Hilo house rental - Charming cobblestone path leads to the Craftsman columned entry
Charming cobblestone path leads to the Craftsman columned entry
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom, Sleeps 4.

The CRAFTSMAN GARDEN BUNGALOW is a 2,000 sqft, 2 bed & 2 bath single-story vacation home furnished in comfort and elegance with vintage island decor, cozy built-in electric fireplace, natural stone, rich cherry wood cabinets and a 42-inch Plasma High Definition TV and home theater sound system. The bungalow is situated on nearly an acre of lush tropical and Japanese-inspired gardens located 2.5 miles from historic, downtown Hilo. The bungalow is more than a beautiful place to stay, it’s a lifestyle. You will experience charming “old Hawaii” where life is slow and easy. At the bungalow you can relax in style or pursue a variety of adventures at your doorstep. Amenities include a secluded outdoor garden spa equipped with jetted hot tub with UV light water purification, infrared sauna and outdoor shower. The beautifully landscaped grounds and naturalistic setting capture the tranquility and beauty of the islands where travelers can relax and experience the true Hawaii that the locals live.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Big Island of Hawaii. The CRAFTSMAN GARDEN BUNGALOW provides a private vacation retreat with all the comforts of home for visitors and travelers to the Big Island of Hawaii seeking an alternative to the 'resort' atmosphere, and where you will not feel like a tourist. Chef's kitchen is fully equipped and coffee bar is stocked with fresh, organic coffee. Your hosts reside on the neighboring property and personally greet you and handle key exchanges when you arrive. Your hosts answer questions you may have, assist you with any special needs and help you plan your stay... sharing tips on where to visit, how to get there, where to lunch and favorite local dining spots.

The bungalow property is located in East Hawaii in a picturesque area of Hilo and surrounded by streams, waterfalls and quiet cul-de-sacs perfect for walking or jogging. Spectacular views of landscaped terraces and partial ocean views of Hilo Bay can be easily enjoyed from the screened lanai. The bungalow is exquisitely designed with Shoji doors that open up to a garden oasis with pond, waterfall and fountains. Simply relax in the outdoor courtyard and covered lanai stocked with gas grill, dining and lounge furniture. In harmony with nature and with all the comforts of home, the Craftsman Garden Bungalow will make your journey a most memorable experience. The bungalow is centrally located making it an ideal home base while exploring exotic points of interest on the island.

The bungalow is a 5 minute drive or a free bus ride to historic downtown Hilo and Hilo Bay. Hilo is known for its warm aloha spirit, relaxed lifestyle, unique shops, art galleries and restaurants with local regional cuisine. Local attractions include Lyman Museum, East Hawaii Cultural Center, historic Palace Theatre, Pacific Tsunami Museum, Imiloa Astronomy Center, UH Hilo Performing Arts Center and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. Hilo Farmer's Market is a favorite for fresh, local produce. Merrie Monarch Festival, Hilo's premier hula competition and cultural event, is held annually. Hilo's black sand beaches and freshwater pools are some of the best for snorkeling, diving, surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking, swimming with turtles and tropical fish, or watching the whales off shore. Take a helicopter volcano tour or short scenic drive to active Kilauea volcano to view a lava flow, ride horses in Waipio Valley or tour the summit and view the night skies of Mauna Kea.

Weddings, graduations, receptions or large gatherings may be allowed with owner's prior consent and only by arrangement with our event planning and management services. Contact us in advance to facilitate your special occasion set in the privacy of the bungalow grounds and lovely gardens.

The Craftsman Garden Bungalow is a Non Smoking property: Hawaii State Law dictates that all public areas are designated as smoke free. The safety and comfort of all our guests is of utmost importance to us. As such we have a non smoking policy. Smoking is not allowed in any of our buildings or on the property grounds. Please inform your visitors of our non smoking policy. Your support and cooperation to maintain a smoke free environment at the Craftsman Garden Bungalow is greatly appreciated.

Fishpond on grounds, No Pets: Children are welcome at the Craftsman Garden Bungalow, however, families with children of a certain age must be aware of safety concerns around the fishpond on the property.

Sorry, no pets are allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I are the owners of Orchid Isle Bungalows in Hilo, Hawaii. We have have lived in Hilo for 35 years where we started our family and raised our three children. We own a construction and real estate development company on the Big Island of Hawaii and have been in business since 1979. We designed and built the bungalows and landscaped the grounds taking care to preserve and restore the Japanese gardens and ponds. We are continually beautifying the gardens and the property is lovingly cared for. We reside on the property neighboring the bungalows and greet guests personally to welcome them, handle key exchanges and respond to renters' needs. The bungalows are fully furnished and have all the amenities making this a perfect island home away from home. It is our pleasure to share this amazing property, as an alternative to the 'resort' atmosphere, with travelers and visitors to the Big Island of Hawaii seeking a private vacation retreat where you will not at all feel like a tourist.

Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Sherron Skeele purchased this house in 2003

The Orchid Isle Bungalows property was formerly a japanese garden developed by a Hilo resident, educator and a founding father of bonsai in Hawaii. Dignitaries from Japan visited the gardens and tour buses regularly visited the garden showplace. The gardens and ponds were well-known on the island and several generations of residents fondly recall enjoying the gardens during their childhood. The gardens was one of the first places my husband and I would show our family and friends who came to visit the Big Island. Over the years, the property changed hands and was let go. As we lived on the neighboring property, we took the opportunity to acquire the property in 2003 and begin the 'restoration' of the gardens. We made arrangements for the the unrepairable existing structure to be burned down by the fire department in a training drill for its cadets. We then embarked on the project of custom-designing and building the bungalows and restoring the existing Japanese gardens. We love to share the gardens and our ongoing efforts to beautify and landscape the grounds is in keeping with the naturalistic setting that captures the tranquility and beauty of the islands.

36 Reviews of Property 308294 in Hilo, Hawaii

Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
average rating of 5.0 based on 36 reviews
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Most Luxurious and Amazing Rental Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
About mid-way through our three-week vacation in the Hawaiian islands, our family (including our children aged 12 and 14) stayed at this wonderful find in the hillside outside of Hilo. We found the bungalow amidst a garden-lover's delight of tropical plants, pond and gorgeous walkways throughout the property.

The bungalow was pristine and immaculately ready for our base camp for four days on this side of the island. Every amenity has been well though out - down to 4 different types of hangers in each closet for hanging all types of garments! And love the luxurious robes too..

The kitchen was well-stocked with everything you need to feel at home while preparing meals. Abundant towels, sheets and bathroom products rounded out the offering. Not one single thing was missing - almost better than the write-up on-line.

Thanks Sherron and David for adding this lovely touch to our exploration of the Big Island. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others - you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Mahalo nui loa!
Owner's Response: Aloha Dawn, Claude, Adam and Dana, We would like to extend our appreciation to you for your wonderful review of our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo. We enjoyed meeting your family and look forward to your return stay on your next visit to the Big Island. May your family enjoy a happy and prosperous new year in 2014! Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Florida
5

Can't Wait To Come Back!

Can't Wait To Come Back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The Craftsman Bungalow is absolutely perfect in every way! Regrettably we stayed for only three nights and the weather was not very nice, but we were content to stay in our cozy, immaculate bungalow in front of the fireplace listening to the nice selection of Hawaiian music. Seriously, this is the nicest house we have rented and as mentioned before the gardens are spectacular.
The house is so well equipped and well maintained - the owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and they are available if you need anything.
We hope to visit again and stay much longer next time!
Owner's Response: Aloha Margaret and Sam, It was a pleasure meeting you, Estill and Jill, and having you stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo. We enjoyed our chats together during your stay and your enthusiasm and love for the gardens. We look forward to another visit from you. Thank you for being such gracious guests and for a lovely review that is much appreciated.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
After much research and deliberation, we chose to stay at the Garden Bungalow the first three nights of our recent Big Island vacation. Even after reading the many wonderful reviews, we were still pleasantly surprised by just how lovely it was. The house is absolutely perfect in every way. It is located in a nice residential neighborhood just a couple minutes away from the heart of Hilo. The décor is stunning with beautiful art all around and very comfortable high quality furniture. Everything a guest could possibly need has been provided.

The pictures of the gardens do not begin to do them justice. The one-acre property rivals many commercial botanical gardens, and I was in awe of all the beautiful tropical flowers and plants. What an absolute pleasure it was to wander around this lovely property first thing in the morning and at the end of each of our busy days.

We travel a lot and have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years. Sherron and Dave’s gorgeous Garden Bungalow was the nicest so far, and it will be hard to beat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kim, Thank you for a lovely review, and for expressing your appreciation for our Craftsman Garden Bungalow and gardens. We are so pleased that you took time to explore the gardens and experience the beauty during your stay. We hope to see you back again on your next visit to Hilo. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Maryland
5

mature couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What can we say that has not already been said by others. We stayed here because of the excellent reviews and the property actually surpassed them. It is an absolutely gorgeous place with everything anyone could want. We own Hyatt timeshares and are used to excellent accommodations and were surely not disappointed here. Dave and Sherron were very helpful, available, and full of good information. A quiet and restful place that we more than enjoyed. We certainly will come back next time we come to Hilo. Thanks for a delightful and memorable stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha John and Cathy, It was a pleasure having you as guests at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. Thank you for your favorable review and for your words of appreciation for our vacation rental property. We are happy that you took time to unwind, relax and enjoy the beautiful gardens and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hilo. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Beautiful garden and bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The bungalow and garden were both beautifully maintained. The garden area with waterfall was very beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed relaxing mornings drinking our coffee and watching the birds among the beautiful garden flowers and trees. Sherron was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Hilo bay cafe was a very nice restaurant that we enjoyed. Mauna Kea was an amazing experience. The sunset and star gazing were fabulous.
Owner's Response: Aloha Angela and Glenn, Thank you for a wonderful review on our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. We are happy that you took time to thoroughly enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of the gardens during your stay, as well as made the trek up to Mauna Kea for one of the Big Island's peak experiences. Hope to see you back again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Wonderfull stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The house is an absolute gem. We could not find a thing that was missing. Everything was take care of. The landscaping was beautiful and well maintained. An excellent view to the north, the downtown area and airport. The Hilo area has quite a few attractions such as the volcano, Rainbow Falls and the Saturday farmers market. I would recommend the property to anyone.

Roger Brown
Owner's Response: Aloha Roger and Gail, It was a pleasure meeting you and your friends, Stewart and Margaret, during your stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow. Thank you for the very favorable review...your enthusiasm about our property was very appreciated. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

peaceful and serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Sheeron and Dave's Garden Bungalow is one of the most beautiful rentals we have ever had the opportunity to visit. The home is spacious,immaculate,peaceful and serene. The gardens have to be seen to believe. Walking through them at morning's first light taking pictures, is one of the MANY delights of this property. The bungalow is so well equipped,you want for nothing during your stay. The home is superbly constructed with all high-end finishes and every amenity one can think of for a home in this rental price range.Sheeron and Dave were always close by if we needed any info on the home, or just to ask where to get a great lunch. This was our first visit to Hilo,and could only stay for 5 days this trip. My husband and I have decided we would go back just to enjoy this property.Mahalo, Sheeron and Dave for a wonderful introduction to the Big Island of Hawaii. Nancy and Dick Rapacilo. Kalispell,Montana
Owner's Response: Aloha Nancy and Dick, Thank you for a spectacular review, thoughtful description and positive comments on our Craftsman Garden Bungalow vacation rental property. It is nice to be appreciated for our efforts in creating a beautiful property for visitors to stay on the the Big Island. We truly hope you will return. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Augusta,Georgia
5

Tranquility,Peace and Refreshing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
the beauty of the property needs to be seen for its appreciation! I grew up on Oahu and could really appreciate all the beauty of the Gardens and the peaceful atmosphere it extends to the house!Our stay there was short but the house was immaculate. Sherron had everything we could want or use~sparing no details. The gift basket was filled with delicious mangoes,macadamia nuts, and sparkling apple cider for us to enjoy!! Thank you! What a beautiful house and a beautiful location!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sa, Sai and Miller, It was a pleasure meeting your family and I am so glad you enjoyed and appreciated your stay at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow and gardens. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Provo, Ut
5

Absolutely loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I loved the house. It was very beautiful and perfectly cleaned. The house is comfortable and relaxing. Using the sauna was one of our favorite things to do at night after a great day of hiking. We loved Hilo, such a great little town and the house is in a perfect spot that is easy to get to from town and the shopping centers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Diane and Robert, We are so pleased that you loved Hilo and enjoyed a week of exploring the island...returning to the bungalow after a busy day of sightseeing to relax and rejuvenate in the sauna and spa. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your return. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Craftsman Garden Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Garden, Spa, Pond, Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308294
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Antioch, CA
5

Our stay ~ May 23, 2012-May28, 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Sherron, please forgive the tardiness of this review. As you see by our date, The Carvalho family stayed at your wonderful Bungalow property in Hillo, I am late in responding. We stayed there to attend our niece's graduation from Kamehameha School. We want to commend you for such a wonderful property and your absolute hospitality when we stayed in your Bungalow in May, 2012. You couldn't have been more gracious and we really appreciate it. Your property was magnificent from all the amenties: to having a ladder, washing facilities, the openness of the house, to the cleanliness, to having all the kitchen utensils available. Your cleanliness was superb and we really appreciated that.We loved the openness of the house. I loved your toilet paper with the stickers on them ! Thank you again ! We enjoyed our visit immensly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Bob, Tone, Nicole, Frank and Maya, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed staying at our Craftsman Garden Bungalow in Hilo during your visit to attend your niece's graduation from Kamehameha. I hope to see you again when you come back to visit family on the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1