Blue Hill house rental - House Viewed from Lakeside
House Viewed from Lakeside
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Blue Hill House Rental Photos and Description
Luxury Year-Round Lakefront 4 BR Home Near Acadia, Bar Harbor & Blue Hill

Gorgeous lakefront home nestled on 2.2 very private acres. With over 250 feet of frontage on Toddy Pond, the house sits 75 feet from the water, atop a small rise, providing a lovely view of the lake through the trees. Toddy Pond is one of the most desirable lakes in downeast Maine. The charming oceanfront town of Blue Hill is only 15 minutes away, with Acadia and Bar Harbor about a 45 minute drive.

This year-round home is well appointed, with a gourmet kitchen, luxury master suite, and maple floors throughout. The living, dining, and kitchen areas share an open floor plan, anchored by a massive granite fireplace, providing a very spacious feel, even for larger groups. A spectacular arched window casts a sunny disposition in the living area throughout the day.

The following are actual recent guest comments:

'Your house is a first class act. We loved it.'

'…we couldn't have asked for a more perfectly appointed and relaxing home for our vacation.'

Great Lakefront Getaway!: Toddy Pond is the perfect lake for a Maine getaway. Ten miles long, but only a mile or so wide, it has three distinct sections, and many rock outcroppings, making it the choice for those looking for a quieter alternative to other area lakes. (It’s not conducive to large pleasure boats because of its topography.) The home is located on the western shore of the middle section. So if you are looking for a place of solitude to relax, swim, fish, and canoe, but with the convenience of nearby attractions, this is the place for you.

Very centrally located. In addition to the traditional Bar Harbor and Acadia area, Castine, Blue Hill, Deer Isle, and Stonington are all lovely trips a short distance from the home.

More Details
Hide Details

46 Reviews of Property 307911 in Blue Hill, Maine

Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
average rating of 5.0 based on 46 reviews
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I found Loon Cove to be the perfect getaway from NYC!

The house itself has amazing high ceilings, lots of windows (with plenty of natural light) and a big open kitchen. The large master bedroom has a walk through closet that leads to a nice big bathroom.

During our stay we opted for a mix of day trips to various little fishing villages and evenings in front of the big stone fireplace. Places that stand out include, Stonington, Camden and Schoodic Point inside Acadia National Park.

We also visited a small farm down the road, (Quill's End Farm) that produces all their own milk, cream and various meat you can buy. In town, the Blue Hill Coop is great for most of your organic food needs.

This was a lovely vacation for us and I would highly recommend it to others!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

A most enjoyable week and a prefect place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
8 of us very much enjoyed our stay at Loon Cove. The house was in a good location for day trips to Acadia NP, Deer Island, Castine, Blue Hill and other locations.

Sunrise across Toddy Pond were fantastic. The trees were changing into the many colors of fall.

We would recommend this location. There were not any children with us, but the location would be very child friendly.

The house was as billed and very comfortable with large windows facing the lake and lots of light.

Dan(owner) was very helpful and has a large binder of local information, restaurants, directions and suggestions. He also emails you this information when the final payment is made so that you can plan ahead. His directions for arrival from the south were right on.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

Relaxing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Despite staying in Maine for only three days, our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Loon Cove. The house exceeded our expectations and provided a beautiful view of the lake out back. It was also well maintained and provided anything and everything when it came to entertainment - ping pong table, movies, bikes, etc.

All the recommendations/directions from the owner were very detailed and worth taking a look at. Our favorite places were Bar Harbor and Cadillac Mountain, which were a reasonable commute from the house. You can hike along the mountain or visit Sand Beach, which is located in the same area.

Overall, our stay was relaxing and welcoming. We would definitely love to come back sometime!

Recommended for: Families
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

Relaxing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Despite staying in Maine for only three days, our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Loon Cove. The house exceeded our expectations and provided a beautiful view of the lake out back. It was also well maintained and provided anything and everything when it came to entertainment - ping pong table, movies, bikes, etc.

All the recommendations/directions from the owner were very detailed and worth taking a look at. Our favorite places were Bar Harbor and Cadillac Mountain, which were a reasonable commute from the house. You can hike along the mountain or visit Sand Beach, which is located in the same area.

Overall, our stay was relaxing and welcoming. We would definitely love to come back sometime!

Recommended for: Families
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
New York City
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of New York City, and the Toddy Pond house was the perfect place to rest and enjoy the quiet Maine countryside and shore. We spent few days enjoying the quiet, simply reading by the fire and sitting out by the lake enjoying the sunrises and sunsets. Eventually, we explored Blue Hill (bookstore, restaurants, co-op). Then it was on to Acadia National Park (sunset on Cadillac Mountain not to be missed), and taking the mail boat for a day on Isle Au Haut (the Seal Trap hike was one of the best we've ever experienced). We used Maine: An Explorer's Guide by Tree & English) with great success. Lots of good food, to say the least. Belfast is not to be missed - particularly the art museum and the farmer's market just behind it. Other side trips too many and interesting to describe here.

