Corolla house rental - Castaway Cove
Castaway Cove
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps13
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
 

Corolla House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

Come to CASTAWAY COVE!!

Rents Saturday to Saturday, partial stays available in the mid and off season.

April and May weeks on 10% Discount!!

Gather the family, pack your bags, jump in the four wheel drive, and come to Swan Beach. With room for two to four couples plus a few kids, this house is sure to please.

** Like horses? The wild ones are all around this area.

** Bring Rover - it's pet friendly!

** Feel like hanging out at the pool?

** Need things for the kids to do? How about air hockey, darts, X-box and video games!!

You'll start your perfect day watching the sun come up over the ocean, and then maybe off to the beach. You might like to spend the afternoon around the pool, enjoy a sunset from the crow's nest, and dinner grilled and enjoyed on the deck. Afterwards, sit down and take in a DVD in the media room.

Just 3 miles from the end of the paved road.. Oceanviews from the upper decks and crow's nest and just about 900 feet to beach. The custom here is to drive to the beach, park right there in the middle of the beach and have all your stuff handy.

Four wheel drive required. You must drive 3 1/2 miles on the sandy beach to access home. All wheel drive vehicles not recommended.

Beds: 2 Kings, 2 Queens, 2 Twins, 1 Pyramid Bunk (Double on bottom, single on top)

UPPER LEVEL:

Great Room

Kitchen

Dining Room

Media Room

Half bath

Screen Porch

King Master Bedroom

MID LEVEL:

King Master Bedroom

Queen Bedroom

Queen Bedroom

Two Twins Bedroom

Pyramid Bunk Bedroom

2 Full Baths in Hall

Hot Tub on Deck

LOWER LEVEL:

Game Room

Laundry

Pool 10'x25' Heatable

Outdoor grilling area

This property is managed by Carova Rentals which serves the 4WD area exclusively. We are a small local vacation rental company able to provide personalized concierge service, including a beach escort to your house if you are unfamiliar with driving on the beach and the off-road area. Bed and bath linens are provided in season, and you will find sufficient toilet paper, paper towels, soap, and drinking water to get you started.

Carova Beach is convenient for families with children and older folks because it is not necessary to walk to the beach. You can load beach chairs, coolers, and beach toys into you truck or SUV and drive to the beach. You will set up right next to your vehicle and pets are welcome on the beach.

Keywords: Beach House, Carova Rentals, Vacation Rentals, Swan Beach, Cottage, Castaway Cove

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 301770 in Corolla, North Carolina

CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
Stanley
5

Awesome Family Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our families first time in OBX and we had a amazing time. The house was absolutely huge!!! The beds were comfortable beyond belief, the whole house was clean, neat, well stocked (way more than we expected) There was a nice extremely informative binder waiting on the kitchen counter for us with everything we would need to know while there for vacation. Plus each room had a sealed package of towels, wash clothes and hand towels were all provided we just brought our beach towels. Bed linens were also provided. we had a issue with the pool on Memorial day, i sent a text to Karen and she quickly responded and then sent someone out within a couple hours to fix it, we had another issue with the pool on another day and before the end of the day it was fixed again. Excellent and courteous service. The wild horses were abundant and were all around the house, the beach, ect, we have some amazing pictures. There is also a outdoor shower that is covered, private and....Has hot water...simply amazing as i was expecting only cold water. There are 4 main rooms that all have sliding glass doors that go out to the porches, 2nd level are right convenient to the hot tub and was clean, hot and comfortable (there were a couple of us that have never been in one so it was a true experience). Oh and there are beach chairs, seats, buckets after buckets of beach toys for the Children so don't worry about getting any of that to drag along to your vacation as it is all provided. Including swimming equipment, boogie boards, ect. the pool area has a abundant amount of tables, chairs, recliner chairs for sun bathing and a outside bar right under the deck! The whole house has Central zoned AC which kept us very comfortable. The kitchen is huge and well stocked with every pot, pan, dish, silverware, cup, wine glass, shot glasses, kids cups, little kids silverware ect. there is also a booster seat and a nice pack-n-play. hmmm....i don't know what else i may have forgotten...well anyways we are already booking this same Amazing place for next yr oh and it has amazing sunsets and sunrises and is not even a minute drive to the beach!!!!!!!! Thank You Karen for making a memorable Family Vacation we are all excited and counting down the days until we come next May!! You ROCK!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tina for your kind words. I love when people enjoy their stay!! Got you booked for next year!!
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We planned this getaway because we wanted something special for a family vacation that we would remember for years to come and THIS WAS IT! The home is beautiful, spacious, and more than we could have dreamed of. There were more than enough amenities to get us started and more. The location of the home is great, not to close to surrounding homes so plenty of privacy. Karen was fantastic to deal with and even met me to guide me to the house the evening of our arrival because I had never before driven on a 4 x 4 beach area. Once I mastered it I loved driving it! We traveled with our 2 dogs, a 1 year old and my elderly mother and it was perfect for everyone. an elevator would have been helpful but, definitely not a deal breaker. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect family vacation and we are planning on making it a Traditional family trip for years to come. Waking up next to the Ocean is one of the greatest gifts. I haven't slept that good in years and never have I woken up to such incredible views and sounds, it was tranquilizing. The horses that run wild are breath-taking, we had at least 7 horses in our yard at a time and were simply amazed by their beauty and grace. I would recommend this home to any large family looking for a perfect oceanside vacation. God willing, we will return next year and many years to come. Thank you for an unforgettable time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
2

