Capitol Hill apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Capitol Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment 2 bedrooms plus Convertible, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

Sunny two bedroom Garden Apartment in one of Capitol Hill's oldest and most Historic homes. The house was built in 1876 and is registered in the National Historic Conservation Trust.

Located on East Capitol Street facing the East side of the Capitol Building. Simply walk out of the apartment and get a terrific view of the Capitol Building.

This (2) two bedroom (1) one bath garden apartment has been recently refurnished with leather sofas, local artwork, oriental rugs, custom blinds, comfy beds, 400 count sheets and plush towels. Each bedroom has its own flat screen TV with cable connections. This unit has wireless internet.

The property is lined with windows allowing for wonderful light throughout the apartment!

The master bedroom has a queen bed with a flat screen TV and a large closet. Furnished with plenty of drawers and closet space. The bedding is 400 count sheets and extra pillows

The second bedroom has bunk beds that are great for kids or teens. The bunk beds have wonderful mattresses with 400 count sheets and comforters. Perfect for children or teens but adults will be comfortable as well!

The large sofa in the living room folds out to a comfortable double bed. This garden apartment is ideal for two or a family and can sleep up to six comfortably.

If you are driving, off street parking is a must! This apartment comes with one off street parking space for your use 24 hours.

The fully equipped kitchen is nicely appointed with all the cookware you need for a grommet meal with dishwasher, stove, oven, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, microwave,and lots of cabinets. There is a washer and dryer in the unit.

Our property comes with two bikes for your use! Please feel free to use our bikes (if you like) and discover how easy it is to get all around Capitol Hill. Pop over three blocks to Eastern Market for groceries or organic local produce or walk over to 8th street to 'restaurant row' where there is a restaurant for every palate!

Capitol Hill is one of the oldest neighborhoods in DC. Most of the early residents were members of Congress. As the neighborhood evolved, row houses were built and Capitol Hill began to grow as a city within the city for families and Washington's Who's Who! Many members of Congress make their homes on the Hill. Don't be surprised if you walk by or sit next to at a restaurant, someone you will recognize.

It is an easy walk to the US Capitol, Senate Office buildings, Supreme Court, Library of Congress and Folgers Shakespeare Library. Close by are all the Smithsonian Museums on the Mall including the National Gallery of Art, Air and Space Museum, Museum of Natural History, National Archives, American Indian Museum and more.

There are three meto stops on Capitol Hill. Just a few stops away enjoy the theater or movies at Gallery Place. Shakespeare Theater Company performing at Sidney Harmon Hall and the Lansburgh Theatre, Verizon Center with basketball and hockey. H Street, Georgetown, 14th Street Corridor and Adams Morgan are all within easy access.

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 418771 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
average rating of 4.6551723 based on 29 reviews
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Southlake, Texas
5

Spring break vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Karen couldn't have been nicer. The apartment is in a fabulous location for easy walking to Eastern Market, Lincoln Park and of course the sights on the Mall. The kitchen and bathroom have many staple items like paper goods, olive oil and trash bags that make a temporary stay so much more convenient. Can't say enough good things about the handy parking spot--a driveway! I will definitely be staying here again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Perfect spot to walk or Metro to everything in DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is one of two basement apartments in a substantial Capitol Hill home about 8 blocks from the Capitol Building. The apartments have their own entry to the street so it is a private place while still being near the owners if you need them. The owner has thought of everything to make your stay a good one from bikes and scooters in the spring and summer to umbrellas for the winter. We stayed during the "Polar Vortex" the coldest DC day in 20 years and it was warm and toasty inside. This is not a huge apartment but more than big enough for two adults and two adult sized teenagers. It has excellent cooking and laundry facilities and all the little touches like laundry liquid and pantry basics were provided. A hairdryer is provided which was excellent. A great thing was the Metro cards which we just had to add money to to use while in DC and then leave behind for the next tenant. Being close to Eastern Market we had no shortage of places to get supplies for dinner. All in all I would highly recommend this place for your DC stay. We would stay again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Edmonton, AB Canada
5

