Gladwin house rental - Retreat in the Woods.
Retreat in the Woods.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Gladwin House Rental Photos and Description
2 BR 1 Bath on 5 Wooded Acres, near Sugar Springs (Sleeps up to 6 Adults)

Cute home on 5.5 wooded acres with a pond. Enjoy this secluded property surrounded by woods and nature. Relax in the 4 person hot tub filled with 81 soothing jets! Ahhhhhhhhhhh!

This home has a large fireplace, living room, family room, laundry facilities, kitchen with wrap around cupboards and breakfast bar. There is also a paddle boat at the pond for your leisure. Home is located within 2.5 miles of Sugar Springs Resort, 2 golf courses and Lake Lancer access. Also within 5 miles from Secord Lake (2000 acre all sports lake) and very close to 1000's of acres of state land and snowmobile trails. Lots of wildlife in the area!

Email us for a link to our web site with more photos and a virtual tour of the cottage.

(Check in 5 pm - Check Out 1 pm)

Amenities: Fully furnished. Satellite TV, VCR, DVD, Stove, refrigerator, washer, dryer, coffee maker, fireplace, pond, paddle boat, swim raft, full bath, dishes, linens & more.

Activities: 2 Golf courses within 3 miles. Several lakes nearby for boating swimming, etc. Fire pit & charcoal grill next to pond. And MORE!

Also just 20 minutes away from the West Branch Outlet Mall! If you are looking for all sports lakes, there are several lake just minutes away. The Secord Lake boat launch is just 8 minutes away from the house. There are also several other lakes in the area for you to enjoy.

Area: Within 15 minutes from Gladwin, 20 minutes from West Branch, 20 minutes from Pruddenville, 25 minutes from Houghton Lake. 2.5 miles from Sugar Springs.

More Details
Hide Details

We have been renting the Retreat in the Woods to guests since August of 2001. We are happy to have people visit the Retreat to make memories that last a lifetime.

Jim and I are originally from Pinckney MI and moved up north in 1992. We fell in love with the area and decided to set roots here in Gladwin County. Jim and I are both Real Estate Brokers and just also is a paramedic for Gladwin County.

Jim and Ivie Baker purchased this house in 2001

We came across this property in 2000. We fell in love with the secluded setting nestled in the woods with a clean artisan fed pond full of large fish. Our kids and dog love to play and swim in the pond.

The Retreat offers a quiet, private setting surrounded be woods. Watch deer, turkey and other wildlife from the back yard. Great location for those looking for a private setting surrounded by nature.

31 Reviews of Property 305333 in Gladwin, Michigan

Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
average rating of 4.903226 based on 31 reviews
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
3

Relaxing outdoor escape, house needs serious work

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I rented 5 years ago with my kids, and we had a very nice time. Came back to visit friends this summer. Just as before, the outdoor space is wonderful. I love the pond, hot tub, fishing and grounds. In both cases, I spent 90%of my waking time outdoors. I would stay again because I love the grounds that much. However, the condition of the house is not that of the outdoors. If you are an indoors type of person, you will not be happy.
The sliding glass door does not open and did not open 5 years ago. The walls in the home have large gaps at the floor and ceiling because they weren't finished with mouldings. There's a hole in the kitchen floor where my shoe got stuck- had it been my bare foot, it would have been a trip to the ER. There is a hole in the bathroom where the other half of the towel bar used to be. There are exposed pipes in the bathroom next to the toilet. All-in-all, it looks as though Jim has allowed the place to deteriorate while the rental fee has not gone down.
I really do love the place because I like the outdoors, but my husband will not join us (he's a stay indoor and rest while not working type of a guy), and I doubt I would bring friends who have never visited in fear they would be disappointed. Time to take some pride in your rental property - after all, you are in the hospitality industry.
Owner's Response: I am sorry you had a bad experience. The house is just as it was 5 years ago, other than we need to replace the towel rack that a guest pulled off in the bathroom wall. Unfortunately, we had some young people in there whole pulled that off early this summer. The sliding glass door does open, but we have the blanket box in front of it because guests bring in dirt onto the carpet from the sliding glass door. There is another back door for people to go in an out of. I an not sure what you are referring about the kitchen floor. There are no holes or gaps. It is wood laminate flooring and it is in good shape. The bathroom has always had the pipes along the interior walk, like they now. It is a cabin. Again... sorry you were disappointment, but the house has not changed other than the towel rack that will be replaced once our guests are gone for the season, because it requires glue and tile grout to dry and that we moved the blanket box in front of the door to prevent people from bringing in the dirt.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
4

