Ojochal villa rental - Pool and Ocean View
Pool and Ocean View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Ojochal Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms (sleeps 8)

March rentals last minute at summer season rates!! Casa Ventanas is located a short 5-7 minute drive up from the coastal highway. Location, location, location! Many homes are located 15 minutes or more from the highway. Consider location for your vacation destination! We have completely renovated the kitchen. All new solid hardwood cabinetry, stainless appliances and granite countertops. The kitchen is fabulous. The exterior and roof have been completely repainted with teak exterior ceilings re-varnished April, 2011. 2012 improvements included resurfacing the pool area and installation of a new 5100 liter back up water supply and pool resurfacing and re-fencing. The property is in perfect condition.

This fabulous, extremely private three-bedroom home is nestled on a 6.14 acre private estate in a private community in the coastal foothills of Playa Ventanas, 1 km north of the village of Ojochal on the beautiful four lane coastal highway. Entrance to property is gated. It has incredible views of the ocean, offshore rocky islets, the Terraba River delta and entire Osa Peninsula, and lush, jungle-covered mountains. At the bottom of the property is a river with flowing stream, small waterfall and swimming hole. This lovely layout is perfect for maximum appreciation of the beautiful natural environment on the South Pacific Zone, either for private contemplation or for entertaining friends. The estate is surrounded by banana trees and jungle wildlife, including howler and white-faced monkeys, toucans, parrots, sloths and morpho butterflies. The grounds include a running river and primary old growth forest. Access is 1.5km from coastal highway on gravel road (5 minutes). Entrance to property is gated and access to house is from a 100 meter private road. 4WD ONLY vehicles should be rented.

The beautifully crafted, 2400-square-foot, furnished home features glass, wood, and stone with vaulted ceilings. The home, built in 2000, has 3.5 baths. The estate includes a 20' by 30' tiled swimming pool , with patio area and incredible jungle and white water ocean view over pristine rainforest on 6 acre estate. Entire poolside is decked in stone. The master bedroom suite includes a king-size bed, private bath with double vanity, tub and a shower with porthole. Guest suites have private baths with showers. One room has a queen-size bed and the other guestroom has two twin beds. Each bedroom with individual wireless remote air conditioning. Bedding and towels are included.

This open-concept home has a living room with ceiling-to-floor windows overlooking the ocean and the jungle. The fully equipped kitchen includes a snack bar and dining area. Right off of the kitchen are laundry facilities with washer and dryer.

The Costa Rican jungle is just steps from the door of this home. The Rio Media Luna bounds the estate and the river and running waterfalls and swimming holes are active year round and just a short 5 minute walk down the hill from the swimming pool. Safety hand lines have been added to mark the trail and steps down have been cut to provide for a safe and easy trip down the hill to the river. Travel down the mountainside by car to the nearby pristine beaches, including magnificent Playa Ventanas, renowned as one of the most beautiful beaches in southern Costa Rica. Enjoy the sunset poolside or experience the beauty of a Playa Ventanas sunset. Enjoy the many nearby activities, such as scuba diving, snorkeling, surfing, sport fishing, mangrove tours, horseback riding, waterfalls, canopy tours, and much more.

This area of the southern pacific coast of Costa Rica is best described as a beautiful unspoiled natural area for unspoiled people. There are no beach clubs, no umbrella drinks served by waiters on the beach. Just uncrowded, unspoiled natural wonderment around every corner. No crowds, no tourist buses, no gated communities. Instead you will find an interesting mix of expatriates from all over western Europe, Canada and the USA mixing and working together with the local Ticos. Dining in nearby Ojochal is world class. Local restaurants Exotica and Citrus and others provide dining opportunities not available in other areas of Costa Rica.