Could be a nice house

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just returned from a great week at the 4x4 beach in NC. OUr children who are adults, without children traveled a long way to be with us. The beach is awesome. For the house, it was a disappointment! Upon arrival to our home we found it to be below expectations. Item by item is listed.
Upon entering the property there was no evidence that the home had been cleaned. Sand was COVERING the carpet to where you couldn't see the carpet. This area is also not air-conditioned. The refrigerator is broken in that there is no ice maker, and it took several days to get anything cold. It was set properly upon arrival, just inadequate. The air hockey is not functioning, as not enough air blows out for the table to work. There are also loose pieces on the side hanging, a hazard for small fingers and children. The outside shower was covered in used toys and TRASH. Boxes of muffin mix, fruit and other trash items were in the shower. It stunk like garbage that had sat.
The pool turned "green color by Tuesday. I notified Karen who said someone would come on Wednesday. No one came, so we bought pool chemicals and shocked it ourselves, and did not use for two days.The upper level had very dirty rugs, a room with mold all over the carpet, perhaps from a leaking door, bathrooms with trash on the floor behind doors and trash cans, and best of all some one's fingernails. The furniture had sand on it, bedspreads were dirty.
The kitchen is well appointed, but the stove takes 3-5 minutes for the units to heat up if you don't start everything on high. There were plenty of plates, glasses etc, but lacked a potato peeler and small kitchen knives, like a parer. I travel with my own knives, so we were fine, but a warning for others. The X-box upstairs is unusable, as the charger is gone. The one downstairs had all the pieces, but it was hot and humid in that room.
We spent an entire day cleaning and washing rugs on Tuesday, due to weather, and the way we live. We also changed the air filters which were so clogged and nasty.
Karen was notified of the house condition immediately after we arrived. We did not arrive early. We were promised vacuum bags and then promised a housecleaner. None arrived. She never called to talk to us or follow up.
Finally every night we had to do a spider patrol. This house is FULL of spiders. It needs to be fumigated on a regular basis.
Loved the beach and the area, but will not rent this home again or from this agency. I hope the owners read this and go by.
Owner's Response: Oh my goodness, I am very concerned about this guest's dissatisfaction! I truly hope that guests would notify me of any issues with the house so they can be attended to promptly. The toll-free number is available 24 hours a day!
I was aware of the sand problem. The cleaners were out of vacuum bags, so I arranged for a housekeeper to come back with her own vacuum. It was not until check-out that I learned she had never arrived. The pool vendor did go by as requested to care for the pool. The following items will receive immediate attention: air hockey table, outside shower, and X-box. The refrigerator mentioned is a spare in the game room. It is a spare because it has no icemaker. The kitchen refrigerator is brand new.
FUTURE GUESTS - Please contact me immediately by telephone (rather than a brief text) if there is anything I can do to make your stay more pleasant!
~ Karen
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
Franklin, PA
5