Retreat in the Woods

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Retreat in the Woods. The property is spacious and private. We have an 18 month old son who the pond was perfect for, with the shallow sandy beach area to play in. The fish were amazing and come right up to you. We did see deer cross the property one evening and enjoyed the birds. The owners were very attentive and personally come by to show you a tour of the house upon arrival. We visited the city of Gladwin to walk by the river and to feed the deer at Whitetail Live. We also got ice cream at the nearby Two Scoops and it was delicious. The outlet mall at West Branch was also a good short trip for a rainy morning. Only negative parts of the trip were the bugs, which are to be expected in a wooded setting and no cell phone service (which we didn't completely mind once we adjusted...) All and all the trip was memorable for our family and we enjoyed our stay!
Owner's Response: It is a great pond for kids. We're glad you saw some deer. Sometimes they come up to the pond. Next year, the bugs will probably be better. The county sprays for mosquitoes in the Spring, but with all of the rain we had early in the season, we sort of lost that battle. They are thinning way out now... like they usually do in late summer. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Wayne, MI
5

AWESOME home, property & place to vacation!!

AWESOME home, property & place to vacation!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We LOVED our time at the Retreat in the Woods!
The house was as beautiful as the pictures on their website and had everything we could possibly need. They even included a basket of towels to dry our 2 dogs off with who LOVED swimming in the pond & romping through their woods!!
We had a GREAT time canoeing, fishing, riding the paddle boat, making & sitting by the campfire.
Ivy was super responsive to any needs we had during our stay!!
We are already planning a return back there in September and would HIGHLY recommend Retreat in the Woods for a vacation!!!
Owner's Response: We look forward to seeing you and your family again. Also, the weather will be a bit milder too. See you in a couple months!
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
5

Great, Quiet Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Stayed the weekend at the Retreat in the Woods and had a wonderful time. The location is secluded and very quiet day and night. We were able to play golf just down the street at Sugar Springs and it was about a 20 minute drive into town for dinner at the Riverwalk Place, which is a very nice restaurant in downtown Gladwin on the river. My son and the dogs LOVED the pond during the day and the fires were great at night. The hot tub is AMAZING; very clean and definitely relaxing. Ivie was great with communication and very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend to anyone looking for seclusion and relaxation, and the ability to bring our dogs was a big plus. The house was clean and everything was perfect. Thanks Ivie!
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is such a peaceful setting. We even use it on occasion. Please feel free to contact us again in the future to stay again.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Greenville, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

Hi, Ivie, Jim and enjoyed our stay very much. Even though we live in the woods on a private lake, you just can't relax as easily at home. We also don'...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Hi, Ivie, Jim and enjoyed our stay very much. Even though we live in the woods on a private lake, you just can't relax as easily at home. We also don't have a hot tub or fireplace; we enjoyed both so much. We made use of the fire pit and cooked steaks over the open flame. We saw some deer, many of our favorite birds including your pileated woodpecker and heard the coyotes howling in the distance. We were very comfortable in the house and found most everything we needed. We only had to make an emergency run for coffee filters since we are both caffeine addicts. I hope we get the chance to come back next fall for a weekend and will try to come a week or so earlier when colors are close to peak. Thanks again for the use of your retreat, it was very peaceful and rejuvenating. Sandy and Jim Gardner
Owner's Response: Hi Sandy. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It should have been peak color during your stay. However, it peaked a few days early this year. It got cold earlier this year. Sorry about the coffee filters. I'll put that on my list. We'd be happy to have you back again. The house looked great! Thank you.
Ivie & Jim Baker
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Greenville, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

