Governor's Harbour cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Governor's Harbour Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Beach Front One Bedroom, 2 bathrooms Cottage. Stunning Views

'Pebbles' is the guest cottage on a 7 acre estate, enjoying total privacy. Wonderful views looking north up the coast of Eleuthera and out to sea. The beach is miles long and offers all sorts of different places to swim.

Amenities:: One bedroom with King size bed and a/c, two bathrooms, one with a washing machine. Pull out queen size sofa bed in Living/dining area, with VCR and CD player. A/c throughout. High speed WIFI Internet

Cleaning service twice a week or more by special request. babysitting and private cook can also be arranged.

The kitchen is fully equipped with cooker, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker and all necessary cooking utensils. A telephone for incoming and local calls.

All rooms have magnificent ocean views!

My family have been involved on Eleuthera since the late 1930's. I love this island and it's friendly people!

Patricia Leigh-Wood purchased this cottage in 1997

If you are looking for a chance to relax, away from the madding crowd...listen to the waves, walk along a virtually deserted pink sand beach, going on for miles...dine under a canopy of stars...then this is what you will find at 'Pebbles'!

Excellently well decorated and fully equipped! Right on the beach...with stunning views! Everyday is slightly different, depending on the ocean!

17 Reviews of Property 306279 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Yes, it is paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I was looking at this listing to recommend it to a friend when it occurred to me that I hadn't written a review. So here goes. Essentially, I echo the rave reviews others have given the place and scratch my head when reading the negative reviews. Yes, the beaches have some assorted debris, mostly plastic washed up with seaweed, but it is a small imperfection in an otherwise perfect beach setting with extraordinary privacy. Yes, one of the sliding doors was difficult to open but again a small matter when compared to the general high quality of the place. Its not the Ritz but it is comfortable, clean and has all the comforts. Its decorated tastefully and the views are exquisite. Frankly, we were rarely in the cottage spending most of our time on the beach and patio overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. I tried to book another trip here for the end of January 2014 but the dates were unavailable. I will definitely be back and I have recommended the place to several friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Pebbles Exactly as Described - UHH, NO, IT'S BETTER

Pebbles Exactly as Described - UHH, NO, IT'S BETTER
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I spent a week at Pebbles in Nov. 2013. We have been married for 56 years and we consider this the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. I have re-read the description for Pebbles and it describes it absolutely correctly. However, the week we spent there is actually indescribable. We will never forget it.

Pebbles was perfect for the two of us - large, comfortable furniture, great sleeping bed, The view was beautiful. We kept the living room sliding doors open so we always had a breeze and the sound of the ocean; we kept the AC going in the bedroom. The yards were lovely. The patio was partially shaded during most of the day. There wear a gazillion stars at night, incredibly bright. We didn't see anyone on "our" beach the whole week but we did see some footprints.

A couple of things you need to know - 1) the password for the Wi Fi in the cottage. 2) Your local call won't go through if you dial the area code as we have to do in our home area.

We enjoyed Banks Road Deli, Tippys, Beach House, Buchaneer which were very close to Pebbles, but not close enough to walk for us so we were glad we had a rental car.

The owner, the housekeeper and the gentlemen we rented the the car from were all very friendly, personable, and helpful. We've been home for two weeks and if I close my eyes, I can still hear the sound of the ocean and feel the ocean breeze. I heartily recommend Pebbles.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Pebbles beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I absolutely loved staying at Pebbles. We wanted a quiet, peaceful place to stay where there wouldn't be a lot of people around and we definitely found the place. Overlooking the ocean and out in the country type of place. The caretaker was very helpful and was there whenever we needed anything but was very careful to give us our privacy. I would most definitely come back again and hope to ....would love to bring our extended family and rent out the bigger house too. Thank you again for the hospitality that was shown to us while we stayed there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Medford, Massachusetts
5

Great Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our 3rd trip to Eleuthera so know the island quite well and what makes 'Pebbles' great. A big part of it's appeal is the location. The cottage is really right on the beach; you have near 180 degree views from the deck and living rooms, filtered only by swaying palm trees. The beach is beautiful; 'Culmers' rocks provide visual interest and also some nice snorkeling in the pool and around the rocks. When the wind is from the south they also create a nice lee which is sheltered for younger kids. If bigger waves are your thing then you can go north up the beach a bit. There are no other houses north all the way to the point, and only a couple of houses to the south. We only ran into people staying at the main house once. Both sunrises and sunsets are beautiful from here.

'Pebbles' is only 10 minutes from Governors Harbor and it's shops and restaurants, you are about 5 minutes from North Palmetto point and very close to Tippys (walk down the beach!), Banks Road Deli, Leon Levy preserve and Club Med beach. It's also located on a well paved road (you can't take this for granted on Eleuthera!). The neighborhood is Eleuthera's 'gold coast' with many fine homes but a low key atmosphere.

