Playa Junquillal villa rental - View of Villa Las Palmas Real from street.
View of Villa Las Palmas Real from street.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Playa Junquillal Villa Rental Photos and Description
4500 sq ft- 5 BR / 3BA Home with 180 Degree Pacific Ocean Views!

Villa Las Palmas Real, located on Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica, is situated on 6 acres of land only 150 meters from the beach. This 3 level 4500 sq ft villa enjoys spectacular 180 degree vistas of the Pacific Ocean from wrap around balconies. In a quiet private gated estate surrounded by palm trees, this is the ideal vacation spot for relaxing and getting away from it all. Our 5-bedroom villa will comfortably accommodate a family of ten. It's also perfect for 3 or 4 couples traveling together, or as a romantic and extra-spacious getaway for 2. There are three public beaches and a fresh water estuary within easy walking distance. There is a good selection of restaurants. During the day, you can see monkeys and a wide variety of birds near the house. At night, you can see Leatherback and Ridley Turtles nesting. Occasionally, you can see the spouts of Humpback whales from the deck. National Parks are a short drive. This custom vacation home was built to California standards.

Villa las Palmas Real: is a privately owned villa located in a gated 6 1/2 acre private estate in beautiful Playa Junquillal (pronounced hoon-key-yal), a secluded and tranquil little village located in the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica. The tranquil gardens around the villa have over 30 different types of palm trees, 20 different heliconias, bougainvilla, fruit trees, flowering trees including frangiapani & the beautiful yellow roble. Fishing, swimming, snorkeling and surfing, tranquil, secluded beaches and incredible wildlife ensure a fantastic vacation with something for everyone in Playa Junquillal.

Playa Junquillal: The village of Junquillal remains unspoiled and remote, a haven for those looking to spend their precious leisure time on the road less traveled. The village is home to only about 100 residents. Local Costa Ricans (Ticos) as well as international ex-pats welcome travelers with a warm hospitality seldom experienced in the whirlwind of the real world.

Restaurants and more: Taste the local cuisine at one of the several restaurants within walking distance (about 1 mile) of the villa or create your own gourmet experience at home in the well appointed modern kitchen. The surrounding area also has a number of wonderful restaurants. Enjoy the spectacular sunsets over the ocean or the tranquil sunrises from the main floor patio. Listen to howler monkeys in the trees , watch the parrots chase each other across the large 6 1/2 acre estate or watch iguanas laze in the sun. It is a short 3 minute stroll to the secluded pristine beaches. There is everything to do, but you don't have to do anything.

Activities include:

Swimming - Scuba diving - Snorkeling - Deep-sea fishing - kayaking - Surfing - Boogie boarding - Volcano tours -Golfing - massages, facials, mani/pedicures, mud baths - Zip lining canopy tours, white water rafting, - Monkey, whale, bird, turtle watching - Horse back riding - Mountain bike riding - star gazing

More Details
Hide Details

Our family fell in love with Playa Junquillal the first time we visted and we have been part of the community ever since.

Playa Junquillal is a wonderful place to get away from it all. This tranquil setting has a 180 view of the ocean. We love the peaceful sunrises and sunsets from the balconies, the amazing number of stars at night and the sights and sounds of the ocean. The sounds of nature are all around - the parrots chasing each other across the lawn, the howler monkeys in the trees and the large zappos (frogs).

36 Reviews of Property 303870 in Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica

Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 36 reviews
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Idaho USA
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Thank you Emer for sharing your fabulous home with our family! It is so huge, clean, elegant and well equipped. We enjoyed the monkey's in the trees, beautiful sunsets, ocean views and peaceful setting and the rocking chairs on the patios. We rode horses with Erika on beautiful Playa Junquillal beach. Our son Allen proposed to his girlfriend there - so Playa Junquillal will always be extra special to us. We would love to return.
Thank you again, Gary and Jacque
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Jacque & Gary,

Congratulations on your son's engagement!! The beach is a very romantic place. We have had honeymooners before but this is the first engagement!!

We are glad you enjoyed Villa Las Palmas Real and that it was a special place for you and your family! We are looking forward to your return.

Emer
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Los Angeles
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was my first trip to Costa Rica. I had researched the area that we were going to be in but nothing prepared me for what I experienced. The new airport was a great suprise. There are not many airports in Central and South America that are this nice. The drive to Junquillal was spectacular. The many different sights and sounds along the way seemed to get you into flow of life in Costa Rica.

