Marathon house rental - Free Heated pool
Free Heated pool
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Marathon House Rental Photos and Description
4,200sq.ft.Secluded 4BR/4BA 4blks. to Coco Plum Beach 1/2Beer to the Ocean

Private wide waterfront home. 4,200 square foot with banquet hall, seats 14. Three central air conditioners, the house is so big. Party room with unique Bar embedded with sand dollars, a real $100 bill that only kids can find, sometimes drunken adults; watch out for the 6 piranhas. Game table, big screen TV, home theatre seats so comfy, old guys sleep in them.

A cannon guards the direct channel to the Atlantic. Please bring 2 pound balls and powder with you. Fed Ex will not deliver. I used the last of it on a boat that I sunk within view of the house. Luke's Law, if a boat passes the home does not wave to my guests or is not playing Jimmy Buffet music, you have permission to fire the cannon on them. Examine the remains of the boat I sunk with use of my free kayaks. Rental boats can be delivered to my 528' of seawall.Football Cornhole Game(bring your own stickers,I can't pick a team. Rafts for boat dockage. Park 6 trucks and Trailers. Pirate parties on request. Have someone kidnapped.

There is only 52 weeks a year for 52 lucky families.

Fishing from our docks is always an exciting surprise... tarpon, barracuda, nurse shark, sting rays; don't touch my pet lobsters at the seawall. Close to mediocre Golf courses. Swim with the dolphins.

Go to Keys Fisheries for a Lobster Rueben sandwich. It's so big, buy one for 2 people.

Next go to Captain Pips for a Fried Key Lime pie, buy 2 for one person or there will be a fight for the other persons pie.

More Details
Hide Details

I was single, on my sailboat in the process of buying an incredible home overlooking the Sea of Abaco when an aerial photo of CannonPoint showed up on my laptop. I started to worry about maintaining the Abaco property having to boat to the mainland for parts. Marathon had just put in a Home Depot so I bought CannonPoint sight unseen. My new husband works in Miami so that's where we are most of the time with Saturday checkups and big remodelling projects in the Fall. I'm addicted to kayaking and the Keys are my favorite place in the World.

Patty Luke purchased this house in 2001

Deep Dock water frontage of 528' with cut in boat slip. 528' concrete seawall. Privacy, incredible view from every slider.

For Large family reunions, weddings and other large group events, the Office Suite of rooms with a 5th bed and bath can be rented for an extra $1,000.00. There is a queen bedroom,kitchenette,2ndwasher/drier,library,

cableTV,trundle sofa with 2 twin beds,private courtyard.

11 Reviews of Property 304115 in Marathon, Florida

CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Farmington Hills, Michigan
4

Clean, Very spacious, private and easy access with Boat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We enjoyed our stay. Paradise Patty was very accomodating, we mentioned (on the 1st day) there were no rock glasses (for Manhattans) and she brought some right over. The house was clean, spacious kitchen main room area (plenty of room to spreadout). Main dining room table sat 10 without having to use the counter from the center island. 3 of the 4 bedrooms have attached bathrooms (4th bedroom had it's own bathroom, but not within the room). Minor repairs are needed, but anything we pointed out to Patty she addressed quickly. The deck area is protected from the wind, so that was a great place to sit and relax or enjoy the hot tub. Lots of towels provided, plus plenty of cleaning supplies, paper towels, etc (all provided). Plenty of parking, good washer / dryer, 2 large refridgerators in kitchen, small deep freeze in carport area. We would definately go back. Great location, reasonable price and very easy to deal directly with Patty.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
lake county fl
5

A GREAT STAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband myself and10 friends had a great week at cannon point, the house was perfect for a large groupThe location is perfect , boating , fishing, the pool or relax in the hot tub its your choice and there for you. the house is spacious and the amenities are endless everything you could need , the owner was very helpfull and was able to get our one problem with the hot tub fixed asap.We really enjoyed being able to just take of on the water when we wanted we had quite a selection of water toys. I personaly liked that this is not a show home which made it all the more comfortable, and will recommend it to friends..
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
4

