Governor's Harbour villa rental - Culmer's Rocks and the Venus Pool
Culmer's Rocks and the Venus Pool
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Governor's Harbour Villa Rental Photos and Description
Secluded Atlantic Beachfront Villa 4BR/4BA & One Bedroom Guest Cottage

Located a couple of miles south of Governor's Harbour on the Atlantic coast of Eleuthera, looking out onto one of the most beautiful beaches in the Bahamas.

Relax in the warm waters of the Venus Pool, visible only at low tide. Walk for miles on the cool pink sand. Build fires from driftwood and cook under the stars. The houses are at the end of a long private driveway. 'Pebbles, the guest cottage, has it's own parking area, out of sight of the Main House. The houses enjoy complete independence, and do not over look each other in any way.

Decorated in true Caribbean colours, nearly all the rooms look out to sea.

Nearby are some of the best restaurants on the island. Cocodimama is great for sundowners and Mate and Jenny's has real island atmosphere. Cigatoo has a swimming pool and a tennis court. Just down the beach is the famous Tippy's!

Organic vegetables available locally at The Island Farm south of Palmetto Point on the Queen's Highway

Although it is advisable to rent a car, it is not essential as there is a reliable taxi service, which can be booked in advance. Exploring the island is part of the Eleuthera adventure or a day trip to Harbour Island.

Amenities: The Main House has four bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. One kingsize bed, 2 queens and 2 single beds. The T.V.room has 2 daybeds and shares a bathroom.

'Pebbles' has one kingsize bed, 2 full bathrooms and a sofa bed in the living/dining room. Both houses have fully equipped kitchen with microwaves, blenders, coffee machines, and dishwashers. Linens and towels are included. Washing machine. Telephone for local and incoming calls

DSL high speed wireless Internet, Direct TV with many channels. IPod dock CD players, along with a good library of books, Backgammon and other games also in the house.

Laundry lines hung discreetly behind some pandana bushes!

A wonderful house for family fun or groups of friends who want to enjoy each others company yet retain their own space and privacy.

Activities: Walking for miles on the beach. Swimming, snorkeling and fishing. There is a pool and tennis courts at Cigatoo Resorts just down the road. Bicycles are available for teen-agers and adults. There are several excellent restaurants within a 20 minute radius by car. The nearest is Tippy's, which is less than a mile down the beach, and a little further along is The Beach House. Both have live music on certain nights. Enjoy the casual atmosphere of the island!

The town of Governor's Harbour, 2 miles from On the Rocks, has all necessary shops, banks, travel agent, grocery stores, gift shops and restaurants. It is picturesque and unspoiled. There are no large hotels or casinos on Eleuthera. It is a beautifully quiet and peaceful island. There are many beaches to explore!

Harbour Island is an hour to the north and makes a great day trip. Lunch at the famous Pink Sands resort, scuba diving at Valentine's Dive Centre and renting a golf cart to ride around the island and enjoy the beautiful architecture of the old Bahamian houses dating back to the 18th century.

There is a dive centre down south, on Cape Eleuthera, as well s many beaches to explore!

More Details
Hide Details

Can you get any closer to the beach?

Stunning views out to sea and up the coast...not a dull moment with all that ocean to watch!

16 Reviews of Property 305962 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

On the Rocks rocks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Once you've stayed at On the Rocks, why would you ever go anywhere else? It was perfect in every way. The house is the closest one to the beach except for Tippy's, and unbelievably private. The views are incredible, the sound of the surf rocks you to sleep at night, the house is spacious and comfortable, and a group of people don't feel crowded. The beach is our idea of Paradise, too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Burlington, WI USA
5

Best Rental on Eleuthera

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our week at On the Rocks was heavenly! And oh, how we hated to leave! Our philosophy has always been that there are too many beautiful places in the world to visit the same one twice...but that changed in April of 2013! We'll be back to Eleuthera and On the Rocks...this time with the entire family, we hope! We drove the entire length of Banks Road searching for other, possibly better rental properties. There simply isn't a better one than On the Rocks! The house, the view, the beach, the Venus pool are all as described; maybe better. The house itself may be a bit dated, and we did have some trouble with the sliding screens. But we couldn't have chosen a better place! Simply wonderful! Now I hope not everyone beats us to the punch for the next time we want to rent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
4

Fabulous Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a PERFECT location - On the Rocks is right a the head of the beach which provides a secluded, sheltered beach location with its own natural ocean pool!
Absolutely stunning! It was terrific to wake up and take long walks on the pink sand beach. The home is spacious and with 4 couples we all had lots of space and privacy.
We plan to go back next year for our 3rd year in a row!
Ken & Sheila
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