location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Perfect location for walks to visit the capitol. Bikes available for those not up to walking. Attentive owner. Clean apartment. Well appointed. Comfortable. We are frequent users of vrbo and this unit is among the best we have experienced.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
St. Louis, MO
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 4 weeks this fall, and it really was a home for us. The location was fantastic: A safe, residential neighborhood, with easy walk (or really easy bike ride) to the National Mall and its museums, or metro stations and on to the rest of DC and its attractions. The apartment was clean, pleasantly furnished, well maintained and had all the amenities listed, and more. Big plus for the bikes provided and also the off street parking space included with the rental. We had some initial problems with WiFi that the owner corrected immediately. There was also a bit of difficulty with cable TV that the owner was very responsive to, but the cable company never really worked it out. The owner and friendly, helpful and welcoming. I would highly recommend this rental, and hope to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Rent This Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
You cannot beat the location and quality of this property. The bikes that come with the rental include locks and helmets and save you 70 dollars a day in rental fees. You won't believe how close you are to the capital and national mall. Another huge factor is the quality and variety of restaraunts available a short walk away. Stay in a different area and you will be taking cab rides or metro back here to eat. Apartment was extremely clean and well appointed. There was coffee, creamer in the fridge, an almost brand new washer and dryer with soap provided. Linens, towels, TV, and owner communication was great. Owner also provided metro cards for us to reload at the station and leave for the next person. Getting to reload the cards rather than purchasing saved us another 24.00 dollars and was an awesome suprise. Property is very quaint and makes you feel like a local!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Cincinnati, OH
5

Wonderful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our group had a wonderful stay at this place Aug. 10-16. The owner was very accommodating and so helpful. The place is very clean and in a quiet residential neighborhood. The bikes were wonderful to have as we found that it was just as fast to bike to certain points of interest as it was to take the Metro. The aparment was very comfortable and it was just what we were seeking!. I highly recommend this location to anybody interested in touring the sights of DC. We never had to use our rental vehicle the entire week other than a quick grocery run and one day at Mount Vernon.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
New Zealand
5

Top Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Great location reasonably close to Metro and excellent eateries. The bikes and scooters were put to an abundance of use. The accommodation takes up to 6 people, is well appointed, clean and very well presented. As overseas travelers it provided us with a taste of Suburban Washington DC which is exactly what we were looking for. The owner is very helpful.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Florida
5

Beautiful garden apartment located in trendy neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of five with young adults loved this compact apartment. During the recent heat wave we stayed cool and comfortable. The galley kitchen was the scene for delicious meals with the Eastern Market and an organic market so close by. The bikes, buses and metro made transportation efficient but we still logged in over 12 miles walking a day. The Shakespeare Library by the Supreme Court is a must see. The whole family gives this place a thumbs up!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
3

Great location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Pros: Great location, easy access to Capitol Hill and Metro . Bikes are a real bonus. Owner very helpful in addressing problems that arose....there were a few!
Cons: Internet access very limited ( major problem during our stay as it did not allow us to send any emails), air conditioning inadequate ...none in living area, reliant on bedroom AC to cool the area, Photographs did make the living space appear larger that it actually was. No TV for 2 out of 4 days and a flood from dehumidifier, causing some inconvenience.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Interesting review post! Interesting guests! The internet is provided by Comcast and is really very fast. My office is in my house and it is the same internet and TV from Comcast in the main house and two apartments. No one has ever had any issues with the speed.
We worked tirelessly to figure out why you couldn't send emails back to Australia. As I understand, you finally went to the att shop and got an adapter that would allow your international system to send emails. After that, from our discussions, all was well. We did loose Comcast service in the house for 2 days because it was over the 4th holiday and we did not get a tech person until after the holiday. The Comcast was down in the house as well. Regrettably out of our control. This is an unusual event. We added dehumidifiers into both apartments because of a very unseasonable rainy period of two months to be used as needed. The do need to be emptied time to time if they are in use.
We had not had any complaints about the AC (see the other 19 reviews) but we add one just in case!
Glad you enjoyed the location and stay overall! Also glad you enjoyed bringing your family to our 4th of July house party and seeing the fireworks from on top of our roof! Lovely to get to know you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Apt! Prime Location-Blks To Capitol - Bikes/Parking
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418771vb
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Rochester, Minnesota
5

Would Stay Again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really liked the location and amenities of this apartment, but what I cannot say enough about is Karen and her customer service. From a minor issue with the cable to a more urgent need to visit the local ER, Karen responded immediately and graciously. The value was fantastic when compared to a similarly situated hotel room, plus we used the kitchen for most breakfasts and several dinners throughout our week stay. Our family of four was perfectly comfortable in the apartment. My 70 year old mother said the lower bunk bed was comfortable and my 12 year old had plenty of room on the top bunk. My favorite "extra" included with the apartment was the SmarTrip cards. It was nice not to have to pay for the cards themselves!

Eastern Market metro was a 10 minute walk, with plenty of dining choices nearby. We enjoyed Ted's Bulletin, Matchbox, and Market Lunch, but our favorite thing was to pick up ingredients from the Eastern Market and cook in the apartment. The pasta booth is fantastic. We also picked up items from the Corner Market, about 4 blocks away.

As the title states, we would stay here again. I did a lot of research and do not believe you can beat the value and convenience of this Garden Apartment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1