Good Time @ Canon Point

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a great time at this vacation spot. There were 12 of us and plenty of room for us all. Great furnishings, Clean, Spacious, Parking 4 trailers and 6 vehicles was a bit tight, but once we got boats, etc, unloaded and worked out system so that trailers not attached to vehicles we managed extremely well. Yard is fantastic, not a cramped side lot with a 100' of seawall, but by being on corner we had tons of places to sit, fish, play cornhole, view the occasional iguana, manatee, and place boats in the inset. With 2 microwaves, 2 ice boxes and an external freezer along with normal kitchen stuff there was lots of room for food storage, prep and cooking, for us. And with the bar in another room.... And yes we would stay there again - we, the Outdoor Adventure Gang, already checked to see how much lead time we would need to reserve for next year. There was but 1 issue - hot tub went out night 6, but Patty had it fixed and steamy in less than 6 hours from being told; Now that is quick service. Thanks Patty, for a great stay!!!!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

Had a Great Time is a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We have a great time. The house was perfect. There was 12 of us we have plenty of room. Had everything that you would have had at home. The big kitchen was nice made it easy to cook for everyone and the kitchen bar and dining table made it nice so that we could all eat together. The TV room/bar area was nice for everyone to gather in. Hot was awesome to relax after a long day on the go. The house was clean and kept nice. I am looking forward to coming back again. Have already been telling our friends about it. Patty you are great. Janie & Squirt from The Outdoor Adventure Gang.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

We had an absolute blast !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Me and my wife and ten other members of a club all had the pleasure of a weeks stay at the Cannon Point residence. We found everything to be as advertized and above our expectations. Two nights before we left the Hot tub acted up and was promptly repaired the very next morning right after I reported it . The house was VERY comfortable and clean when we arrived. I would and Have recommended this house to friends and WE will be returning. The house is in an area that we were all able to persue whatever we could want to do with EVERYTHING at your fingertips. Sailing, fishing, boating, kayaking, bicycling, snorkeling, diving,photography,,,, YES we stayed busy . Oh and plenty of eating as well ... Resteraunts as well as using the WELL stocked kitchen. We did not need half of what we thought we would. We also camp alot as a group so we packed accordingly but diddnt need much. a MOST pleasurable week. Thank You Patti
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
4

Fabulous time, some issues.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our group of 10 (aged 14 - 51) had a fabulous time! A couple of issues but all in all the house was near perfect. Had everything we needed, stores close by, plenty of room to stretch out. Fantastic pool, hot tub, views, quiet area ... My favorite place was the hammock! Loved feeding the iguanas.
As for the issues ... One of the kayaks sunk! Good thing everyone knew how to swim and it sunk close to the house so it was more amusing than scary but ... It could have been terrible.
Second issue ... The owner lives in the guest suite attached to the house! Private entrance but still would have liked to have known prior as we would have rented a different property! 9am she was on the deck with a construction person talking about work to be done, another morning she was on the deck complaining about the kids using the wrong towels for the pool.
If you want complete privacy ... Pay the extra to rent the guest suite or rent a different house. If you don't mind the owner being on site - great house! Just double check the kayaks! Oh one more thing, the steps back onto the floating dock from the water are broken, you'll have to climb up.
Owner's Response: I'm glad everyone had a great time, Florida State law and county ordinance, you must have a fantastic week!
I live in Miami, or on my boat, unless I feel the need for immediate repairs. The week you were there, the stairs to the floating kayak dock to the seawall deck were the victims of some football player types that removed them for use climbing coconut trees, then smashed them back onto the raft. I didn't want to wait till Saturday between 10am and 3pm. The other repair item was the kayak plugs and hatch cover that the previous kids had removed for water fights. I bought liquid nails and sealed everything shut, so no kayak will ever sink again, unless some kid uses a knife to pry them open.
I try and be on site on Saturdays, I usually come in Friday if my extra guest house is not rented.
Because of Hurricane Sandy I couldn't make it last Saturday. 80% of guests leave things behind. Invariably, the damage deposit is used to mail items back.
Hurricane Sandy week, I had fun people in from Scotland. I wasn't there for the Saturday walk through and a 70 pound bag was left behind. Fed Ex charged $140 for delivery to the Orlando airport. Mighty expensive souvenirs, but my husband and I have done similar things in our travels. We can only laugh and say, "but Wow, didn't we have a great, memorable time."
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
5

