Basics and location right on target, all the extras including service issues totally lacking
We have rented in New Smyrna Beach multiple times in the last 10 years and love the area. This was our first rental with GreatOceanCondos rental company. While the house location, ocean view, size bedrooms, decor, etc was exactly as listed, the "little extras", amenities service of rental company, and overall condition of home were lacking in comparison to other rentals available in the area.
TV master bedroom not working
Refrigerator freezer door very difficult to open and close
Light bulbs in master closet burned out
No blow dryer for hair as listed
Kitchen blender leaks
Garage door broken
All kitchen knives are completely dull, couldn't even cut through an onion
Every possible non-perishable item left from last renter completely missing (not a spare trash bag, paper towel, roll of TP, dish detergent, etc. left in house--make sure you stop at grocery BEFORE going to house)
No electric can opener (there is a rusted out hand crank, but nearly impossible to use)
About 25 candles in the house and not a single match or lighter available
Pages and pages of work instructions for renter regarding trash, thermostat, breaker boxes, cleaning the house, doing laundry, moving outdoor furniture, multiple fines to be issued for non-compliance with detailed instructions, etc.
Worst of all, the contact phone number for GreatOceanCondos listed on website and on rental paperwork mailed to us is NOT A WORKING NUMBER. This number didn't work when we were trying to rent and the person who responded to my email from a blocked phone number acted like they were unaware of the nonworking phone issue. But that was 2 months ago. Obviously, company doesn't want to be contacted for any issues once they have received the rental check. Thank goodness there wasn't a major appliance breakdown or other major issue because we would have been completely left in the dark for any service issues.
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so sorry for what you experienced on your vacation. We are on call from 9 AM to 9 PM seven days a week 365 days a year. Any and all issues brought to our attention during their stay are corrected immediately but not being notified during the stay makes it difficult to remedy. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal and this guest at minimum would have received a partial refund or free night stay had we been made aware. Unfortunately, we were not told that anything was wrong.
Helpful votes: 8/8
Did you find this review helpful?