Austin house rental - Pool Time!
Pool Time!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
5 bdrm, 3 bth on wooded 10 acres 25 min to Austin and 10 min-Circuit of Americas

3500 sf Neo-classic design house with 1500 sf additional covered front and back porch and patios features the following:

•10-12 ft high ceilings with heavy crown molding throughout

•Brazilian Cherry wood floor in all common areas and Master Bed and Bath

•Music is piped throughout house including front and back outdoors along with Master Bedroom and Bath.

•Huge luxurious Master Bathroom retreat includes spa bath with chromo therapeutic lights, television, chandelier mood lighting.

•Over-sized Master Bedroom with striking pool view and access through a 12 foot sliding unit, 50' HDTV

•High end kitchen includes double ovens, warmer, striking granite counters with four bar stools. Plenty of room for gourmet chefs

•Indoor eating sits 12 in dining room.

•Front porch overlooks catfish pond. Activities include paddle boat, flat bottom boat, and fishing pier to hook those large catfish. Plenty of large catfish, fed daily to ensure good catch!

•Backyard patio features a paradise setting with outdoor fireplace with seating for 20+.

•Rock grotto and waterfalls flow into beautifully lighted pool at night with natural landscape surroundings with plenty of privacy.

•Soak away in our Clear water(R) spa with fiber optic lighting and separate sound system

•Outdoor grill, griddle, fryer for those outdoor cooks available.

• Exercise equipment includes Total Gym(R), Weight Machine, treadmill, dumb bells

•Movie and book library, board games

More Details
Hide Details

Hershel is a commercial construction project manager who loves to work on his land, restore classic cars, juke boxes, and coke machines. He loves cooking catfish and craw fish for large groups! While Hershel was building the house, Becky went back to school and received her PhD and Executive Coaching certification. They both love spending time with their family and four dogs.

Hershel and Becky Sandifer purchased this house in 2009

Hershel used his construction experience to build their dream house. They began hosting events for their friends and family which led to the idea of sharing the house with others. Their son and his wife were married down by the pond in a beautiful outdoor wedding.

We chose this land because it was a country setting with plenty of privacy but in close proximity to Austin, San Antonio, Houston, and outlet mall shopping San Marcos.

13 Reviews of Property 3025374 in Austin, Texas

Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

LOVED IT!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This listing was AWESOME!! Everything in the description was very accurate!! We had a great time with lots of great memories made!! The owners were very friendly and explained everything in detail(we didn't have to call them) I would highly recommend this place to everyone who wants a getaway!! Since the weather didn't permit for our kiddos to swim in the pool we took them to Austin Park and pizza and to the aquarium and to a kids museum. We had a great Spring Break!! Thank you
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
4

A delightful Christmas week at Mesquite Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family enjoyed a delightful Christmas week at Mesquite Retreat. We appreciated that the home had been decorated
beautifully for the holidays.

The house was spacious and open. We were able to entertain 20 family and friends for lunch. It was easy preparing meals in the well equipped indoor and outdoor kitchens. The outdoor fireplace with the patio heater was an inviting area to relax and enjoy the outdoors.

The owner immediately responded to several of our inquiries during our stay.

Our teen-aged grandsons especially enjoyed playing pool, watching movies, fishing in the pond,and driving the golf cart.
Several of us enjoyed the hot tub.

The quietness and peacefulness of being in the country gave us an opportunity to get away from the "busy-ness" of everyday life.

We would highly recommend Mesquite Retreat for a family vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Can't say enough nice things about this home and property. It has absolutely everything you could want or need for a fun time. Extremely clean and well-furnished. Beautiful pool, hot tub, and outdoor areas. Quiet location. Owner took the time to walk us through and show us all the features as well as how to work all the electronics. We definitely plan to return!
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

