Folly Beach house rental - House, ocean facing side. Marsh side also has decks on both levels.
House, ocean facing side. Marsh side also has decks on both levels.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Folly Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 12)

This home will offer you a very rare, best of both worlds Folly beach experience, situated between the marsh and the ocean. The house has decks, front and back, both levels. The back decks have views of the marshes, folly river, the folly lighthouse and Charleston, but most memorable of all are the sultry sunsets and sometimes… after dark the fireworks in Charleston. There is a tidal canal in back with a crabbing dock – a dolphin has been seen cruising up and down this very canal! The front porches have views of the ocean and on the second floor are open to the night sky and the incredible number of stars. Access to the beach is directly across the street. This home has been completely updated this year, with a well stocked kitchen including an icemaker, lots of outdoor living spaces and a pool table. This is a weekly rental (Sat/Sat Only)

The picture posted is our family photo of all the 'cousins' from our get together last year. As the kids were growing up we spent every summer on the beach along the southern seaboaad - making lots of memories, as my mother-in-law so aptly expresses it. We hope that you will have a wonderful experience in our home and this will become a cherished memory for your family too.

Tim or Susan Johnson purchased this house in 2012

This all started with our love of Charleston, the historic scenic small but cosmopolitan city. We have been travelling there for over 15 years, exploring, eating, shopping and just hanging out. And then there's Folly, with it's eclectic group of surfers and hippies and BMWs, mansions and shacks. Everyone is super friendly and there is always an unusual experience to be had. While the house is the best of beach and marsh the location is the best of city and beach - juxtaposition - right?

You will be lost in the views of the marshes, they simply wash over you and make you forget all your worries and put you squarely in the present, in this moment - where there is no better place to be. Pure relaxation.

10 Reviews of Property 424661 in Folly Beach, South Carolina

Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
south lyon mi 48178
3

Stay at Folly beach rental

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I was extremley satisfied with location, home, appliances. The photos online did not give the home justice, it was beautiful compared to the pictures. But as for clean, it was dirty and having a baby crawling he was filthy from the floor and lots of dust. Counter tops were not wiped. Other than that I would recomend family and friends and myself to stay there again. But if to do so I will be comlplaining of there cleaning service! I just didn't have time to deal with that, I was there for a wedding and in it and had no time....
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry about the poor cleaning. We are going to begin the process of looking for a new cleaning service for the next rental season.
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Anderson, SC
5

Awesome Folly House!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My Husband and I visit Folly Beach every year and have stayed at several other houses on the island..this house is by far the best one yet!! The views from the porches are picture perfect!!! We hardly left the upper porch swing!! Literally a stone's throw from the ocean! Fully stocked kitchen and plenty of space..we couldn't have asked for anything better! Thanks so much for sharing your little slice of paradise!! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
charlotte nc
4

lovely home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was a very upsetting check in the house was lovely the views are awesome however we found the house dirty the floors were dirty the furniture was dusty the bathroom floors were dirty the kitchen sinks were very unclean with pieces of food in them the living room tv did not work the linen we received had clumps of black hair in the towels. When I called to complain they tried to tell me the dirty floors were from us checking in which was not the case, they said the towels sometimes come out of the dryer with hair in them I found that to be unacceptable, so we really had to clean when we checked in very disappointing also we had to wash the linen. They did send a very nice gentleman to fix the tv and he came promptly had us setup in no time. I doubt we will return to this beautiful home only because of the rental agency and their very poor customer service in all the years I have been renting beach homes this was my first disappointment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that the experience was so upsetting with our property manager. We have spoken with the owner of Holland Realty and provided them with this feedback - this is not the experience we expect our guests to have. Holland has agreed to add a named property manager to our property who will conduct pre-inspections prior to our guests arrival to ensure this will not happen in the future.
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Best House on Folly Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We have rented a lot of houses over the years and this one topped them all. We immediately felt at home! Having the ocean on one side and the marsh on the other was a special treat. The decks, front and back on both stories of the house gave different views at different times of the day. Sunsets on the second floor back deck were spectacular. We loved the little written directions posted discretely through out the house which prevented us from having to call the realtor: how to use the TV, how to lock the door etc. While we don't usually stay in the same place when we go on vacation we would consider a return to Folly Beach and this wonderful house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Kings Mountain, NC
4

