Keaau house rental - Large deck overlooking the ocean.
Large deck overlooking the ocean.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This beautiful Japanese home was custom-built in 2009. Each room has shoji sliders which open fully to let the outside in. An antique Japanese garden gate was the inspiration for the custom-built front door using Japanese Sugi Pine. This wood was also used for both the master bath's vanity and tub surround. The house was designed to allow visitors standing outside the front door to be able to view the ocean through the rooms of glass. The home is protected via an alarm system.

PLEASE NOTE: To all our valued guests (prior, present & future 2014)...OUR HOME WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE FOR RENT AFTER JANUARY 10, 2015. We will be moving permanently to our well-loved Hawaiian retreat!

The home is located in a quiet, peaceful neighborhood, where the only sounds are the waves striking the lava cliff walls. The home is built 140' from the ocean, the last 40' is uncovered lava which drops down the 20' cliffs into the Pacific. We've left the backyard completely natural with many ironwood trees and a few coconut palms for a park-like setting, the ironwood's soft carpet of needles come up to the house edge.

The Great Room has a dramatic cathedral wood ceiling. One shoji doors open a full 12' onto a long, covered engawa. Another shoji door opens onto a tri-level deck that overlooks the backyard and ocean. Throughout the house is dark horizontal-cut bamboo flooring. All rooms have ceiling fans.

There are two master suites. The downstairs master has a queen-size wooden Japanese Zen bed, the shoji sliders open a full 10' that lead to a covered engawa. There's a stunning Japanese-style bathroom tiled in natural Slate stone. Both suites have large walk-in closets with dressers. The upstairs master has a comfortable queen-size bed, with the shoji sliders leading to the slate-tile covered lanai overlooking the ocean. This attractive bathroom has a large granite counter along with slate stone flooring and shower walls. You're able to sit in bed (in both master suites) and watch the ocean. I've seen schools of dolphins, turtles, scuba divers, and many, many whales. Of course, you could sit out on the engawa, deck, or even the backyard for closer viewing.

The full kitchen has granite counters and a crushed granite sink, bamboo flooring, an antique Japanese tansu, and shoji sliders that can shut the kitchen completely off from the Greatroom.

Our area of Keaau is quite unique, this bay is also known as 'Whale Cove' for the many migrating whales that stay here during the winter months. The area is also called the 'Blue Hole' since the volcano's VOG rarely comes out for a visit. Most mornings you're treated to an incredible sunrise!

Keywords: Japanese, Oceanfront, Vacation Home

More Details
Hide Details

47 Reviews of Property 305329 in Keaau, Hawaii

Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
average rating of 4.9574466 based on 47 reviews
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Great House Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My wife and I enjoyed staying at this great house! It was quiet (except for the frogs outside at night - but they added to the charm) and nicely out of the way. Exactly what we were looking for! It was well stocked with linens, towels, kitchen items and even snorkeling equipment.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Absolutely Perfect from beginning to end!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
When I found this gem, I couldn't believe it. From the beginning with the emails to and from Holly, the helpful hints and guides, meeting Cristel upon arrival and the home itself... everything was wonderful. I even received my deposit back in less than a week after departure.

The house is exactly as you see in these photos and very well maintained. There is no A/C, but the wind off the ocean is more than enough to cool everything down. There is a TV, but with the view there is no need or desire to use it (except maybe, MAYBE at night). The kitchen has everything I could have imagined ever needing and the washer and dryer worked very well. The shoji doors made everything so open and airy. The beds are comfortable, there are 2 full baths (one in each bedroom) and a 1/2 bath near the home entrance. The last half of the backyard is hardened lava and it ends with short cliffs (10-20 feet) in to the ocean. The waves splash up and make for beautiful pictures. There are crabs and snails on the cliffs and at night you can hear what we believed to be frogs. Their chirp with the sound of the ocean was a great way to fall asleep. Even the neighbors on both sides are very pleasant!

The house was a few miles from the nearest grocery and gas station, but this did not bother us in the least. The final road to the house is rather amusing (at least it was to us). It is a very straight road but it seems the state paved over the lava field so rather than flatten the road it is like a kitty roller coaster for a few miles. The pavement is smooth, just lots of small hills one after the other. We found it fun.

There are screened windows so you can still enjoy the sound of the ocean while you sleep without having to have the shojis open. Or you can leave the doors open if you prefer. If there is a con at all in this property it would be mosquitoes after sunset IF the doors are left open. This is not a property issue though, just mother nature.

I have already gushed to several people about this house, and if I ever return to Hawaii (which I definitely intend to) this will be a must stay for me. We enjoyed this home so much we didn't even travel out on the island our last day, we stayed at the house and enjoyed the ocean crashing on the lava cliffs in the backyard.

Everyone was so pleasant, the house was so beautiful and comfortable, and the view can not be beat. Do not pass up this opportunity (unless, of course, it is a week I want to come back ;).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Pakipika moe'uhane !!

Pakipika moe'uhane !!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It seems only fitting to start with a huge "thank you" to Holly for allowing my wife and I to experience this truly amazing home. Many years ago we made the decision that we were going to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in Hawaii. Living in the Midwest, our first priority in renting a vacation rental was that it had to be ocean front. Our second priority was that it needed to be peaceful and quiet. Finding Holly’s home fulfilled both of our wishes and then some!
Our first experience with renting this beautiful home was the pleasure of being to correspond directly with Holly by email and phone. Holly is a true sweetheart and was more than accommodating with answering our questions and giving us the assurance that she truly cared about her quests and their rental experience.
Leaving -18 degree weather and arriving in 78 degree weather was a treat in itself. After a short 40 minute inter-island flight from Honolulu we arrived in Hilo. Driving from the Hilo airport to the house was an easy 25 minute drive.
Entering the home, the bamboo floors and woodwork in the home immediately caught my attention, beautiful! The master suites on both floors are simply amazing, enough said! After a quick tour of the interior of the home, Christel opened up the shoji to the main deck facing the ocean. Walking out on the deck and taking in the view for the first time and hearing the ocean waves crashing against the lava cliffs are something that will never be forgotten.
Needless to say our first exploring was straight to the ocean’s edge from the property. Standing on the black lava rock, ocean spray hitting you in the face and viewing snow capped Mauna Kea in the background was absolutely priceless!
During our 7 night stay, we were truly blessed with our experience of the Big Island and the home. The diversity of the landscape on the island is truly spectacular. At the end of our day adventures we were always happy to be back at the home. We would open the shoji doors and enjoy the sounds of the ocean, frogs and refreshing breeze while preparing our evening dinner. A majority of evening dinners were fresh fish from the Hilo fish market, the deck grill worked great for this. There is also a Foodland in Keaau and a Safeco in Hilo for groceries. Hilo provides the biggest selection of restaurants, I would recommend either the Asian or local Hawaiian restaurants for the best food experience. Would I rent this property again, in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Portland, OR
5

A beautiful and peaceful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful stay here. The house was lovely and had so many beautiful details. The kitchen has everything you need to cook a nice dinner. The master bathroom is stunning with a great shower and a big bathtub. The view from the large deck in the back of the house was beautiful and the deck has comfortable chairs where you can sit and enjoy the ocean (we even saw a whale on our last day). We loved falling asleep to the sound of waves crashing and frogs.

The property was exactly as described and very clean! It looked just as it does in the photos. I would most definitely recommend this property to family and friends.

Holly is so easy to work with and the property manager, Christel, was very helpful throughout our time there. The two of them really work to make sure it is easy for you to have a relaxing stay. If you have the opportunity to stay here, I recommend that you take advantage of it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Outstanding.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Not to be missed. A truely great house in a perfect location. There was nothing I would change. The design and layout of the house is smart and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Absolutely amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place far exceeded our expectations. With over 10 Hawaii visits over the year and numerous house and condo rentals...this house was absolutely the best. It truly felt like home. Great job Holly. We will be referring all of our friends to this house.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Spectacular ocean view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Wow!! My wife and I kept saying. We enjoyed this home so much and really enjoyed the ocean and waves smashing against the cliffs. We are still hearing them in our sleep when we returned home. The moon was out bright one evening and we stayed on the top balcony listening to music and the waves. We celebrated our 15th anniversary here and loved it. Very clean home and the amenities were all liked they described. I recommend the drive to the Hamakua Coast and check out the 50's diner on the way. As everybody has said the pictures certainly don't do justice, it is WAY better in person. Highly recommend this home, it is the best vrbo home rental in the puna district by far. Thanks again Holly!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Fremont, CA
5

September 20 to 27 2013 Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Everything was as advertised, it is a beautiful home, situated in a great location, with easy access to Volcano National Park, south island beaches, Hilo and the east shore of Hawaii. Check the Hilo tide tables and enjoy wave show at high tide on the lava bench above the sea in front of the residence. The show is quite impressive when driven by north easterly winds. We enjoyed our stay and would return to stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Hilo side of the Big Island. We picked this rental because the home looked unique and different from most of the rentals we have stayed in and more importantly because it looked like it had a wonderful setting close to the ocean. And the home was just that! The house itself is very unique and we loved the nice Asian decor. We loved being able to slide open all the Shoji doors and enjoy the breeze. But the setting was our favorite part of the home so we spent as much time as possible on the deck or walking on the lava rocks by the ocean. Holly and Christel were wonderful to work with. The attention to detail was probably the best I have ever seen in a rental. They had done such a wonderful job of labeling everything, providing great directions , giving you information on the area, providing items that most rentals do not provide......just overall a great experience. Highly Recommend!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Truly OCEANFRONT... serene Japanese Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305329vb
(530) 676-4740 (California, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Germany
5

Oceanfront Paradise on the Puna Coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Hi Holly, it's imposible to find a better home away fom home on the Hilo side of Big Island! Everything ist perfect, you just have to decide where to be: at the edge of the cliffs and watching turtles and waves below and feeling the sea mist, walking along the cliffs to the old heiau place, sitting on the huge porch in one of the deck chairs and listening to the sound of the crashing waves, exploring the house itself: the fountains in the bathrooms are artwork! In the mornings we watched the sunrise from bed - the first glow - we jumped out of the comfy master bed to run to the cliffs to watch it from there every morning.
The archetecture of the house ist unique and the details in every room are marvelous. We loved the master bathroom with the huge shower, too.
When we had a question we could reach Christel who is so nice.
We really didn't want to leave, Holly, one week was much too short and made already plans for coming back. You need much more time to explore the area, there ist so much more we want to see....
Thank your so much, Holly, we love your Hawaiian Paradise
Karin and Rolf from Germany
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2