Kohala Estates house rental - Time to Relax
Time to Relax
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kohala Estates House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Eia Makou (Here we are!) is the name of our fabulous home with both gorgeous ocean and mountain views. For decades our family traveled to the Big Island. Our kids grew up learning Hawaiian dances and Polynesian culture. Finally, we were able to buy our dream home, and now we share it with you. Please see reviews submitted by our guests, many of whom return every year. Hawaii is special. A Hawaiian Kahu blessed our home, and we have furnished it Hawaiian style, with every modern amenity blended into the spirit of Aloha. The furnishings reflect the combination of excitement and relaxation and all are in the Hawaiian tradition, from the lime and lemon trees (pick your own) to the historic Hawaiian memorabilia on the walls. There are TVs in all three bedrooms as well as in the great room. The kitchen is as complete as one could wish. Eia Makou is the perfect spot for family bonding and offers a base for exploring the diversity of the Big Island, from beaches to volcanoes. E komo mai ('please come in.')

Key Words: Vacation Home, Private, Pool and Spa, Ocean Views

More Details
Hide Details

Perfect spot for whale watching and temperature.

Close to everything important to visiting Hawaii. This home is located just 10 minutes from the best beach on the Big Island, Hapuna Beach. There are also 5 other beaches within a 20 minute drive to choose from.

Just 3 miles down the road you can catch your Whale watching boat that leaves from the Kawaihae Harbor, along with sunset cruises, deep sea fishing expeditions and scuba diving excursions.

There are excellent restaurants serving Local fast foods as well as Seafood, Gourmet pizza, Pacific Cuisine, Sushi, Burgers, Ice Cream and Shave Ice, along with night time music and dancing. 4-5 star restaurants are within the 20 minute driving range, and shopping for just about any and all tastes can be found at the Waikoloa King and Queen shops. For even more options try The Shops at Mauna Lani. Also located at The Shops at Mauna Lani is a full grocery store so that you can stock up on what you need.

The weather is consistant here with only 7 ' of rain on avarage per year.

22 Reviews of Property 302330 in Kohala Estates, Hawaii

Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
The Sea Ranch, California
5

Paradise continued

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
It is our 3rd year in this lovely home--each time we stay longer, and we have already booked it for 6 weeks next year. Obviously we love this home, and agree with all the positive reviews others have written. The owners continue to maintain and upgrade this pristine home each year; this time--new beds, TVs in all the bedrooms, and a new barbecue. The manager was always immediately responsive and helpful with any questions or small issues that arose. We drove to Mauna Kea beach most days to run/walk/swim and enjoy the beach, but we loved returning to the home each day for a leisurely lunch outside, whale watching, lap swimming and reading, and the hot tub at sunset. We had exceptionally good weather plus many days with calm seas. Also enjoyed shopping and lunch in Havi, the petroglyphs at Mauna Lani, the cats at A-bay, paddle boarding, dinner at Pueo's Osteria, takeout pizza from Cafe Pesto, toasted coconut ice cream just down the hill, and fish tacos at Kohala Burger. Costco plus the farmer's market (papayas!) and Kamuela liquor (great wine store in Waimea) kept us supplied with wonderful dining-in options. Many thanks to the owners and the manager for making our stay so enjoyable. We are looking forward to next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was our second visit, and we would not consider staying anywhere else. The views are fabulous, the pool is great, and the house is better equipped than our own home. A significant bonus is the fresh fish market right down the hill. We rarely ever ate at a restaurant! The house maintains complete privacy with beautiful landscaping. The owners/manager are more than accommodating. Truly an excellent vacation rental home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Berkeley
5

Perfect relaxation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family was very pleased with the home, as it had everything we wanted and was well-maintained and very comfortable. The weather was perfect and the sunsets stunning. Although we had to drive to enjoy the beach, we were able to get to Hapuna And Spencer State Beaches pretty easily. We enjoyed fish tacos at the food truck next to Da Fish Shop, and had a fun day in Hawi shopping and enjoying great sushi rolls at a little restaurant there. We would like to return, but it will be hard to have a better vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Los Angeles
5

Half Ironman Crew

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is the second time we have stayed in this house. We couldn't be more pleased with it! We are starting to call it our home away from home-because it truly is! You literally want for nothing there-everything is at your fingertips! We only went out once to eat as the kitchen and grill are fabulous! The pool is so great our kids didn't even want to go to the beach! The management team is incredibly helpful and friendly. We have already reserved it again for next year-another plus for us is that it is right up the street from the bike race of the half ironman, making it easy for us to follow our athlete.