Fantastic, Fabulous, Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
OMG!!! What a great place! Only wish we'd had more time to stay. The place is equipped with everything imaginable. Not like any other place we have ever stayed. Fredericksburg B&B's use to -emphasis on "use to" be our get away place. Thanks goodness for the Mesquite Retreat, we now have a new getaway! Next time, we will stay longer.
Back to this place has everything - towels, kitchenware (real stuff-not plasticware), a Margarita blender, a huge screen by the pool where we watched movies at night with the reflection of the fantastic light system they have in the pool, a game room with another huge screen in there, a pool table, a catfish pond and a golf cart to get you there, even though it is walking distance -I mean everything!!! Maybe I shouldn't be telling the world about this place or we might not be able to get a reservation next time:(
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented this property for our family reunion (12 people/5 kids) and it truly felt not like a rental property but instead a friends house...meaning it had all the amenities of home and then some that you could ever imagine. When we stay at a rental home, its not just a touch base place, we truly live in the house for the week and this home made it easy to do. The owners are fabulous people and their responsiveness to questions was immediate. We got a full tour and explanation on how to work remotes, full-home speakers (we are big music lovers), movie projectors, pool waterfall, etc. The pool and outside movie screen were of course a huge hit with our kids and adults. The outside ice maker and cooler made it easy to keep all beverages cold 24/7 without taking up space in the kitchen fridge. Everything from board games, to cookware (both Keurig and drip coffee pots) and upscale utensils and great knives (can you tell we cooked) were such an added bonus. There were ample clean towels in the bathrooms and the little things that are a pain sometimes like, hand soap, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, garbage bags, and laundry detergent were all well stocked and at our disposal...making it so easy to "move right in". The house was very clean and well taken care of.

I would absolutely recommend this property to other families and hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
Houston
5

Best Rental Experience Ever...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted to have some of our closest friends with us when we renewed our vows. After contacting several other owners with mixed results, we knew immediately when we started talking to Hershel that we had found the place. He and his wife were very easy to deal with and stayed in contact with us prior to the rental. The pictures cannot capture the natural beauty and tranquility of this place and the stunning home they've built here. Stop your vrbo search now and just send them a note...you will be glad you did. We will be coming back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
San Antonio, Tx
5

Fantastic property, great amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Outside of the absolutely beautiful house, with plush furnishings throughout, this is a place where everyone will find something they love.

We caught catfish each day of our stay, rode in the paddle boat, swam in the pool, relaxed in the hot tub, rode around on the golf cart. We cooked great meals including a fish fry of our catch one evening. The pool and outside area are truly the best features of this house.

While it was close enough to civilization if you need it, the location is very private. The owners, Hershel and Becky were fantastic to work with and very accommodating. We will be back!
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

Better than the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Hershel was great and walked us through all the amenities the house had to offer. The pool and lounge chairs kept the girls happy all day while the fishing pond kept our son very busy. The golf cart was an added bonus as well as the giant outdoor projection TV to watch movies every night. We had a fantastic time at this retreat and will definitely look to renting it again next time we’re in the Austin area.
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

Better than the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Hershel was great and walked us through all the amenities the house had to offer. The pool and lounge chairs kept the girls happy all day while the fishing pond kept our son very busy. The golf cart was an added bonus as well as the giant outdoor projection TV to watch movies every night. We had a fantastic time at this retreat and will definitely look to renting it again next time we’re in the Austin area.
business
Mesquite Retreat - Lovely Country Home, 30min to Austin, 10min to COTA track
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025374
+1 5129000052
Austin Austin area
5

Secluded Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house was a blast! We had a group of 10 and had plenty of room and places to be and sleep. Upon arrival the owner took his time to show the property and all of the amenities at our disposal. The weekend we were there it rained most of the time and the sun didn't come out. Normally this kills a getaway weekend but this property and its amenities stepped up and made this weekend a blast. Everyone loved fishing the pond and one guy even caught a HUGE catfish 2ft 6.5 lbs. The NBA playoffs were on and we loved watching on the huge HD projector with surround sound. Also the whole house had speakers in almost every room and was hooked into the TV or an iPod! We also had one guy in our group who LOVES to cook and was drooling at what was available to him in the kitchen. Grilling fajitas and burgers was a breeze on the large gas grill and griddle in the back. If it had stopped raining we would have also taken advantage of the fire pit out by the pond under the stars of Texas. The best part was how secluded it was. You truly feel like you're out in the middle of nowhere but with the luxuries listed above.

I'll keep this place in mind for future vacations!