Hi, Ivie, Jim and enjoyed our stay very much. Even though we live in the woods on a private lake, you just can't relax as easily at home. We also don'...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Hi, Ivie, Jim and enjoyed our stay very much. Even though we live in the woods on a private lake, you just can't relax as easily at home. We also don't have a hot tub or fireplace; we enjoyed both so much. We made use of the fire pit and cooked steaks over the open flame. We saw some deer, many of our favorite birds including your pileated woodpecker and heard the coyotes howling in the distance. We were very comfortable in the house and found most everything we needed. We only had to make an emergency run for coffee filters since we are both caffeine addicts. I hope we get the chance to come back next fall for a weekend and will try to come a week or so earlier when colors are close to peak. Thanks again for the use of your retreat, it was very peaceful and rejuvenating. Sandy and Jim Gardner
Owner's Response: Hi Sandy. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It should have been peak color during your stay. However, it peaked a few days early this year. It got cold earlier this year. Sorry about the coffee filters. I'll put that on my list. We'd be happy to have you back again. The house looked great! Thank you.
Ivie & Jim Baker
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
sterling heights, MI
5

relax and enjoy a stress free vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Retreat in the woods it was, fishing everyday,caught some big bass and sun fish, paddle boating, just relaxing in the yard or hot tub. It was so peaceful, The weather was nice so we mostly spent all day out side, had a fire at night,with a billion stars above.Then went into the hot tub with the fancy lights inside the tub and the jets taking all your cares away.Our small dog had fun too running around the yard,you could tell he was on vacation too.The property was well maintained, very clean inside and out.The price was just right.It was very easy to find. We came for a relaxing weekend, and got just that. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to lay back, fish, and for sure Relax.All you have to do is bring your food,and clothes.The rest is there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had such a great time. It is a peaceful place. Please feel free to call again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Mason, Michigan
5

Guestbook Comment

Jim & Ivie - I realized recently that we were the first ones to sign your guestbook back in March of 2003. Can you believe its been FIVE YEARS since ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Jim & Ivie - I realized recently that we were the first ones to sign your guestbook back in March of 2003. Can you believe its been FIVE YEARS since we started coming to your retreat? How fast the time has flown. Its great to be one of your "regulars" even tho we've never managed to stay an entire week. But those long weekends we've enjoyed have renewed us on many levels. I can't count how many times we've stayed here, or the Chalet when you had that available. Your entire family has welcomed us, pampered us, played with us, watched us recoup from surgeries, and shared many happy times. Thank you for everything, keep up the wonderful work, don't let the "bugs" get to you and remember all the good you've done for so many. Thanks again!
Owner's Response: Hi Jose and Lisa! You know that you are always welcome! We really enjoyed meeting with you again over this past weekend. You lucked out and the weather ended up being good, No rain! Thanks for taking such EXCELLENT care of the house (as usual). (((smile))) I'm sure we will be seeing you both again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Adrian, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

Spent the week at Retreat in the Woods. It was my family's second visit and we had a great time. The addition of the hot tub is awesome and it is no...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
Spent the week at Retreat in the Woods. It was my family's second visit and we had a great time. The addition of the hot tub is awesome and it is not just a hot tub, but a state of the art hot tub--very nice! Everything was first rate all the way.
Owner's Response: We were happy to have you back! Glad you enjoyed the hot tub. Feel free to call us again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Dayton,Oh
5

Guestbook Comment

We were looking for a great plcae to relax and unwind from the daily stress and grind of a big city.Although one of the days was rainy,the place was p...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2006
  • Stayed: Oct 2006
We were looking for a great plcae to relax and unwind from the daily stress and grind of a big city.Although one of the days was rainy,the place was perfect.Even with the rain we enjoyed ouselves immensly.It lacked for nothing.Very comfortable,very relaxing and simoly put just an absolutly fantatsic experience.Thank you for having us.
Owner's Response: Hi Rick (and family). We are glad you enjoyed your weekend. I wish the wather would have been nice all of the days of your stay, but you never know. At least Sunday was nice. I hope the dogs had a lot of fun too. Please feel free to call us again.

Sincerely, Jim & Ivie Baker
Helpful votes: 1/1