All Around Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house was the most awesome house that we have stayed at so far. We all loved it so much that we reserved it for next years vacation before we left the Outer Banks. The location was perfect, the house was perfect for our large group and it was in GREAT shape. It was well stocked with items that we have always had to bring with us. The house was very clean and Karen was wonderful!!! We called her several times before we arrived with questions and she was amazing! The views and the horses were fantastic. We weren't pinned in close to the neighboring homes so we didn't need to worry about noise at all. I would recommend this house to everyone! We can't wait for next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
Audubon, PA
5

Fabulous Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Castaway Cove is absolutely beautiful! Every room is perfectly decorated, clean, and comfortable, as evidenced in the pictures! The kitchen is fully stocked and has plenty of room to work. There are even enough supplies to get you started...dish soap, wash cloths, trash bags, spices, coffee filters, etc. The owners even left a very thoughtful gift bag for us, when we arrived.

We had 5 adults and 4 children in our group, and there was more than enough room for all of us. We all mentioned that our beds were very comfortable...best sleep I've had in a while. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and relaxing in the hot tub. We also liked the ship's watch, but wished there was an umbrella and furniture up there. We spent a lot of our mornings drinking coffee up there, and evenings sipping wine while watching the sun set.

We had a hard time leaving Castaway Cove, so we would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking for a quiet beach vacation. We would love to stay at Castaway Cove again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We will get some chairs up to the ship's watch!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
Canton, Ohio
5

Serenity now....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We absolutely loved our stay at this house! I am surprised that some reviewers said there were no toiletries available. We brought our own, as we always do when renting a private home, and found that we didnt even need to use everything because it was already there. This included paper towels, toilet paper, garbage bags, hand soap, dish soap, dishwashing detergent and shampoo. We found that all of the TVs worked just fine. We loved our welcome basket and Karen was wonderful. I would definately stay here again! Remember, you are in the 4 x 4 area. You are here to enjoy the peace and serenity of this beautiful area. Thank you so much for allowing us to make amazing memories! My boys will always remember waking up to the wild horses and watching the dolphins! Priceless!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words Noelle.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
Cincinnati
4

Private beach and plenty of room

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Before you decide to rent this house, please read my helpful hints:
1)Everyone in your party MUST have a 4x4 vehicle. Driving on the sandy beach is the only way to get to the house. If you or someone in your party does not have a 4x4 vehicle, they will not be able to get there.
2)Do not wear a lot of sunscreen in the pool. Wearing sunscreen clogs up the pool; therefore will need to be backwashed every other day.
3)Do not adjust the temperature below 72 degrees. It will freeze and then not work properly.
4)Bring lots of charcoal. The grill is large and will require a lot of charcoal if using more than once.
5)Don’t assume that all of the TV’s work as only 3 in the entire house were operable.

The wild horses were nice and the private beach was great! Our dogs had a blast as that was their first time to the beach.

Overall, the house was plenty big and decorated in a beautiful nautical theme. The house could have been cleaned better prior to our arrival; however we did have clean sheets and towels. The house is equipped with everything that you could imagine; however you will need to be prepared to bring your own toiletries (toilet paper, napkins, paper towels etc). The air filters in the house looked like they haven't been changed in several months. Once we replaced them, we could breathe much easier. I would recommend this house to anyone who does not plan on driving into town everyday, who wants to be isolated from the traffic and public and who is just looking for a place to relax while enjoying the amenities of the private pool and hot tub.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: This guest offers some good tips! However, be assured all the TV's do work, but only three offer satellite. The others can be used for DVD viewing. I am concerned that this guest thought it could have been cleaner. I am of the mind that housekeeping is of the utmost importance!! If anyone ever has a problem with that or anything else I hope they will contact me right away!! The air filters are changed monthly, and were due the next turnover. This guest was so nice to change them for us. I am pleased that everyone had a good time, including the dogs!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
CASTAWAY COVE - May weeks discounted!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301770vb
(877) 346-6034 (Toll Free)
Corolla Outer Banks
Silver Spring, MD
5

VERY NICE! Getting to the beach was a piece of cake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We loved this house. The entire family fit nicely, it was big, it was easy access to the beach and the house was well stocked with every imaginable item.

However, the grill was a Charcoal grill. It was huge and hard to use at first. If you plan on staying here bring lots of charcoal!

AWESOMELY STOCKED IF YOU HAVE SMALL CHILDREN. It would be SUPER helpful if there were a list somewhere of what you already had available - I hauled my highchair and toys.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8