The cottage is spacious and very well equipped for a beach vacation. The owners thought of all the apparently small things; for example coolers to take down to the beach with you; portable beach chairs we were able to take with us on day trips as well as very nice loungers for the deck. The blender is a really nice touch ... blend your own pina coladas with rum, coconut cream (from the store at the shell station) and Eleuthera pineapples!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Medford, Massachusetts
5

Does not get much better

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our 3rd trip to Eleuthera so know the island quite well and what makes 'Pebbles' great. A big part of it's appeal is the location. The cottage is really right on the beach; you have near 180 degree views from the deck and living rooms, filtered only by swaying palm trees. The beach is beautiful; 'Culmers' rocks provide visual interest and also some nice snorkeling in the pool and around the rocks. When the wind is from the south they also create a nice lee which is sheltered for younger kids. If bigger waves are your thing then you can go north up the beach a bit. There are no other houses north all the way to the point, and only a couple of houses to the south. We only ran into people staying at the main house once. Both sunrises and sunsets are beautiful from here.

'Pebbles' is only 10 minutes from Governors Harbor and it's shops and restaurants, you are about 5 minutes from North Palmetto point and very close to Tippys (walk down the beach!), Banks Road Deli, Leon Levy preserve and Club Med beach. It's also located on a well paved road (you can't take this for granted on Eleuthera!). The neighborhood is Eleuthera's 'gold coast' with many fine homes but a low key atmosphere.

The cottage is spacious and very well equipped for a beach vacation. The owners thought of all the apparently small things; for example coolers to take down to the beach with you; portable beach chairs we were able to take with us on day trips as well as very nice loungers for the deck. The blender is a really nice touch ... blend your own pina coladas with rum, coconut cream (from the store at the shell station) and Eleuthera pineapples!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Nassau
5

RE:

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I came across the review titled "Where to begin..." from Lincoln Nebraska and felt it directly referred to my previous review (see "Honeymoon getaway") and actually insinuated that I am a liar. I maintain everything that I said in my review after our stay in April for our honeymoon. If memory serves me there is a sort of garage / storage near the beach with kayaks etc that is actually located near "Pebbles" but the main house itself is not that close and apart from seeing lights on and movement in the main house on our way home each evening, we never saw the occupants!
In regard to the sliding glass door - the screen of it was not operating the way it would have when first installed but it was still operational and we had it open every day...though when it was closed at night we could indeed still "hear the waves crashing"... until we turned on the air condition that worked perfectly and certainly did not give off an odour.
We found "Pebbles" exactly as it was shown to be in the pictures on this web site and loved every minute of our stay.
Perhaps the writer of the "where to begin.." review should book themselves into a huge resort that each morning scrapes sand up out of the water and on to the beach to maintain their 'natural' beach and then rakes it clean of all seaweed and any other debris that may wash up. Clearly a secluded, NATURALLY stunning beach is not in their taste.
It seems unbelievable to me that 'Nebraska' stayed in this house a month after me and during the SAME month as another raving 5 out of 5 review (see "Pebbles is the charm!") and supposedly found it so horrible.
I would recommend Pebbles to anyone looking for relaxation or a fun, family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Luckily it is rare that we get a bad review, and more often we are greatly gladdened by the warmth of our renters enthusiasm. So many return, if not each year, then every few years!
Eleuthera is an unspoiled island, which also means un-manicured...the beach is public, and at the whim of the ocean. Unfortunately humans throw rubbish out of the cruise ships...I know it's not allowed, but hey, who's watching? This arrives on our shores after a storm. I keep the beach in front of my house as clean as possible. If you want miles of beach with nobody else around, then the beaches of Eleuthera are for you. This honeymoon couple understands the island, with all its natural beauty and easy relaxed style! We want our renters to be happy!
Guest alike this are always welcome back again and again!
Patricia Leigh-Wood )owner)
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Nassau City, New Providence, Bahamas
5

Yearning to go back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent a weekend in Pebbles recently and the moment our feet touched that beautiful beach we could feel the stress of our busy lives melt away.
A quick and easy trip from Nassau on the impeccable Bohingy, we were met by a friendly local Taxi and drove through the picturesque settlement of Governor's Harbour, after having sampled some delicious conch at the "Fish Fry" washed down by a Kalik or two (local beer).
Pebbles is literally a stone's throw from one of the most glorious beaches in the Bahamas...pink sand, long lazy walks, and deep water.
We only saw a total of four other people on the beach during our entire weekend...and a dog.
A nice but not too long a walk takes you to a fabulous restaurant called Tippy's,,,we highly recommend...
There little reefs dotted along the beach make for hours of free entertainment watching the fish and corals would just feet from the beach!
The actual cottage is unassuming but has every mod-con we could have asked for, plus a very comfortable bed...The main house is off to the right and somehow out of vision. Plus a tv set if you care to allow the outside world into your retreat!
This cottage is a little dream house tucked away in Paradise and we can't wait to free up our busy schedule and get back there soonest!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So enjoy guest who enjoy Eleuthera and it's beauty!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Lincoln, Nebraska
1

Where to begin...

