Old Center apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

streetlevel apartment in beautiful part of the city centre.

PRINSENGRACHT728

Charming street level apartment (35 sq M.) in an old canalhouse built in 1725 on one of the 4 main canals. Located in the old city center in the 'Grachtengordel' formed by the major canals. Close to tourist attractions, museums, and public transportation.The address of the apartment is PRINSENGRACHT 728; between Vijzelstraat and Reguliersgracht. A safe upper-class neighbourhood in the very heart of the Golden Age Amsterdam. All the things you like to visit are on walking distance. The prinsengracht-canal is part of the Seventeenth-century canal ring of Amsterdam that has been put on the World Heritage List since 2010.

You have a private entrance so 100% privacy guaranteed.The garden gives you an extra place to relax. We as a family live in the upper part of the house. I work as a Montessori teacher and my husband works as a pediatric surgeon, the three children go to University.

Private entrance/keys and a beautiful garden, 100 % privacy.The apartment makes you feel one of the locals. Easy to reach from Central-Station by tramline 4 (6th stop is Prinsengracht) Only 2 minutes walk to number 728.

This location is a peaceful part of the centre. Close to schools, lots of families live in this area.

close to: Rembrandtplein, flowermarket, Nieuwmarkt, Amstelveld, Leidseplein, musea,shoppingcentre, restaurants, daily market and famous area 'de Pijp' and 'Jordaan', fitness centre , red- light district and lots of theaters and cinema's.

The Jordaan with 'the 9 shopping streets' is also close enough to walk. 2 Supermarkets on 2 minutes walking distance.One of them is an Organic Health food store.

The apartment has a living/kitchen, a shower/toilet and a bedroom overlooking the garden.The garden is a very romantic place to relax after a bussy day,the big table and barbeque are there for the guests.The convertable couch sleeps 2 extra people.

The kitchen is well equiped with microwave, oven and washingmachine.with a special code you have free acces to wireless internet.

One of the guests wrote:

'What a wonderful place and fine location. ' I love to cook, and with the local markets nearby and the great kitchen you have it all perfect.

CHECK-IN PROCEDURE

All guests are greeted upon arrival to exchange keys and payments, regardless of arrival time. Please let us know what time you plan on arriving to the apartment at least one week before your check-in date.

To make a booking definitive I ask for a deposit.The most easy way to make a deposit transfer is PAY PAL.The balance must be paid upon arrival. Sorry for no credit card fascilities.

Deposit returned if cancellation is made 6 weeks prior to stay

Cancellation made less than 6 weeks prior, deposit returned if dates are booked.

Keywords: 'lot of Privacy,private entrance, quiet, comfortable'

More Details
Hide Details

We as a family live in the upper part of the house and we use our own front door.

My husband is working in a hospital as a pediatric surgeon and I love to be a Montessori teacher.

Our 3 children are bussy with their study in Amsterdam.

We lived in new York while my husband was working as a childrens oncologist.We like to share our house with people from other countries.We use VRBO often our selves and think that it is very nice to live like locals in different places in the world.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1964

In august we have the gay parade in front of our house, on Queens day (april 30) the free market is all around us, In winter time you can skate on the canal in front.

The garden is an extra area to sit, drink, smoke and eat in summer time.

The bread specialist is around the corner, ABERCROMBIE & FITCH just started around the corner, the flee-market and daily market are on walking distance........and so on, please see by yourself.

Most guests love to live like a 'local'

This part of the city is one of the most friendly and beautiful ones.

boats passing by, cafee's with people sitting outside enjoying the sun.

The houses on this canal make you feel like walking around in a museum.

30 Reviews of Property 30677 in Old Center, Netherlands

Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
average rating of 5.0 based on 30 reviews
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Perfect location, perfect apartment.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband, 12 year old daughter, and I stayed for two nights in early October 2012. The location is absolutely perfect - quite, safe, picturesque. It was easy to get to from the airport by train and tram. The apartment was immaculate, well-equipped, and charming. Liesbeth was gracious and helpful but we had complete privacy. It was plenty big enough for three people, and probably could accommodate a fourth. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Living the Dutch life - for a few days!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
On the Prinsengracht canal with boats, going up and down. Lovely, quiet, residential street with private courtyard in back. Perfect location for those on holiday as you are within easy walk to trams and bus lines. 1 1/2 blocks walk to grocery, bakery, organic grocery, local restaurants. 1 1/2 blocks to Tram 4 line.

Apartment is equipped with all the right basics for vacation; comfortable bed , nice linens, kitchen basics. And a nice quiet, comfortable place to come home to at the end of long, fun days of exploring the city.

We never took a taxi, as the trains, trams and buses took us everywhere we needed to go. We purchased a multi- day GVB pass for 33 euros for the 2 of us that gave us unlimited on and off public transportation anywhere within the city for 72 hours. Just scanned the fare card each time we got on or off. Trams are easy to navigate, good website to tell you which trams, buses and where to transfer to get from point A to point B.

