Camden cottage rental - River's Edge Cottage on the Megunticook River
River's Edge Cottage on the Megunticook River
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Camden Cottage Rental Photos and Description
River's Edge Cottage - Relaxing Artist's Retreat - 2 BR 1 BA - Swimming Dock

River's Edge is a stylish, up to date Maine cabin with a floating dock for swimming, sunning & fishing. The river is crystal clear & clean. The neighborhood is quiet, woodsy & full of nature. Half the property is woods with 500' of river front. There's a feeling of seclusion, yet other houses are nearby. You'll find great views of the water & mountains & enjoy elegant & functional antiques in fine condition.

River's Edge was built in 1970 & is comfortable & relaxing. White-washed antique barn board brightens the central living area. High ceilings throughout make the cottage light & airy. It's owned by an artist & maintained by her energetic handy man. At times, River's Edge is owner occupied & is then given the careful attention & feeling of 'home' you'll find & enjoy.

Amenities include bed linens, plenty of fluffy towels, telephone, toaster, microwave oven, coffee maker, lobster pot, dishes/utensils, outdoor gas BBQ grill, cable TV, DVD player, high speed WiFi Internet access for your computer.

A Comfortable, Peaceful Setting: River's Edge is a retreat for the artist, writer & poet in you--a cozy vacation home on the Megunticook River with views of lovely Mount Battie. To your left, up river, is a dam that forms Lake Megunticook. About two miles down river is another dam, the Seabright, which creates this most peaceful section of river for your enjoyment. You will find it perfect for swimming, floating, kayaking, canoeing, fishing or sunning on its banks. It is a rare quiet spot without the motor boats, water skiing or jet skis you may like to enjoy on the Lake, which are accessible just around the corner.

River's Edge has a floating dock, shared with a friendly neighbor, on the beautiful river & nearly 500' of shoreline. Half the property is woodsy.

Ceiling & floor fans, monitor & electric heaters. Weekly maid service is provided. You may request more frequent maid service for an extra charge. Grocery provisioning in advance or mid-week. Babysitting available. Well behaved PETS are welcome.

An Artist's Well-loved Cabin: River's Edge was built in 1970 as a family summer place, situated on land that was once a pasture serving the farm house which still stands across the street. Sheep grazed here, an apple orchard bloomed & a small barn stood near the road. When the cottage was built, the old barn's original wide pine siding was used inside the living room. The cottage is comfortable & relaxing. Now white-washed, the antique barn board brightens the central living area. High ceilings throughout make it light & airy. River’s Edge is owned by an artist & maintained by her energetic handy man. The home is well equipped for the comfort of up to 4 adults. You will find 2 bedrooms, one with a queen-size bed, another with a twin set. The bathroom has a tub, shower, plenty of hot water & fluffy towels. The kitchen is roomy & all set with everything you need for cooking up a storm, including a large, vintage, restored refrigerator, new gas range & oven & new microwave. There is a large gas grill just outside.

Summer in Camden, Maine: There is a large color TV with cable & DVD player. Several shops in Camden rent current & classic films on DVD. The sectional sofa was added in 2006 and is all ready & comfortable for afternoon napping. Or, you could nod off on a lounge chair down on the floating dock.

River's Edge is a place to be close to nature.

The wildflowers have a timing and cycle all their own. Lupine are followed by Day Lilies, Queen Anne's Lace, then Daisies in many varieties, Black eyed Susans, Goldenrod, and many more which you can have fun identifying. There are wildflower reference books at the house; enjoy & use them on your walks. The wildflowers attract droves of butterflies & hummingbirds. You'll see Swallowtail & Monarch, as well as others more exotic & rare.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 305872 in Camden, Maine

Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Delaware
5

Rivers Edge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We hated to leave this charming cottage on Saturday. The location is perfect. The view is spectacular! We really had to force ourselves to do other things because sitting on the dock fishing or swimming was all that we really needed for a relaxing vacation. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Our dog loved exploring and the back yard was big enough for him to sniff safely. All in all a magical spot for a get-a-way!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
4

