Rindge cabin rental - Sunset at Higher Ground
Sunset at Higher Ground
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Rindge Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 bath + convertible bed(s), great bass fishing

Called 'A little slice of heaven' by one renter, this scenic property captures the beauty of rural New England. The cabin is a modernized 1903 cottage with 1100 square feet of comfortable living space that includes three bedrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen and one full bathroom. Fully furnished and delightfully decorated, the living room contains an American Leather sleeper sectional (in fabric and a queen plus size bed) with maximum seating for relaxing. The sizeable screened front porch is also furnished and a great place to watch the exquisite sunsets or enjoy the lake and mountain views. Other amenities include washer, dryer, iron, stove and microwave. Outside, there is a wide 1300 foot hiking trail down to the private lakefront beach. Two inflatable kayaks are available for fishing or recreation. There is a great sand pile for the kids as well as a wonderful place to swim, have fun, picnic and relax. With an occasional chime of church bells from Cathedral of the Pines the property has become known as Higher Ground to those who have stayed and enjoyed the beautiful creation.

Higher Ground is owned by Ryan and Heidi Townsend. It is a retreat home that is used for meeting family and friends. We own a furniture and design business and have a passion for creating spaces people will enjoy and love. We decorated Higher Ground with the goal of making it functional as well as serene and beautiful. We hope you come and enjoy this little slice of heaven as much as we do!

Ryan Townsend purchased this cabin in 1996

I (Heidi) was raised in Rindge and while returning home to visit family, I stumbled on this beautiful property in 1996. It was nostalgic and reminded me of a summer cottage my parents had owned when I was young. Higher Ground was originally built by a professor from Boston College in 1903 as a summer home. It still had some of his original belongings in the barn in 1996. I instantly fell in love with the charm of the cottage and the beauty of the landscape. Since it borders Cathedral of the Pines, the first day I was there I heard the chimes playing. Instantly, I felt a heavenly tranquility that is still there to this day. It holds some of my most treasured memories raising my children: horseback riding the many trails nearby, canoeing on the lake, hiking, campfires in the evening, swimming in the early mornings and just relaxing! It truly is a retreat from the hustle and bustle of a fast paced life. We hope it will be that for you too. Blessings!

This property is on a paved road but is completely secluded. It has a 6 acre field as well as beautiful woods to explore. The lake has a 50 foot cleared beach area and has no public access, making it quiet and serene.

9 Reviews of Property 3023600 in Rindge, New Hampshire

Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Wonderful little getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The cabin was just as described. The exterior is quaint, and the interior is immaculate and beautifully decorated. We were very comfortable -- the cabin had everything you could need. We cooked an elaborate meal one night and didn't want for any kitchen tools or utensils. We enjoyed a hilly jog to the nearby Cathedral of the Pines one morning. The sunsets over the lake were gorgeous. We even had pretty good cell reception from the cabin (though it was nice to be mostly unplugged), and the tv got the Golf Channel, which was very important to certain members of our party.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

3-generation family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had three generations staying at Higher Ground for a week. The Pack 'n Play was a helpful surprise and lightened our packing load. This cottage is clean, comfortable, well-provisioned and easy to live in right from the moment of arrival. The photos hardly do justice to the incredible view of Mt. Monadnock, the broad grassy hilltop that surrounds the house and the private sandy beach. We brought our croquet and bocce, and used the outdoor fire pit for s'mores one night at sunset. The kayaks are fun for a paddle, and provided a sense of adventure for a nearly two-year old. Turning into the driveway is like passing through a door to a real live New England post card, and when you turn the corner to see the field and cottage it takes your breath away. Jessica, the local property contact, is efficient and available to answer any questions that might arise. We walked to Cathedral of the Pines, had ice cream at Kimball's, and two of the guys hiked Monadnock early one morning.
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Very private and really good

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed the stay and it was really good. Waiting for our next stay.
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Quintessential New England