Thanks again for the amazing stay and see you in a year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Seattle
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at this home for a week during our spring break with our two daughters and another couple. We all had a great time. The girls swam in the pool every day and it was only a short drive to some fabulous beaches. The house is very comfortable, clean, and the house rules were all very reasonable. The property manager had lots of helpful information and was very responsive. We'll definitely stay there again the next time we go to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Seattle, WA
5

So perfect, we didn't want to leave!

So perfect, we didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was a very well equipped and super comfortable house. The owners had really thought of everything. The house is very well designed and maintained. It opens nicely to a big, covered patio and the pool area. We had all of our meals outside and spent our time swimming in the pool, or reading/hanging out in the hammock and other areas around the pool. The weather was absolutely perfect and it was fun to watch both sunrises and sunsets from this house. Hapuna Beach (an absolutely gorgeous beach) is only 10 minutes away and we were glad to have the boogie boards and beach chairs from the house. The kids enjoyed the ping-pong table, board games and pool toys. The kitchen was very well equipped. All in all a very comfortable stay and we'd happily rent this home again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Bay Area, California
5

Restful and Relaxing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We have stayed at a number of Big Island hotels, and staying at the Way's home was the most relaxing by far. The accommodations exceeded expectations, yet they were not so fancy or formal that one would feel uncomfortable. Perfect balance! Thanks to the lovely jacuzzi and ocean views, we were happy to spend many hours relaxing at the house. When we wanted to go out, we found the location to be very convenient. Some of our family favorites included: shaved ice in town, feral goats and sea turtles on a nearby walk, the botanical garden north of Hilo (a bit of a drive, but well worth it), passion fruit cake in Waimea, etc. etc. The Ways gave helpful suggestions (see their postings in the house). Healani was the best property manager EVER. Her suggestions were great and she was very responsive to any questions we had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Washington State
5

Much more than expected!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a wonderful home! The house was all that was promised and then some! My very large family visited the Big Island and rented two houses in Kohala Estates. While both had different advantages, Eia Makou was by far the nicer house, and I was very grateful for the opportunity to stay there. It was close to many wonderful beaches and golf courses and provided easy access to day trips all around the island. In the evenings the pool, hot tub, and ping pong table made hanging out quite relaxing. There is a large sharing library as well as a nice selection of board games and videos. The well-appointed kitchen made meal preparation easy. Whenever I had a need to communicate with our VRBO contact, Healani, she responded quickly and gave us lots of good suggestions for places to visit. One piece of advice - bring bug spray! There are mosquitoes in the area! Other than that, though, everything was wonderful!! We will definitely go back again if we return to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
El Paso, TX
5

Very Tranquil

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Had my first experience with VRBO, so I did not know what to expect going in. The property was above my expectations. We had another couple join my wife and I. Great 10 days at the house. A few minor property issues, but our calls were always answered in a friendly and timely manner. Thank you Healani. This is a great home base to visit the island. You can get anywhere in a timely manner. The home itself was great as it had 2 private wings and a great central living area. Pool was perfect. Great views from every room in the house and back yard pool area. We would, and will go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Sunsets, 40' Solar Heated Salt Water Pool With Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302330vb
+1 (808) 938-0149
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
The Sea Ranch, California
5

Perfect Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Agree with the other reviewers that this is a spectacular home—gorgeous, very clean and modern--with beautiful views and so much attention to detail to make your stay perfect. Healani could start her own school to coach VRBO managers on how to manage a property. Arriving to a welcome card, breezes blowing through the windows, music playing, and little treats on the counter just set the perfect tone for the rest of the trip. We had our “routine” of driving to a nearby beach to walk/run/ swim/snorkel, then returned to the home each afternoon for lunch on the lanai, lap swimming in the large and warm pool, hours of reading on the beautiful lanai, watching the sunsets, soaking in the hot tub, and cooking dinner. Especially loved the master bath shower, the comfortable living room furniture, spacious and clean feel of the home, and all the extra amenities—soaps/gels/cooking supplies, travel books and guides to the local area, and fantastic Tommy Bahama beach chairs (which we have now bought for our home). Healani was so helpful and responsive, suggesting favorite beaches and a nearby spot to view the whales (they appeared right on cue!), and even a great hair salon. The Big Island is now our favorite of the islands. We loved this home and the area so much that we are returning for 5 weeks next year—we can’t wait!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway