees at the pool, knew exactly what the boys wanted for lunch each day and brought it to them without us even having to ask.

The kids loved eating at the condo restaurant on the beach as they were able to play in the sand, get spoiled by the restaurant staff and listen to some wonderful music.

I would highly recommend the El Taj Resort and thank you to the condo owners for a wonderful mini-Mum break.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Seattle, WA
5

Dean from Seattle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was my second stay at El Taj. Both visits were outstanding. Staffing were extremely courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable. Room was perfecty set up and extremely clean. Loved cooking lite dishes in the kitchen. Front desk assisted in excursions and activities when requested. I would recommend El Taj (and Playa) to friends and family alike and am looking forward to my next relating visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Portland, Oregon, USA
5

Fabulous stay at El Taj

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We decided to try the El Taj due to the very positive reviews on various trip sites. What a gem! The El Taj is like a 5-star boutique hotel but with all of the conveniences associated with a condo. The oceanfront location is superb and the unit we stayed at, 327, was immaculate with high end furnishings and all of the necessary amenities. Dealing with the owner was wonderful and the staff at the El Taj is outstanding.

Our excursions were limited by our 3 year old, but we spent every day at the Indigo beach club and went to Tulum and Xel-Ha for some river tubing and swimming. Great family excursion and high recommended. Next time we plan to try the other ECO parks.

We shopped at Walmart and Mega for food and strolled 5th Avenue every evening for dinner. It reminded me of Bourbon Street in New Orleans. The club scene was active and did not bother us a bit. No car is needed, and we enjoyed walking everywhere whether it was the beach itself, the shops on 5th avenue or the clubs on the beach. It is a vibrant and active town!

Having seen the large resorts in the area, I would still recommend the El Taj, the service is highly personalized and you still have access to the same amenities that a larger hotel offers (pool, concierge service, housekeeping, beach club, water activities etc).

Thanks again to Geoff, the owner of Unit 327, and all of the wonderful staff at El Taj.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Louisiana
5

exceeded expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
El Taj and Playa are simply awesome. My girl and I have been down to riv maya a few times in the past staying at some top notch AI's (Royal Hideaways, Iberostar Grand) and on visits to check out Playa for the day noticed El Taj and it's prime location on the beach and also its proximity to the city center. So we decided to give it a shot and we are so glad we did as the end result was a fantastic vacation away from the grind. We stayed in unit #327-a large 1 bedroom located towards the front which was a very nice unit with ocean views-and although the stay started off with a bit of a hiccup (the bathroom door malfunctioned with my girlfriend inside and it took multiple staff from housekeeping and maintenance to resolve the issue-about 20 minutes to gain entry and let her out-and then replace the entire door knob. Total for all was about 45 minutes and the staff involved were very considerate and thorough) it was smooth sailing going forward. We did do some shopping at Mega to stock up on vaca essentials-booze, beer, wine and snacks along with some fresh fruits-and found it to be a good move.

If I may-a few suggestions on eats we enjoyed:

Breakfast- El Nativo, La Cueva Del Chango(monkey's cave), Imprevist-All were fantastic, filling and priced right.

Lunch-La Sirena, Indigo and multiple little outdoor cafes all within walking distance-look for the spots where the locals are eating and you wont go wrong.

Dinner-Mosquito Blue, Da GiGi, Blue Lobster, Imprevist, La Casa Del Agua, Yaxche

note: you will receive a VIP card along with a list of participating restaurants and found all the particpants we were able to visit were top notch.

Do take the trip to Al Cielo-private beach about 25 mins south of Playa-it was an awesome day on the beautiful beach with nice body surfing waves. Also had a very good restaurant on site-try their whole salted fish-takes 35 mins to prepare but was well worth the wait.

I saved the best for the end-THE STAFF!!! Whenever we travel we always make it a point to get to know the staff as they are your true connection to the area you are visiting. We have found that if you treat them with respect, kindness and as you would want to be treated-they "enjoy" making suggestions when asked of things to do, where to go for a good local meal, etc..El Taj staff treated us as family/friends and steered us in all the right directions.

Front office folks-Marco, Miguel, Ivette, Rodrigo, Linda-A special thanks to you all and it was our pleasure
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Chattanooga, TN
5

Wonderful Stay, Great Unit, Great Owner! Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My wife and I just returned from a trip to Playa del Carmen and we stayed at El Taj to celebrate our anniversary. To say that we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement. This is a beautiful property that is located in the most central location one could hope for if they wanted to be in the middle of all that Playa has to offer. We walked everywhere and loved it! Our unit was a beautiful 1-bedroom condo with a great ocean view from the patio and the living room/kitchen. It is literally two steps from the entrance to the jacuzzi and a few more steps down a short staircase to the pool. You can see the water from the open patio out front as well. The resort staff was wonderful. The bellmen we dealt with and the people at the front office and concierge all spoke great english which helped us tremendously since our spanish was quite limited. Everyone was friendly, welcoming, and always diligently working to keep the entire resort as clean and well-maintained as could be. Additionally, the owner was great to deal with. If we were staying at El Taj again, I'd hope to deal with the owner again because he was so thorough and easy to contact. We had a small issue with a miscommunication upon arrival and with a quick email to the owner he had it straightened out in a matter of minutes. He also was really helpful in emails prior to our trip providing us with some local tips and tricks for getting to and from the airport and eating as well! It was a real pleasure. We hope to stay there again! If you're looking for an easy going stay at a place that isn't too big like all the cookie cutter resorts, give this place a look. You'll be hard pressed to find a better all-around experience. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
El Taj Oceanfront Beautiful LG 1BR View Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308751vb
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo
Seattle, WA
5

Loved the El Taj! Beautiful with great service and location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I loved our 9 day holiday in Playa Del Carmen staying at the El Taj Oceanside. Our 1 bedroom El Taj condo was fantastic! We loved the beautiful modern style condo with all the amenties we needed. A big comfy bed, clean elegant bathroom, kitchen with top off the line appliances and 2 TV's! We used the I-Pod dock everday enjoying our music while sipping our evening cocktails and morning coffee. The location is top. We had privacy on our patio to enjoy, but were close to the spa to enjoy the water and view and other travelers company too. From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to be welcoming and very service attentive. The housekeeping staff is top notch, the waiters at Indigo were super friendly, on the spot and the food is super. Each day spent on the beach was a dream. We enjoyed the location so much, the beach is beautiful, clean and safe. The sand is incredible and we never tired of looking at the gorgeous blue water. It is just a short walk down the street and your in the center of the action on 5th Ave. So many restuarants and clubs to pick from it would take months to try it all. We never had a problem with the club sound from down the street. The ferry to Cozumel is easy. We rented a jeep and drove around the island. It was interesting to meet so many vacationers that travel to PDC from all over the world, Holland, Norway, Brazil, Germany and so many more! There is so much to do in Playa it definitly takes more than one visit..we will definitly be back! Hopefully we can stay at the same place it was Great!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. Just to clarify, this was at El Taj Oceanfront, which is different than El Taj Beachside. This review mentions it as "oceanside" so clarifying the difference for our readers.
Helpful votes: 1/1