Services include water from a community spring, electricity, 172 channel Sky TV with dvd library, and garbage collection. WI FI at the house. Skype phone on premises with USA based phone number with or without computer. Please bring your laptop. House is wireless throughout. Property is protected by a wireless alarm system. Our property managers live above the nearby village of Ojochal and are there to assist you in insuring a wonderful vacation. Mid week maid service is included in every rental.

Ojochal is located approximately 3 1/2 to 4 hours from SJO Airport via the coastal route through Jaco, Quepos and Dominical. Since the international airport is north of San Jose, driving due west to the coast avoids delays getting through San Jose. Given the completion of the Caldera Highway (tollway to the pacific coast), driving is now an easy 3.5 to 4 hour drive from the San Jose Airport. An alternative to either route is to fly Nature Air or Sansa from San Jose to the air strip at Palmar Sur. From there it is a 20 minute drive to Casa de Ventanas. Solid Rent a Car can arrange to have a 4x4 ready for you upon arrival. 4x4 vehicles ONLY should be used due to road conditions in the area. Advance reservations would be required. 50% Deposit fee due upon confirmation of reservation. 50% Final deposit due 30 days prior to arrival. $300 US Security deposit fee payable at check in and refundable at check out if no damages. No pets. On site property manager for arrival-departure and information.

No refunds available 120 days or less prior to check-in date.

No credit will be issued for early departures, late arrivals, or no-shows.

Given the remoteness of the area, guests arriving to SJO airport after 1 pm will need to overnight prior to arriving at Casa de Ventanas the next day.

More Details
Hide Details

Sunset at Playa Ventanas is truly something to experience. This area of Southern Costa Rica is still a magical place for the whole family. The fact that this day is typical instead of special says it all.

Jay

Jay Friedman purchased this villa in 2007

The main reason for visiting this area is the abundant wildlife and the unspoiled area. The mountains plummet to the sea and the privacy and jungle are incredible.

There are several distinguishing characteristics of Casa Ventanas over others in our area. First and foremost size and privacy. Many homes sit on postage stamp lots. This house sits on 6 acres and all surrounding properties are similar and larger. This makes a huge impact on wildlife. More nature; less us! Secondly, we are CLOSE to the highway on a non sketchy road. That becomes huge. The ability to drive 5 minutes down the highway is a big deal. The cinco ventanas road is also in great shape year round. Also a big deal.

54 Reviews of Property 3025376 in Ojochal, Costa Rica

Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
average rating of 4.981132 based on 54 reviews
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
Arlington, Va
5

Perfect location and layout!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We love to stay in different area of Costa Rica. Unfortunately, we just can't help ourselves. Every trip has to include a week at Casa de Ventanas. The location is perfect. It is an easy drive (and I do not say this lightly in Costa Rica!) to activities and parks on the west coast. If you are wondering where the really terrific restaurants are in Costa Rica-- Ojochal, just down the road. Citrus is outstanding. Don't miss the passion fruit sorbet concoction at Exotica for dessert. There are fishing tours, multiple excellent canopy tours, fab beaches, a wonderful horseback/waterfall tour, nature preserves, eco-tours, surfing, and much more.

Every morning we got up early so as not to miss what were often dozens of toucans in the trees around the rancho. Every evening we swim in the pool overlooking the ocean. Howler monkeys are all over the area. Down by the property waterfall, our guests watched coatimundi playing. We have taken friends the last two trips and they have also vowed to return. The beautiful casa is perfect for families and couples. The master bedroom is on one side of the house and 2 additional bedrooms on the other end. Every bedroom has an en suite bath. Everything you need to grill your fresh caught fish or make tall frozen drinks is on hand. The grocery is close by. We stayed in other casas in the area before finding this one. Before you select a place, ask about the drive up the mountains. This casa is only a few minutes drive, you do not have to ford any streams in your vehicle to get there (often the case) and the roads are well kept and wider than many -- allowing two way traffic. Management is great and it is nice to have free skype and internet if you need it to touch base with home. You'll definitely want a mountain view and breezes. Casas on the beach can get quite hot.

