Little Sebago Lake cottage rental - Sunset - view from beach - Little Sebago Lake
Sunset - view from beach - Little Sebago Lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Little Sebago Lake Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-6)

VACATIONLAND MAINE COTTAGES™

Our reviews say it all! That's because your satisfaction is our top priority. So come, relax, and stay for a while. You've earned it!

Be our guest to your own private Vacationland – a charming lake-view cottage nestled on a private dead-end road in the beautiful Mountain Lakes region of Gray, Maine.

Whether for your extended family gathering or for that much needed get-together with your friends, this is the place!

Take a swim, relax, and enjoy the majestic sunsets over the lake from the sandy beach, or from the comfort of your deck.

ABOUT THE VACATIONLAND MAINE COTTAGES ™ WHITE OASIS COTTAGE:

Our White Oasis Cottage has a knotty pine interior for a true rustic experience, is newly decorated, and impeccably clean. It includes patio furniture and a grill for outdoor dining.

The White Oasis sleeps six (6) and includes three bedrooms (one queen-sized bed, a full, and a twin) and a queen foldout futon. It has three spacious sitting areas, in addition to a fully equipped NEW kitchen (stainless steel), and a deck that will amaze!

Tastefully furnished, and includes all of the modern amenities necessary to be comfy and simply relax. You will find many cozy corners for reading, and at night, you can gather around the wood-burning stove for family fun and good conversation.

INDOOR AMENITIES INCLUDE:

• wood-burning stove

• LCD flat screen television

• standard television

• cable

• Internet access (Broadband and Wi-Fi)

• DVD player

• VCR player/recorder

• radio/CD player

• microwave

• coffee maker

• toaster

• blender

• mixer

• lobster pot

• fans

• heater

• vacuum

• iron and ironing board

• hair dryer

• pillows

• extra blankets

• books

• board games

Bring nothing but your linens and towels. Let us take care of the rest! Don't feel like bringing your linens, just let us know, and we'll gladly provide them as well!

OUTDOOR AMENITIES INCLUDE:

• white sand beach with gradual entry

• dock

• boat launch

• scanoe

• pedal boat - 5 seats with canopy

• life vests - for adults and children

• beach chairs

• cooler

• deck furniture

• patio set with umbrella for outdoor dining

• large charcoal grill for outdoor cooking

ABOUT THE LAKE:

NO ROCKS, NO MUCK - JUST SAND!!

The white sand beach is on a secluded cove, gradually slopes, and is ideal for kids to swim, play, and feel safe and secure. You have never seen such crystal clear water. Warm water just perfect for the kids! Not your typical lake!

Little Sebago Lake stretches about five and a half miles from end to end, is a little over one mile at its widest, and has many islands scattered throughout for exploring or simply taking it easy.

If you're an angler, bring your equipment and your luck! The lake is teaming with brown trout, largemouth bass, and smallmouth bass, just to name a few.

Looking for serenity? You’ll find it here - Come escape to your secluded world of peace and tranquility. The natural beauty of Little Sebago Lake is at your command. A five-minute canoe ride and you’re on Spider Island. Pack a lunch and spend the day!

ABOUT THE AREA:

Our VACATIONLAND MAINE COTTAGES ™ are about 6 miles from I-95/Maine Turnpike.

Gray, Maine is about 30 minutes from Portland International Airport.

Gray is home to the Maine Wildlife Park - a definite adventure for children of any age. The park is open daily, from mid-April through Veteran's day. Gates open at 9:30 AM and close at 4:30 PM.

Gray is also home to Libby Hills Forest Trails. Trails include Moose Odyssey, Deer Run, Holmquist Hollow, Turkey Trot, and Harold Libbey Trail. On your visit, can explore two and a half miles of hiking trails - complete with waterfalls and beaver habitat, join a guided tour, discover moose, deer, porcupine, coyote and other wildlife, mountain bike over 22 miles of trails, walk your dog, or simply watch the local birds. By the way, you can HEAR and SEE the local birds right from your deck!

How about a little golf? Point Sebago, an 18-hole championship course, is just a short ride away!

How about a little expedition? Located 30 minutes from downtown Portland, you are only limited by your imagination. Enjoy water views, walk the brick and cobblestone streets of the Old Port, do a little window-shopping, spend the day at the Portland Museum of Art, or explore the many islands of Casco Bay. Maybe a ferry to Nova Scotia on the CAT Ferry, or the SPLASH of the DownEast Duck Tours through and around the City? A fully narrated 65-minute adventure through Portland, you will learn about the legends and lore that have shaped Portland. Then, your Duck will drive you INTO the waters of Casco Bay and around the waterfront and Calendar Islands. Definitely bring your cameras for this one!