The house itself is fantastic - clean, spacious, full of light, warm and quiet. Just close enough to things for convenience, and far enough away that we felt we were having the remote experience we wanted. All in all, we would gladly return here with friends for another visit, perhaps in July. Our October visit was filled with beautiful autumn leaves and crackling after-dinner fires. We recommend the Toddy Pond House most highly. Dan was delightful, helpful, and seems like an all round good fellow. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
5

pure enjoyment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Great stay at Loon Cove. Had everything you needed to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Directions, suggested activities and suggested eating places by owner were exceptional. Easy driving distance to many day outings and beautiful sites. The property was clean and was comfortable to come back to each day and make breakfast every morning. Sun sets across the lake were beatiful. Dan (owner) was very helpful with any questions prior to stay. Couriers Mainely Lobster outside of Bucksport should be added to list of places to eat - they were very personable, and offered other suggestions of things to do, not to mention reasonably priced great lobster. Would highly recommend Loon Cove to anyone who would like to visit the coast of Maine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Illinois
5

The Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I, along with my parents, recently stayed at Loon Cove and we enjoyed it so much that we're hoping to return next year. The owners could not have been more helpful with information both before and during the trip. The house itself it just beautiful and the setting is gorgeous and so quiet! We all enjoyed our first cup of coffee on the deck in the morning while watching the sun come up through the trees. We took several day trips....Bar Harbor, Acadia, Campobello, and antiquing south through Searsport, down to Camden...and the location was great. We drove in from Illinois and stayed in New Hampshire before heading to Maine. One of our first stops for lobster was at Young's Lobster Pound in Belfast, yummmm! After that, we were on a mission to consume as much lobster as possible. There was a gentleman who had a trailer, maybe 10 minutes from the house on Route 1 just before the split with 15, who sold lobster and did a booming business. We purchased several from him and cooked them up at the house, delicious!
I could go on, and on, but suffice it to say we had a fantastic vacation and would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
Bradenton, Florida
5

Our Week in Downeast Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved everything about Loon Cove. It was just close enough for an easy commute to Bar Harbor and Acadia. The house was well equipment with everything we needed. Our son wrangled us into more croquet matches than I could count. Whether enjoying the peaceful view from the dock, or reading a book on the back deck, It was very relaxing. Thanks for the info on local towns and attractions, we particularly enjoyed the views from atop Great Pond Mountain. The short steep hike to get there was worth it. While Maine is known for seafood, its hard to find a better meal than the wood fired pizza at BarnCastle in Blue Hill. We wondered what all we would do for a week on the Maine Coast, now we have a list of all the things we couldn't get to for next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
East Kingston, New Hampshire
5

Grammie of Five

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This home is delightful and well situated to the lake. There is a small 'beach area' which has rocky access but very usable for young children. It doesn't work too well for toddlers unless they are with an adult - which of course they should be!

The lake is beautiful - very good for fishing and canoing. Also, no shortage of loons... The house (as mentioned by others) has everything needed to make this a comfortable and pleasant holiday including a very adequate kitchen and a really gorgeous master bath upstairs.

One last observation - it really is very convenient to many towns and hikes in the area. We especially enjoyed Blue Hills and Stonington.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Lakefront Home - Near Acadia, Bar Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p307911
+1 2564579819
Blue Hill Downeast and Acadia
New Hope, AL USA
5

AWESOME Maine retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My wife and I decided to get away from the South for a week and vacation in Maine. Toddy Pond is the IDEAL vacation lake house. The setting is breath-taking... and just far enough off of the beaten path to be quiet and secluded. We felt like we were the only people on the planet while we were there. The ONLY sounds to be heard were the birds and the squirrels. It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever been on. The ammenities were perfect and there is plenty to do, even though we were not there at peak vacation time. We went to Acadia National Park which is, in a word, amazing! We took a 6 mile, 2 hour "Day Mountain Summit" carriage ride up the side of the mountain, which I would highly recommend! It is very reasonable at about $50.00 for the two of us. It only rained one day while we were there... but for us even that was great! With plenty of dry firewood in the basement, we spent the entire day lounging around in front of a warm toasty fire in the fireplace... we even cooked steaks on the grill. I can't say enough about this wonderful place and would recommend it to anyone! We plan to return... hopefully in 2013!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3