If you are looking for a resort with lots of crowds and chain restaurants, this place is not for you! This is a fantastic casa in the middle of all the nature and people the make Costa Rica so incredible!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Linda, you DO know the area very well! It is really great to have others appreciate the details that we put into the house. It is a beautiful area to be sure, but having the comforts of USA standards is not easy! Thanks for coming back to see us and sending your friends as well! Saludos, Jay
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Thank you Jay for sharing your house with us. There were three couples and we had lots of room. Most of our time was spent in the pool or at the gazebo. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. Care takers Dwight and Wendy were very helpful. We appreciated their recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Citrus and Exotica were our favorite restaurants with Azul a close second. Casa de Ventanas is in a great location with so many restaurants and things to do within a very short drive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pura vida Jerry!

Jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
San Antonio
5

San Antonio loves Casa Ventanas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This place cannot be beat! We woke up to the sounds of the howler monkeys in the mornings and sipped our coffe by to pool overlooking the ocean while watching the beautiful tucans and many other beautiful birds. We could stay at the property all day end enjoy the hike to the beautiful natural waterfall or head out to the beautiful beaches bearby, exciting ziplines, or head to Tafiki for an unforgettable rafting trip (our favorite!). This property is just a few minutes away from some of the best restaurants we've ever experienced as well. This is truly a picture perfect vacation spot that can be as relaxing and adventurous as you'd like. I can't wait to go back and my kids would have never left if they could have! Pura vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you guys had a great time!
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
San Antonio, TX
5

An Amazing Adventure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our 4th time to return to Casa de Ventanas, and we are already talking about when we can get there again! The pictures are beautiful, but it is even more breathtaking in person. My family absolutely loves this area and this fabulous house! We brought our kids (8 & 10) and our friends with their kids (10 & 12). It was perfect, very spacious, and enjoyed by all.

This trip was a great mix of relaxation and adventure. Some of our favorite activities were zip lining, surfing in Dominical, off shore fishing, white water rafting, and spending time exploring the beautiful beaches, and dining at some of the best restaurants in the world!

We loved waking up early to the Howler monkeys, enjoying a morning swim, and eating breakfast on the back porch. We would then set out to explore all that Costa Rica has to offer. By far, one of our favorite activities was rafting on the Savegre River at the Rafiki Safari Lodge. This is a must-do! Don't forget to try "the 5th fastest water slide in the world" and remember looks can be deceiving. The guides are very knowledgeable about the river and will point out plants and wildlife along the way. After stopping for a delicious tico lunch, you will visit a beautiful waterfall.
We also loved our fishing trip- we caught 2 sailfish. Playa Ventanas is just down the road and one of our favorite beaches. The food is amazing here- my favorite restaurant is Exotica. Lucy is the owner and always makes the experience memorable with wonderful food and quaint atmosphere. Other favorites include Jolly Roger for a great burger, and Azul for the beautiful scenery and cuisine. All within a short driving distance.

It was always great to return to the house for an evening swim, a game of cards, bird watching, monkey spotting, and relaxing. The house is very comfortable and clean, and Jay was very responsive to any questions that we had.

Thank you Casa de Ventanas for our unforgettable Spring Break trip! Pura Vida 2014
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Hey Natalie; you guys have more fun than us! You pretty much summed up the experience. Thanks for checking in! Pura vida. Jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
5

The Best of the Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We have been travelling to this area of Costa Rica for 13 years. We Have stayed in Jay's place 4 times. We would have stayed more often but it is in high demand. We feel at home as soon as we arrive. We love the location, the close by beautiful beaches the fabulous eating places so close by, the easy access to grocery stores, banks, pharmacies. Everything you might need. The home is a palace spotlessly well maintained with great maid, yard and pool service and an owner who really cares and is available whenever required yet at all times allowing you total privacy. We have been lucky enough to be able to book a month next year and can't wait to get back.
I have read the other reviews and everything they say is absolutely true. This place is the perfect piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow. That is humbling. Thank you for the kind words Murray. The truth is I love that place and I cannot stand the thought of anyone not loving it as much as I do!

Pura vida!

Jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

A week in paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Location-location-location!!! And what a location. We will never forget our first impression walking into the house, the view absolutely took our breath away. Every morning we would have our coffee in this beautifully maintained botanical garden, count all the toucans showing up while howlers monkeys would make sure to be heard. Then, off to one of many outstanding beaches. This was our third trip to this area and it just keeps on getting better and better.
Thank you Jay for sharing your piece of paradise with us. Crazy how we felt at home right away in such luxury up in the mountain overlooking the ocean ! Everything in the house is taught of to ensure your comfort.
Make sure to ask Dwight and Wendy about local activities and attractions. They will share great secrets with you to ensure you have a fantastic stay.
Enjoy your stay. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Genevieve. I guess hiring of the gardener during the rainy season WAS noticed and appreciated. the hundred and fifty plantings are subtle now, but will be incredible after the next rains. Since your stay we did additional substantive work on the house during our follow up stay. We love it as much as our guests! pura vida to all! jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

Take a deep breath....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had the rare opportunity due to the high demand of Casa de Ventanas to spend four months in this amazing ocean view and jungle paradise! From the moment we stepped in, everything was completely clear that our stay would be nothing more than just perfection. From the daily toucan show to the monkeys the immaculate pool and the over the top amenities! When the owner said all you need is your suitcase, he was absolutely right. Everything is handled with exceptional detail from the owners 24/7 availability to the Property Management, El Pariso which took care of anything and everything. This is a amazing house for a short stay vacation with family and friends but in our case four months it was a magical experience. You are safe secure and most all looked after by the amazing team and owner. Memories for a lifetime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow. thank you Janette. Pura Vida. Jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

Going Back Someday, Come What May!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Not so long ago - and all too long ago - we enjoyed too brief a stay at Casa Ventanas. We enthusiastically recommend booking with Jay to all who would plan excellence in a vacation rental experience on the Southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. As evinced by the rich missives in review seen here, many have enjoyed thoroughly their sojourn at Casa Ventanas, in Ojochal, and environs near and far. In fact, the reviews themselves, more than descriptors of fine memories and experiences at the lovely home and grounds, are veritable micro-guides to a plethora of rich vacation opportunities there. Add to these the carefully thought out guidance, counsel and suggestions you'll receive from Jay on any and all matters, and you are good to go! Heed his counsel, too, for there is reason in all!

Restaurants. All of the surprisingly outstanding best in Ojochal have been reported on in many reviews. I've no personal favorite, for each is a different experience, as are creme brulee and chocolate mousse. Sample all about which you have read praise, as they are excellent within their own rich, varied formats! We did revisit The Citris and Mamma e Pappa. Ylang Ylang serves only dinner, and that with a gorgeous venue!

Costa Ricans. You will doubtlessly find these friendly "Ticos" to be as pleasant, gracious and hospitable as any folks found virtually anywhere. Exception: When behind the wheel of an automobile, especially in San Jose, its airport and environs, you'll experience a different creature. Watch out! In fact, when we return, we intend to fly into Liberia (LIR), avoiding the San Jose environs and its airport (SJO) altogether.

More on Ticos. Greeted graciously and most pleasantly everywhere, we were especially impressed with the people associated with Nauyaca Waterfalls experience. All were superlatively professional, the Tico meals were wonderful, and a woman we took to be Don Lulos's wife could not have been more charmingly personable. In short, prepare to be your most gracious, relaxed self; you're going to encounter memorable grace.