Though the line may be long, don't miss the Anne Franke Huis. And if you're lucky to be there in the spring Kuekenhof Gardens are spectacular and worth the trip!

Locals are very warm, friendly and helped us figure out how to get where we wanted to go. Business man stopped when he saw us studying our map and gave us reassurance that we were going in the right direction. Lady at Central Station saw us with our luggage and insisted that she lead us to the tram stop to make sure we were in the right place to wait for the tram.

Amsterdam was the start of our 3 week stay in Europe and our experience at Liesbeth’s apartment got us off on just the right foot! It was great and we’d love to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Bloomington, In
5

Just as we like it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
That's right--it was just as we like it, felt like a local, but safe and conveniet to the attractions we were interested in. It was so convenient we could even do pitstops during the day to regroup. We loved exploring in the evenings, and walking at night was beautiful. The apartment was as nice as the pics--and, we had the comforts of home including a hot shower. We were visiting our son, while he was doing a study abroad. It was fun to have him for a home cooked meal, and he enjoyed the wifi. Liesbeth was always available for information , but never intrusive. We were very pleased, and happy we didn't choose a flat with hundreds of steps to climb everyday. We walked nearly everywhere till the weather turned colder, and then we were glad the tram stop was so very close. You can trust Liesbeth, choose this one and you'll be glad you did!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Leesburg, Florida
5

Live like a local

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I had a great time living like a local at the apartment! We absolutely loved it! We
wished the weather was a bit better but we made the best of it. The apartment was very comfortable, the location is excellent and it is a nice quiet area. We actually found the bar ( cafe Hans en Grietje) where we drank too much jenever after we got engaged 20 years ago!! We behaved ourselves this time. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance which is nice. We had an exceptional lunch at Bouchon du Centre which was around the corner on Falckstraat. It is reservations only but well worth it. We had 4 different dishes and shared them all. The apple compote with caramel dessert was to die for. The proprietor does everything and she is so friendly. Her food is outstanding! We also had an excellent meal at Myrabelle which is at the end of the block. Nice cozy place and very good food. We found a great cheese shop around the corner and a wonderful bakery. This neighborhood has everything you need from tram stops to shopping. It is the perfect location!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Naples, Florida, USA
5

Lovely canalside apartment in central location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I spent 5 days in this comfortable apt. on Prinsengracht; little did we know at the time of booking that the location was so central and that the Prinsengracht Canal is an upscale address. We quickly and easily made ourselves at home; the Albert Hein Market was a 5 minute walk for lunch items and there is also an organic market (a la Whole Foods) next to that. Also, a coffee and bagel shop on the corner and a friendly restaurant/pub ...Myrabelle...at the end of the block. It became our "Cheers" bar where we would stop for a beer or two after we got off the tram and walked by the place on our way "home". We even ate a hearty meal there a few nights. The transportation from the airport was easier than the tourbook description. The airport terminal (plenty of ATMs to exchange money) sells tickets for the train to Centraal Station and several trams from Centraal Station stop very close to the apt. We would hop on and off the trams regularly to go to various sites until we discovered how close they were to walking distance. The VanGogh & Rembrandt Museums are walking distance. We attended a Beethoven/Mozart concert at the beautiful concerthall and celebrated my husband 68th birthday at RED, a fabulous restaurant, remarkably reasonable given the ambiance and food, and once again, it was easy walking distance. Our window table was the best seat in the place. The walk home helped us digest our meal before falling into the comfortable beds for a good night's rest. There are plenty of AMS maps, tourbooks and guides in the apt. , so you will not have to bring any with you. Having a washing machine there helped us pack light and we had clean clothes for our next stop in Belgium. While Liesbeth was available for any questions, we had total privacy. She was kind enough to make the restaurant reservations for my husband's birthday as we knew it was a popular restaurant and a week may have been short notice to get a table. Unfortunately, we did not get to use the lovely backyard patio as it drizzled daily while we were there...the beautiful garden must be in full bloom now with all that rain! We enjoyed being at this apt. and would recommend it without reservation. It is perfect for 2 people.....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Adrianne,

I want to thank you for your lovely review, I realy like it when guest take some time to write one.
Finaly the sun is shining , it took too long.

best regards,
Liesbeth
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Winter Haven, Florida
5

