Bigfork house rental - A tranquil view of mountains & river, looking east, from boat dock on site
A tranquil view of mountains & river, looking east, from boat dock on site
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bigfork House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

This unique setting allows you to slip into several different vacation modes. If you opt for a day of seclusion, this getaway tucked into its own peaceful 10 acres of riverfront, offers multiple outdoor activities, coming with boats, bikes, volleyball, badminton and horseshoes.

Indoors, the 3,100 SF log home features large windows on both levels, offering expansive views to enjoy while sitting or reading. The upper level den includes a 60-inch high-def TV and blueray player. And you'll find high-speed wireless internet and desk with fax/printer/scanner/copier, to accommodate anyone on a working vacation.

When you move outdoors, you might sunbathe or fish on the dock, paddle upriver, or use the lawn & sports equipment. for games.

The trip into Bigfork is short, either on the biking/walking nature trail, or via a drive of less than 5 minutes. Bigfork offers dining, art galleries, live summer theatre, and the marina opening onto Flathead Lake. It is a 30 minute drive to Kalispell, and its Glacier Int Airport (FCA). A visit to Glacier National Park, or the Bob Marshall Wilderness Area, 45 minutes away, is unforgettable. In the same area is Whitefish, and its ski area. Surrounded by so many majestic mountain ranges, a new road or trail always beckons.

Keywords: waterfront, majestic mountain views, log cabin, 2-story house, large family, large group

More Details
Hide Details

Coming from ranch backgrounds, we both grew up in Wyoming, went to college there, & still work there. The photo shows us & our grown children on horseback in the Bighorns.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

The majestic mountains & multitude of river & lake activities drew us into the great outdoors, during visits to family in Swan Valley. Days spent on the water or hiking trails felt like we were visiting paradise. The get-away atmosphere is enhanced when visiting the quaint village of Bigfork, with its restaurants, shops, & even live summer theatre. We were always wanting to return to Bigfork!

The cozy, log-cabin ambiance & its roomy 10 acres, the unobstructed mountain and river views, the allure of boating & fishing; & the 5-mimute proximity to both Bigfork, & to the biking/hiking path.. all this this told us we'd love being here.

11 Reviews of Property 302195 in Bigfork, Montana

Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
5

Don't let this one slip past you!

Don't let this one slip past you!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A true Montana experience!!! We arrived on a foggy, cold, rainy day. What a gift to wake up the next morning to a crisp blue sky and a beautiful view of the river and mountains! I'll start by saying, I'm a snob when it comes to rental properties and hotels. This place is top notch! First of all, the place is sparkling clean! It has a very unique charm to it and the amenities that are included are way more than what is listed! All of the bikes, canoes, kayaks and other equipment are high quality and well taken care of. I definitely didn't expect that from a rental property. Want to do some cooking while you are there? Don't worry about having to buy spices or condiments, it's all supplied! I have never stayed at a rental property where I felt like I was staying with a friend. Very welcoming! We have two boys, 17 and 12. When we first arrived, they saw the huge TV in the awesome bunk room (not pictured), but they were so busy canoeing, fishing, swimming, and just enjoying the outdoors, they hardly ever turned the tv on. The river is very slow moving, so canoeing up river is no problem at all, and it is crystal clear!!! The property manager, Deb, was fantastic. She was so nice and helpful and she lives near by. She was always a phone call away if we have a question and she was always so nice. We spent some time at Glacier National Park, which was a very easy drive to get to, but we found we loved to just hang at the house. This place was worth every penny!!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
perrysburg, oh
4

GREAT SETTING!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Ditto to all the things stated in the other reviews! Our family of 6 (ages 28-63) had a wonderful reunion of sorts! Son & his wife from Missoula. Daughter and her husband from Seattle, and we are from Ohio. Beautiful setting, charming well-stocked home, centrally located. Great kitchen for family dinners. Went canoeing, horseback riding in Kalispel (Lonesome Dove Ranch), dinner in Big Fork, Glacier, and fishing. Too early and water too high for any bites though!
Owner and manager were easy to work with. Had a great time! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Grand Rapids, Michigan
5

Dream Montana Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Running Wild made our family's first trip to Montana amazing! The large log ranch was welcoming, had all of the amenities including a huge wood-burning fireplace that kept us warm on those early June nights, upgraded laundry machines, loads of bikes and other gear for fun activities, and direct access to a spectacular view of the Swan Mountain Range that drew deer to the backyard nightly - we even saw a moose! The bike trail nearby was a great feature of the home's location as well - it was about 3 miles to downtown Bigfork via the trail. The location overall was very convenient to visit Flathead Lake which was incredible, as well as travel to surrounding wildlife and hiking spots including breath-taking Glacier! Glacier National Park was beautiful and Running Wild was the perfect property to welcome us after long days of hiking. There was definitely enough room for everyone to have their own space as needed as well as gather for meals, puzzles and cozying up to the fire with a good book. We would highly recommend this property. It provides a great base for area activities (hiking, golf, etc) or for just relaxing on the expansive property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Alamo, CA
5