Upon arriving at the property we found the most beautiful and well maintained home. The two master suites seem to have been nicely upgraded. The walk in closets were nice to have. Both bedrooms have never ending views. The architects touch in using open screens in the bedroom kept the temperature cool for Costa Rica. The family dining table is a work of art. It is made from a single slab of wood and it has been lovingly cared for it appears. The kitchen is new, modern and very usable. The best feature of the house in my opinion is the deck that wraps around three sides of the house. You can find a comfortable place to read and socialize morning, noon or night. The sunsets that can be viewed from the deck are some of the most spectacular that I have seen. From the deck you can talk to the Howler Monkeys and if you are lucky as I was you will see fire flys darting in and out of the numerous trees on this huge property. We spent most of the time at the house sitting on the deck. During the day we went to the beach just down the road and read books and went fly fishing off the reef in from of the house. The beach was crowded if they were as many as five people on it at one time. The changes in the tides are huge. This creates one of the widest beaches I have been on. We too a drive to see the turtles lay their eggs and we also went to the National Park to go ziplining and inner tubing down a river. The restaurants that we visited were as good and in some cases better than five star dining in LA. Although the home may be in a quiet and semi remote area I alway felt safe and secure. I was amazed when told that the water out of the faucet was drinkable. For such a small country they have made amazing and ongoing improvements for their citizens. This vacation home offers everything that one could hope for. It was truley a blessing to be able to stay at your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
San Francisco
4

A gem of a place in Costa Rica

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
It took me almost 4 hours to find a rental on VRBO for my birthday celebration. And I'm very glad I found Villa Las Palmas Real!

Emer, thank you for sharing your home with us. From the moment we exchanged emails & had our phone call, I knew I've picked the right place. The details you provided prior to my visit helped make it a smooth and relaxing vacation. The rocking chairs on the patio was a great welcome on our first day (and during a thunderstorm one night, which was a nice surprise). We had enough beds and space for my friends & family of 7 total. Though it was a bit difficult to sleep at night in the master suites during this summer month since only 1 bedroom in the basement had A/C. It was well over 90 degrees & extremely humid during the day, and the temp wouldn't come down at night. An airconditioned bedroom would've been a nice respite after long days of sightseeing & activities. But its okay, we adjusted & we had extra fans. Suldri took good care of our needs (the daily cleaning & laundry was much welcome).

The reason I picked Playa Junquillal is because of its somewhat remote location. I'm not a "resort-type" of a vacationer, I highly prefer the local scene. And its exactly what I got. We rented 2 cars at Liberia airport to accommodate our group; drove to Santa Cruz for lunch and stocked up on groceries; then it was ~1-1.5 hrs of smooth driving to Junquillal until the last 1-2 km of gravel. It was 5pm, so we stopped at Bar Junquillal to watch our first Costa Rican sunset.

All the activities we wanted to do were within the neighborhood limits: horseback riding by the beach, estuary kayak tour, snorkeling & fishing, massage at home and others. It was also just a 20-40 min drive to other scenes like Lola's (beach bar/restaurant), Villa DeeVeena (delicious restaurant), Canopy Pura Aventura for ATV, mountain biking & zip-lining activities, and Nibanna Beach Bar in Tamarindo (very Cancun-ish but had very good drinks & even better prices). Barra Honda Caves were ~1-1.5 hrs East of Junquillal and Rincon de La Vieja National Park is just 15 mins north of the airport.

Make sure to bring your iPhone playlists, playing cards or even a couple of DVDs to watch to help you retire at night.

We got to know a handful of local people just hanging out, and they couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. Almost everyone spoke English, they take US dollars, and the water is drinkable! Costa Rica truly is a fantastic country. I wish to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Denver, Colorado
4

Wonderful Costa Rica home with great small town feel

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica with our parents (both mine and his) for a week long vacation. This home was very welcoming and was large enough to accomodate 3 couples. The kitchen was fully stocked and the ocean was only a short 1-2 minute walk. We were even lucky enough to have "Raul" the doggie guide us to the beach for a tour where we were able to watch howler monkeys enjoying their breakfast! The home is 'off the beaten path' which was nice because we were able to try the local flavor at the restaurants and get a real feel of Costa Rica. The town was very small and quaint but had some of the best food - the locals were also very nice!

Since Playa Junquillal is so small and doesn't offer much in terms of restaurants on the beach, we went to other local beachs during that day that offered better surfing (for beginneris) and better food. We found that Play Avellanas was our favorite! Lola's, the only restaurant on that beach, offers wonderful food and great atmosphere. This beach is about 20 minutes from the home and offers great surf (and even beginner board rentals!)

Emer, the owner, is also VERY helpful! She had wonderful recomendations and was a huge asset when we were planning our trip. She even recommended a zipline/adventure tour that was by far the highlight of the trip!

The only reason this home doesn't get a 5 star review is because I had failed to notice that only one room (in the basement) was air conditioned. With 95 degree weather (and the laundry machine vent blowing hot air in the home), the house was well over 90 degrees during the days. We were able to cool it down at night (80ish), but it was sure HOT! We also had a lizzard sneak into the basement which offered an extra surprise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Lindsey,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Costa Rica and all of the tips were helpful, especially the zipline day trip. For a small town, Playa Junquillal has some amazing restaurants in the area. Only one is beach front but several have wonderul views of the ocean. We also enjoy going up to Lola's and Playa Negra for additional beach front dining.

I am sorry that the dryer was on while you were there. Usually it is used only when necessary during the heavy rainy season (Sept/Oct) since we have an outdoor clothes line. Thanks for the feedback - I will mention it to Suldri.

It was unusually hot and still during your 2 day visit. The average temperature is generaly 83 degrees in Feb during the day and 73 at night. The lower 2 bedrooms have air conditioning. The upper two master suites have a cross ventillation window system that provides a great cross breeze and usually makes them comfortable. We have both ceiling fans and floor fans to provide additional air movement when necessary.

Sorry about the surprise lizard. It is rare to get unexpected critters inside as we have a lot of weather stripping but it occassionally happens in the tropics.

Regards,

Emer
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Elkhart, Indiana
5

5 Star home in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
If you want to relax on a perfect beach away from it all this house is for you. The beach is deserted and at most might have 1 or 2 people on it when busy. The bar on the beach serves great drinks and awsome food.

The house itself is wonderful and has everything you might need. The view from the porches takes your breth away and is a wonderful place to have coffee in the morning and a sunset drink in the evening.

The best advice I can give is STAY LONGER, seriously! Try to stay about 4 or 5 days longer than you originally plan, because once its time to leave you wont want to.
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Villa Las Palmas Real! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Congratulations on your engagement! It is exciting to have had another proposal by guests at the house!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Minnetrista, Minnesota
5

Best yet in Costa Rica!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I spend several days here in December, at the end of the green/rainy season, having visited Costa Rica from Minnesota 10 times prior. This is my favorite location! The home is beautifully appointed (fabulous and fully equipped kitchen, elegant contemporary furnishings, beautiful marble tile; huge spa like bathrooms) and totally connected with the outdoors. There is a wrap-around deck off the main floor (perfect for "sunsetting") and a large deck off the two master suites on the upper level. Ceilings are high and windows run floor to ceiling. The home is situated on more than 6 acres of land with beautiful gardens, and comes with its own caretaker family. The community is small, but highly connected and friendly, with a private "end of the road" feeling. The beach is stunningly beautiful and populated only by fellow home owners (of which there are few!). Don't miss dinner at Villa deVeena -- perfect for foodies. FWIW, the listing and the photos are completely accurate. The home is spotless, and the owner is incredibly helpful, whether a first time or ten time visitor to CR!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit at Villa Las Palmas and the community of Playa Junquillal!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Massachusetts
4

Worked for us

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We had a very pleasant stay in Junquillal over the Christmas holidays 2010/2011. The accommodations were perfect for our two families totaling ten people. My favorite features were the vast openness of the living area along with the two tiers of very comfortable decks. The beautiful pre-Columbian artwork reminded us that we were in a special place, but we already knew that. Of course, having an ocean about 1/4 mile away added immensely. That the ocean beach was quiet and uncrowded added yet more.
My only complaint, and minor at that, was that the barbeque grill did not work.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Bob,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, enjoyed the spacious house and the short walk to the unspoiled beach. The pictures that Sarah shared from the family Christmas dinner looked like a lot of fun! It is a great time of year to visit with the bonfires on the beach.

Thank you for the feedback on the grill. I understand that the tank was out of gas and there may have been some miscommunication about refilling it. I will follow up with the caretaker and his wife to prevent future misunderstandings. Feedback helps us improve the experience for future guests.

We hope that you will return again to experince some of the additional attactions in the area.

Emer
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Issaquah, WA USA
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This was our third time to Villa Las Palmas Real, and as each time before, it was excellent. The upgrades that have been made to the house since our first visits (1999&2001) were nice. The kitchen is fantastic.

If you are into sunsets, being minutes from the beach, coffee on the patio while listening to the parrots and the monkeys in the morning and a wonderful laid back community, Junquillal and Villa Las Palmas Real are for you.

To top it all off the daily cleaning (except Sunday) by Suldri is great! She does an absolutely fantastic job.

I highly recommend this house and this community. Love it, Love it, Love!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your return visit! We get quite a few return guests and are glad you enjoyed the upgrades. We try to do a little each year in addition to ongoing maintenance. We hope it brought many great memories from your 2001 wedding on the beach down from the house! Over the years we have had weddings, proposals and lots of honeymooners! Looking forward to having you stay again someday!

Thanks again for staying with us!

Emer
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Staying at Villa Las Palmas Real during our visit to Costa Rica was an amazing experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the house, especially the amazing view of the ocean and surrounding wildlife. This house is truly designed to take advantage of the surrounding scenery. The beach was just a short walk away and we had the entire beach to ourselves. Thank you Emer for a wonderful week.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Villa with 180 Degree Vistas of the Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303870
+1 847 384-8024
Playa Junquillal Guanacaste
Pasadena, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

This is a lovely home in which to spend vacation! I go to Costa Rica every year and stay here and have never been disappointed! The house is lovely ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
This is a lovely home in which to spend vacation! I go to Costa Rica every year and stay here and have never been disappointed! The house is lovely and fully appointed with ALL the comforts of home, plus the lovely views and tranquil setting. It is a short walk to the beach, where I enjoy spending much of my time.
I am looking forward to my next trip!
Helpful votes: 5/5