Location, Location, Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
All the other positive reviews about this place are absolutely correct. It is laid out in such a way as to make your stay delightful. I continue to be amazed at how clever the Dutch are at making everything so convenient in small spaces. The apartment feels much larger than it is. The best thing however, is to have the feeling you can walk out the front door and have the world at your feet. There are a multiple excellent bakeries, one of the best rated cheese stores, a grocery store, and a top billed charcuterie all within two blocks. An incredible fish stand is just a block down the canal. A true jewel of a restaurant (Bouchon du Centre) is just around the corner on Falckstraat. The major attractions (Ann Frank House, Van Gogh Museum, etc.) were very crowded so we spent a lot of time visiting “secondary” attractions which were also close by. The Bazel (city archives) was very close and incredibly interesting. The Hermitage was spectacular. The Dutch resistance museum and the Dutch Theater (Schouwburg - where Jews were staged before being transported) were equally convenient and equally interesting. We were also lucky in that my wife is Dutch and used to live in Amsterdam. The location of the apartment was about halfway between her sister’s house and where our son and daughter-in-law were staying who were also in town. Overall, a truly outstanding experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
USA
5

Charming apartment with everything you need, plus so much more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
It was my husband and I's first time visiting Amsterdam, and we couldn't have been more lucky. Liesbeth and family were incredibly accommodating (we arrived at 8am their time!) and responsive to all our quetions. This apartment couldn't have been in a better location for all the sight-seeing and walking you'd like to do in Amsterdam. It was also incredibly cozy after walking ALL DAY. Plenty of room & comfortable beds/chairs. It was equipped with everything we needed (linens, bathroom supplies, dinnerware, extra pillows and blankets). The experience of "living like a local" right on one of the most famous canals in Amsterdam is a trip of a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
USA
5

Lovely New Year Celebration in this well-located flat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We were fortunate to find this lovely flat available for us to stay at New Year's. It was clean with an efficient layout and a charming garden that we were unable to enjoy with the blustery rainy days. I imagine it would be quite nice in warmer weather.

The beds were comfortable and our son slept on the futon in the living area. The kitchen had sufficient pans, utensils and dishware. We made good use of the washing machine and drying rack provided.

There was a grocery store very close by and a cosy place to stop for coffee and a bagel on the corner. A tram stopped nearby although we used it only once; this flat is very central and we preferred to walk.

New Year's was like no other I have experienced. Young people had been setting off fireworks throughout the day - you could hear them everywhere. On a walk around the neighborhood we were advised "watch out, watch out!" as they set off what sounded like an M80. Around 11 pm we took a right out the front door and a left at the first bridge towards the city center although we perched ourselves on a bridge well outside the direct activity. There were fireworks in every direction and in the street. Everyone was having a great time but there was no ruckus as one may expect. After midnight as we were walking back to the flat we were offered olliebollen by a lady in the street. How nice! I had no idea what it was but it tasted good.

Liesbeth was easy to work with. We corresponded by e-mail and even though we arrived early she let us stash our bags in the apartment while she finished getting it ready. Payment was in cash on arrival. We paid 640 euros for four nights which included the cleaning fee. A bargain for being this central in such a nice place during a major holiday.

We hope to return one summer and enjoy the lovely garden!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
5

Lena and Petr, San Francisco, CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
As many times as we stayed in Amsterdam (from the beginning of 90s), this place is the best! Very conveniently located, closed to everything! Very clean apartment, with a nice view to the canal (about 10 meters from the front door). Also, this apartment is very quite, with the bedroom on the back. The big plus for us was to have our "own" garden with a lot of flowers, pond, BBQ table with an interesting design (unusual for us), with walking by chickens and cat from the neighbors (which are not allowed to stay closed to our apartment - Liesbeth warned us about these visitors). You may have a quite moment in the backyard after a busy day in town. We will stay at this wonderful place again! We were very independent, but if you need assistance Liesbeth was always available to answer any questions!
We hope this review will help future quests to make their choice of staying here!
Thank you very much to make our stay very pleasant, welcoming, and memorable!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
OAKLAND
5

At home in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Greeted by our hostess' daughter, who showed us into the ground floor apartment facing the Prinsengracht canal - it looked just as wonderful as on this website - with a sitting area/eating area/table to work at/ well-equipped kitchen, followed by a bathroom with shower, and a bedroom with plenty of storage for our clothing and travel gear. A beautiful garden was just beyond, but thanks to dry, crisp fall weather, we were drawn to get out and walk the canals and discover Amsterdam. Mara recommended a great Café nearby for our supper (Café Kali, Dutch) and over the course of the week we discovered Axum (Ethiopian), Il Boccalino (Italian), Tagore (Indian) and lots of others. We made regular trips to the nearby supermarket (Albert Hejn - they're everywhere) for breakfast or lunch supplies, also stopping in at the neighboring Flemish bakery, and organic food store. While trams were nearby and ran frequently, we ended up walking to everything (good if you want to try all the chocolate, beer and local food!). On our last night we had a delightful recap of our week with Liesbeth, our hostess, letting her know how user-friendly and comfortable we found the apartment, how great it was to have a washing machine and all the amenities. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sara,

Thank you so much to take the time to write a review.
I am glad you liked staying with us and hope you will return one day.

all the best,
Liesbeth ,Mara and daniel
Helpful votes: 4/4