What an Amazing Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family stayed at Runnin Wild Ranch this summer and had an incredible time. The location couldn’t have been more perfect! You are 2 miles from Bigfork, connected by the Swan River Nature Trail right down the lane, we used the trail daily to get to town either on bikes that were at the house or by foot. The house is right on the Swan River and has great amenities for swimming, kayaking, fishing right off the private dock. There was never a need to leave the property, The property is spacious and charming..We highly recommend it and would love to come back and stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Sweden
5

Looking forward to another stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We know how beautiful the area around Big Fork is as we have family in the area and have spent many wonderful summer holidays in this part of Montana. Despite that, Runnin' Wild exceeded all our expectations!! The spacious log house is so beautifully situated on a hill overlooking the Swan River and the Swan Mountain Range beyond. The house is furnished with wonderful comfy furniture that made us feel right at home. Everything was thought of, even a stack of cowboy hats to get us into the western mood. We were a large group but the house was spacious enough for us to gather together for meals and games. It was also easy to find a quiet space for reading, watching tv or surfing on the internet (we had a number of teenagers!). We made good use of the grassy volleyball court, the dock down on the river (cold but very refreshing on 90 degree days) and the mountain bikes. The owner was very helpful with information during the booking process and the manager, who met us when we arrived, was friendly and helpful. We can highly recommend Runnin' Wild and look forward to another stay there in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
5

Montana Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I went online to find a cabin near Glacier National Park for my 2 sons, ages 19 and 26, and husband. We are from northwest Georgia and wanted to see Montana during the summer.

When we pulled up to the cabin, we were in awe. It is a cabin of true charm. The views are absolutely beautiful. We were only 30 minutes from Glacier, and everyday we could come back to this serene, beautiful cabin. We would cook out on the back and look at the Swann River and snow capped mountains.

The cabin was very clean and very organized. I wish my house was that organized. They had very nice mountain bikes for my boys to ride with trails close by. The whole family enjoyed the hot tub at the horse barn. The quaint town of Big Fork was just a nature trail away.

The cabin is very spacious with an upstairs den for the boys. My husband and I wanted to see what the georgeous fireplace look like lit, so we had a July fire. We will be back, perfect accommodations for a family!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Whitefish, Montana
5

GORGEOUS, COZY AND CLEAN.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This property is magical. The rustic log home is stout and sturdy and a perfect shelter while you snuggle next to a fire or play games as a family on the massive kitchen table. The beds were my favorite part, however. The linens are downy soft and it I felt as though I was enveloped in a toasted cloud....I could have slept forever in the "mini-master-suite!"
I would highly recommend this private property to anyone wanting a true taste of what Montana has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Santa Rosa, CA
5

LSC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our 8 day stay at Runnin Wild ranch, which was set in peaceful and beautiful area. The log cabin was large and comfortable, and decorated in a rugged "Montana" style complete with wonderful antiques. The ranch was well located for our trip to Glacier Park, Whitefish, Kalispell, Bigfork, Flathead Lake and the surrounding area. Bigfork is a great little town, where we enjoyed the shopping, annual art fair and the summer theatre. Don't miss the Miracle of Amer'ica Museum in Polson, south of Bigfork - the collection of antiques and Americana is unmatched. Also, dont miss the National Bison Reserve. This house is the perfect place to stay on your next trip to Montana. The owners were personable and available for questions and the house had everything a family could need or want on vacation, including wonderful HOT showers! We definitely recommend this vacation rental for your ideal Montana vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Long Island, New York
5

Beautiful House on the River!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Rented this house with our 24,21 and 16 year old kids. It was so comfortable and relaxing! The house had everything we could have wanted or needed. It has the best kitchen for some family meals. We also had a great time on the river with the kayaks and canoes. Beautiful views and lovely property!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Log Home on Swan River with Boats, Beautiful 10 Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p302195vb
(307) 745-5235 (Wyoming, USA)
Bigfork Flathead Lake
Washington State
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed here for a week and were quite happy with it. It is on a large lot; the only person we saw was the occasional caretaker and we only saw him twice (once when he arrived and once when we wanted to ask him about the fishing. There is a well manicured lawn around the house itself, with plenty of room for badminton, boules, throwing the football - much of the equipment already provided at the house.
We spent most of our time outside, or sitting around the fireplace inside at night. We fished the whole week from the canoes with every lure and bait we could think of and caught only one pike, but we had a great time doing it. There are options for fishing in the area and on the lake that we could have easily explored had we been more motivated. There is a firepit by the dock as well.
The owners were nice, forthcoming, and responded quickly to any questions we had. All in all an excellent rental.
I should also mention that the country around Flathead Lake is beautiful and full of great opportunities; the lakes, Glacier, the towns (Bigfork, Whitefish); all make for great day trips.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2