Graduation weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented the house for three days to attend our granddaughters graduation from C of C. The house was everything we expected and more. With a very well stocked kitchen, plenty of towels and an open floor plan we were able to accommodate our party of 12 easily. The ocean view in front and marsh view in back from either a large screened porch or open deck above made for a very nice choice of gathering places, although you have to carry your chair to the open decks. There was a nice assortment of games , DVD's, surf boards and even a kayak. The house was very clean except the floor could have been washed and the mattress in the master bedroom is ready for replacement, I can't speak for the others. My only regret is that we were not staying longer. I would recommend this property. We had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The bed in the master is a brand new sleep number. May have needed more or less air for comfort.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Charlotte, NC
5

Winter Weekend at Folly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent a March weekend getaway at Folly Beach at this home location. Though it was a chilly, the homeliness of this beach house warmed us right up. The simple things provided hours of entertainment and relaxation: comfy couches with warm quilts in the family area provided a great environment for cuddling up with a warm cup of coffee in the morning or for catching an old school movie in the afternoon and maybe a nice nap. The pool table in the family room was great as well - we played for hours! One of the favorite spots of the home during the early warm hours is at the top of the stairs on the deck - the sun shines right into the home and there are beautiful views of the ocean to enjoy; in the evening you can spend hours looking at the stars too!

The book of recommendations the owners left for visitors about the area was very helpful; we took their advice : Breakfast at Lost Dog cafe, Folly Beach Crab shack for lunch, Tides Beach Bar (inside enjoying the views of the cold ocean) and mexican at Lost Dog for dinner one evening. Do NOT miss a trip to Berts for your weekend groceries! They had a great selection of wine, cheese, beer and snacks for chill time and the employees were extremely welcoming.

We'd highly recommend this home for weekend getaways for any number of people. There is plenty of space for everyone and the kitchen area is uniquely large for big family/friend entertainment. The home was spacious and clean and the decor beachly tasteful! We plan to return with a larger group some time during the warmer days as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
4

Great house!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family and I stayed here the week before my wedding. The house and property are gorgeous. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is surprisingly well equipped, and everything was in working order. The views from the porch were spectacular! I loved everything about this place. The pool table was a great form of entertainment. There is a kayak provided by the owners, which I thought was a wonderful touch. The owners also have a book with instructions and information. It was such a wonderful and personal touch.

The only complaint I have is the rental company that manages the property. They were very rude and not accommodating at all. The cleaners took the bath mats out before we arrived and we had elderly people staying there. We were concerned for their safety in and out of the shower. The realty company told us we could go buy mats and that there was nothing they could do for us. There were a few more issues with the company.

Overall, we were very pleased with the rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are sorry about the experience with the rental company and we are sharing your feedback with them directly.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Charleston, SC
5

WHAT AN AMAZING HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife, 7 month old, and I recently stayed at this amazing house. It was even better than the photos looked. The four decks allowed us to look out at the beach from the front decks and watch the sunset each night over the marsh from the back decks. We paddle boarded off the dock and were able to walk across the the street to the beach which was basically our own "private beach". We live in Charleston and were looking for a nice easy relaxing vacation. This house provided the perfect spot to call "home". Having been coming to Folly Beach for 10 plus years i would recommend this house to anyone looking to have a fun getaway to Folly Beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Charlotte area
5

Views are outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed the well and comfortably furnished rooms. Fun art work, Unusually well-equipped kitchen,
Pool table is a real plus. The owners have thought of just about everything to make a vacation experience a special one. Sunsets over the marsh are awesome. The ice machine was great! I would recommend this to anyone--in a heartbeat. We ate at The Grill--on the Edge. Wonderful dinner. We didn't go in to Charleston, preferring the relaxing atmosphere at this house. However, this world-class city is about 15 or 20 minutes away with all it has to offer. We shall go back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rare Marsh and Ocean View 5 Bedroom Beach Home (Weekly Sat/Sat)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424661vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Mooresville, NC
5

NC lax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a perfect vacation home! This house will accommodate and meet all your needs. Lots to see and do with breathtaking views out every window! My family really enjoyed this home and we hope to come to Folly again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2