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Booked 6 nights, stayed 18 hours. Absolutely horrid: dirty, unmaintained, sliding doors all broken and oxidized shut. Water reeked of sulfur (which smells strongly of rotten eggs if you’ve not enjoyed it personally), window A/C emitted odor so strongly I nearly threw up trying to shut if off. We found blood stains on the bedding, broken "provided snorkel equipment" that should have been thrown away years ago. There were more things plugged into a single outlet than I’ve ever seen near the bedroom door - complete with extension cord strung across the doorway. Combine that with having all the windows and doors inoperable turns "Pebbles" into a death trap if there were to be a fire. I called the owner, explained our concerns and was offered a "full refund" straight away. We departed and stayed elsewhere for the remainder of our trip. 2 MONTHS later, after countless reminders and emails, received her "full" refund less $300 which including our damage deposit and “administration fees”. Ironically enough, two reviews - one from a Bahamian IP address coincidentally - contradict our EXACT complaints. The “main house not affecting the privacy of the cottage” - that couldn't be a bigger lie. The first, and only night we slept in that disaster of a house we awoke to a women digging in the garage of the main house, a garage that stands within 30 feet of the cottage bedroom's window. The “secluded” beach... nice in pic’s, yes - but chalk full of trash, broken glass, bottles and more biting sand flies than you could believe. The reviewer that posted about the "sound of the waves with the doors open or closed"; I was told by the maid when we arrived that those doors have "been busted since the last hurricane here years ago", so it’s a bit odd that a reviewer would mention specifically that those doors work. I have a strong suspicion that (the owner) has a hand in these positive reviews - which is completely possible with the way this site review is structured. It is the only explanation for ANY positive remark concerning this cottage. Lastly: do not under any circumstances allow this owner to suggest a local car rental for you. I've driven some run-down automobiles in my day, in some very under developed parts of the world, and I can say with 100% certainty that the Taliban, even in remote Afghanistan, drive safer more reliable cars than we were provided my this owner. It was expensive, even by Eleuthera's standards, and outright dangerous.
Owner's Response: It is always a shocking thing for a home owner to get a review like this, especially when we make every effort to keep up with maintenance and are constantly making changes large and small, to make our guest comfortable.This is quite challenging on an island with few shops and no Home Depot down the road! Many guests return often, and new ones are thrilled with what they find. But when these renters started to complain about the beach, which is considered one of the best in the Bahamas, and praised by our renters, I knew there was nothing we could do to make these guests happy! They have written a very unfair review, which is clear by reading the other enthusiastic reviews we have received. One or two were written by people who stayed just before and just after these guests! You cannot please all the people all the time, although we do try!
Patricia Leigh-Wood
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Roanoke Island, NC
5

Pebbles is the Charm!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife and I recently returned from our week's vacation on Eleuthra. It was a great trip and we felt so fortunate to have spent our time at Pebbles Cottage. The location is perfect and what a beach!! The house was really comfortable and had all that we needed. It was nice to meet Audrey and Joseph, as they were helpful and friendly like most of the locals. We enjoyed dining out at Tippy's, The Beach House, Sunset View, Coco di Mama, and The Bucaneers. We have already talked of our return to Eleuthra since our third visit was the charm! For our fourth visit, we'd definitely like to make Pebbles our first choice! Thank you, Patricia for sharing your wonderful cottage. The Cleavers from Manteo, NC
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully relaxing Beach Front Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306279
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Nassau
5

Honeymoon Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed at Pebbles in April 2011 for our honeymoon. We found the house perfect for what we needed...relaxation! Whether the sliding glass doors were open or closed we could hear the waves crashing in the surf. We did not have a car the first day so we walked the short distance to the cafe down the road for lunch and to Tippy's for dinner. Once we did get a car we found this was a perfect hub for heading to some of the numerous beaches nearby. Although there were people renting the main house we never saw anyone on the property or beach. Lots of privacy and peace. I would highly recommend this house for anyone seeking relaxation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pebbles is indeed a relaxing, romantic place! Because there is no light pollution, billions of stars are visible...shooting stars race across the sky! As this renters says, you are not aware of the Main House or anyone in there. The houses face away from each other, giving both privacy!
Come and enjoy!
Patricia Leigh-Wood
Helpful votes: 3/3