Finally, Jay was exceptionally accommodating, accepting my last minute plans and extending all counsel any would want in order best and quickly to prepare for a wonderful experience. As have many of you, I've enjoyed VBRO in the Caribbean on a few islands and in Europe in a few countries. Never have I been prepared nearly as well as by Jay. That was our first trip to Costa Rica: We'll be back; stay longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Robert, I hope that "someday" is "someday soon!". Pura vida. Jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
Crested Butte, Colorado
5

From the Rocky Mountains to the Rainforest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
AMAZING!!!! This place is perfect when you want to find the road not so travelled. The house is perfect for a family or a group palace with great space! I rent a lot of VRBOs and travel extensively and this property has to be at the top of the list! Impeccably clean, KILLER kitchen, the towels, sheets, furniture super comfy. The description/photos do not come close to how wonderful this house and location are. The owner was upfront and honest with any questions I had and beyond helpful in making suggestions. Genuine in his concern that we enjoyed our stay as was the on site property manager. The house is a 10 minute drive off the main highway and the views of the ocean spectacular. Not to mention the monkeys and toucans and birds of every imaginable color. The landscaping was incredible and the pool big enough to actually swim in. Bring pool floats as you will spend a lot of time there! DO NOT miss the hike to the waterfall/swimming pools a short hike away from the house! The visitors center in Uvita is a great resource for activities : Sophia super helpful! Surfing? Find Gibran and company at the Bodhi surf place in Uvita.... Bodhisurfschool.com. Restaurants? Be adventurous and sniff out local. Eat ceviche. Look for signs "se vende pescado" and go back to the house and grill up the fresh catch.

One complaint: the house was so nice, it was hard to leave to explore the OSA peninsula.... Bummer!
Many thanks to Jay for sharing his place!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you, Judy! I am always so pleased when our guests enjoy the Costa Ballena and Casa de Ventanas as much as we do. Saludos. Jay
business
Very Private w/ Big Ocean View/Ac in All 3 BR & March & April Special Discount!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025376
+1 (210) 885 9010
Ojochal Puntarenas
Houston, Texas/Southwest
5

1st Anniversary & 2nd Honeymoon

1st Anniversary & 2nd Honeymoon
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our Visit to: Casa de Ventanas & Ojochal de Osa
Outstanding food, incredible relaxation & awesome exotic birds pretty well sums up our stay at Casa de Ventanas. Our favorite local restaurants were Exotica & Citrus. Gilled garlic fish & ceviche at Restaurnate Boca Coronado our favorite for local color/great food.
The sparkling clean pool at the house defines relaxation. The raucus sounds of 3 troops of howler monkeys kept us entertained throughout the day.
While I realize that not everyone is interested in Neotropic birds; the following is a short list of spectacular birds seen mostly from poolside: Chestnut-mandibled toucan, Fiery-billed aracari, Long-billed hermit (hummingbird), Brown-hooded parrot, Double-toothed kite, Pale-billed woodpecker, Cocoa woodcreep[er, Rouous mourner, Great kiskadee, Scaly-breasted wren, Bananaquit, Cheerie's tanager, Golden-hooder tanager, Baltimore oriole, & Buff-throated salator.
Drive from San Jose to Casa de Ventanas takes 5-6.5 hours. We got a late start and arrived at rendezvous shot after dark - thank goodness faithful Keith was still there to greet us! We were rewarded for our delay whenwe saw a large puma run directly in frount of our SUV just 200 yards before the gated entrance to Casa de Ventanas - an extremely rare sighting by any standards.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Stewart. Although Exotica and Citrus being incredible dining experiences does not surprise me, nor does the plethora of birds come as a shocker, I must admit the puma story does! They are rare even in the Osa. That is incredible that you saw it on the Cinco Ventanas road right below the house. That is a real statement to the ecology. You guys were really lucky! Now as for the drive, I can't figure that one out! Ever since the Caldera Tollway and the Coastal Highway were both completed, the drive is almost always a 3.5-4 hour trip. But, I guess with Costa Rica anything is possible! Saludos, Jay