Conveniently located and a short ride to Old Orchard Beach, The Waldo Emerson House, The University of Southern Maine, Freeport Shops and Outlets, and of course, L.L. Bean - you will always have plenty to see and do!

ABOUT YOUR STAY:

We request a week minimum rental, running Saturday to Saturday.

We offer a discount for extended stays, and May/June and September/October rentals.

$500 security/damage deposit.

Minimum age required to rent.

Utilities and administrative fees are all included.

Please call us with ANY questions you may have – that’s why we’re here.

Don't see the week you want? We also have a smaller sister cottage (sleeps four) available next door - please feel free to ask for more information.

Did we mention, depending on breed and size, pets are definitely welcome!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Wishing you a wonderful summer season,

The Donahues

©2014 VACATIONLAND MAINE COTTAGES ™

All rights reserved

Keywords: VACATIONLAND MAINE™ Lake-View Cottage on Pristine Little Sebago Lake - Pet-Friendly retreat for the entire family. Sandy Beach, secluded, kid-friendly,family-oriented gathering

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 304749 in Little Sebago Lake, Maine

Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Baltimore, MD, USA
5

Charming Cottage, Great Location, Attentive Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I, plus our dog and our daughter’s dog, spent the week of July 13-20 in the White Oasis cottage. It was an unplanned stay, occasioned by the sudden news that my wife’s sister, who lives near Portland, ME, would undergo surgery for tongue cancer during that week. Wanting to be with her before and after the surgery, we searched for VRBO properties in the area, finding the White Oasis was heavily booked but available for that week. Upon contacting the owner, we found her extremely sympathetic and cooperative in helping to arrange the rental on very short notice.

We could not have been more pleased with the result. Key features of the cottage we especially appreciated include: its being sparklingly clean throughout; the well-equipped kitchen; the fast and highly reliable Internet service; the nice flat-screen TV with cable and premium channels; the large, well-lit living room, great for reading; and the huge fenced deck, providing the dogs ample wandering room, with no chance of escaping, and giving us a wonderful spot for reading, breakfasts, before-dinner drinks, and relaxing views of the lake.

The nature of our stay, involving visits with my sister-in-law before the surgery and trips to the hospital during and after the surgery, prevented us from taking full advantage of the cottage’s amenities. I longed to try my hand at fishing in the picturesque lake, and to canoe out to its little islands; but there simply wasn’t time.

Nonetheless, the White Oasis provided exactly what we needed at this stressful time: a comfortable, welcoming retreat where we could enjoy a movie, do some reading, cook a good meal, gaze out on the lake, and enjoy the company of our dogs.

I must stress that the owner has been the most guest-friendly landlord we have encountered in many years of vacation rentals. Prior to, during, and after our stay she expressed sincere concern for my sister-in-law’s well-being and sought in every way imaginable to ensure a positive experience for us. Post-departure, she graciously refused my offer to return a nice corkscrew I inadvertently took, only requesting we use it with good food, good company, and good wine. And she set a record for returning security deposits -- her refund check beat me home!

Finally, I'm happy to report that my sister-in-law's surgery was highly successful. All cancer removed; no radiation needed; back at work in four weeks; missing 1/3 of her tongue, she speaks with barely a lisp.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
United States
5

Wonderfully airy and comfortable cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I rented this cottage (and its sister cottage next door) for our annual family trip to Maine and we absolutely loved this place.

The common areas (great room and living room) are open and inviting, and the new furniture in the living room was so comfortable that my wife and I had a serious debate as to whether or not we should sleep out there, instead of in the perfectly comfortable bedroom. Additionally, the entire cottage is filled with many interesting curios, games and great reads - we had no problem keeping entertained on the few days when it rained.

The sandy beach is directly across the road from the cottage, and is perfect for kids. We had a very difficult time getting my 6-year-old to come out of the water. Although there are boats on site for your usage, we brought our own kayaks: Little Sebago is a fantastic lake for kayaking and canoeing.

