Forgot to tell us about the road!
The only thing special about Kuhio Shores is the location. there is no front desk, no pool and no hot tub. I was quite disappointed in this unit. Let me tell you why: Not ONE picture shows the road that runs VERY close to this condo. At high tide it's better, but all day you hear the louder cars, motorcycles, tour buses and service trucks of all kinds. We re-arranged the deck furniture to face away from it and tried to pretend it wasn't there, but it really interfered with the sound of the waves.
The 'remodeled' kitchen is lipstick on a pig. The only thing new was the counter top. The drawers are so close they can't have knobs on or they wouldn't open and the appliances are OLD! No ice maker, just a bunch of trays and when was the last time you saw a mini Magic Chef stove? It took two hours to bake a potato, so I'm pretty sure it doesn't work right.
The bath is the same story. VERY old fiberglass tub/shower insert and if you're over 5' tall, you have to bend over to get your head wet.
The bedroom isn't large enough for a King bed, a queen would have fit in much better.
I was very upset with myself for booking this unit. Kuhio Shores is by one of the best snorkel beaches on the Island. But next time, I would book a unit in #9 or above to have a FULL ocean view.
Owner's Response: If Kuhio Shores offered the amenities you describe, our rates would be considerably higher. If you chose a 5 Star Resort with the space, convenience and beach proximity of our condo, you’d be paying higher rates per night. We offer a nicely furnished, clean, and complete condo directly on the seashore, at very affordable rates. Fortunately we have many return guests who feel differently and book with us for extended stays year after year.
Following is a response to your concerns:
1. There is no front desk, no pool and no hot tub.
None of the above are advertised; our rates would be considerably higher if our association had to support the aforementioned items.
2...Not one picture shows the road that runs VERY close to this condo…all day you hear the louder cars, motorcycles, tour buses and service trucks of all kinds.
Our photos show the beach as it abuts the road. All the condo complexes on Lawai Rd. abut the road. Although there is some traffic during the day, the speed limit is 25mph and there is no outlet as the road ends near Spouting Horn. Traffic is generally minimal and almost nonexistent after dark.
3. The 'remodeled' kitchen is lipstick on a pig.
We put much thought and expense into our remodel. We elected not to include an ice maker to avoid potential water damage to our unit and those below us should a leak occur while the unit is unoccupied. It is not listed as an amenity. The kitchens in condos tend to be small so the appliances are selected to maximize space. The appliances are all in good working order.
4. The bath is the same story. VERY old fiberglass tub/shower insert..
At this point, we’ve only partially completed the bathroom remodel. A new tiled tub enclosure is in the planning stage. Otherwise, the one we have is clean and in good working order.
5. The bedroom isn't large enough for a King bed.
We originally had a queen bed in the bedroom. We received so many requests for a king size bed that we upgraded. We’ve responded to numerous guest’s requests for a king size bed.
6. I was very upset with myself for booking this unit… I would book a unit in #9 or above to have a FULL ocean view.
We apologize that our condo did not meet your expectations. We feel we offer a quality and bespoke experience at very affordable rates and the units you mentioned have considerably higher rates. We have many guests who feel differently and book with us year after year.
Helpful votes: 7/7
Did you find this review helpful?