Awesome Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We rented this property for ourselves, our daughter and husband and three grandchildren (ages 7, 9, and 11). It was absolutely perfect for our needs. As with any large property, there is always maintenance to be done, but it was very clean and we were grateful that it wasn't perfect as it made us worry less about the children causing stains on rugs, etc. It's very spacious and comfortable and has all the amenities - Dona (daughter) and I decided that the only two things we would have liked that weren't there were a garbage disposal and a screened porch. Otherwise, it had it all (and we managed fine without those)! The children had a wonderful time in the pool and enjoying all the wildlife on the property (iguanas, salamanders, cranes, land crabs, dolphins swimming by each morning). The kayaks were also enjoyed by all but us old folks. There was fishing equipment and the kids and Papa caught lots of fish off the sea wall. We're already talking about returning in a couple years (next year is a return to Disney for the youngsters). Patty was a delight to deal with - highly recommend this property! Plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a very functional kitchen there. Only an hour to Theater of the Sea for swimming with the dolphins and an hour in the other direction for a wonderful day in Key West. We especially liked Burdine's restaurant - great food at reasonable prices (best fries on the planet). There were also plenty of opportunities nearby to charter fishing boats. The entire week was as close to paradise as it could have been!
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
College Station, Texas
3

Great location, average house

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The location is incredible, and the view is breathtaking! Tons of seawall to enjoy the outside, and weather was wonderful. Able to sit outside and feed the iguanas! The house is very average - it is fairly dated and really could use a good deep cleaning. Lots of space both inside and outside.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Long Beach, CA
4

Great base for your Keys vacation.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Cannon Point was a good place for our family of 6 adults and two toddlers. Lots of room, big kitchen and living room was nice and pool was well-kept and luxurious. I will say that there is a little wear on the home and the patio, versus what is shown in the photos but nothing that adversely affected our time there. The amenities were there: we kayaked [there are 4], fished off the point [my toddler caught a little one] and spent much time in the pool, which was immaculate.
Patty was a pleasure to deal with, straight-forward arrangements and everything went off as planned.
We beached at Bahia Honda and Sombrero, which were both great locations for the whole family. We fished out of the Seven Mile Marina and caught amazing tarpon. The Key Fish Market was the perfect fresh fish experience in Marathon. We went to the Theater of the Sea in IslaMorada and the Islamorada Fish Company near the World Wide Fishermen location. All great experiences.
Overall I would recommend Cannon Point for your family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
CannonPointFortress HeatedPool/SpaKayaks/CornHole/OceanBeach4blocks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p304115
305-481-4595
Marathon Central Florida Keys
Mt. Laurel, NJ USA
5

Awesome family house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
I stayed here with my children, along with my parents, my 2 siblings and their children and we couldn't have found a more accomodating house and owner! There was plenty of room for all of us, no crowding. The bedrooms are off the back of the house, so you could be in the front having fun and not disturb anybody sleeping. Very private being its on the end of the street. The children (4 yr - 16 yr) had plenty to do, never bored! I didn't know teenagers knew how to get up before noon!! Kids/adults fished everyday catching different things all the time. The house was clean and provided all necessities we needed. Awesome restaurants and beautiful beaches close by and the owner provides a wonderful review of them, it is a MUST read, very entertaining! Our favorite..Bahia Honda State Park for the day then meet up with the fishermen and fisherkids at Sunset Grille right at 7 mile bridge!! They had a pool for the kids to swim in while the adults relaxed with a variety of cocktails. Tell waitor Chris we said HI!! Awesome food/service! Our spot for 3nights. Another awesome place was the "Island". Went here for lunches and nightly drinks! You couldn't take enough pics of this property to do it justice! Highly recommend this property for large groups/families. Created alot of fun memories to last a lifetime here! Our savings accounts are already started so we can get back ASAP!! Thanks Paradise Patty!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I so glad you brought everyone on the dream vacation.
I love your Mom and noticed that she was wearing the same "OLD LADY" shoes that I have in every color.
Have a healthy year till you return.
Paradise Patty
Helpful votes: 5/5