Woodstock property rental - Cozy up to a romantic fire in the wood-burning fire stove in the winter
Cozy up to a romantic fire in the wood-burning fire stove in the winter
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Woodstock Rental Photos and Description
1-bedroom cottage with wood stove, 2 decks next to stream

Relax and dream in your private Woodstock cottage perched on the banks of a rushing mountain stream that flows through a shared mountainside estate on the south side of Overlook Mountain, just 1.5 miles from the Woodstock Village Green. This rustic 2-story cottage has been lovingly renovated and beautifully decorated with handcrafted imported furniture and original artwork. Prepare snacks and meals in your well-equipped kitchenette and serve them at the dining table by the wood stove in the winter, or on the deck overlooking the stream in the summer! Climb the open stairway to the second-level loft-like bedroom with a cathedral ceiling, sitting area, queen-size sleigh bed, and sliding glass doors that open onto a sunny second-level deck. Or rock in the porch swing that hangs below the deck in front of the cottage surrounded by gardens. Mountain Stream Retreat is the perfect hideaway for a romantic getaway or creative sabbatical. It’s peaceful and quiet, simple and clean, and the natural setting is both soothing and inspiring! Amenities include WIFI, AC, luxury linens, complete set of dishes and pots/pans, charcoal grill and wood-burning fire stove (wood provided).

8 Reviews of Property 3025297 in Woodstock, New York

NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

This was a great unique experience!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a great time and this very special and cozy place to stay. It is situated right by a stream that whispers to you at night. The cottage has 2 decks, (1) upstairs off the master bed room and the (2) on the ground floor. My wife and I both felt like the place was very private, and we really enjoyed the wood burning stove and full stocked kitchen. Really a great place to stay if you want to relax, read, cook and hangout. This is an intimate space, for a couple and I hope anyone who visits will enjoy it as much as we did.
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

A lovely spot for a writing retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I’m so happy that I found the Mountain Stream Retreat! I was looking for a quiet, secluded spot to take a solo writing retreat for myself, and this was perfect. The soothing sounds of the nearby stream – and the occasional deer sighting! – kept me company during my stay. I took full advantage of the upper deck, just outside the bedroom loft, where I would have writing sessions while soaking in the sun in the morning, and then watch the bright rising moon and listen to the orchestra of nighttime critters in the evening. It was so serene and peaceful, and (literally) a breath of fresh air from the daily grind of New York City living.

Judy, the property manager, was very friendly and welcoming upon my arrival. There were also fresh flowers on the stone steps and on the dining table to greet me, which was a thoughtful touch. I also saw Claudia, the homeowner, a few times and she was very nice and made sure I was comfortable during my stay. Even though the main house is mere steps away from the cottage, all their windows are on the other side of the house, so you still have a great deal of privacy.

The bed is incredibly comfortable, along with the assorted indoor/outdoor chairs and loveseats where I found myself reading and/or writing. I loved the high, vaulted ceiling of the bedroom loft, which made the room airy and spacious, and allowed for lots of sunlight to come in. The kitchen is well equipped with your basic cooking needs, and they even provide salt, pepper and olive oil in the pantry. I lucked out with the weather, which was warm and not too humid, and only needed the fan to keep me cool, but there is an A/C unit if you need it. It’s a short drive (5 minutes) into the Village Green to buy food or explore the area. You could certainly walk or ride your bike down, but be advised that the road is pretty steep and curved at times (it’s on a mountain, after all!).

Woodstock itself is a very cool little town, with restaurants, shops, a photo museum and a lovely library. The restaurants all seemed to close fairly early, but the places I ate served tasty food. Judy gave a great tip on where to park to avoid driving through the town circle, which gets pretty congested, so make sure you get that info from her.

All in all, this was the perfect hideaway where I was able to enjoy my solitude and get some work done. I hope to return again for my next writing retreat! Thank you, Judy and Claudia!
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

A True Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I wish I could accurately describe the haven that is the "Mountain Stream Retreat." From the bed to the linens to the bathroom, the tiny but well-stocked kitchen, the decks (where I sunned myself in the morning, wrote during the day, and ate dinner on during the evening), the vaulted bedroom ceiling, the decor, the peace, the quiet, the sounds of the stream, the garden, the wonderful smells...everything...everything about this little retreat is pure heaven. It is a wonderful, incredibly needed break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Wonderful weekend escape

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I surprised my fiancee with a weekend escape for her 30th birthday, and she loved it! I loved it too. We arrived late on Friday evening to a warm and inviting home away from home. Beautifully lit and tastefully decorated - a true retreat from the big city. Ideally situated close to Woodstock, but with a touch of wilderness. We would definitely visit again; hopefully sooner rather than later.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Mountain Stream Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed here for two nights and it was lovely. Cozy and close to the main house, but we didn't see anyone the whole time. The owner and manager were very attentive if we needed anything and the location was perfect.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Cozy and charming

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Small and cozy. Well furnished with everything you need. Sweet and simple. Although it is very close to the main house, it is set up in a way that feels very private. I really enjoyed my stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
Dubai, UAE
5

Two Week Stay at Mountain Stream Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I stayed for two weeks in February at Mountain Stream Retreat and cannot speak highly enough of it. I live in the Middle East and was looking for a rural retreat to write, relax, hike and generally wind down. The location was absolutely perfect and very handy for hiking at Overlook Mountain, which was stunning in the recent snowfall. The cabin itself is extremely well appointed and beautifully decorated. The owners could not be more welcoming, friendly and helpful. I cannot think of one single improvement. Nestled in the woods, it offers complete privacy and a stunning woodland and stream setting yet handy for Woodstock and local amenities too. A real gem!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NEW! Mountain Stream Retreat: Rustic Elegance, 2 Decks, Wood Stove!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3025297
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Winter Wonderland

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a wonderful stay at the Mountain Stream Retreat. We arrived shortly before a snow storm and woke up to a winter wonderland. Snow removal was excellent both at the cottage and on local roads. The setting was beautiful and the cottage met our needs. We enjoyed local food, shopping and activities. Woodstock was a five minute drive to shop and eat at great restaurants. We were a short yet gorgeous 20 minute drive to Kaaterskill Falls which we hiked and five minutes (if that) to the Overlook Mountain trailhead. We woke up every morning to hear the stream bubbling beside us and saw deer all the time. This was a pefect place for two who want to get away from it all for a while and vacation in a perfect setting with something nearby for everyone.
Helpful votes: 1/1