not well maintained or particularly clean
at a glance from the pictures provided it looked great with the exception of a couple minor things like almost transparent curtains (which we were told would be ordered. but later turned out that there was a problem with shipping) and the lack of a stove. upon arrival the door code we were given did not work. we were about 15 minutes early but also notified the owner/manager days before hand so that there wouldn't be any issues getting in. we were told the earliest we could get in was about 30 minutes in advance and that the code would be changed early for us. obviously it wasnt. luckily the cleaners were still next door cleaning and saw us struggling and came to the rescue. we looked the place over and felt let down immediately when we noticed a couple things right away. we were shorted the number of towels we needed, and that some sill had tags (directly from the shelf to the closet) and that the floor was filty enough that we couldnt walk on it barefoot. still more issues worsened the trip like dealing with a door handle that was so poorly installed that it fell off upon our third use of it (which disabled our ability to leave at our leisure til it was fixed) and landscapers that let themselves on the property (front and back yards). when they cut n trimmed the back we had the doors open because it was so hot and there is not kind of a/c so as you can imagine clippings were blown inside. because of the problems we asked that they refund 1 days cost and instead they offered to completely reimburse us if we left then. not fair! trying to find a place to stay while you're on vacation seems redundant. in short if youre ok with staying in someones garage thats kept up at their leisure this is the place for you. it wasnt for us
Owner's Response: We regret that you had such an unpleasant stay even after we had addressed every issue that you brought up. As a property manager, we have two main goals: 1) to be very clear about the features of our home and 2) to be as responsive and accommodating as reasonably possible. Our listing description indicates that our studio has a kitchen area and no mention of a stove, although there is a stove attached to the BBQ. We do not list having air conditioning either. Our pictures also reflect how the studio appears and additional pictures were personally sent to you upon request prior to your arrival clearly showing the curtains as they are. To be accommodating, I placed an order for thicker curtains and paid for them once you informed me that you felt they were too sheer. I sincerely apologize that there were shipping delays and they did not arrive during your brief stay, but I assured you that you were not in people’s view since we manage the adjacent home and are aware of the view from there.
As with any home, maintenance repairs are needed from time to time and sometimes this occurs during a guest’s stay, and on the Sunday evening that you had arrived and informed me about the door handle, a repairman was on the property repairing it 3 hours later, and we encouraged you to go out and enjoy yourselves instead of waiting for him. We had also made a special accommodation for the two of you by providing 14 towels for your 5 night stay, and although a few had tags on them, you were not lacking because we provided replacements shortly afterwards. On the night that you arrived and we spoke about the complaints you had, you had asked for a night’s refund at that point for the doorknob needing repair, for 2 of the 14 towels having tags on them, and for the curtains being sheer. I did not believe these 3 complaints warranted a full night’s refund, and in realizing how unhappy you were, I offered to give you a full refund instead and help you find another place to stay, one that you would be happy with, especially since all of our accommodations were not appreciated. Unfortunately, you never mentioned the dirty floor or the landscapers, but we would have quickly addressed them. I genuinely regret that you did not have an enjoyable time at our home and that it wasn’t the place for you, although we strive to make it a clean and comfortable place for everyone. Almost all of our guests find that our studio is the place for them and are eager to return.
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?