Would highly recommend this place for small families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Seacoast, NH
5

Another Satisfied Customer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Took my wife, mother, two kids and yellow lab to spend a week in the White Oasis. This was our second time at this property and we were very pleased once again. The cottage has a ton of windows and fans to keep cool which was nice, as the weather was very warm to start our week. Used the scanoe and paddle boat a bunch during the week and brought a kayak to explore more of the lake. Beautiful sandbars fill Little Sebago around every corner. Great lake for kids and dogs to frolike and play, without speed boats to worry about. Not to mention the great beach/dock across from the cottage. Clear, clean water with clean sandy bottom, gradual entry everywhere you go. Passed Loons swiming a few times as well, and you can hear them every night. Had inclimate weather (overcast/rain) a few times during our stay - so we went to the Wildlife Park (10 min away), Desert of Maine (30 min), the movies (10min) and Freeport (shopping/LL Bean 30min). We brought way too much stuff. The cottage has everything you need. Life jackets, beach chairs, cooler. All cooking items are clean and convenient. Appliances are stainless and new. Furniture was new, well kept, and clean. Bedrooms were good sized and beds were comfortable. Large porch with plenty of furniture and glass table with sun shade. Large Charcoal grill got a ton of use. Big screen tv and LOTS of places to sit inside.
Swam everyday, went over to Spider Island a lot(which our friends re-named Blueberry-Sparkle Island since the water is so clean you can see the sand "sparkle" and you can walk around the island picking blueberries from the water), all the extra activity, and I even found a few minutes to teach my oldest daughter how to cast a line off the end of the dock.
I recommend this cottage to everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Aaron & Co.,

It was such a pleasure to host you and the extended family for a return visit to our neck of the woods! We were so glad to have you back and were even gladder to know you enjoyed yourselves as much as you did the first time around. Your mom's opinion was very important to us, so I am particularly happy the cottage passed muster!

Now that your eldest is an official "angler" she will need to start taking pictures of the ones that did not "get away".

As always, you are welcome back, anytime, and we look forward to hearing about the girls and their progress in sports, school, and the innumerable activities I am sure they are mastering.

Warmest Regards,

The Donahues
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
South Windsor, CT
5

Awesome lake for swimming and comfortable/clean cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of 4 and our family dog thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cottage and lake! Many hours were spent swimming and snorkeling in Little Sebago Lake by our 9 and 11-year old boys. Our dog also had a great time fetching her tennis ball- by the end of the week she did not hesitate to go after the ball into the lake as far as I could throw it. The temp of the water was always nice, the sand was soft, and the water was calm in the mornings and had some small waves in the afternoons. We locally rented 2 kayaks for the boys. My wife, pooch, and I routinely enjoyed the available canoe/scanoe to venture out to Spider Island. The peddle boat was fun, but we did not use it much- guess I’m more of a paddler than a peddler. Besides enjoying nature, we also ventured into Portland (less than an hour drive) and included a visit to the International Crypto zoology Museum (a small but fun museum) and the Standard Baking Company. Goodies in Gray was good for pizza one night too.

We made good use of the lobster pots (great prices for lobster in Portland!). The cottage was accurately described and was very clean- we were very pleased with it. The only surprises were the brand-new flat screen TV and couch & chair- pretty nice surprises. Kitchen was very nice, bedrooms/bathroom a little small- but the beds were comfortable, and plenty of area for living/socializing- nice deck too. The owner provided great support to us before we went- all our questions were answered and she was very nice to deal with; quick refund of the security deposit too. Oh, if you desire use of the Wii, make sure you clarify that beforehand. If we had a bigger family or group, we’d probably consider renting both cottages.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Gary and Family,

We are so glad that you enjoyed the cottage and the lake! It was wonderful hosting you - nice surprises are our speciality! You are always welcome back, Bebe included! We wish the kids a great school year and look forward to seeing you next year!

Warm regards,

The Donahues
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Indiaanpolis
5

A great getaway with the family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our thanks to the owners for allowing my extended family to stay at their cottages and helping us create the memories that will last a lifetime. Our family rented both cottages and we had, by far, the best vacation since my sister and I were children ourselves. It was an emotional roller-coaster for my husband and I (our eldest son was heading off to college), and it was the last chance for my entire family, grandma and cousins included, to spend a week with him before his new journey began. Knowing how much our family eats, it was wonderful to have a full kitchen to feed them. My husband even cooked lobster one evening and my brother-in-law made great Margaritas. When my four year old got cranky, I was able to take him up for a nap during the day (the beach is just across the way from the cottages), while the rest of the family stayed at the lake. We brought our kayaks and enjoyed a leisurely paddle on the lake, while traveling to "Spider Island'. I think that was the most memorable time for me, it was a chance to be able to talk to my son without electronics around! We went into Portland a few times during our stay and also made it to the zoo. My teenager even enjoyed the amphibious bus tour (Portland) we did one day- he kept quacking all the way home - it was a duck theme. We will definitely be staying at the cottages again next year- I am already trying to get my college bound son as well as my in-laws to join next year. Talk about an extended family get-together!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sadie and Co.,

We are most welcome!! We truly enjoyed having your family visit our neck of the woods and welcome you back anytime!

Warm regards,

The Donahues
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Canada
5

Nice play to kick back and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Even though we happened to be there during a hurricane, we had a great time. The cottage has everything you need to feel like you are just at home. Access to the water is close and having the canoe, and paddle boat was great! The private island just a short swim/paddle away is a great little place to spend part of the day. There is also a lot of places close by you can drive to for the day.
The cottage has everything you need. It's a great place to just sit back and relax. You can sit on the deck outside the cottage, or go down to the dock and enjoy the water. We'll definitely check it out again if we are back this way!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear James and Kathy,

We are so glad that despite the circumstances of Hurricane Irene, you were able to enjoy your stay with us. You were truly wonderful guests and we feel so fortunate to have connected with you! We do hope that you come visit us from up north very soon and remind you that you that our homes, all of them, are always open to you. Looking forward to seeing you either in Maine or other parts down yonder...of course, with LLL in tow!

Warmest Regards,

The Donahues and Crew
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
5

Outstanding week at Little Sebago Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My wife and our sons family had a outstanding week at the cottage, we are from Wisconsin and found the area and cottage to be just like our up north Wisconsin. This was our first trip to Maine and the location could not have been better. The lake provide a outsanding location for the Grand Kids who enjoyed the lake and island across from the Cottage beach. The location was great for one day trips to different locations in the area. We enjoyed the place and would return when we vacation in the area again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Kimm, Karen, and Family, It was such a pleasure to host you and we were so glad that your first experience with Maine was with us. We were so impressed that you swam to "Spider Island" and we were equally impressed by your generosity of spirit! We wish you warmth through the Wisconsin winter and look forward to seeing you again next year. Warm regards, The Donahue
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
NJ
5

A Fabulous Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What a wonderful week we had at the cottage and lake! This was just the getaway we needed; low-key and very relaxing. Both the cottage and property are great; well maintained, very comfortable and you truly have everything you need. The lake is spectacular, so crystal clear and clean and just a few steps away from the cottage. We traveled with our teenage daughter, her friend and our dog. There was something for everyone. The girls were old enough to pretty much do as they liked and to go down to the lake on their own. For our doggie, it was his first time swimming and he loved it. We had a blast watching him.

It was wonderful to have the canoe and paddleboat available to us. The girls made use of both and we were all able to go out to Spider Island a few times during the week. That was a lot of fun as the island sits on a sand bar, so there is lots of sparkly, shallow water around the island to splash around in.

Location wise, the cottage is ideal. Far enough removed to be away from the hustle and bustle but there is enough around for activities should you want to venture away from the cottage. Some good restaurants, groceries, movie theater, parks etc are nearby.

We are definitely looking forward for a return trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Carol and Family, Thank you kindly for having stayed with us. We know that you had many options to choose from and are very grateful you chose us! We hope that your daughter and "Reggie" will think back on their stay this summer with fond memories of what a family vacation is supposed to be like. The lake will always welcome them back, as will we. Warm regards, The Donahues
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Atlanta, GA
5

Lake & Country

Lake & Country
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This property is a warm combination of being in a quiet area with excellent lake access and use of owners scanoe to journey to a close by island. The cabin is very well supplied, clean and modernized yet country. This property has balance for an enjoyable stay.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Ray and Crew,

Thank you so so much for staying with us! It was wonderful hosting your family and we are so glad that everyone found something that interested them. We look forward to hosting you again and wish you a great rest of your summer.

Warm regards,

The Donahues
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Pet Friendly Lake-View Cottage & Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304749vb
+1 207-809-9360
Little Sebago Lake Sebago Lakes Region
Newington, CT
5

Very Nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The location of this cottage is very appealing for it's quiet, peaceful yet close to everything spot in Maine. The deck is beaultiful to dine on and provides relaxation along with a very short steps down walk to a fun, clean to swim in lake. The photos accurately portray the property, well maintained with pride and we didn't find a thing lacking as stated in the property description. Beaultiful sunsets, nice friendly people, and the area lobsters, well we certainly enjoyed those and made good use of the lobster pot. We had a wonderful week and as much as we enjoyed it, our dog most highly reccommends it to all her swim loving friends. We will return and thank the owners for being helpful, honest and concerned that their guests have an enjoyable time. Great for all, couples with pets, young familes and anyone who wants to be near all that this area and cottage offers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Cindy & Bill,

It was such a pleasure to host you! We are so glad you had a good time and look forward to hosting you and your pooch again! Enjoy the rest of the summer and the sunsets.

Warm regards,

The Donahues
Helpful votes: 9/9