Marathon cottage rental - Living Area and Fireplace
Living Area and Fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Marathon Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

3 minutes from the heart of Marathon, Texas, there's a retreat that's unforgettable. From sunrise to sunset, the landscape is alive with wildlife and a peaceful quiet that will calm your mind and sooth your soul. Walk out onto the covered patio to observe birds, butterflies, geckos, turtles and frogs in your own private preserve. Unwind to a view that goes on forever.

Big Bend National Park is only 60 miles away. Alpine and Arga offer shopping just a few miles to the west. Hiking, biking, shopping, restaurants and friendly folks make your stay at Casa La Vista your west Texas getaway for keeps.

Arrive at Casa La Vista and be impressed by a rustic exterior. Inside all the comforts of home await you!.

Keywords: Sweet 2 bedroom casita, with one full bath, full and stocked kitchen, fireplace. Pond outside fantastic bird and wildlife watching. A peaceful quiet that will calm your mind and sooth your soul.

I purchased this rental because it was contiguous with property I already owned. I had lived in Marathon for 6 years and knew this would be a worthwhile invest for me and an opporunity for travelers to enjoy a very unique experience in West Texas

9 Reviews of Property 301724 in Marathon, Texas

Casa La Vista, Baby!
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Houston
5

Casa La Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Casa La Vista is a true beauty. The house is just as it looks in the photos and you are provided with everything that you need. The house is clean and well-maintained and you will leave wishing that you didn't have to. The sunrise and sunsets are magnificent and the night skies are breathtaking. I highly recommend spending an entire week there if not more. My family was there for a week over New Years, second year in a row, and hope to continue the tradition.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Odessa, Tx
5

Great time !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My nephew and I stayed here and had a great time. Very comfortable lodging, home away from home. The scenery is beautiful and the view of the stars at night is breathtaking. Accomadations were excellent with full kitchen, very comfortable beds and furniture. Easy reservations and the property is very well maintained. I highly recommend this wonderful house for your vacation lodging.!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Alpine, TX
5

The best property in Marathon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We all just loved the place, and missed out on music Friday night in town because we didn't want to leave. Even more amazing, we left the Post early Saturday night, just to get back to this lovely house! We weren't there during the hot part of the day, so didn't use the swamp cooler, but the evenings were very comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
San Antonio
4

Beautiful Home with Spectacular View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This is a charming home with amazing views of the mountains -- must-see sunsets! We loved our stay at Casa La Vista; although we were (also) surprised that there was no A/C. We were in the area during record-breaking heat, and we found the house to be very warm during the afternoons. Heating the oven to cook was also out of the question beause of the temperature in the house. If it's important to you - - the wi-fi as advertised, is a single bar borrowed from the hotel down the road. Connectivity is intermittent at best. Perhaps this is a good excuse to put away the electronics and enjoy all that Mother Nature has to offer. We would definitely return to this lovely home, but would plan a trip during the cooler months.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I have now added a swamp cooler to Casa La Vista and have renters over the 4th of July. I will ask them to post a review and let us all know if it cooled things off. It has been unusually hot this summer in Marathon, however July and August are typically the coolest months in the summer as that is our rainy season, with afternoon thunderstorms. Quite a treat!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Dallas, TX
4

Really nice, but surprised by lack of air conditioning

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is a lovely home, beautifully decorated, clean and well-maintained. And because it was built so recently, it never occurred to me to check if it had air conditioning. With temps hovering in the low 100's during our stay, even the thick walls, ceiling fans and window shades just couldn't keep the temp in the house from becoming uncomfortable. Fortunately, nights were cool, so by about 8:30pm, it was quite pleasant and sleeping was great. We enjoyed the area and toured Big Bend, Terlingua, and several other spots. The drought is obvious, but the scenery is still amazing. We would stay again, but maybe when it is cooler and we could enjoy the cozy wood-burning fireplace!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Dallas
5

Beautiful and serene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
From this charming and comfortable house, we watched deer, quail, and roadrunners through our large picture window and witnessed beautiful sunsets while sitting on the back porch. We felt so relaxed we didn't want to leave. The peace, quiet and serenity of this part of Texas is unmatched. Casa La Vista is the best place within the Big Bend area to enjoy this unique beauty. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Houston, TX USA
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This was our first experience with a vacation rental and it was truly better than could be expected. Absolutely beautiful scenery and house, great decor, and spotlessly clean, plus the fact it could accommodate all of us comfortably was a big draw. Very private location with breathtaking stargazing and wildlife. And the owners were extremely accommodating and friendly! Can't recommend this place enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
St. Louis, Missouri
5

Fabulous Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Enjoy a panoramic view of far west Texas open country from the porch, living room or bedroom.....an inviting and warm great room open to the kitchen. The surrounding area offers west Texas at it's best for a diversity of interests....art galleries...unique clothing boutique...quiet bookstore...unexpected mouth watering cuisine...local coffee shop......and mother nature at it's best at Big Bend National Park.
I know this is a place friends, family or anyone seeking a unique experience would enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa La Vista, Baby!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301724vb
(432) 386-2222 (Texas, USA)
Marathon Big Bend
Fredericksburg TX USA
5

Casa la Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Arrived near sundown; sweet April breeze coming off the mountains. Clear skies, roadrunners and desert songbirds aplenty.
House interior is beautiful, spacious, none of that "new" ambience you get from recent renovations.
The big seller for me is the million dollar view, complete privacy and safety, and a quiet you won't find within 20 miles of any Interstate anywhere. No light pollution; gorgeous night sky.
Clean, comfortable home with beautiful living room/picture windows, windmill and pond, easy access to Marathon/Gage Hotel and the rest of Big Bend country. Gets my vote for the best stay in West Texas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3