Charming river front cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
River's Edge is a charming, well appointed, small cottage which is located on a beautiful section of the Megunticook River. The lawn and foliage is very well tended and adds to the attractiveness of the property. A well stocked kitchen, containing everything one could want for cooking, and all the necessary supplies in the bathroom, as well as access to the internet and several games available for guests, enhanced the visit. Convenience to Camden, with its many restaurants, shops, and magnificent harbor is certainly a plus. Our dog was supplied with a dog bed, toys and a towel and he thoroughly enjoyed his stay, as did we! A book detailing housekeeping items, checking out, local restaurants, and places to see was also helpful. The owner was efficient and responsive from the time we contacted her about booking the property until we checked out. We would certainly recommend this cottage to others and would certainly rent it in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Oak Ridge, TN
5

River's Edge October 2010

River's Edge October 2010
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We found River's Edge to be very comfortable, well maintained and located in a very peacefull setting. It's location is ideally suited for exploring, not only Camden, Rockport and nearby communities, but also within easy driving distance of Bar Harbor, Acadia, Freeport and numerous other charming Maine towns. We enjoyed the views and hiking at Camden Hills State Park and all of the wonderfull resteraunts in the area. Be sure and stop by Red's Eats in Wiscasset, preferrably in mid-afternoon, when the line's not halfway around the block. Also enjoyed the lobsters and chowder from Graffam Bros. in Rockport and the philo and brie at Jordan Pond house in Acadia. The owner was very charming and helpful and we definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to explore Maine's mid-costal region.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Philadelphia Area
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
River's Edge is a charming cottage, well-maintained and very clean, with beautiful views of the river and mountains. It is peaceful and relaxing, located near popular locations (Camden), and lovely small towns (Hope, Union, Lincolnville), all easily accessible. We enjoyed cooking in, as much as eating out, and often opted to just spend the day relaxing on the deck, reading, and watching the loons, deer, eagle, and chipmunk.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Annapolis Md
5

River's Edge Review

River's Edge Review
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Wonderful location & cozy, well mantained house. Everything was in great shape. The photos were accurate & owner very personable. We loved Camden, Rockland & Rockport. Our only recommedation would be for access to beach chairs, since we flew, & providing red wine glasses in addition to the white wine glasses provided. We will definetly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
San Jose, California
5

Relaxing Cottage on BEAUTIFUL River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The photos don't do this place justice. The cottage was larger than we expected and very comfortable. The location was quiet and very private. We were permitted to bring our dogs and this eliminated the anxiousness to get home to be with our pets. Camden is BEAUTIFUL as are the surrounding towns. We drove to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, Orono, Old Town and Belfast - all within a few hours or less drive. If we return to Camden we absolutely would rent this place again. The owner is a delight and greeted us as well as our dogs with top notch service.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
3

Beautiful view! Comfy beds! But a bit of a noisy street.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Nice cabin that has a comfortable couch and beds. Close to town, but away from all the commercialism. River was nice and hearing the loons was so calming. No ceiling fans in bedrooms and it was unfortunately, quite warm while we were there. However, the river was good for cooling off during the day if other things not planned.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
San Jose
5

Excellent Maine Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Wonderful location. Nice clean house with everything we needed to feel at home. River was amazing for canoeing and swimming. If you are looking for quiet, quaint, and relaxing this house is where you want to be. Eternally grateful for the owning permitting me to have my dogs here. Made our trip much more enjoyable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Houston, TX
5

Rejuvinate yourself

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Well appointed and comfortable cottage with a great location overlooking the Megunticook river (more like a mill pond really with a small dam downstream). We appreciated the well equipped kitchen for preparing our "al fresco" meals on the deck overlooking the water. The location is convenient to town by car but well away from the summer tourist throngs.
If you like wildlife viewing a canoe or kayak is a recommended supplement to get the full appreciation of the spot; songbirds, loons, ducks, muskrat, beaver, etc - I'm sure it varies with the season. We enjoyed a great view of the nesting loons teaching their new hatchling to swim and dive!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront on the Megunticook River, Camden, Maine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305872
207 230-9033
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Raleigh, NC
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
You don't have to be right next to the ocean in Camden to enjoy a nice getaway. Nestled among the woods and bordering a beautiful lake, the River's Edge property was just what we were looking for -- quiet, comfortable, close to town and very pet-friendly. The owner (Constance) couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The modem for the Wi-Fi went out the first day and she immediately drove into the next town to get a replacement. All in all -- a very pleasant experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 6/6