On the Rocks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Have stayed with my family a couple of times at "On the Rocks" and can only say that this is the perfect getaway spot for a low-key yet comfortable out-island vacation, set on an incredibly beautiful stretch of coast with the rocks separating two beaches of amazing pinky-white sand. Idyllic!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Heaven on earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
On the Rocks is one of those places where postcards, paintings and photo book covers (all of which have tried to capture its beauty) cannot do the place justice! The moment I began the drive toward the two on-site houses, I felt such serenity that I wondered if there were some magical drug in the air. Quiet, natural, relaxed, clean – it’s a haven within the haven of Eleuthera. And the beach! The only dilemma that nagged at me was do I swim in that luscious water or take a stroll along the curvaceous and oh-so-private beach first? Of course I did both several times every day! Comfortable, convenient and unpretentious, On the Rocks made me feel like I was on the clouds during my stay, and the only horror was having to leave.

Robyn T., Mamaroneck, NY
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Fordingbridge
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
Beautiful, private and tranquil. The crashing of the waves ‘On the rocks’ is soothing and swimming is easy. We loved the untrammelled view of beach and ocean and the mile walk down to snaffle a mojito. The house is pretty glorious, elegant, with lots of elbow room and an easy run into town for supplies.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Fordingbridge
4

Gettaway heaven

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Beautiful, private and tranquil. The crashing of the waves ‘On the rocks’ is soothing and swimming is easy. We loved the untrammelled view of beach and ocean and the mile walk down to snaffle a mojito. The house is pretty glorious, elegant, with lots of elbow room and an easy run into town for supplies.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Awesome house on pink sand beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My first trip to the Bahamas turned out to be an incredible experience. I couldn't believe the property we found to stay. It far exceeded my expectations for location, view, beach access, activities, and convenience. “On the Rocks” has two homes, we stayed in the main house, and although the adjacent cottage was rented for a couple of the same days, we never saw or heard our neighbors from the house.
If you are looking to spend time on a sandy pink beach swimming and snorkeling, or relaxing on deck chairs on the lawn reading and enjoying the view, then this is the place for you. The location is private, but not isolated, with ready access to the town of Governor’s Harbour, local farmers market, deli and bakery nearby. We chose fresh fish in the afternoons as the fisherman brought them to town to sell and made dinner at the house. Alternatively, you can walk barefoot up the beach to dine at Tippy's restaurant, no need to use the road. And several evenings, we traveled to the western side of the island to experience the sunset while sipping drinks from the deck of one of the eating establishments.

The central living/dining space was spacious and airy, with sliding glass doors the entire length of one side giving way to the patio, lawn, and beach beyond. The house’s layout provides privacy for each bedroom (each with its own bathroom). This property worked exquisitely for a group of friends sharing a holiday; a wonderful balance of snorkeling & swimming, beachcombing (the beach is full of shells), tranquil reading and relaxing, socializing, and sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Great house with pink sand beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My first trip to the Bahamas turned out to be an incredible experience. I couldn't believe the property we found to stay. It far exceeded my expectations for location, view, beach access, activities, and convenience. “On the Rocks” has two homes, we stayed in the main house, and although the adjacent cottage was rented for a couple of the same days, we never saw or heard our neighbors from the house.
If you are looking to spend time on a sandy pink beach swimming and snorkeling, or relaxing on deck chairs on the lawn reading and enjoying the view, then this is the place for you. The location is private, but not isolated, with ready access to the town of Governor’s Harbour, local farmers market, deli and bakery nearby. We chose fresh fish in the afternoons as the fisherman brought them to town to sell and made dinner at the house. Alternatively, you can walk barefoot up the beach to dine at Tippy's restaurant, no need to use the road. And several evenings, we traveled to the western side of the island to experience the sunset while sipping drinks from the deck of one of the eating establishments.

The central living/dining space was spacious and airy, with sliding glass doors the entire length of one side giving way to the patio, lawn, and beach beyond. The house’s layout provides privacy for each bedroom (each with its own bathroom). This property worked exquisitely for a group of friends sharing a holiday; a wonderful balance of snorkeling & swimming, beachcombing (the beach is full of shells), tranquil reading and relaxing, socializing, and sightseeing.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Secluded Pink Sand Beachfront Estate W/ Main House and Guest Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305962
(857) 363 2102
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
4

On the Rocks

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is a place for those that love to be on the beach, enjoying the sun and exploring an incredible out island. On the Rocks beach is possibly the most beautiful beach on Eleuthera, maybe even the Bahamas. We had a great time there snorkling, fishing and cooking!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1