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
When we arrived at Higher Ground, we left our troubles at the gate. Higher ground is a step back in time (with all the modern amenities). The sight of the house takes you to a turn-of-the-century New England. It is not possible to trouble one's self with the the stresses of home while sitting on the porch with the view of the lake and Mount Monadnock while the perfection of a New Hampshire summer comes to a peak all around you. The house was perfect in every way with all of the basic essentials provided. The lake at the bottom of the hill is crystal clear and perfect for swimming and kayaking. The nights are starry and peaceful, and there is nothing that will bother you in this oasis. We will most certainly be back. We wish we never left
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

Higher Ground

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A place to stay and enjoy! My wife and I and three year old son stayed for four nights and had a great time every day. The cabin is clean with modern appliances that are in great shape. The decorating is top notch and lends a nice atmosphere to the cabin. The property managers made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. My three year old was in heaven digging through the sand at the top of the hill and also down by the lake. Especially nice was the ability to use the provided boat for fishing. Every morning my son and I went out to fish and caught some bass each day. Campfires at the lakes edge each evening were a perfect compliment to the day. We highly recommend Higher Ground.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
5

New Hampshire Cabin on lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cabin was adorable. I was completely impressed by the decorating. The pictures are very accurate in showing this. It was very clean and neat. The sleeper sofa was so comfortable to sleep on and very large. The cabin had everything we needed. We woke up to a beautiful scenic mountain view coffee in hand. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a get away. Every evening there was a beautiful sunset. We enjoyed the outdoor furniture, the lake, hiking, a bonfire, cook outs and relaxing. What a great place to slow down and enjoy life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
Lyman, SC
5

Mother of 3 small children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Higher ground is very private. The driveway is almost hidden off a small town road, then when you reach the top of the driveway, the cabin, a large open field, and gorgeous views open up. It is beautiful and serene. The cabin itself is adorable, clean, and comfortable. The decorating is amazing. It is 3 bedrooms, but one bedroom is only semi private because you have to walk through it to reach the third bedroom. (with my small children this worked fine) The cabin is great for visiting, board games, and sitting on the porch is amazing! The kids LOVED it. The walk to the lake is a little hike. With my baby and life vests etc, it was a handful, but when we got to the beach...it was worth it. I didn't expect that much private lake frontage! It is a totally private beach great for swimming with a sand pile for the kids. We had an amazing time! The weather was gorgeous. If you want to eat out I recommend Kimballs in Jaffrey. I'm definitely coming back. Oh...I loved it. Warning..it may be hard to leave . ;)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
Maryland
5

Charming, Peaceful Cabin...Can't wait to go back!

Charming, Peaceful Cabin...Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Higher Ground took my breathe away from the moment I pulled up the driveway and saw the huge, green field overlooking the mountain and lake. We spent most of our time on the front porch enjoying the beautiful mornings and gorgeous sunsets. Just like the description says, we heard the church bells from Cathedral of the Pines echoing off the lake! Glorious!

The kids loved Higher Ground with the plenty of space to run and play. They felt like it was an adventure taking the short hike to the lake, jumping off the rope swing, playing in the sand, kayaking, fishing, and exploring. The cabin was nicely renovated and is beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped. The only thing we needed to buy was food. The shower has surprisingly nice water pressure! There is no lack of seating. Everyone was very comfortable. Do not be fooled, this place can handle some people.

I would definitely recommend this listing to anyone who enjoys tranquil mornings, has kids, or wants to relax, fish/hike etc. This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever enjoyed, and we will for sure be returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 1903 Secluded Cabin on 14 Acres with Lakefront and Mt. View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3023600
+1 3607982927
Rindge Monadnock Region
Tamuning, Guam
5

A secret haven - relaxing and beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Higher Ground is one of the most peaceful places I have ever been to in my life. The pictures do not do it justice. The lake is amazing and the kids had a complete blast! Looking at the pictures I was a little nervous about it being old, but it's been completely redone and it's spotless!! the decorating and furnishings are over the top. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a total relaxing fun filled vacation spot. Thank you for letting me come and completely unwind at your beautiful home! I cannot wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway